Planned outage: April 13, 2024

This website will be unavailable for a few hours on Saturday, April 13. We expect service to resume the same day.


Executive Team

Executive team members are Designated Public Office Holders for the purposes of the Lobbying Act.

Ted Hewitt, SSHRC President

Ted Hewitt was appointed president of SSHRC in March 2015. He served as the inaugural chair of the Canada Research Coordinating Committee from 2017 to 2019 and was the first to serve a second term as chair in 2023. Ted was vice-president, research and international relations, at Western University in London, Ontario, from 2004 to 2011, where he had been a professor of sociology since 1989. He was also a public policy scholar at the Brazil Institute of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C. A leading authority on Brazil, Ted has published in monographs, edited works and a range of academic journals. In 2018, Brazil’s Ministry of Foreign Relations named him Grand Officer of the Order of Rio Branco—one of the highest levels of merit—for the many years he has fostered bilateral business and research partnerships between Brazil and Canada.

Ted’s current research focuses on national and international innovation systems, with emphasis on the roles of universities, industry and government in promoting economic prosperity in Latin America and beyond. He is co-chair of the Canada-Brazil Joint Committee for Cooperation on Science, Technology and Innovation, and a member of the board of the Brazil-Canada Chamber of Commerce.

Ted holds a PhD in sociology from McMaster University.

Sylvie A. Lamoureux, Vice-President, Research

Sylvie A. Lamoureux (Order of Ontario), joined SSHRC as vice-president, Research, in January 2023. In this role, she provides strategic leadership for the development, implementation and promotion of the vision and direction of social sciences and humanities and tri-agency federal research funding programming.

Sylvie served as associate vice-provost, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, at the University of Ottawa, and held various vice-dean portfolios in the Faculty of Arts there. She also served on the university’s senate and board of governors. An accomplished scholar and educator, she was named to the second cohort of the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists in 2015, the same year she was elected to the Order of Ontario. Her consulting work with governments, commissions and school boards has also informed language policy and planning throughout Canada. Her current research focuses on students’ transition to and through university, at all levels, and on academic literacy and student experience.

A SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellow at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at the University of Toronto (2008), she holds a PhD in Curriculum, Teaching and Learning, and a master of education from the same institution. She holds a bachelor of education (intermediate/senior, history and chemistry) from the University of Ottawa, as well as an honours BA and a BSc (lib) from Laurentian University.

Tara Lapointe, Vice-President, Stakeholder Engagement and Advancement of Society

Tara Lapointe joined SSHRC as vice-president, Stakeholder Engagement and Advancement of Society, in March 2024. She provides strategic leadership to advance and mobilize social sciences and humanities research, and guides a dynamic team responsible for communications, strategic foresight, partnership development, and engagement with stakeholders.

Tara was previously executive director of the Michaëlle Jean Foundation. She has held senior roles at the Canada Council for the Arts and the National Arts Centre, among other organizations, and taught in Algonquin College’s Museum Studies program. She was recognized for her leadership with Ottawa’s 40 Under 40 Award and the International Association of Business Communicators Distinguished Service Award.

Tara is a strong advocate for social issues, including those related to identity, community and social justice, and for using community-engaged and data and research-based approaches to address complex issues. She has extensive experience in strategic communications and in fostering innovation and building partnerships. Tara holds a bachelor’s degree in communications from the University of Ottawa.

Valérie La Traverse, Vice-President, Corporate Affairs

Valérie La Traverse was appointed vice-president, Corporate Affairs, effective November 2021. She is responsible for overseeing corporate policy and strategy, performance, evaluation and audit functions, as well as international engagement.

She joins SSHRC from Global Affairs Canada (GAC), where she spent most of her professional career, recently returning to Ottawa after four years as head of the commercial section at the Canadian Consulate in Boston. Prior to her role there, Valérie held several key positions as part of Canada’s science and technology community, serving as science and technology counsellor at the Canadian Embassy in Washington from 2005 to 2010; deputy and executive director in GAC’s international science, technology and innovation partnerships and agreements group; and head of policy research and outreach at GAC, where she co-launched the International Policy Ideas Challenge with SSHRC in 2015. She also served as a key member of the secretariat for the Fundamental Science Review in 2016. Earlier in her career, Valérie was the executive director of the New England-Canada Business Council.

Valérie holds a bachelor’s degree in international relations from McGill University and a master’s in business administration in international business from Concordia University.

