COVID-19 Update

Due to COVID-19, many deadlines are being revised. Learn more about the impacts of COVID-19 on SSHRC's programs.


Date published: March 20, 2020

Multi-agency Research Funding Collaboration

SSHRC, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) are working to enhance the co-ordination of their programs, activities and policies. Applicants to any of SSHRC’s grant or scholarship funding opportunities may collaborate with researchers working in fields other than the social sciences and humanities.

For example:

  • Social sciences and humanities faculty may participate as co-applicants, and postdoctoral researchers as collaborators, in NSERC's Strategic Partnership Grants program. Potential applicants are encouraged to visit the NSERC website to find out whether they meet the eligibility requirements and for full details on the program, including how to apply.
  • SSHRC’s Connection Grants, Partnership Grants, and Partnership Development Grants enable funding to formal teams that include participation from researchers (including postdoctoral researchers) from beyond the social sciences and humanities.
  • SSHRC’s Insight Grants and Insight Development Grants enable funding to small teams that include participation from researchers (including postdoctoral researchers) from beyond the social sciences and humanities.
  • The agencies are harmonizing and modernizing their grants management system to better support applicants, administrators and reviewers.

Learn more about collaboration among the federal research funding organizations at www.science.gc.ca.

Collaboration interorganismes pour le financement de la recherche

Le CRSH, le CRSNG, les IRSC et la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation s’efforcent d’améliorer la coordination de leurs programmes, de leurs activités et de leurs politiques. Les candidats à une subvention ou à une bourse d’une occasion de financement du CRSH peuvent collaborer avec des chercheurs d’autres domaines que les sciences humaines.

Voici des exemples :

  • les professeurs des sciences humaines peuvent participer au Programme de subventions de partenariat stratégique du CRSNG en tant que cocandidats, et les chercheurs postdoctoraux peuvent en faire autant à titre de collaborateurs. On invite les candidats potentiels à consulter le site Web du CRSNG afin de déterminer s’ils respectent les exigences d’admissibilité et d’obtenir une description complète des programmes, notamment au sujet de la façon de présenter une demande;
  • les subventions Connexion, les subventions de partenariat et les subventions de développement de partenariat du CRSH permettent de financer de grandes équipes de recherche, ce qui comprend la participation de chercheurs (y compris des chercheurs postdoctoraux) d’autres domaines que les sciences humaines;
  • les subventions Savoir et les subventions de développement Savoir permettent de financer de petites équipes de recherche, ce qui comprend la participation de chercheurs (y compris des chercheurs postdoctoraux) d’autres domaines que les sciences humaines;
  • les organismes procèdent à l’harmonisation et à la modernisation de leur système de gestion des subventions de manière à mieux soutenir les candidats, les administrateurs de la recherche et les membres des comités.

Pour en savoir plus sur la collaboration entre les organismes subventionnaires fédéraux, veuillez consulter www.science.gc.ca.