How to Apply

General Instructions
Adjudication of Applications

General Instructions

Each SSHRC grant, fellowship and scholarship funding opportunity currently has its own application process. To apply for funding through any of SSHRC’s funding opportunities:

  1. Determine if your research falls under SSHRC’s mandate by reviewing the Selecting a Funding Agency page. For more information on eligibility, see the Eligibility section below.
  2. Determine to which SSHRC funding opportunity your application would be most suited by viewing the complete list of SSHRC funding opportunities.
  3. Carefully read the description for your selected funding opportunity thoroughly to determine:
    • your personal eligibility;
    • the context, requirements and deadlines;
    • the value and duration of funding offered;
    • details of the evaluation and adjudication process; and
    • any additional information.
  4. Once your funding opportunity is opened to applications (for most funding opportunities, approximately two months before the application deadline), review the application instructions by selecting “Instructions” from the “Apply” column in the grid atop the description.
  5. According to your instructions, click on the appropriate application forms, also found in the “Apply” section of the same grid.
  6. Carefully review your application as you fill it out, and ensure that you have provided any additional information requested in the appropriate formats, and contacted any required resources as outlined in your instructions.

Check the “Results announced” section of the grid atop your funding opportunity description to learn when funding decisions will be announced.


Anyone participating in SSHRC-funded research activities must not be under SSHRC sanction for financial or research misconduct.


For most funding opportunities, applicants (principal investigators) must be affiliated with a Canadian postsecondary institution. Researchers not affiliated with a Canadian postsecondary institution are eligible to apply as co-applicants to selected SSHRC funding opportunities and as research collaborators to any SSHRC-supported project. Eligibility criteria specific to each funding opportunity are detailed in the individual descriptions.

Scholarships and Fellowships

For all scholarship and fellowship funding opportunities other than the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships program and the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships program, applicants must be citizens or permanent residents of Canada. For detailed eligibility criteria, please refer to the individual descriptions.

Adjudication of Applications

SSHRC grants and fellowships are awarded through independent, national, merit review processes. To learn more about these processes as they apply to a specific funding opportunity, view the Adjudication and Evaluation section of the description.

Visit the Resource Centre

Visit the Resource Centre

Tools to help you in the application process

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Comment faire une demande

Directive générales

Pour présenter une demande de subvention ou de bourse dans le cadre de l'une des occasions de financement du CRSH, vous devez :

  1. déterminer si votre recherche correspond au mandat du CRSH en prenant connaissance des critères d'admissibilité des sujets de recherche et en consultant les directives visant à choisir le bon organisme subventionnaire fédéral;
  2. sélectionner l'occasion de financement du CRSH qui vous intéresse;
  3. lire attentivement la description de l'occasion de financement qui vous intéresse afin de déterminer les éléments suivants :
    • votre admissibilité;
    • le contexte, les exigences et les dates limites;
    • la valeur et la durée du financement offert;
    • les détails du processus de sélection et d'évaluation;
    • tout autre renseignement pertinent;
  4. lire les instructions pour présenter une demande en cliquant sur « instructions » à la ligne « Faire une demande » de l'aperçu qui se trouve au début de la description de l'occasion de financement qui vous intéresse. Vous pouvez lire ces instructions à partir du moment où le concours est ouvert, ce qui, pour la plupart des occasions de financement, correspond environ à deux mois avant la date limite de soumission des demandes;
  5. choisir le formulaire de demande approprié à partir de la ligne « Faire une demande » de l’aperçu qui se trouve au début de la description de l'occasion de financement qui vous intéresse;
  6. remplir le formulaire de demande avec soin, fournir tous les renseignements supplémentaires dans le format approprié et communiquer avec toutes les personnes-ressources nécessaires, tel qu'indiqué dans les instructions.

À la ligne Annonce des résultats de l'aperçu qui se trouve au début de la description de l'occasion de financement, vous pourrez savoir à quel moment les résultats seront annoncés.

Admissibilité

Aucun participant aux activités de recherche financées par le CRSH ne doit faire l'objet d'une sanction du CRSH pour inconduite en matière de finances ou de recherche.

Subventions

Les candidats (chercheurs principaux) doivent être affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien. Les chercheurs qui ne sont pas affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien peuvent avoir statut de cocandidats dans le cadre de certaines occasions de financement du CRSH ou participer aux projets financés par le CRSH à titre de collaborateurs. Chaque description contient des critères d'admissibilité détaillés.

Bourses

Pour toutes les bourses, sauf les bourses d'études supérieures du Canada Vanier et les bourses postdoctorales Banting, les candidats doivent être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents du Canada. Chaque description contient des critères d'admissibilité détaillés.

Sélection des demandes

Les subventions et les bourses du CRSH sont attribuées au moyen d'un processus indépendant d'évaluation du mérite mené à l'échelle nationale. Pour en savoir plus au sujet de ce processus, veuillez lire la section « Évaluation et sélection » de l'occasion de financement qui vous intéresse.

Date de modification :