Dominique Osterrath, Chief Financial Officer and Vice-President, Common Administrative Services Directorate

Dominique Osterrath joined SSHRC’s Common Administrative Services Directorate (CASD) in July 2021, where she leads a team of professionals who work to support both SSHRC and NSERC in delivering human resources, finance and awards administration, security, and information and innovation solutions. As the lead CASD executive, Dominique supports the accountability of the agency presidents by ensuring CASD’s effectiveness as a strategic partner, business enabler, steward and service provider.

Prior to her appointment, Dominique was chief financial officer, chief security officer, and vice-president, Corporate Management Branch, at the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA). In previous appointments, she was deputy chief financial officer and executive director, Financial Services, at CFIA; deputy chief financial officer and director general, Finance and Awards Administration, for SSHRC and NSERC; and director, Financial Planning, Budgeting and Advisory Services, at the National Research Council Canada.

Dominique is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA). She holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the Université du Québec en Outaouais, and is a graduate of the Public Sector Leadership and Governance executive program at the University of Ottawa.

Date modified:

Interruption prévue : 13 avril 2024

Ce site Web ne sera pas accessible pendant quelques heures le samedi 13 avril. Le service devrait être rétabli le jour même.


Équipe de gestion

Les membres de l’équipe de gestion sont titulaires d'une charge publique désignée aux fins de la Loi sur le lobbying.

Ted Hewitt, président du CRSH

Ted Hewitt a été nommé président du CRSH en mars 2015. Il a été le tout premier président du Comité de coordination de la recherche au Canada de 2017 à 2019, et le premier à effectuer un second mandat en 2023. De 2004 à 2011, M. Hewitt a été vice-recteur, Recherche et relations internationales, à la Western University de London, en Ontario, où il était professeur de sociologie depuis 1989. M. Hewitt a effectué des recherches sur les politiques publiques au Brazil Institute du Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, à Washington (D.C.). Éminent spécialiste des questions liées au Brésil, il a publié ses travaux dans des monographies, des ouvrages collectifs et diverses revues spécialisées. En 2018, le ministère des Relations extérieures du Brésil l’a nommé grand officier de l’Ordre de Rio Branco – l’un des grades les plus élevés – pour souligner les nombreuses années qu’il a consacrées au développement du commerce bilatéral et aux partenariats de recherche Brésil-Canada.

Ses travaux portent sur les systèmes d’innovation nationaux et internationaux, en particulier sur le rôle que jouent les universités, l’industrie et le gouvernement dans la promotion de la prospérité économique en Amérique latine et ailleurs dans le monde. De plus, il est le coprésident du Comité conjoint Canada-Brésil de coopération en science, technologie et innovation, et membre du conseil d’administration de la Chambre de commerce Brésil-Canada.

M. Hewitt est titulaire d’un doctorat en sociologie de la McMaster University.

Sylvie A. Lamoureux, vice-présidente, Recherche

Sylvie A. Lamoureux (Ordre de l’Ontario) s’est jointe au CRSH à titre de vice-présidente, Recherche, en janvier 2023. À ce titre, elle assure un leadership stratégique dans l’élaboration, la mise en œuvre et la promotion de la vision et de l’orientation des programmes de financement de la recherche en sciences humaines et du financement fédéral des trois organismes.

Elle a été vice-provost associée, Études supérieures et postdoctorales, à l’Université d'Ottawa, et y a occupé divers portefeuilles de vice-doyenne à la Faculté des arts. Elle a également siégé au Sénat et au Conseil des gouverneurs de l’université. Chercheure et éducatrice accomplie, elle a été nommée à la deuxième cohorte du Collège des nouveaux chercheurs et créateurs en art et en science de la Société royale du Canada en 2015, la même année où elle a été nommée à l’Ordre de l’Ontario. Son travail de experte-conseil auprès des gouvernements, des commissions et des conseils scolaires a également permis d’éclairer les politiques et la planification linguistiques dans tout le Canada. Ses recherches portent sur la transition des étudiantes et étudiants vers l’université et à l’université, à tous les niveaux, ainsi que sur la littératie universitaire et l’expérience des étudiantes et étudiants.

