COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Knowledge Synthesis Grants Evidence Briefs

Informing Best Practices in Environmental and Impact Assessments

SSHRC and the Impact Assessment Agency of Canada (IAAC) launched a Knowledge Synthesis Grants (KSG) competition in spring 2019 to stimulate social sciences and humanities research to help inform best practices for environmental and impact assessments. Following a competitive funding process, 13 KSG projects were funded in September 2019.

Background

The KSG competition had three main goals:

  • assess the state of research knowledge in the social sciences and humanities and its application to environmental and impact assessments;
  • identify research strengths and gaps to contribute to evidence-based policy making and best practices and identify future research agendas; and
  • engage cross-sectoral stakeholders and facilitate the sharing of research findings with multisectoral stakeholders in the academic, public, private and not-for-profit sectors, including Indigenous rights holders.

The findings and policy implications summarized in the evidence briefs will help define potential areas in which Canada could play a vital leadership role related to impact and environmental assessments, as well as assist in developing future research agendas.

The evidence briefs reflect KSG project holders’ commitment to ensuring that concise information about their KSG project is effectively communicated to policy makers and to the wider public. The final KSG reports, as well as further information on the projects, are available by connecting with the authors and their respective research teams directly. The contact information for the research teams, and, in some instances, links to the final reports, is provided in the individual evidence briefs.

The views expressed in these evidence briefs are those of the authors and not necessarily those of SSHRC, IAAC or the Government of Canada.


Understanding the future of Canada-UK trade relationships

SSHRC and the United Kingdom’s (UK) Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC—part of UK Research and Innovation) launched a dedicated Knowledge Synthesis Grants (KSG) competition in January 2018.

This collection of evidence briefs highlight some of the research findings from the KSG holders’ final synthesis reports and their relevance in key policy areas related to future Canada-UK trade relationships. The briefs also help grant holders engage with their non-academic partners and effectively share information about their projects with policy-makers and the wider public.



Background

The KSG competition on understanding the future of Canada-UK trade relationships had three main goals:

  • to assess the state of research knowledge on Canada-UK trade relationships and to gain a better understanding of post-Brexit bilateral trade relations;
  • to identify research strengths and gaps contributing to evidence-based policy making process; and
  • to foster international collaboration between Canadian and the UK research community.

This competition builds on the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between Canada and the UK concerning Science, Technology and Innovation, which was signed in September 2017. One of the MOU’s key objectives is to enable research cooperation and foster international partnerships between the two countries’ academia, government institutions and businesses. This will lead to positive impacts for society in Canada, the UK and around the world.

Learn more about the competition

Following a competitive funding process, ten KSG projects were funded in May 2018. Grant holders presented their key findings and outcomes at a multi-sector forum in December 2018 in London. World-leading researchers, leaders from government, business, and civil society sectors and think tank representatives attended the forum.

Final synthesis reports

The resulting ten final synthesis reports, which are available to read in the evidence briefs linked above, highlight the opportunities a new trade agreement poses for innovation and leadership roles for both countries. They also emphasize the importance and value of using the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) as a model. Three of the reports focused on the causes of Brexit and the demographic and socio-economic factors that influence support for international trade agreements. Many of the reports stress the value of including a wide range of stakeholders from government, policy institutions, business and civil society sectors in the negotiation process. The reports also discussed the role that subnational or sub-state actors could play, as well the role of geography and distance in trade considerations.


Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Synthèses en bref en lien avec les subventions de synthèse des connaissances

Pratiques exemplaires dans les évaluations environnementales et les évaluations des impacts

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) et l’Agence d’évaluation d’impact du Canada (AEIC) ont lancé ce concours de subventions de synthèse des connaissances au printemps 2019 afin de susciter des recherches en sciences humaines visant à mettre en évidence de bonnes pratiques en évaluation environnementale et évaluation des impacts. À la suite d’un processus concurrentiel, 13 projets ont reçu une subvention de synthèse des connaissances en septembre 2019.

Contexte

Le concours de subventions de synthèse des connaissances avait trois grands objectifs :

  • évaluer l’état des connaissances actuelles en sciences humaines et leur application aux évaluations environnementales et aux évaluations des impacts;
  • cerner les points forts et les lacunes de la recherche en vue de fournir des données probantes pour l’élaboration de politiques et de bonnes pratiques et de contribuer à l’établissement de futures priorités de recherche;
  • susciter la participation de parties prenantes de différents secteurs (universitaire, public, privé et sans but lucratif, dont des titulaires de droits autochtones) afin de faciliter la diffusion des constatations de la recherche.

