COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Gender-based analysis plus: implementing and developing a socially responsible impact assessment process in Canada

Printable version

About the project

The need for gendered and culturally sensitive analyses of the impacts of resource development is being echoed across Canada. This is particularly important in rural, remote and Indigenous communities most affected by resource development, where individuals―especially women and girls―bear the embodied burden of these impacts. Section 22 (s) of Canada’s Impact Assessment Act (IAA) says that sex, gender and other identity factors must be considered during impact assessments (IA). This clause is an overdue response to the increasing awareness of the need for improved regulation and the development of social and cultural impact assessment processes. Section 22 (s) also provides an opportunity to address the social impacts of resource development to build a more gender-inclusive and equitable federal IA process.

The need for gender sensitive impact assessment is clear, but how to design and conduct assessments that meaningfully include the impacts on sex and gender is less so. Bringing informed practices into environmental and impact assessments requires a widespread understanding of gender-based analysis plus (GBA+).

A systemic and critical literature review (n=56) provided an evidence base for improving the tools and methods used to integrate GBA+ practices into impact assessments in Canada. It also confirmed the need for:

  • an equity and anti-oppression-informed approach to integrating indicator frameworks in GBA+
  • further resources to fill a major gap in knowledge and practice relating to gender-based violence, project appraisal and resource development

Key findings

  • Because communities are unique and require context-specific frameworks, an equity and anti-oppression-informed approach is required when developing and implementing sex and gender indicators.  
  • Attention to the impacts of colonialism, including violence against women in association with resource development, is needed. Both literature and practice fail to address the intersection of impact assessments and gender-based violence. Impact assessments generally emphasize employment equity rather than sexual violence in their gender analysis. The Final Report of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (MMIWG) on extractive industries makes a direct call to justice in assessment and regulatory processes: this call is not being met in current research or policy.
  • A bottom-up approach is needed. Gender mainstreaming in Canada tends to focus on the work of policy experts. Our findings indicate the need to work directly with affected communities from the early planning phase through to project closure. However, there are obstacles to implementation that need to be addressed, including a lack of funding for Indigenous and women’s organizations.
  • Current impact assessment methods lack deep engagement with the “plus” in GBA+, including a failure to engage with queer and Two-spirit communities. Women and men are typically understood through a binary lens within impact assessment, even when a gendered analysis within impact assessment and GBA+ is used.
  • Canadian IA processes require methodological innovation and the participation of third-party researchers with expertise in gender-based violence, Indigenous-led research and widespread, inclusive community engagement. Work to implement GBA+ and Indigenous GBA+ is also mandatory during the planning phase, with follow-up throughout the project.

Policy implications

  • GBA+ is not a prescribed method but a way of thinking or a lens. As such there is a challenge in implementing GBA+ analysis to mainstream patterns and develop indicators that are sensitive to not just sex and gender identity but also impacts of racialized gendered oppression.
  • The impacts of gender violence on communities must be addressed. Researchers and policy-makers must respond to the Final Report of the MMIWG inquiry, including demands for gender-based socio-economic assessments. Policy-makers require increased awareness of confidentiality, trauma and culturally sensitive research to carry out work that begins with disaggregated data and community statements and extends well beyond.
  • Policy must work to overcome structural, epistemic, methodological and practice-based discrimination. Government departments need to:
    • include feminist and Indigenous research specialists among staff
    • institutionalize training and awareness of GBA+ and best practices
    • institute systems of accountability to ensure thorough and consistent implementation of GBA+ policies in all impact assessment projects
  • Emphasize intersectionality in impact assessment. Impact assessments need to become more sensitive to the experiences of women and gender-diverse people, to toxic masculinities and other axes of inequality (sexualities, class, gender and the interplay of racism, sexism, colonization and Indigeneity). In particular, the implications of GBA+ and impact assessment on gender non-binary populations need to be examined, including on LGBTQ2SI+ communities, as well as intersectionalities within the Indigenous experience.

Further information

Read the full report

Contact the researchers

Dawn Hoogeveen, postdoctoral researcher, University of Northern British Columbia; dawn.hoogeveen@unbc.ca

Maya Gislason, assistant professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University: maya_gislason@sfu.ca

The views expressed in this evidence brief are those of the authors and not those of SSHRC, IAAC, or the Government of Canada.

Date modified:

Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus : élaboration et mise en application d’un processus d’évaluation des impacts socialement responsable au Canada

Version imprimable

Le projet

La nécessité d’avoir des analyses des impacts de la mise en valeur des ressources genrées et tenant compte des différences culturelles trouve écho partout au Canada. Cela est particulièrement important dans les collectivités rurales, éloignées et autochtones, qui sont les plus touchées par la mise en valeur des ressources et dont les habitants, surtout les femmes et les filles, assument le fardeau des impacts qui en découlent. L’alinéa 22(1)s) de la Loi sur l’évaluation d’impact du Canada stipule que l’interaction du sexe et du genre avec d’autres facteurs identitaires doit être prise en compte dans les évaluations des impacts. Cette disposition constitue une réaction tardive à la prise de conscience croissante de la nécessité d’améliorer la réglementation et d’élaborer des processus d’évaluation des impacts sociaux et culturels. L’alinéa 22(1)s) fournit aussi la possibilité de se pencher sur les impacts sociaux de la mise en valeur des ressources pour concevoir un processus fédéral d’évaluation des impacts plus équitable et plus inclusif pour les femmes et les hommes.

S’il est clair que des évaluations d’impacts tenant compte de la spécificité des sexes sont nécessaires, la façon de concevoir et d’exécuter ces évaluations pour qu’elles intègrent véritablement les impacts sur le sexe et le genre est moins évidente. L’adoption de pratiques éclairées pour l’exécution des évaluations environnementales et des évaluations d’impacts exige une excellente compréhension de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+).