Boursière postdoctorale du CRSH à l’Institut d’études pédagogiques de l’Ontario de l’University of Toronto (2008), elle est titulaire d’un doctorat en curriculum, enseignement et apprentissage et d’une maîtrise en éducation du même établissement. Elle détient un baccalauréat en éducation (intermédiaire/supérieur, histoire et chimie) de l’Université d'Ottawa, ainsi qu’un baccalauréat spécialisé et un baccalauréat ès sciences (lib) de l’Université Laurentienne.

Tara Lapointe, vice-présidente, Engagement des parties prenantes et Avancement de la société

Tara Lapointe s’est jointe au CRSH à titre de vice-présidente, Engagement des parties prenantes et Avancement de la société, en mars 2024. Elle assure un leadership stratégique dans l’avancement et la mobilisation de la recherche en sciences humaines et guide une équipe dynamique responsable des communications, de l’anticipation stratégique, du développement des partenariats et de l’engagement avec les parties prenantes.

Auparavant, Mme Lapointe était directrice générale à la Fondation Michaëlle Jean. Elle a aussi occupé des postes de direction au Conseil des Arts du Canada, au Centre national des Arts et ailleurs, et a enseigné la muséologie à l’Algonquin College. En reconnaissance de son leadership, elle a reçu le prix Forty Under 40 d’Ottawa et le Distinguished Service Award de l’International Association of Business Communicators.

Mme Lapointe est une championne des questions sociales, y compris des enjeux relatifs à l’identité, à la communauté et à la justice sociale, et elle soutient les approches fondées sur la communauté, les données et la recherche pour résoudre les questions complexes. Elle possède une vaste expérience de la communication stratégique, de la promotion de l’innovation et de la création de partenariats. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en communications de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Valérie La Traverse, vice-présidente, Affaires générales

Valérie La Traverse a été nommée vice-présidente des Affaires générales du CRSH en novembre 2021. Valérie nous vient d’Affaires mondiales Canada, où elle a passé la majeure partie de sa carrière professionnelle. Elle est responsable des politiques, de la stratégie, du rendement, de l’évaluation et de l’audit de l’organisme de même que des relations internationales.

Elle est récemment revenue à Ottawa après avoir dirigé pendant quatre ans la section commerciale du consulat canadien à Boston. Auparavant, Valérie a occupé plusieurs postes clés dans la communauté scientifique et technologique du Canada, notamment comme conseillère en science et technologie à l’ambassade du Canada à Washington de 2005 à 2010, directrice adjointe et directrice exécutive du groupe des partenariats et des accords internationaux en matière de science, de technologie et d’innovation d’Affaires mondiales Canada, et cheffe de la recherche et de l’information en matière de politique au sein du même organisme, où elle a lancé le Concours d’idées de politique internationale avec le CRSH en 2015. Elle a également été un membre clé du secrétariat de l’Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences en 2016. Plus tôt dans sa carrière, Valérie a dirigé le New England-Canada Business Council en tant que directrice exécutive.

Valérie est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en relations internationales de l’Université McGill et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA) en commerce international de l’Université Concordia.

Dominique Osterrath, dirigeante principale des finances et vice-présidente, Direction des services administratifs communs

Dominique Osterrath s’est jointe à la Direction des services administratifs communs (DSAC) du CRSH en juillet 2021. Elle dirige une équipe de professionnels dont le travail consiste à appuyer le CRSH et le CRSNG dans la recherche de solutions en matière de ressources humaines, de finances, d’administration des subventions et des bourses, de sécurité, d’information et d’innovation. À titre de dirigeante de la DSAC, Mme Osterrath appuie la reddition de comptes par les présidents des organismes en assurant l’efficacité de la DSAC en tant que partenaire stratégique, facilitateur opérationnel, responsable de l’administration et fournisseur de services.

Avant d’occuper ce poste, Mme Osterrath était dirigeante principale des finances, chef de la sécurité et vice-présidente de la Direction générale de la gestion intégrée à l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA). Auparavant, elle avait été dirigeante principale des finances adjointe et directrice exécutive des Services financiers à l’ACIA, dirigeante principale des finances adjointe et directrice générale des finances et de l’administration des octrois au CRSH et au CRSNG et directrice de la planification financière, de la budgétisation et des services consultatifs au Conseil national de recherches du Canada.

Dominique Osterrath est comptable professionnelle agréée (CPA, CA). Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en administration des affaires de l’Université du Québec en Outaouais et est diplômée du Programme de certificat en leadership du secteur public et gouvernance de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Date de modification :