Shared Services Canada System Maintenance Notice

Please note that the network will not be available for 15 min on December 3, 2022, anytime between 19:00 and 23:00 (EST).


COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Synthesis at the nexus of sustainability assessment, regional/strategic assessment and Indigenous partnerships

Printable version

About the project

The most promising and overdue areas for innovation in impact assessment practice in Canada centre on three transitions:

  • from assessment regimes that aim only to mitigate significant adverse environmental effects, to regimes that expect proposed undertakings to make positive contributions to long-term sustainability
  • from assessing only projects to also assessing bigger policy concerns, cumulative effects and broader alternatives at the regional and strategic levels
  • from accepting Indigenous peoples and organizations as participants in assessments, to establishing power-sharing assessment partnerships in which Indigenous government bodies are recognized as decision-making authorities in co-governance arrangements

Assessment authorities, stakeholders, scholars and practitioners in Canada and beyond have struggled for decades with pressures and expectations in these three areas. The inadequacy of responses so far has been costly. Many recent assessment-related conflicts and credibility losses have resulted in part from overall governance failures to reverse unsustainable trends, face big policy issues and reconcile effectively with Indigenous peoples.

Canada’s assessment jurisdictions have, however, taken useful steps. Among the most recent responses is the new federal Impact Assessment Act (IAA), which came into effect in August 2019. The IAA includes provisions to address and potentially integrate all three components to deliver sustainability-based regional and strategic assessments with Indigenous partners. Clarification of how the IAA will be implemented is ongoing.

This synthesis aims to provide policy-makers and other assessment participants with a strong knowledge base for pursuing the potential of the new federal law and similar opportunities in and with other jurisdictions.

Key findings

This report begins with the broad foundations of sustainability-based assessment, examines sustainability-based regional and strategic assessments, and focuses more specifically on applications involving Indigenous partnerships. The range of possibilities is illustrated by contrasting case reports on the Yukon planning and assessment processes, including current initiatives with the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in in the Dawson region, and on the multiple planning-level collaborations and co-government initiatives established by the Haida Nation.

The key findings are as follows:

  • Sustainability-based assessments in diverse forms are common across the globe. In Canada, they began well before the language of sustainability was popularized in the mid-1980s. The recent federal assessment reform process consultations broadly supported the notion that projects subject to assessment should make a positive overall contribution to sustainability. In other words, they should improve prospects for lasting well-being. Sustainability-based assessment is deliberation and decision-making in the long-term public interest. The difficulties lie in building willingness to confront the unsustainability of many current activities and establishing clear sustainability-based criteria for assessments.
  • Many regional and strategic assessments and the equivalent have been undertaken in Canada, but mostly in ad hoc processes. The diversity of practical explorations, plus associated thinking about basic objectives, structural options, relations with project assessments and approaches to application, provide a solid base for the synthesis of initial lessons about core substance and process requirements, useful tools and effective approaches. At the same time, the literature recognizes challenges, such as attracting multi-jurisdictional participation, assigning roles and responsibilities, and producing credible and authoritative guidance for project-level activities.
  • Collaborative partnerships with Indigenous governing bodies are likely to be needed in most regional assessments in Canada―and perhaps in many strategic assessments of broad policies, plans and programs. However, Indigenous partners are not like federal or provincial government partners. While all three now have constitutionally entrenched rights and roles, the reassertion and gradual recognition of rights of Indigenous peoples has special significance for defying the history of colonialism and efforts to eliminate Indigenous cultures and power. Indigenous partnerships in assessments involve recovery and application of Indigenous authority and Indigenous ways of seeing, deliberating and deciding.

Policy implications

The intersection of sustainability, regional and strategic assessments and Indigenous partnerships offers many suitable venues for exploring innovation in impact assessment. Challenges to be faced include the following:

  • Specified sustainability-based approaches are needed throughout the design and application of assessment law, policy, process and practice. Successful sustainability-based assessment depends especially on clarity about expectations and grounds for conclusions. Both rely on explicit criteria for assessments, based on the common requirements for progress toward sustainability and considerations specific to each individual case and context.
  • Regional and strategic assessments need to be sustainability-based and produce credible and authoritative products―policies, plans, programs and effective means of implementation. Past experience indicates that a diversity of process models will be needed for regional and strategic assessment to accommodate different needs, participants, capacities and time demands.
  • Assessment co-governance with Indigenous bodies is not a matter of integrating modestly different structures and responsibilities, but of retaining the integrity of resolutely defended and significantly different, although often complementary, approaches. For sustainability-based regional and strategic assessment applications, that will often mean “braiding” Indigenous and non-Indigenous approaches to deliberations and decisions. As well, the assessments will need to not only establish regional and strategic policies, plans, programs and projects but also build structures for shared governance over implementation.