L’examen systématique et critique de la documentation (n = 56) a permis d’obtenir une assise de données probantes en vue d’améliorer les outils et méthodes utilisés pour intégrer les pratiques d’ACS+ dans les évaluations d’impacts au Canada. Il a aussi confirmé la nécessité :

  • d’une approche éclairée axée sur l’équité et la lutte contre l’oppression pour intégrer des cadres d’indicateurs dans l’ACS+;
  • d’autres ressources pour combler une lacune majeure dans les connaissances et les pratiques ayant trait à la violence fondée sur le genre, à l’évaluation des projets et à la mise en valeur des ressources.

Les principales constatations

  • Comme chaque collectivité est unique et qu’elle requiert un cadre adapté à son contexte, une approche éclairée axée sur l’équité et la lutte contre l’oppression est nécessaire en vue de concevoir et de mettre en application des indicateurs liés au sexe et au genre. 
  • Il faut prêter attention aux répercussions du colonialisme, notamment à la violence contre les femmes associée à la mise en valeur des ressources. Tant la documentation que les pratiques omettent de s’attaquer aux recoupements entre les évaluations d’impacts et la violence fondée sur le genre. En règle générale, les évaluations d’impacts mettent l’accent sur l’équité en matière d’emploi plutôt que sur la violence sexuelle dans leur analyse comparative entre les sexes. Dans les appels à la justice qu’il adresse aux industries d’extraction, le rapport final de l’Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées réclame directement plus de justice dans les processus d’évaluation et de réglementation; cet appel n’est pas entendu dans les recherches et les politiques actuelles.
  • Une approche ascendante est requise. L’intégration de la dimension de genre au Canada tend à s’articuler autour du travail des spécialistes des politiques. Les constatations montrent qu’il est nécessaire de travailler directement avec les collectivités touchées, de l’étape de la planification préliminaire à la clôture d’un projet. Cependant, il faut d’abord s’attaquer aux obstacles qui entravent la mise en application, dont le manque de financement pour les organismes de femmes et les organismes autochtones.
  • Les méthodes actuelles d’évaluation des impacts sont dépourvues d’un engagement profond envers le « plus » de l’ACS+, entre autres, elles ne nouent pas un dialogue avec les communautés queers et bispirituelles. Dans les évaluations des impacts, les femmes et les hommes sont habituellement considérés sous un angle binaire, même lorsque l’évaluation des impacts fait appel à une analyse genrée et à l’ACS+.
  • Les processus d’évaluation des impacts canadiens ont besoin d’innovations méthodologiques et de la participation de chercheurs tiers possédant une expertise en violence fondée sur le genre, de recherches pilotées par des Autochtones ainsi que de la participation massive et inclusive de la collectivité. Il est aussi impératif de travailler à la mise en application de l’ACS+ et de l’ACS+ autochtone pendant l’étape de la planification et de faire des suivis tout au long du projet.

Ce que cela suppose pour les politiques

  • L’ACS+ n’est pas une méthode prescrite, mais une façon de voir ou un angle d’analyse. Pour cette raison, l’application d’analyses fondées sur l’ACS+ à des situations courantes et l’établissement d’indicateurs qui tiennent compte non seulement de l’identité de genre et de sexe mais aussi des répercussions de l’oppression à caractère genré et raciste représentent un défi.
  • Il faut s’attaquer à l’impact de la violence fondée sur le genre dans les collectivités. Les chercheurs et les responsables de l’élaboration des politiques doivent donner suite au rapport final de l’Enquête sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées, y compris aux demandes d’évaluations socioéconomiques comparatives entre les sexes. Les responsables de l’élaboration des politiques doivent être sensibilisés davantage à la confidentialité et à la recherche tenant compte des particularités culturelles et des expériences traumatisantes pour mener des travaux qui porteront d’abord sur la ventilation des données et les affirmations des collectivités, puis iront bien au-delà.
  • Les politiques doivent contrer la discrimination structurelle, épistémique, méthodologique et ancrée dans les pratiques. Les ministères doivent :
    • compter des spécialistes de la recherche autochtone et de la recherche féministe dans leur personnel;
    • institutionnaliser la formation et la sensibilisation à l’ACS+ et aux bonnes pratiques;
    • instaurer des systèmes de reddition de comptes, afin d’assurer une mise en application rigoureuse et cohérente des politiques relatives à l’ACS+ dans toutes les évaluations d’impacts.
  • Il faut insister sur l’intersectionnalité dans l’évaluation des impacts. Les évaluations des impacts doivent se soucier davantage des expériences des femmes et des personnes de diverses identités de genre, de la masculinité toxique et des autres axes d’inégalités (sexualités, classe sociale, genre et interaction du racisme, du sexisme, de la colonisation et de l’autochtonie). Plus précisément, il faut examiner les répercussions de l’ACS+ et de l’évaluation des impacts sur les personnes de genre non binaire, notamment celles qui font partie des communautés LGBTQ2I+, de même que les intersectionnalités au sein de l’expérience autochtone.

Complément d’information

Rapport intégral (en anglais)

Coordonnées des chercheures

Dawn Hoogeveen, chercheure postdoctorale, University of Northern British Columbia dawn.hoogeveen@unbc.ca

Maya Gislason, professeure adjointe, Faculté des sciences de la santé, Simon Fraser University maya_gislason@sfu.ca

Les opinions exprimées dans cette fiche sont celles des auteurs ; elles ne sont pas celles du CRSH, de l'AEIC ni du gouvernement du Canada.

Date de modification :