COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Insight Grants

October 2020 Competition

Overview
Value Stream A: $7,000 to $100,000
Stream B: $100,001 to $400,000
Duration 2 to 5 years
Application deadlineFootnote * October 1, 2020 (8 p.m. eastern)
Results announced April 2021
Apply Web CV, application and instructions

On this page

Description

Insight Grants are expected to respond to the objectives of the Insight program.

Insight Grants support research excellence in the social sciences and humanities. Funding is available to both emerging and established scholars for research initiatives of two to five years.

Stable support for long-term research initiatives is central to advancing knowledge. It enables scholars to address complex issues about individuals and societies, and to further our collective understanding.

Insight Grants support research proposed by scholars and judged worthy of funding by their peers and/or other experts. Insight Grant research initiatives can be undertaken by an individual researcher or a team of researchers working in collaboration.

Applicants choose from one of two streams, depending on the amount of funding required. Both streams will be adjudicated by the same committees, and will receive the same rigorous level of merit review. The deadlines and application process are identical for both; however, the targeted success rate for Stream A is higher than for Stream B.

SSHRC welcomes applications involving Indigenous research, as well as those involving research-creation.

Joint initiatives

SSHRC collaborates with organizations from across the not-for-profit, private and public sectors to support and promote training, research and connection activities in the social sciences and humanities. SSHRC’s joint initiatives are designed to reflect its strategic objectives and mandate, inform decision-makers, and, in certain cases, address specific needs of its partners.

Learn more about joint initiatives.

For a complete list of available joint initiatives, consult SSHRC’s funding search tool.

Future Challenge Areas

SSHRC invites all applicants to review Imagining Canada’s Future’s 16 future global challenges and to consider addressing one or more of these areas in their research proposal. This is not an evaluation criterion for merit review and does not offer additional or dedicated research funds for this funding opportunity.

Value and duration

Insight Grants are valued at up to $400,000 over two to five years.  A minimum request of $7,000 is required in at least one of the years. A maximum of $100,000 is available in a single year.

Applicants choose from one of two streams when applying for an Insight Grant, depending on the amount of funding required:

  • Stream A for requests between $7,000 and $100,000; or
  • Stream B for requests between $100,001 and $400,000.

Eligibility

Subject matter

Most SSHRC funding is awarded through open competitions. Proposals can involve any disciplines, thematic areas, approaches or subject areas eligible for SSHRC funding. See subject matter eligibility for more information.

Projects whose primary objective is curriculum development, preparation of teaching materials, organization of a conference or workshop, digitization of a collection, or creation of a database are not eligible for funding under this funding opportunity.

An application will be declared ineligible if it is determined more than 30% of the requested budget has been allocated to ineligible expenses.

Applicants

Applications may be submitted by an individual researcher or a team of researchers (consisting of one applicant and one or more co-applicants and/or collaborators).

Applicants (except postdoctoral researchers and PhD students) must be affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution at the time of application and before funding can be released. Researchers who maintain an affiliation with a Canadian postsecondary institution, but whose primary affiliation is with a non-Canadian postsecondary institution, are not eligible for applicant status.

Applicants who have received a SSHRC grant of any type but have failed to submit an achievement report by the deadline specified in their Notice of Award are not eligible to apply for another SSHRC grant until they have submitted the report.

Federal scientists who are affiliated with a Canadian postsecondary institution must demonstrate that their proposed research or research-related activity is not related to either the mandate of their employer or the normal duties for which they receive payment from that employer.

If the research proposal falls within the mandate of the federal government and the research is performed in government facilities, funding may be allocated only for the direct support of students (salaries or stipends and travel costs).

Postdoctoral researchers are eligible to be applicants for this grant. However, in order for SSHRC to release grant funds, successful applicants must formally establish an affiliation with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution within five months of the grant start date (i.e., by September 2021 for the current competition), and maintain such an affiliation for the duration of the grant period.

Students enrolled in a program of study are not eligible to apply. However, a PhD candidate is eligible to apply if they:

  • will have met all requirements for the PhD before the grant is awarded, including all course work and successful defence of their dissertation; and
  • establish a formal affiliation with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution within five months of the grant start date, and maintain such an affiliation for the duration of the grant period.

Institutions

Grant funds may only be administered by an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution. Institutions proposing to administer a grant awarded under this funding opportunity must hold or obtain institutional eligibility. See SSHRC’s list of eligible institutions.

Institutions may contact Corporate Strategy and Performance to begin the institutional eligibility application process, or if they have questions about institutional eligibility.