Ces synthèses présentent les constatations émanant des projets et les répercussions qu’elles pourraient avoir sur les politiques. Elles aideront à cerner les domaines dans lesquels le Canada pourrait jouer un rôle de leadership crucial en matière d’évaluation environnementale et d’évaluation des impacts et contribueront à l’établissement de futures priorités de recherche.

Les synthèses en bref constituent une collection de publications qui témoigne du souci des chercheurs subventionnés de communiquer efficacement de l’information concise au sujet de leur projet aux responsables des politiques et au grand public. Il est possible de consulter les rapports finaux de ces projets et d’obtenir de l’information complémentaire en communiquant directement avec les auteurs et leur équipe. On peut trouver les coordonnées des chercheurs et, dans certains cas, le lien vers le rapport final dans les synthèses en bref.

Les opinions exprimées dans ces fiches sont celles des auteurs; ce ne sont pas celles du CRSH, de l’AEIC ni du gouvernement du Canada.


L’avenir des relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni

Le CRSH et l’Economic and Social Research Council (l’un des conseils qui fait partie de l’organisme UK Research and Innovation du Royaume-Uni) ont lancé un concours de subventions de synthèse des connaissances sur ce sujet en janvier 2018.  

Ces synthèses en bref mettent en évidence certaines des constatations mentionnées dans les rapports bilans des projets de synthèse des connaissances et en établissent la pertinence pour des politiques clés en lien avec l’avenir des relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni. Les synthèses en bref aident également les titulaires de subvention à nouer un dialogue avec leurs partenaires non universitaires et à communiquer efficacement l’information relative à leur projet aux responsables des politiques et au grand public.



Contexte

Le concours de subventions de synthèse des connaissances portant sur l’avenir des relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni avait trois grands objectifs :

  • cerner l’état de la recherche sur les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni et mieux comprendre l’avenir des relations commerciales entre les deux pays après le Brexit;
  • déterminer les points forts et les lacunes de la recherche en vue de fournir des données probantes pour l’élaboration de politiques;
  • stimuler la collaboration entre les chercheurs du Canada et ceux du Royaume-Uni.

Ce concours fait fond sur le Protocole d’entente entre le Canada et le Royaume-Uni concernant la science, la technologie et l’innovation, qui a été signé en septembre 2017. L’un des principaux objectifs du protocole d’entente consiste à favoriser la coopération en recherche et l’établissement de partenariats réunissant des universités, des organismes gouvernementaux et des entreprises des deux pays. Il en résultera des répercussions positives pour la société au Canada, au Royaume-Uni et ailleurs dans le monde.

En savoir plus à propos du concours

À la suite d’un processus concurrentiel, dix projets ont reçu une subvention de synthèse des connaissances en mai 2018. Les titulaires de subvention ont présenté leurs résultats et leurs principales constatations lors d’un forum multisectoriel tenu en décembre 2018 à Londres. Des chercheurs de renommée mondiale, des dirigeants de gouvernements, du monde des affaires et de la société civile ainsi que des représentants de groupes de réflexion ont assisté au forum.

Rapports bilans

Les dix rapports bilans finaux qui en émanent, que l’on peut consulter par le truchement des synthèses en bref dont le lien est fourni ci-dessus, font ressortir les possibilités qu’offre un nouvel accord commercial aux deux pays en ce qui concerne l’innovation et le leadership. Ils soulignent également l’importance et l’intérêt qu’il y a à prendre comme modèle l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG). Trois des rapports portent sur les causes du Brexit et sur les facteurs démographiques et socioéconomiques qui influent sur l’appui aux accords commerciaux internationaux. Bon nombre des rapports soulignent l’importance d’inclure un large éventail de parties prenantes des gouvernements, des organismes chargés de l’élaboration des politiques, du monde des affaires et de la société civile dans le processus de négociation. Les rapports examinent également le rôle que les acteurs infranationaux pourraient jouer, ainsi que le rôle de la géographie et de la distance dans les considérations commerciales.


Date de modification :