COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Evaluating methods for analyzing economic impacts in environmental assessments

Printable version

About the project

Sound methodological guidelines are essential for generating accurate and consistent data on socio-economic impacts in environmental assessment (EA) to determine whether a project is in the public interest and what conditions need to be attached to its approval to mitigate adverse impacts. The Canadian environmental assessment process currently lacks comprehensive methodological guidelines for undertaking socio-economic analysis of projects. Consequently, project analysts have wide discretion that can result in a lack of consistency and accuracy in forecasting impacts.

This research focused on the economic dimension of this problem by evaluating strengths and weaknesses of methods for assessing economic impacts, developing best practice guidelines for undertaking economic impact assessment, and identifying areas for future research. Five methods were evaluated: economic impact analysis; sustainability impact assessment; benefit-cost analysis; multiple-account benefit-cost analysis; and multi-criteria decision analysis. The findings are relevant for assessing social and environmental impacts and determining whether a project is in the public interest.

Key findings

  • Economic impact analysis is the most common method used in the EA process to assess economic impacts, but the models used (input-output and regional income/employment multipliers) have serious limitations: they assume static relationships between sectors, they place no constraints on labour and capital, and they omit opportunity and other project costs. As a result, the models overestimate employment, economic output and fiscal impacts of projects, and exaggerate economic benefits. If properly done, economic impact analysis can provide useful information on regional demographic impacts for planning infrastructure and services, but the limitations in the methods need to be addressed.
  • Sustainability impact assessment is not a single method, but uses many different methods that assess the impact of a project on sustainability goals. The challenge of using sustainability assessment is setting appropriate targets and estimating the project’s impact on these targets.
  • Benefit-cost analysis is the preferred method for identifying and comparing all major costs and benefits of a project and determining whether a project generates a net benefit to society and is in the public interest. Challenges in applying benefit-cost include defining appropriate discount rates, measuring non-market values, disaggregating impacts by geographic and stakeholder groups, dealing with uncertainty and risk, and providing information on issues such as employment and fiscal impacts in a format useful to decision-makers. Despite its strengths, benefit-cost has rarely been used in EA.
  • Multiple account benefit-cost analysis overcomes many of the limitations of other techniques by combining economic impact analysis, benefit-cost analysis and other environmental assessment methods into a single comprehensive framework. It provides decision-makers with the information they need by including a number of separate accounts. However, because this method combines the other methods, it faces many of the same challenges and limitations.
  • Multi-criteria decision analysis is a more generalized method for evaluating alternative projects and policies relative to a set of evaluation criteria. It has many of the attributes of multiple account benefit-cost analysis in terms of disaggregating project impacts and evaluating them in relation to desired outcomes, but is not as well suited to EA as multiple accounts.

Policy implications

  • Canada lacks comprehensive guidelines for undertaking socio-economic impact assessments; comprehensive guidelines need to be developed to improve the accuracy and consistency of results for decision-making in the EA process.
  • Multiple account benefit-cost analysis is the best method for assessing economic impacts―as well as other environmental and social impacts―because it combines economic impact analysis, benefit-cost analysis and other methods of environmental impact assessment into a single, comprehensive evaluation framework that provides decision-makers with a transparent and systematic assessment of project impacts and trade-offs. Consequently, the priority should be to develop guidelines for using multiple account benefit-cost analysis so that it can be applied in a consistent and methodologically sound manner in EA.
  • Guidelines should address issues in applying multiple account benefit-cost and its components of economic impact analysis and benefit-cost, including:
    • defining account categories
    • clearly stating the limitations of the various analysis components
    • providing sensitivity analysis to capture the range of likely impacts instead of generating one forecast
    • providing estimates of net economic changes as well as gross changes
    • using standardized definitions of impacts, such as annual person-years of employment instead of total person-years of employment to avoid misinterpreting results
    • disaggregating impacts by key stakeholder groups
    • defining appropriate discount rates
    • measuring non-market values
    • dealing with uncertainty and risk

Further information

Read the full report

Contact the researcher

Thomas Gunton, Director of Resource and Environmental Planning Program, School of Resource and Environmental Management, Simon Fraser University; gunton@sfu.ca

The views expressed in this evidence brief are those of the author and not those of SSHRC, IAAC, or the Government of Canada.

Date modified:

Évaluation des méthodes d’analyse des impacts économiques utilisées dans le cadre des évaluations environnementales

Version imprimable

Le projet

Il faut de solides lignes directrices en matière de méthodologie pour produire des données exactes et cohérentes sur les impacts socioéconomiques dans les évaluations environnementales dans l’optique d’établir si un projet est d’intérêt public et de déterminer ce que doivent être les conditions de son approbation pour en atténuer les impacts défavorables. À l’heure actuelle, le processus canadien d’évaluation environnementale est dépourvu de lignes directrices détaillées pour l’exécution d’analyses socioéconomiques des projets. Par conséquent, les analystes ont beaucoup de latitude, ce qui peut se traduire par un manque de cohérence et d’exactitude dans la prévision des incidences.

Le projet s’est penché sur la dimension économique de ce problème par l’évaluation des forces et des faiblesses des méthodes servant à mesurer les impacts économiques, l’élaboration de lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques à adopter pour réaliser une évaluation des impacts économiques et le repérage de sujets de recherche futurs. Cinq méthodes ont été évaluées : l’analyse des impacts économiques, l’évaluation des impacts sur la durabilité, l’analyse coûts-avantages, l’analyse coûts-avantages de comptes multiples et l’analyse multicritère d’aide à la décision. Les résultats sont pertinents pour évaluer les impacts sociaux et environnementaux et déterminer si un projet est dans l’intérêt public.