Further information

Read the full report

Contact the researchers

At the University of Waterloo:

Dayna Nadine Scott, professor, Osgoode Hall Law School/Faculty of Environmental Studies, York University; DScott@osgoode.yorku.ca

Meinhard Doelle, professor, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University, and World Maritime University, Sweden; mhd@wmu.se

A. John Sinclair, professor, Natural Resources Institute, University of Manitoba; John.Sinclair@umanitoba.ca

The views expressed in this evidence brief are those of the authors and not those of SSHRC, IAAC, or the Government of Canada.

Date modified:

Au carrefour de l’évaluation de la durabilité, de l’évaluation régionale et stratégique et des partenariats avec les Autochtones

Version imprimable

Le projet

En matière de pratiques d’évaluation des impacts au Canada, les éléments les plus prometteurs et les plus en mal d’innovations ont trait à trois transitions :

  • la transition de régimes d’évaluation ne visant qu’à atténuer les pires effets sur l’environnement à des régimes en vertu desquels les projets proposés doivent améliorer la durabilité à long terme;
  • la transition d’évaluations portant uniquement sur des projets à des évaluations qui tiennent également compte de préoccupations de plus grande portée sur le plan des politiques, des effets cumulatifs et de solutions de rechange plus générales au niveau régional et stratégique;
  • la transition de l’acceptation des peuples et des organismes autochtones à titre de participants aux évaluations à l’établissement de partenariats d’évaluation prévoyant le partage des pouvoirs et où le pouvoir décisionnel des corps dirigeants autochtones est reconnu dans le cadre d’ententes de cogouvernance.

Les autorités chargées des évaluations, les parties prenantes, les chercheurs et les praticiens au Canada et ailleurs font face depuis des décennies à des pressions et à des attentes à ces égards. L’insuffisance des interventions s’est avérée coûteuse jusqu’à maintenant. Plusieurs conflits récents reliés aux évaluations et les pertes de crédibilité qui en ont découlé sont en partie attribuables à l’incapacité de la gouvernance d’ensemble d’inverser des tendances non durables, de faire face à de grandes questions de politiques et de bel et bien contribuer à la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones.

Les instances canadiennes chargées des évaluations ont toutefois pris des mesures utiles. La nouvelle Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact du gouvernement fédéral, entrée en vigueur en août 2019, compte parmi les plus récentes de ces mesures. Elle comprend des dispositions portant sur les trois éléments susmentionnés et pourrait en faciliter l’intégration à des évaluations régionales et stratégiques axées sur la durabilité et menées avec des partenaires autochtones. Des éclaircissements sur la mise en application de la Loi sont en voie d’être fournis.

Cette synthèse vise à donner aux responsables de l’élaboration des politiques et aux autres participants aux évaluations une solide assise de connaissances qui leur permettra d’exploiter le potentiel de cette nouvelle loi fédérale et de possibilités similaires dans et avec d’autres instances.

Les principales constatations

Le rapport décrit d’abord les fondements généraux des évaluations axées sur la durabilité; il examine ensuite les évaluations régionales et stratégiques axées sur la durabilité, en s’attardant plus particulièrement aux cas qui font intervenir des partenaires autochtones. L’éventail des possibilités est illustré en comparant des études de cas sur les processus de planification et d’évaluation menés au Yukon, notamment dans le cadre d’initiatives en cours avec les Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in de la région de Dawson, et des études sur les initiatives de collaboration à paliers multiples et de cogouvernement établies par la nation Haïda.

En voici les principales constatations.

