Terms and Conditions


Notice

These terms and conditions are the standard Global Notices for Government of Canada Departments put forth by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat.

The Government of Canada and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) are committed to protecting copyright on their websites and ensuring the privacy of their website visitors.

Table of contents

Materials on this website were produced and/or compiled by SSHRC for the purpose of providing Canadians with direct access to information about the programs and services offered by the Government of Canada.

You may use and reproduce the material as follows:

Non-commercial reproduction

Unless otherwise specified, you may reproduce the materials in whole or in part for noncommercial purposes, in any format, provided you:

Reproduction of government symbols

The official symbols of the Government of Canada, including the ‘Canada’ wordmark, the Arms of Canada, and the flag symbol may not be reproduced, whether for commercial or non-commercial purposes, without prior written authorization from:

information@fip-pcim.gc.ca
Federal Identity Program
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
300 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, ON
Canada
K1A 0R5

Commercial reproduction

Unless otherwise specified, you may not r eproduce materials on this site, in whole or in part, for the purposes of commercial redistribution, except with written permission from SSHRC.

To obtain permission to reproduce materials on this site for commercial purposes, please contact our webmaster.

Third-party materials

Some of the content on this site may be subject to the copyright of another party. Where information has not been produced or copyright is not held by the Government of Canada, the materials are protected under the Copyright Act and international agreements. Details concerning copyright ownership are indicated on the relevant web page(s).

For information about copyright ownership and restrictions on the reproduction of materials on this site, please contact our webmaster.

Links to websites not under the control of the Government of Canada are provided solely for the convenience of our website visitors. We are not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the content of such websites. The Government of Canada does not offer any guarantee in that regard and is not responsible for the information found through these links, nor does it endorse the sites and their content.

Hyperlinks change from time to time; if you encounter broken links, please contact our webmaster.

The Government of Canada and SSHRC are committed to providing websites that respect the privacy of visitors. This notice summarizes SSHRC’s online privacy practices.

All personal information we collect is governed by the Privacy Act. This means that you will be informed of the purpose for which your personal information is being collected and how to exercise your right of access to that information.

Questions or comments regarding this policy, or the administration of the Privacy Act and SSHRC’s web presence can be directed to SSHRC's Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Coordinator by phone at 613-947-8639 or email at ATIP-AIPRP@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca. If you are not satisfied with our response to your privacy concern, you may wish to contact the Office of the Privacy Commissioner.

Your privacy and the internet

The nature of the Internet is such that web servers automatically collect certain information about a visit to a website, including the visitor’s internet protocol (IP) address. IP addresses are unique numbers assigned by internet service providers (ISPs) to all devices used to access the internet. Web servers automatically log the IP addresses of visitors to their sites.

The IP address, on its own, does not identify an individual. However, in certain circumstances, such as with the co-operation of an ISP, for example, it could be used to identify an individual using the site. For this reason, the Government of Canada considers the IP address to be personal information, particularly when combined with other data automatically collected when a visitor requests a web page, such as the page or pages visited and the date and time of the visit.

Unless otherwise noted, SSHRC does not automatically gather specific personal information from you, such as your name, phone number or email address. We would only obtain this type of information if you supply it by email or by filling in a contact form. In such cases, how your personal information is handled will be provided in a Personal Information Collection Statement.

In cases where services are provided by organizations outside of the Government of Canada, such as social media platforms or mobile applications, IP addresses may be recorded by the web servers of the third-party service provider.

Communicating with the Government of Canada

If you choose to send SSHRC an email or complete a feedback form online, your personal information will be used to respond to your inquiry. The information you provide will only be shared with another government institution if your inquiry relates to that institution. SSHRC does not use the information to create individual profiles, nor does it disclose the information to anyone other than to those in the federal government who need to provide you with a response. Any disclosure of your personal information is in accordance with the Privacy Act.

Emails and other electronic methods used to communicate with the Government of Canada are not secure unless this is specifically stated on a web page. Therefore, it is recommended that you do not send sensitive personal information, such as your Social Insurance Number or your date of birth, through nonsecure electronic means.

Personal information from emails or completed feedback forms is collected pursuant to the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Act. Such information may be used for statistical, evaluation and reporting purposes, and is included in Personal Information Bank PSU 914—Public Communications.