Les principales constatations

  • L’analyse des impacts économiques est la méthode la plus couramment employée dans le processus d’évaluation environnementale pour mesurer les impacts sur le plan économique, mais les méthodes utilisées (entrées-sorties et multiplicateurs du revenu et de l’emploi à l’échelle régionale) présentent de graves lacunes : elles présument d’une relation statique entre les secteurs, elles n’imposent aucune contrainte reliée à la main-d’œuvre ou au capital et elles omettent les coûts de renonciation et autres coûts des projets. Par conséquent, les modèles surestiment l’emploi, le rendement économique et les répercussions fiscales des projets, en plus d’en exagérer les retombées économiques. Une analyse des impacts économiques, si elle est bien menée, peut fournir de l’information sur les répercussions démographiques régionales qui sera utile pour la planification des infrastructures et des services, mais il demeure que les limites inhérentes à ces méthodes doivent être corrigées.
  • L’évaluation des impacts sur la durabilité ne consiste pas en une seule méthode mais fait appel à bon nombre de méthodes différentes pour mesurer les impacts d’un projet sur les objectifs en matière de durabilité. Dans le cadre d’une évaluation portant sur la durabilité, le défi réside dans l’établissement de cibles appropriées et dans l’estimation des impacts du projet sur ces cibles.
  • L’analyse coûts-avantages est la méthode privilégiée pour cerner tous les coûts et avantages substantiels d’un projet et les comparer ainsi que pour établir si un projet offre un avantage net à la société et s’il est dans l’intérêt public. Dans le cadre d’une analyse coûts-avantages, le défi réside dans l’établissement de taux d’actualisation appropriés, la mesure des valeurs non liées au marché, la ventilation des incidences par zone géographique et par partie prenante, la gestion des impondérables et des risques et la diffusion d’information sur des questions comme l’emploi et les répercussions fiscales dans une présentation pouvant être utile aux décideurs. Malgré ses atouts, l’analyse coûts-avantages est rarement utilisée dans les évaluations environnementales.
  • L’analyse coûts-avantages de comptes multiples remédie à bien des inconvénients des autres méthodes car elle regroupe l’analyse des impacts économiques, l’analyse coûts-avantages et d’autres méthodes d’évaluation environnementale en un seul cadre d’évaluation exhaustif. Elle procure aux décideurs l’information dont ils ont besoin en y intégrant un grand nombre de comptes distincts. Cependant, comme cette méthode réunit toutes les autres, elle fait face à bon nombre des mêmes défis et limites.
  • L’analyse multicritère d’aide à la décision est une méthode plus générale qui sert à évaluer des projets et des politiques de rechange en tenant compte d’un ensemble de critères. Elle possède bon nombre des attributs de l’analyse coûts-avantages de comptes multiples, pour ce qui est de la ventilation des impacts d’un projet et de leur évaluation par rapport aux résultats souhaités, mais elle n’est pas aussi bien adaptée aux évaluations environnementales.

Ce que cela suppose pour les politiques

  • Le Canada ne dispose pas de lignes directrices exhaustives pour l’exécution d’analyses des impacts socioéconomiques; de telles lignes directrices doivent être élaborées pour l’obtention de résultats plus exacts et plus cohérents aux fins de la prise de décisions dans les processus d’évaluation environnementale.
  • L’analyse coûts-avantages de comptes multiples est la meilleure méthode pour évaluer les impacts économiques, de même que les autres impacts environnementaux et sociaux, car elle allie l’analyse des impacts économiques, l’analyse coûts-avantages et les autres méthodes d’évaluation des impacts environnementaux en un seul cadre exhaustif qui procure aux décideurs une évaluation transparente et systématique des impacts d’un projet et des compromis qu’il nécessite. Par conséquent, il faut accorder la priorité à l’élaboration de lignes directrices sur l’utilisation de l’analyse coûts-avantages de comptes multiples afin de pouvoir l’appliquer de manière uniforme et fiable sur le plan méthodologique dans les évaluations environnementales.
  • Les lignes directrices doivent aborder les éléments reliés à la mise en application de l’analyse coûts-avantages de comptes multiples et de ses composantes qui ont trait à l’analyse des impacts économiques et à l’analyse coûts-avantages, notamment :
    • la définition des catégories de comptes;
    • la description claire des limites des diverses composantes de l’analyse;
    • l’exécution d’une analyse de sensibilité, qui saisit toute la gamme des impacts probables au lieu de produire une seule prévision;
    • une estimation des modifications à caractère économique nettes ainsi que des modifications brutes;
    • l’utilisation de définitions normalisées des impacts, comme le nombre annuel d’années-personnes d’emploi plutôt que le nombre total d’années-personnes d’emploi, pour éviter une mauvaise interprétation des résultats;
    • la ventilation des résultats par partie prenante clé;
    • la détermination de taux d’actualisation appropriés;
    • la mesure des valeurs non liées au marché;
    • les mesures à prendre pour remédier aux impondérables et aux risques.

Complément d’information

Rapport intégral (en anglais)

Coordonnées du chercheur

Thomas Gunton, directeur du programme de planification environnementale et des ressources, École de gestion de l’environnement et des ressources, Simon Fraser University gunton@sfu.ca

Les opinions exprimées dans cette fiche sont celles de l'auteur ; elles ne sont pas celles du CRSH, de l'AEIC ni du gouvernement du Canada.

Date de modification :