Co-applicants

Individuals listed as co-applicants must meet the same eligibility criteria as those described under the Applicants section.

Collaborators

Any individual who makes a significant contribution to the project is eligible to be a collaborator. Collaborators do not need to be affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution.

Multiple applications and holding multiple awards

Individuals may apply, as an applicant, for only one Insight Grant at a time.

Normally, researchers may not apply as an applicant for an Insight Grant and an Insight Development Grant within the same calendar year. However, in 2017, SSHRC approved an exception to this multiple applications regulation that has been extended for the foreseeable future: researchers who applied unsuccessfully for an Insight Development Grant in February of a given year can apply for an Insight Grant in October of that same year. Therefore, researchers who applied for an Insight Development Grant in February 2020 and were not successful may apply for an Insight Grant in October 2020.

A researcher who applies for an Insight Grant in October 2020 may apply for an Insight Development Grant in February 2021, provided that the objectives of the research are significantly different.

See SSHRC’s regulations on multiple applications and holding multiple awards for more information.

Monitoring

Grant holders will be expected to report on the use of grant funds, on funded activities undertaken during the grant period, and on outcomes. Successful applicants will be informed of reporting requirements upon receiving their Notice of Award.

Application process

Applicants must complete the application form in accordance with accompanying instructions. Applications must be submitted electronically by an authorized research grants officer, or equivalent, from the applicant’s institution.

Eligible PhD students and postdoctoral researchers may submit their applications directly to SSHRC.

Applicants needing help while preparing their application should communicate with SSHRC well in advance of the application deadline.

Evaluation and adjudication

Applications are adjudicated, and available funds awarded, through a competitive merit review process. SSHRC bases funding decisions on the recommendations of the adjudication committee and on the funds available. Committee discussions are guided by the principle of minimum essential funding.

Evaluation process

Two groups of individuals will be involved in the evaluation of Insight Grant applications:

  • external assessors; and
  • members of the Insight Grant adjudication committees.

These groups include national and international scholars from the research community and may include experts from other sectors as needed. Participants in the review process, if not in a conflict of interest with the applicant or any team members, are asked to evaluate the proposal based on the evaluation criteria.

SSHRC will seek, but cannot guarantee, a minimum of two external assessments per application. External assessors usually read only one application and provide their assessment of it to the adjudication committee.

Committee members read an entire cohort of applications, along with the relevant assessments provided by external assessors. Members, as a group, then evaluate and rank all the proposals assigned to their committee. Adjudication committees consider but are not bound by the judgments of the external assessors.

Normally, applications initially determined by committee consensus to be ranked in the lowest 35% are not discussed during the final stage of adjudication.

Committee structure

In the application form, applicants will be asked to select the committee they consider most appropriate for the review of their proposal. Applicants can choose from four types of committees:

  • discipline-based;
  • groups of disciplines;
  • multi/interdisciplinary (one humanities-focused and one social sciences-focused); and
  • thematic.

In the case of applicants who have selected a multi/interdisciplinary committee, relevant expertise to review the proposal may also be sought from within the larger pool of Insight Grant committee membership. Applicants may contact SSHRC to discuss committee selection.

SSHRC will make efforts to accommodate applicant preferences. However, it reserves the right to determine an application’s review process and committee assignment.

SSHRC’s Guidelines for the Merit Review of Indigenous Research are relevant for researchers (applicants and project directors) and students preparing SSHRC applications related to Indigenous research. SSHRC provides these guidelines to merit reviewers to help build understanding of Indigenous research and research-related activities, and to assist committee members in interpreting SSHRC’s specific evaluation criteria in the context of Indigenous research. SSHRC relies on a community of merit reviewers with experience and expertise in Indigenous research to judge the extent to which the guidelines may be applied to a particular research proposal. The guidelines may also be of use to external assessors, postsecondary institutions and partner organizations that support Indigenous research.

Note: Indigenous research proposals may involve a more tailored adjudication. If SSHRC receives enough Indigenous research applications, it may establish a distinct adjudication committee.

