COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Beyond participation and distribution: advancing a comprehensive justice framework for impact assessment

Printable version

About the project

Industrial projects bring about dramatic social change. With the Impact Assessment Act 2019 (IAA) there is a greater emphasis on the social impacts of development and on the “meaningful participation” of citizens in impact assessment (IA). It is widely believed that meaningful participation can improve the legitimacy of development and even provide a step toward reconciliation with Indigenous peoples―a commitment set out explicitly in the IAA.

To foster meaningful participation and deliver sound decisions, impact assessments must be just. While this is true in general, it is particularly important in Canada as assessments shift from a technical focus on environmental risk to a broader examination of the social, cultural, economic and health impacts of proposed development projects under IAA. Calls have been made for integrating justice more centrally in impact assessment practice and evaluation, but work is needed to inform just IA processes.

This project draws on a framework of justice that emerges from environmental justice scholarship and activism, and defines it along three interdependent dimensions: distribution, representation and recognition. The project tests the hypothesis that there is a gap in research that addresses all three dimensions of this justice framework. It also assesses how this gap in research might translate into, or reflect, a gap in methods for guiding meaningful participation in IA. Finally, it draws best practices in just IA out of the existing scholarship.

Key findings

  • Impact assessments are foremost issues of justice, not of environmental management. Justice provides a conceptual framework that can help identify emerging points of tension and suggest remedial action. In Canada, as in other jurisdictions, growing inequities threaten both social and natural environments. Claims of injustice are increasingly central in conflicts over industrial development. Recent disputes over the Coastal GasLink pipeline, for example, stem from long-standing tensions rooted in inequitable resource distribution, settler-colonialism and regional conflicts.
  • A review of academic articles, technical reports, government documents and media articles highlights that articles that address justice in IA typically focus on either its distributional or procedural dimensions. Yet, best practices in the literature reveal that just IA accounts for all three forms of justice as they are interrelated. For instance, much of the IA literature and practice from the USA emphasizes distributional aspects of environmental justice by advancing quantification measures for designating an “environmental justice community.” While helpful for community attempts to seek redress or resources in instances of injustice, quantification and standardization present challenges from the perspective of representation and recognition because they often involve top-down centralization of decision-making power in IA. Just IA should engage communities in defining harms, impacts and what constitutes an “environmental justice community” (that is, a community made vulnerable by such harms and impacts).
  • The Canadian context for IA is unique and instructive about the importance of the recognition dimensions of justice. This review revealed that there is comparatively less work on recognition than on the other forms of justice. What exists is most often situated within scholarship that specifically addresses Indigenous knowledge and often appears outside of IA literature. It reveals that definitions and languages that are built into IA processes often favour Western norms and were developed within the context of Western approaches to governance.
  • There are inherent challenges to translating theoretical and policy ideals into practice. Ultimately there is no “silver bullet” for just IA. As such, this report gives practitioners and policy-makers “sensitizing concepts” that can be used to structure engagement with communities to advance meaningful participation. 

Policy implications

Working from the above observations, the final report offers a number of recommendations for researchers, policy-makers and practitioners of IA, including the following:

  • Future research on just IA should focus on recognitional justice, which will be helpful for Canadian IA policy and practice where issues of Indigenous sovereignty and jurisdiction are front-and-centre in IA decisions. Additionally, on-the-ground Canadian best practices need to be synthesized for decision-making communities, in order to connect what now appear to be disparate academic conversations on IA relating to Indigenous Knowledge on the one hand and environmental justice on the other.
  • Considerations of justice need to be brought to the fore at every stage of the impact assessment process―from initial planning and scoping to post-assessment considerations of how environmental, economic and cultural harms and benefits are distributed.
  • In the Canadian context, just IA will only be achieved when Indigenous approaches are incorporated into IA processes and when decision-making power is shared symmetrically between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples, as well as equitably among members within Indigenous communities.

Further information

Read the full report

Contact the researchers

Kelly Bronson, Canada Research Chair in Science & Society, University of Ottawa; kbronson@uottawa.ca

Gwendolyn Blue, associate professor, Department of Geography, University of Calgary; ggblue@ucalgary.ca

Alana Lajoie-O’Malley, PhD candidate, School of Sociological and Anthropological Studies, University of Ottawa; alana.Lajoie-O'Malley@uottawa.ca

The views expressed in this evidence brief are those of the authors and not those of SSHRC, IAAC, or the Government of Canada.

Date modified:

Au-delà de la participation et de la répartition : vers un cadre de justice exhaustif pour l’évaluation des impacts

Version imprimable

Le projet

Les projets industriels entraînent de profonds changements sociaux. Avec la Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact (2019), l’accent porte davantage sur les répercussions sociales du développement et sur la participation « significative » des citoyens aux évaluations des impacts. Il est largement admis qu’une telle participation peut rendre le développement plus légitime et même constituer un pas de plus vers la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones, conformément à l’engagement clairement énoncé dans la Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact.

Pour favoriser une participation significative des citoyens et donner lieu à des décisions éclairées, les évaluations des impacts doivent être justes. Ce principe est vrai de façon générale, mais il prend une importance toute particulière au Canada, où les évaluations, qui mettaient jusqu’ici l’accent sur l’aspect technique des risques pour l’environnement, comprennent désormais un examen plus large des impacts d’ordre social, culturel, économique et sanitaire des projets de développement en vertu de la Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact. Certains ont demandé que la notion de justice soit intégrée de façon plus centrale dans les pratiques et les évaluations, mais il reste du travail à faire pour cerner ce que sont des processus d’évaluation des impacts véritablement justes.