Your engagement with SSHRC via social media is in part governed by the Terms of Service/Use of the relevant third-party social media platform providers, as well as the following Terms and Conditions. The Government of Canada has no control over the social media platform providers’ Terms of Service/Use, but you are strongly encouraged to read them in addition to those that follow.

Content and frequency

SSHRC uses social media accounts as an alternative method of interacting with Canadians and of sharing the content posted on its website, facilitating access to SSHRC information and services, and providing stakeholders with an opportunity to interact in an informative and respectful environment.

Because social media platforms and their computer servers are managed by a third party, social media accounts are subject to downtime that may be out of the Government of Canada’s control. The government accepts no responsibility for platforms becoming unresponsive or unavailable.

Links to other websites and ads

Social media accounts may post or display links or ads for websites that are not under the control of the Government of Canada. These links are provided solely for the convenience of users. The government is not responsible for the information found through these links or ads; neither does it endorse the sites or their content.

Following, “favouriting” and subscribing

SSHRC’s decision to follow, “like” or subscribe to another social media account does not imply an endorsement of that account, channel, page or site, and neither does sharing (retweeting, reposting or linking to) content from another user.

Comments and interaction

SSHRC will read comments and participate in discussions when appropriate. Your comments and contributions must be relevant and respectful.

SSHRC will not engage in partisan or political issues or respond to questions that violate these Terms and Conditions. We reserve the right to remove comments and contributions, and to block users based on the following criteria.

The comments or contributions:

SSHSRC reserves the right to report users and/or their comments and contributions to third-party social media service providers, to prevent or remove the posting of content that is contrary to these Terms and Conditions or to the Terms of Service/Use of the third-party social media platform.

Accessibility of social media platforms

Social media platforms are third-party service providers and are not bound by Government of Canada standards for web accessibility.

Copyright

Information that we post is subject to the Copyright Act.

Privacy

SSHRC’s use of social media serves as an extension of its presence on the web. Social media account(s) are public and are not hosted on Government of Canada servers. Users who choose to interact with us via social media should read the terms of service and privacy policies of these third-party service providers and those of any applications you use to access them. SSHRC uses Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

Personal information that you provide to the Government of Canada via social media account(s) is collected under the authority of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Act. This information is collected to capture conversations (e.g., questions and answers, comments, “likes”, retweets) between you and SSHRC. It may be used to respond to inquiries, or for statistical, evaluation and reporting purposes. Comments posted that violate Canadian law will be deleted and disclosed to law enforcement authorities. Comments that violate our rules of engagement will also be deleted. The personal information is included in Personal Information Bank PSU 914—Public Communications and PSU 938—Outreach Activities

Web analytics is the collection, analysis, measurement and reporting of data about web traffic and visits to understand and optimize web usage. Information in digital markers may be used for the purpose of web analytics to remember your online interactions with SSHRC’s website.

SSHRC uses Google Analytics to improve its website. When your computer requests a SSHRC web page, our institution collects the following types of information :

To help safeguard your privacy, your IP address is anonymized before being stored on the service provider’s servers.

For more information on how your privacy is safeguarded , see the Standard on Privacy and Web Analytics.

The SSHRC website respects Canada’s Official Languages Act (OLA) and is committed to ensuring that all information on our site is available in both French and English and that both versions are of equal quality.

However, we may share links that direct users to sites of organizations or other entities not subject to the OLA and are available only in the language in which they were written. Information provided in a language other than English or French is only for the convenience of our visitors.

The Government of Canada is committed to achieving a high standard of accessibility as defined in the Standard on Web Accessibility and the Standard on Optimizing Websites and Applications for Mobile Devices. If you have difficulty using our web pages, online grant or scholarship application forms or device-based mobile applications, please contact the appropriate group for assistance or support (e.g., alternative formats such as regular print, Braille or another appropriate format).

SSHRC has skip navigation links on the website for the benefit of individuals using assistive technology such as screen readers, and PDAs (personal digital assistants). Placed at the very top of all pages, they allow readers to skip directly to the content or a local submenu. Users can access the skip navigation links by pressing the tab key on their keyboard.

Contact our webmaster if you have any questions about the accessibility of this site or if you have difficulty accessing information.

Date modified:

Avis


Remarque

Les conditions qui suivent sont adaptées des avis pour les ministères du gouvernement du Canada normalisés du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Le gouvernement du Canada et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) s’engagent à protéger le droit d’auteur dans leurs sites Web et à assurer la confidentialité des personnes qui consultent ces sites.