Evaluation criteria and scoring

The following criteria and scoring scheme are used to evaluate the applications:

  1. Challenge—The aim and importance of the endeavour (40%):
    • originality, significance and expected contribution to knowledge;
    • appropriateness of the literature review;
    • appropriateness of the theoretical approach or framework;
    • appropriateness of the methods/approach;
    • quality of training and mentoring to be provided to students, emerging scholars and other highly qualified personnel, and opportunities for them to contribute; and
    • potential for the project results to have influence and impact within and/or beyond the social sciences and humanities research community.
  2. Feasibility—The plan to achieve excellence (20%):
    • appropriateness of the proposed timeline, and probability that the objectives will be met;
    • expertise of the applicant or team in relation to the proposed research;
    • appropriateness of the requested budget, justification of proposed costs, and, where applicable, other cash and/or in-kind contributions; and
    • quality and appropriateness of knowledge mobilization plans, including effective dissemination, exchange and engagement with stakeholders within and/or beyond the research community, where applicable.
  3. Capability—The expertise to succeed (40%):
    • quality, quantity and significance of past experience and published and/or creative outputs of the applicant and any co-applicants, relative to their roles in the project and to the stage of their career;
    • evidence of past knowledge mobilization activities (e.g., films, performances, commissioned reports, knowledge syntheses, experience in collaboration / other interactions with stakeholders, contributions to public debate and media), and of impacts on professional practice, social services and policies, etc.; and
    • quality and quantity of past contributions to the development, training and mentoring of students, postdoctoral researchers and other highly qualified personnel.

Note: Adjudicators will consider information on only the last six years of research contributions. Any career interruptions will be taken into consideration.

Scoring table

Adjudication committee members assign a score for each of the three criteria above, based on the following scoring table. The appropriate weighting is then applied to arrive at a final score. Applications must receive a score of 3.0 or higher for each of the three criteria to be recommended for funding.

Score Descriptor
5-6 Very good to excellent
4-4.9 Good to very good
3-3.9 Satisfactory to good
Below 3 Unsatisfactory

Communication of results

Research offices will be informed of their applicants’ competition results via SSHRC’s secure site. All applicants will be provided, in addition to SSHRC’s notice of decision, any external assessments received and a summary of the adjudication committee’s evaluation of their proposal, where applicable.

Regulations, policies and related information

SSHRC reserves the right to determine the eligibility of applications, based on the information included. SSHRC also reserves the right to interpret the regulations and policies governing its funding opportunities.

All applicants and grant holders must comply with the Regulations Governing Grant Applications and with the regulations set out in the Tri-Agency Guide on Financial Administration.

Grant holders must also comply with the Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications. See the Open Access overview for more information. SSHRC also encourages researchers to manage, in line with both community standards and best practices (including SSHRC’s Research Data Archiving Policy), data arising from their research.

Specific rules for the use of grant funds

  • Insight Grant funds cannot be used for remuneration and/or travel and subsistence costs of presenters or guest speakers, or for research costs of collaborators.
  • No team members (applicant, co-applicant or collaborator) can be remunerated with grant funds, including postdoctoral fellows serving in any of these capacities.
  • Consultation fees are eligible for expert and/or professional and technical services that contribute directly to the proposed research as long as the service is not being provided by a team member or other persons whose status would make them eligible to apply for a SSHRC grant.

Guidelines and related support material

All applicants for SSHRC funding should consult the following guidelines while preparing their applications:

Contact information

For more information, contact:

Email: insightgrants@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tel.: 613-996-6976

Date modified:

Mises à jour relativement à la COVID-19

COVID-19 : impact sur les programmes du CRSH, base de données d'experts et perspectives de la communauté.


Subventions Savoir

Concours d'octobre 2020

Aperçu
Valeur Volet A : de 7 000 $ à 100 000 $
Volet B : de 100 001 $ à 400 000 $
Durée De 2 à 5 ans
Date limite de présentation des demandesNote de bas de page * 1er octobre 2020 (20 h, heure de l’Est)
Annonce des résultats Avril 2021
Faire une demande CV, formulaire de demande et instructions

Sur cette page

Description

Les subventions Savoir doivent satisfaire aux objectifs du programme Savoir.

Les subventions Savoir appuient l’excellence de la recherche en sciences humaines et en sciences sociales. Elles sont destinées aux chercheurs établis et aux chercheurs émergents pour l’exécution d’initiatives de recherche d’une durée de deux à cinq ans.

L'appui stable à des initiatives de recherche à long terme est essentiel à l’avancement des connaissances, car il permet aux chercheurs d’étudier des questions complexes liées à l’être humain et à la société, et d’accroître la compréhension collective de ces questions.

Les subventions Savoir appuient des projets de recherche proposés par des chercheurs et évalués par leurs pairs et (ou) d’autres experts. Les initiatives de recherche financées par une subvention Savoir peuvent être menées par des chercheurs travaillant seuls ou en équipe. En fonction du montant demandé, les candidats choisissent l’un des deux volets de financement offerts. Les dates limites et le processus de présentation des demandes sont les mêmes pour les deux volets de financement. Peu importe le  volet, la demande sera évaluée par les mêmes comités et soumise à une évaluation du mérite rigoureuse. Le taux de réussite visé au volet A est toutefois plus élevé qu'au volet B.