Ce projet fait fond sur un cadre de justice qui découle des travaux d’érudition et du militantisme en matière de justice environnementale. Le cadre comporte trois dimensions interdépendantes : celles de la répartition, de la représentation et de la reconnaissance. Le projet vise à vérifier l’hypothèse selon laquelle la recherche sur les trois dimensions de ce cadre de justice est lacunaire. Il vise également à déterminer si les lacunes observées en recherche se traduisent par des lacunes, ou témoignent de lacunes, dans les méthodes visant à orienter la participation significative aux évaluations des impacts. Finalement, il propose de bonnes pratiques, tirées de travaux de recherche existants, pour des évaluations des impacts justes.

Les principales constatations

  • Les évaluations des impacts relèvent avant tout de la justice et non de la gestion de l’environnement. La justice fournit un cadre conceptuel qui aide à cerner les tensions qui émergent et qui suggère des mesures correctives. Au Canada comme ailleurs, les inégalités croissantes menacent aussi bien le milieu social que le milieu naturel. Les allégations d’injustice occupent une place croissante dans les conflits suscités par le développement industriel. Les récents différends au sujet du gazoduc de Coastal GasLink, par exemple, découlent de tensions de longue date résultant d’une répartition inéquitable des ressources, du colonialisme et de conflits régionaux.
  • L’examen d’articles universitaires, de rapports techniques, de documents gouvernementaux et de reportages publiés dans les médias a permis de constater que les textes traitant de la justice dans les évaluations des impacts portent généralement sur la répartition ou sur les procédures. Pourtant, selon les bonnes pratiques relevées dans la documentation, les évaluations des impacts justes prennent en compte les trois dimensions de la justice, puisque celles-ci sont interreliées. À titre d’exemple, une bonne partie de la documentation et des pratiques en évaluation des impacts aux États-Unis met l’accent sur les aspects de répartition de la justice environnementale, en préconisant l’utilisation de mesures de quantification pour cerner les collectivités touchées par la justice environnementale. Bien qu’elles soient utiles aux collectivités qui tentent d’obtenir des réparations ou des ressources quand il y a eu injustice, la quantification et l’uniformisation posent des défis du point de vue de la représentation et de la reconnaissance, car elles supposent fréquemment une centralisation du pouvoir décisionnel, dans une structure allant du sommet vers la base, dans les évaluations des impacts. Pour que ces dernières soient justes, il faut inviter les collectivités à participer à la définition des préjudices, des impacts et des « collectivités touchées par la justice environnementale » (c’est-à-dire les collectivités rendues vulnérables par ces préjudices et ces impacts).
  • Le contexte dans lequel les évaluations des impacts sont effectuées au Canada est unique en son genre et riche en enseignements quant à l’importance de la dimension « reconnaissance » de la justice. L’examen a révélé que les travaux sur la reconnaissance sont moins nombreux que ceux qui portent sur les autres dimensions de la justice. Ils sont le plus souvent intégrés dans des travaux d’érudition portant expressément sur les connaissances autochtones et ils se trouvent fréquemment en dehors de la documentation sur les évaluations des impacts. L’examen a aussi révélé que les définitions et la terminologie des processus d’évaluation des impacts favorisent souvent les normes occidentales et ont été élaborées dans le contexte des approches occidentales de la gouvernance.
  • Il existe des défis inhérents à la mise en pratique d’idéaux émanant de théories et de politiques. Au bout du compte, aucune solution miracle ne peut garantir des évaluations des impacts justes. Ainsi, le rapport présente aux praticiens et aux responsables de l’élaboration des politiques des concepts qui favorisent la sensibilisation et qu’ils peuvent utiliser pour structurer le dialogue avec les collectivités en vue d’une participation plus significative.

Ce que cela suppose pour les politiques

S’appuyant sur les observations qui précèdent, les auteures du rapport final proposent un certain nombre de recommandations aux chercheurs, aux responsables de l’élaboration des politiques et aux praticiens qui exécutent des évaluations des impacts. Elles recommandent notamment :

  • que les recherches futures sur les évaluations des impacts justes abordent la dimension de la reconnaissance, ce qui sera utile aux responsables des politiques et aux praticiens du domaine de l’évaluation des impacts au Canada, où la souveraineté et la compétence des Autochtones sont au cœur des décisions qui découlent des évaluations des impacts. Il est en outre recommandé que l’on procède à la synthèse des bonnes pratiques appliquées sur le terrain au Canada à l’intention des décideurs, dans le but d’établir des liens entre ce qui semble se résumer à des conversations disparates entre universitaires sur les évaluations des impacts relativement aux connaissances autochtones, d’une part, et la justice environnementale, d’autre part;
  • que les considérations reliées à la justice occupent une place prépondérante à chaque étape du processus d’évaluation des impacts, depuis la planification et la détermination initiale de la portée jusqu’à la formulation des considérations sur la répartition des préjudices et des bienfaits sur le plan environnemental, économiques et culturel une fois l’évaluation terminée;
  • que les approches autochtones soient intégrées dans les processus d’évaluation des impacts et que le pouvoir décisionnel soit partagé de façon symétrique entre les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones, et de façon équitable entre les membres des communautés autochtones, car c’est là une condition essentielle à la réalisation d’évaluations des impacts justes au Canada.

Complément d’information

Rapport intégral (en anglais)

Coordonnées des chercheures

Kelly Bronson, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la science et la société (en anglais), Université d’Ottawa kbronson@uottawa.ca

Gwendolyn Blue, professeure agrégée, Département de géographie, University of Calgary. ggblue@ucalgary.ca

Alana Lajoie-O’Malley, doctorante, Études sociologiques et anthropologiques, Faculté des sciences sociales, Université d’Ottawa alana.lajoie-o'malley@uottawa.ca

Les opinions exprimées dans cette fiche sont celles des auteurs ; elles ne sont pas celles du CRSH, de l'AEIC ni du gouvernement du Canada.

Date de modification :