Imagining Canada’s Future

Imagining Canada's Future

More than ever, society is looking to the social sciences and humanities to help understand and mitigate global challenges in the face of change. SSHRC’s Imagining Canada’s Future initiative mobilizes social sciences and humanities research to address emerging economic, societal and knowledge needs for Canada, and help guide decision-making across all sectors towards a better future.


Top

Future Challenge Areas

Future Challenge Areas: 2018-21

SSHRC partnered with Policy Horizons Canada on a comprehensive horizon scanning exercise to identify 16 future global challenges that may have a major impact on Canada in the next decade. These global challenges, such as living within the Earth’s carrying capacity, working in a digital economy, the evolving bio-age, or the erosion of culture and history, have the potential to shape society in significant ways. All the challenges cross multiple sectors and research disciplines and require broad collaboration to address.

Learn more

Future Challenge Areas: 2014-18

Following an extensive foresight exercise that began in 2012, six key future challenges were addressed throughout 2014-18. Each included a range of possible—yet, not exclusive—issues and subquestions that explore the complexity of the respective issue.

Learn more


Top

How can you contribute to Canada’s future?

SSHRC invites all applicants to review the 16 future challenges and to consider addressing one or more of them in the research proposals they submit to funding opportunities under SSHRC’s TalentInsight or Connection programs.

Knowledge Synthesis Grants

SSHRC will hold Knowledge Synthesis Grants funding opportunities to address a number of these future challenges. Further information on these funding opportunities as well as other activities will be made available throughout the year. For more information, visit the Future challenge areas page, check out latest news or connect with the Future Challenges Directorate

Collaborate with SSHRC

Engaging with our community and stakeholders enables excellence in research and talent, and in partnerships that inform decision-making across the public, private and not-for-profit sectors. As such, SSHRC invites leaders from these sectors to consider whether one or more of the global challenges might offer an opportunity for collaborations.

For more information on collaborating with SSHRC, contact the Future Challenges Directorate.

To explore how to connect your organization, department, or business with SSHRC-funded research experts from across Canada, consult SSHRC’s Awards Search Engine

See some of SSHRC’s recent collaborations


Living Within the Earth’s Carrying Capacity

SSHRC, with support from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, has launched this Knowledge Synthesis Grants competition aimed at examining ways to adapt to living within the Earth’s carrying capacity, which is considered one of humanity’s most important challenges.

Informing Best Practices in Environmental and Impact Assessment

SSHRC and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency have launched this Knowledge Synthesis Grants competition to stimulate social science and humanities research that will help inform best practices related to environmental and impact assessment.

International Policy Ideas Challenge 2019

Global Affairs Canada and SSHRC invite Canadian graduate students and early career researchers to submit their best ideas and solutions for Canada's international policy challenges.

Imaginer l’avenir du Canada

Imagining Canada's Future

Plus que jamais, la société se tourne vers les sciences humaines et les sciences sociales pour mieux comprendre les défis mondiaux et les atténuer dans un contexte en constante évolution. L’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada du CRSH mobilise la recherche en sciences humaines et en sciences sociales pour répondre à des besoins qui se manifestent au Canada en ce qui concerne l’économie, la société et les connaissances. Elle aide ainsi à orienter la prise des décisions dans tous les secteurs en vue d’un avenir meilleur.


Top

Défis de demain

Défis de demain 2018-2021

Le CRSH a noué un partenariat avec Horizons de politiques Canada pour l’exécution d’une analyse prospective exhaustive dans le but de cerner les 16 grands défis mondiaux susceptibles d’avoir des répercussions considérables au Canada au cours des dix prochaines années. Ces défis, qui ont trait, entre autres, à la vie en fonction de la capacité limite de la Terre, au travail à l’ère de l’économie numérique, à l’évolution de l’âge biologique et à l’érosion de la culture et de l’histoire, ont le potentiel de modifier profondément la société. Tous ces défis sont de nature multisectorielle et pluridisciplinaire, et il faudra des collaborations substantielles pour les relever.

En savoir plus

Défis de demain 2014-2018

À la suite d’une vaste démarche de prospective amorcée en 2012, six grands défis de demain ont été cernés et ont fait l’objet d’un examen de 2014 à 2018. Chaque défi a permis de soulever un éventail de questions et sous-questions possibles, auxquelles d’autres sont venues se greffer, et d’ainsi approfondir la complexité de chacun des sujets abordés.

En savoir plus


Top

Comment contribuer à un avenir meilleur pour le Canada?

Le CRSH invite tous les candidats et candidates à examiner les 16 défis de demain et à envisager la possibilité d’aborder un ou plusieurs de ces défis dans les propositions de recherche qu’ils et elles présentent dans le cadre des occasions de financement des programmes Talent, Savoir et Connexion du CRSH.

Subventions de synthèse des connaissances

Le CRSH lancera des concours annuels pour l’attribution de subventions de synthèse des connaissances qui porteront sur certains de ces défis. Plus de précisions au sujet tant de ces occasions de financement que d’autres activités seront fournies au cours de l’année. Il suffit de consulter la page Défis de demain et la page Nouvelles récentes ou encore de communiquer avec la Direction des défis de demain pour vous tenir au courant. 

Collaboration avec le CRSH

La collaboration avec le milieu de la recherche et les parties prenantes favorise l’excellence de la recherche et du talent, ainsi que des partenariats qui éclairent la prise de décision dans les secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif. Le CRSH invite donc les dirigeants de ces secteurs à considérer les possibilités de collaboration relativement à un ou plusieurs des défis de demain.

Pour plus d’information sur la collaboration avec le CRSH, prière de communiquer avec la Direction des défis de demain.

Pour établir des liens entre votre organisme, département, service ou entreprise et les chercheurs experts que finance le CRSH partout au Canada, consultez le moteur de recherche du CRSH.

Quelques exemples de collaboration avec le CRSH


La vie en fonction de la capacité limite de la Terre

Le CRSH, avec l’aide du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, a lancé ce concours de subventions de synthèse des connaissances qui vise à examiner les moyens de s'adapter à la vie en fonction de la capacité limite de la Terre, l'un des défis les plus importants de l'humanité.

Pratiques exemplaires dans les évaluations environnementales et les évaluations des impacts

Le CRSH et l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale ont lancé ce concours de subventions de synthèse des connaissances afin de stimuler la recherche en sciences humaines ayant pour but de cerner les pratiques exemplaires en évaluation environnementale et en évaluation des impacts.

Concours d’idées de politique internationale 2019

Affaires mondiales Canada et le CRSH invitent les étudiants et étudiantes des cycles supérieurs et les chercheurs et chercheures en début de carrière du Canada à faire part de leurs meilleures idées et solutions pouvant permettre au Canada de relever les défis qui se posent à lui en matière de politique internationale.