Table des matières

Le contenu de ce site Web a été produit ou rassemblé par le CRSH afin d’offrir aux Canadiens un accès direct à l'information sur les programmes et les services offerts par le gouvernement du Canada.

Vous pouvez utiliser et reproduire le contenu des façons décrites ci-après.

Reproduction non commerciale

À moins d’avis contraire, vous pouvez reproduire le contenu de ce site Web en totalité ou en partie à des fins non commerciales, dans quelque format que ce soit, à condition :

Reproduction des symboles officiels du gouvernement

La reproduction des symboles officiels du gouvernement du Canada, y compris du mot-symbole « Canada », des armoiries du Canada et du symbole du drapeau, à des fins commerciales ou non commerciales, est interdite sans avoir obtenu au préalable l’autorisation écrite du :

Programme de coordination de l’image de marque
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
300, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0R5
CANADA
information@fip-pcim.gc.ca

Reproduction commerciale

À moins d’avis contraire, il est interdit de reproduire le contenu de ce site, en totalité ou en partie, à des fins de diffusion commerciale sans avoir obtenu au préalable la permission écrite du CRSH.

Pour obtenir la permission de reproduire des documents qui se trouvent dans ce site à des fins commerciales, veuillez communiquer avec le webmestre du CRSH.

Documents de tiers

Une partie du contenu de ce site Web pourrait être assujettie au droit d’auteur d’une tierce partie. Lorsque de l’information est produite par une tierce partie ou que le gouvernement du Canada n’est pas le titulaire du droit d’auteur, le contenu est protégé par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur et les accords internationaux. L’information relative au droit d’auteur est fournie dans les pages Web pertinentes.

Pour obtenir de l’information au sujet de la propriété du droit d’auteur et des restrictions qui s’appliquent à la reproduction des documents publiés dans ce site Web, veuillez communiquer avec le webmestre du CRSH.

Les hyperliens menant à des sites Web qui ne sont pas gérés par le gouvernement du Canada ne sont fournis que par commodité aux personnes qui consultent le site Web du CRSH. Nous n’assumons aucune responsabilité quant à la précision, à l’actualité ou à la fiabilité du contenu de ces sites. Le gouvernement du Canada n’offre aucune garantie à cet égard, n’assume aucune responsabilité en ce qui concerne l’information obtenue au moyen de ces liens et n’approuve ni ces sites, ni leur contenu.

Les hyperliens peuvent être modifiés de temps à autre. Si vous relevez des liens périmés, veuillez le signaler en écrivant au webmestre du CRSH.

Le gouvernement du Canada et le CRSH s’engagent à offrir des sites Web qui respectent la confidentialité des personnes qui les consultent. Cet avis de confidentialité résume les pratiques de protection des renseignements personnels pour les activités en ligne du CRSH.

Tous les renseignements personnels recueillis par le CRSH sont régis par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Cela signifie que vous serez avisé de la raison pour laquelle vos renseignements personnels sont recueillis et de la façon d’exercer vos droits d’accès à cette information.

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires au sujet de cette politique, de la façon dont le CRSH applique la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ou de la présence Web du CRSH, n’hésitez pas à les faire parvenir au coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) par téléphone, au 613-947-8639, ou par courriel, à ATIP-AIPRP@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca. Si la réponse du CRSH à vos préoccupations en matière de protection des renseignements personnels ne vous satisfait pas, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée.

Votre confidentialité et Internet

La nature d’Internet est telle que les serveurs recueillent automatiquement certaines informations concernant la consultation d’un site Web, dont l’adresse du protocole Internet (adresse IP). L’adresse IP consiste en une série de numéros unique attribuée par les fournisseurs de services Internet (FSI) à tous les appareils utilisés pour avoir accès à Internet. Les serveurs Web enregistrent automatiquement les adresses IP des personnes qui consultent leurs sites.

L’adresse IP, en soi, ne permet pas d’identifier une personne. Par contre, dans certaines circonstances, avec la collaboration d’un FSI par exemple, elle peut être utilisée pour identifier une personne qui consulte un site. Pour cette raison, le gouvernement du Canada juge que l’adresse IP est un renseignement personnel, surtout lorsqu’elle est accompagnée d’autres données qui sont recueillies automatiquement quand une personne demande une page Web, dont la page consultée et la date et l’heure de la consultation.