  • Des évaluations axées sur la durabilité sont effectuées partout dans le monde, sous diverses formes. Elles ont commencé au Canada bien avant que le vocabulaire de la durabilité ne devienne courant, au milieu des années 1980. Les récentes consultations du gouvernement fédéral sur la réforme des évaluations ont fait ressortir un large appui au principe selon lequel les projets qui font l’objet d’évaluations devraient contribuer à l’amélioration générale de la durabilité. En d’autres termes, ces projets devraient améliorer nos perspectives de bien-être durable. Les évaluations axées sur la durabilité supposent des délibérations et la prise de décisions visant l’intérêt à long terme de la population. Il faudra pour cela raffermir la volonté de s’attaquer à la non-durabilité de nombreuses activités en cours et établir des critères d’évaluation clairs axés sur la durabilité.
  • De nombreuses évaluations régionales et stratégiques, ou leurs équivalents, ont été menées au Canada, mais la plupart du temps dans le cadre de processus ponctuels. La diversité des examens pratiques et la réflexion qui y est associée sur les objectifs fondamentaux, les options structurales, les relations avec les évaluations de projets et les méthodes de mise en application fournissent un fondement solide à la synthèse des premiers enseignements sur l’essence même et sur les processus nécessaires ainsi que sur les outils utiles et les approches efficaces. Toutefois, la documentation fait état des défis suivants : convaincre de multiples instances de participer, attribuer les rôles et les responsabilités et produire des documents d’orientation crédibles et faisant autorité pour les activités des projets.
  • Il faudra probablement conclure des partenariats de collaboration avec des corps dirigeants autochtones pour la plupart des évaluations régionales au Canada et peut-être même pour de nombreuses évaluations stratégiques de politiques, plans et programmes généraux. Toutefois, les partenaires autochtones diffèrent des partenaires des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux. Ces trois types de partenaires ont désormais des droits et des rôles enchâssés dans la Constitution, mais la réaffirmation et la reconnaissance graduelle des droits des peuples autochtones revêtent une signification particulière en ceci qu’elles s’inscrivent à contre-courant de l’histoire du colonialisme et des tentatives d’élimination des cultures et du pouvoir des Autochtones. Les partenariats conclus avec des Autochtones aux fins des évaluations supposent le rétablissement et la mise en application de leur pouvoir et de leur manière de voir les choses, de délibérer et de prendre des décisions.

Ce que cela suppose pour les politiques

Au carrefour de la durabilité, des évaluations régionales et stratégiques et des partenariats avec les Autochtones, il existe de nombreux moyens d’explorer l’innovation dans l’évaluation des impacts, mais il y a aussi des défis à relever, dont les suivants.

  • Il faudra recourir à des approches expressément axées sur la durabilité lors de la conception et de la mise en application des lois, des politiques, des processus et des pratiques en matière d’évaluation. La réussite des évaluations axées sur la durabilité dépend tout particulièrement d’une communication claire des attentes et des motifs des conclusions, lesquels s’appuient sur des critères d’évaluation explicites établis en fonction d’exigences communes nécessaires au cheminement vers la durabilité et en tenant compte des particularités et du contexte propres à chaque cas.
  • Les évaluations régionales et stratégiques doivent être axées sur la durabilité et donner lieu à des produits crédibles faisant autorité, notamment des politiques, des plans, des programmes et des moyens de mise en œuvre efficaces. Les expériences passées indiquent qu’il faudra disposer d’une variété de modèles de processus pour que les évaluations régionales et stratégiques puissent être adaptées à une vaste gamme de besoins, de participants, de capacités et d’échéances.
  • La participation d’organes autochtones à la cogouvernance des évaluations ne signifie pas que différentes structures et responsabilités seront modérément intégrées aux évaluations, mais plutôt qu’il faudra préserver l’intégrité d’approches complémentaires, mais passablement différentes, qu’il faudra promouvoir avec détermination. Dans le cas des évaluations régionales et stratégiques axées sur la durabilité, cela se traduira bien souvent par un maillage des approches autochtones et non autochtones en matière de délibérations et de décisions. Enfin, les évaluations devront non seulement mener à l’établissement de politiques, plans, programmes et projets régionaux et stratégiques, mais également à la création de structures pour la gouvernance conjointe de la mise en œuvre.

Complément d’information

Rapport intégral (en anglais)

Coordonnées des chercheurs

University of Waterloo

Dayna Nadine Scott, professeure, Osgoode Hall Law School et Faculté des études de l’environnement, Université York dscott@osgoode.yorku.ca

Meinhard Doelle, professeur, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University et World Maritime University, Suède mhd@wmu.se

A. John Sinclair, professeur, Institut des ressources naturelles, Université du Manitoba john.sinclair@umanitoba.ca

Les opinions exprimées dans cette fiche sont celles des auteurs ; elles ne sont pas celles du CRSH, de l'AEIC ni du gouvernement du Canada.

Date de modification :