À moins d’avis contraire, le CRSH ne recueille pas automatiquement de renseignements personnels précis à votre sujet, tels que votre nom, votre numéro de téléphone ou votre adresse courriel. Le CRSH ne peut obtenir ce genre de renseignement que si vous le fournissez, par exemple dans un courriel ou en remplissant un formulaire en ligne. Le cas échéant, la façon dont seront traités vos renseignements personnels sera précisée dans un énoncé de collecte de renseignements personnels.

Lorsque les services sont fournis par des entités de l’extérieur du gouvernement du Canada, comme les plateformes de médias sociaux ou les applications mobiles, les adresses IP peuvent être enregistrées par le serveur Web du tiers fournisseur de services.

Communiquer avec le gouvernement du Canada

Si vous envoyez un courriel au CRSH ou remplissez un formulaire de rétroaction en ligne, vos renseignements personnels seront utilisés par le CRSH pour répondre à votre demande. Les renseignements personnels que vous fournissez ne seront communiqués à une autre entité gouvernementale que si votre demande porte sur cette entité. Le CRSH n’utilise pas les renseignements personnels pour créer des profils individuels, et il ne peut pas les divulguer, sauf aux autres entités du gouvernement fédéral qui sont concernées par votre demande. Toute divulgation de vos renseignements personnels doit se faire conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les courriels et autres moyens électroniques utilisés pour communiquer avec le gouvernement du Canada ne sont pas sécuritaires, à moins qu’il n’en soit précisé autrement dans la page Web. Il est donc recommandé de ne pas transmettre de renseignements personnels de nature délicate, tels que votre numéro d’assurance sociale ou votre date de naissance, par des moyens électroniques non sécurisés.

Les renseignements personnels contenus dans des courriels ou des formulaires de rétroaction sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines. De tels renseignements peuvent être utilisés à des fins d’évaluation et d’établissement de statistiques et de rapports, et ils sont versés dans le fichier de renseignements personnels Communications publiques (POU 914).

Vos interactions avec le CRSH dans les médias sociaux sont en partie régies par les modalités de service ou d’utilisation des tiers fournisseurs de plateformes de médias sociaux concernés, ainsi que par les conditions présentées ci-dessous. Le gouvernement du Canada n’a aucun contrôle sur les modalités de service ou d’utilisation des fournisseurs de plateformes de médias sociaux, d’où l’importance pour vous d’en prendre connaissance.

Contenu et fréquence

Les comptes de médias sociaux du CRSH sont une autre façon d’échanger avec les Canadiens et de diffuser le contenu publié dans le site Web. Ces comptes facilitent l’accès à l’information et aux services du CRSH et donnent l’occasion aux intervenants d’interagir dans un environnement informatif et respectueux.

Étant donné que les plateformes de médias sociaux et leurs serveurs sont gérés par des tiers, les comptes de médias sociaux sont exposés à des interruptions de service qui échappent au contrôle du gouvernement du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada n’assume donc aucune responsabilité en cas de non-disponibilité des plateformes.

Liens vers d’autres sites Web et annonces

Les comptes de médias sociaux peuvent comporter des liens ou des annonces reliés à des sites Web échappant au contrôle du gouvernement du Canada. Ces liens sont fournis aux utilisateurs uniquement pour des raisons de commodité. Le gouvernement du Canada n’assume aucune responsabilité à l’égard de l’information obtenue au moyen de ces liens ou de ces annonces, pas plus qu’il ne cautionne ces sites et leur contenu.

Suivre, constituer une liste de favoris et s’abonner

La décision du CRSH de « suivre », d’« aimer » ou de « s’abonner » à un compte de média social ne signifie pas qu’il approuve ce compte, ce moyen de communication, cette page ou ce site, et il en est de même du partage (retransmission, republication ou lien) de contenu provenant d’un autre utilisateur.

Commentaires et échanges

Le CRSH lira les commentaires et participera aux discussions, le cas échéant. Vos commentaires et vos contributions doivent être pertinents et respectueux.

Le CRSH ne se prononcera pas sur des questions de partisanerie ou de politique, et il ne répondra pas aux questions qui contreviennent aux règles énoncées dans cet avis. Le CRSH se réserve le droit de supprimer des commentaires et des contributions et de bloquer des utilisateurs en fonction des critères ci-dessous.

Les commentaires ou les contributions seront supprimés s’ils :

Le CRSH se réserve le droit de signaler les utilisateurs et (ou) leurs commentaires et contributions à des tiers fournisseurs de services de médias sociaux afin d’empêcher ou de supprimer l’affichage de contenu qui ne respecte pas les présentes conditions ou les modalités de service ou d’utilisation des tiers fournisseurs de plateformes de médias sociaux.

Accessibilité des plateformes de médias sociaux

Les plateformes de médias sociaux étant gérées par des tiers fournisseurs de services, elles ne sont pas tenues d’observer les normes du gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne l’accessibilité du Web.

Droit d’auteur

L’information que le CRSH publie est assujettie à la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

Protection des renseignements personnels

L’utilisation des médias sociaux par le CRSH est une prolongation de sa présence Web. Les comptes de médias sociaux sont publics et ne sont pas hébergés par des serveurs du gouvernement du Canada. Les utilisateurs qui décident d’interagir avec le CRSH par l’entremise de ces médias doivent lire les modalités de service et les politiques de confidentialité de ces tiers fournisseurs de services et des applications utilisées pour y avoir accès. Le CRSH utilise FacebookTwitter, Instagram et YouTube.

Les renseignements personnels que vous fournissez au gouvernement du Canada par l’entremise de comptes de médias sociaux sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines afin de saisir des conversations (p. ex. des questions et des réponses, des commentaires, des mentions « J’aime », des gazouillis retransmis) entre vous et le CRSH. L’information peut être utilisée pour répondre à des demandes ainsi qu’à des fins d’évaluation et d’établissement de statistiques et de rapports. Tout commentaire qui enfreint la loi canadienne sera supprimé et divulgué aux autorités compétentes. Les commentaires qui enfreignent les règles de participation seront également supprimés. Les renseignements personnels sont versés dans le fichier de renseignements personnels Communications publiques (POU 914) et dans le fichier Activités de sensibilisation (POU 938).

L’analytique Web consiste en la collecte, l’analyse, la mesure et la présentation de données sur la fréquentation et la consultation d’un site Web, dans le but de comprendre et d’optimiser l’utilisation du Web. Les données recueillies au moyen des marqueurs numériques peuvent être utilisées dans le cadre de l’analytique Web pour garder en mémoire vos interactions avec le site Web du CRSH.

Le CRSH se sert de Google Analytics pour améliorer son site Web. Lorsque votre ordinateur demande d’avoir accès à une page Web du CRSH, ce dernier recueille les renseignements suivants aux fins de l’analytique Web :

Votre adresse IP est dépersonnalisée avant d’être stockée sur le serveur du fournisseur de services pour veiller à la protection de vos renseignements personnels. Pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont vos renseignements personnels sont protégés, vous pouvez consulter la Norme sur la protection de la vie privée et le Web analytique.

Le site Web du CRSH est conforme à la Loi sur les langues officielles, et le CRSH s’est engagé à veiller à ce que toute l’information qui y est fournie le soit en français et en anglais et soit de qualité égale dans les deux langues officielles.

Toutefois, il arrive que le CRSH fournisse des hyperliens qui mènent les utilisateurs à des sites d’organismes ou d’autres entités qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur les langues officielles et où l’information n’est publiée que dans la langue dans laquelle elle a été rédigée. Toute information dans une autre langue que le français ou l’anglais n’est fournie que pour des raisons de commodité aux personnes qui consultent le site Web du CRSH.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à maintenir une norme d’accessibilité élevée conformément à la Norme sur l’accessibilité des sites Web et à la Norme sur l’optimisation des sites Web et des applications pour appareils mobiles. Si vous éprouvez des difficultés à utiliser les pages Web du CRSH, les formulaires de demande de subvention ou de bourse en ligne ou les applications mobiles, ou que vous désirez les obtenir en formats de substitution comme le caractère ordinaire, le braille ou un autre format approprié, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de soutien.

Le site Web du CRSH comporte des liens Saut de navigation à l’intention des personnes qui se servent de technologies fonctionnelles, notamment de lecteurs d’écran et d’assistants numériques personnels. Ces liens, qui s’affichent en haut de chaque page, permettent aux lecteurs de passer directement au contenu ou à un sous-menu local. Il est possible d’avoir accès au saut de navigation au moyen de la touche Tabulation du clavier.

N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec le webmestre du CRSH si vous avez des questions au sujet de l’accessibilité de ce site ou si vous avez de la difficulté à avoir accès à l’information souhaitée.

Date de modification :