Le CRSH accepte les demandes ayant trait à la recherche autochtone et à la recherche-création.

Initiatives conjointes

Le CRSH collabore avec des organismes des secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif afin d’appuyer et de promouvoir les activités de formation, de recherche et de connexions en sciences humaines. Les initiatives conjointes sont conçues pour refléter les objectifs stratégiques et le mandat du CRSH, informer les décideurs et, dans certains cas, répondre aux besoins particuliers de ses partenaires.

Pour en savoir plus sur les initiatives conjointes.

Pour obtenir la liste des initiatives conjointes disponibles, consulter l’outil de recherche du financement.

Domaines des défis de demain

Le CRSH invite tous les candidats à examiner les 16 défis mondiaux de demain qui ont été mis de l’avant dans le cadre de l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada et à envisager la possibilité d’aborder un ou plusieurs de ces défis dans leur proposition de recherche. Il ne s’agit pas là d’un critère d’évaluation du mérite. L’initiative n’offre pas de fonds supplémentaires ni ne destine de fonds spécifiquement à la recherche dans le cadre de la présente occasion de financement.

Valeur et durée

La valeur maximale des subventions Savoir est de 400 000 $ pour une période de deux à cinq ans. Les candidats doivent demander un montant minimal de 7 000 $ pour au moins une des années de financement et ne peuvent obtenir un montant supérieur à 100 000 $ par année.

Au moment de présenter une demande de subvention Savoir, les candidats peuvent choisir l’un des deux volets suivants en fonction du montant demandé :

  • volet A : demande de 7 000 $ à 100 000 $
  • volet B : demande de 100 001 $ à 400 000 $

Admissibilité

Sujet de recherche

Généralement, le financement du CRSH est attribué à l’issue de concours ouverts. Les demandes peuvent porter sur tous les domaines, sujets, approches et disciplines admissibles au financement du CRSH. Veuillez consulter la page Admissibilité des sujets de recherche pour en savoir plus.

Les projets ayant le développement du curriculum, la préparation de matériel didactique, l’organisation d’une conférence ou d’un atelier, la numérisation d’une collection ou la création d’une base de données pour principal objectif ne sont pas admissibles à la présente occasion de financement.

Les demandes pour lesquelles plus de 30 p. 100 du budget est réservé à des dépenses non admissibles ne seront pas retenues.

Candidats

Les demandes peuvent être présentées par un chercheur ou une équipe de chercheurs composée d’un candidat et d’un ou de plusieurs cocandidats et (ou) collaborateurs.

Les candidats (sauf les chercheurs postdoctoraux et les étudiants de doctorat) doivent être affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible au moment de présenter la demande et avant que les fonds de la subvention soient versés.

Les chercheurs qui sont affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien mais dont l’affiliation principale est à l’étranger ne peuvent pas avoir le statut de candidat.

Les titulaires d'une subvention du CRSH qui n’ont pas remis leur rapport sur les réalisations à la date limite indiquée dans l’avis d’attribution ne peuvent pas soumettre une nouvelle demande de subvention au CRSH avant de l’avoir remis.

Les scientifiques fédéraux affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien doivent démontrer que leur projet de recherche ou activité connexe n’est pas lié au mandat de leur employeur ou aux fonctions normales pour lesquelles ils reçoivent un paiement de cet employeur.

Si la proposition de recherche relève du mandat du gouvernement fédéral et que la recherche est effectuée dans des installations gouvernementales, le financement ne peut être accordé que pour le soutien direct des étudiants (salaires ou allocations et frais de déplacement).

Les chercheurs postdoctoraux peuvent faire une demande à titre de candidat. Toutefois, pour que le CRSH libère les fonds de la subvention, les candidats retenus doivent être officiellement affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible. Ils ont jusqu’à cinq mois suivant la date d’entrée en vigueur de la subvention (c.-à-d. au plus tard en septembre 2021 dans le cadre du présent concours) pour établir une telle affiliation, et ils doivent la conserver durant toute la période de subvention.

Les étudiants inscrits à un programme d’études ne peuvent pas présenter une demande. Cependant, un candidat au doctorat peut présenter une demande s’il remplit les conditions suivantes :

  • il aura satisfait à toutes les exigences du doctorat, y compris les cours et la soutenance de thèse, avant l’attribution de la subvention;
  • il sera affilié officiellement à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible dans les cinq mois suivant la date d’entrée en vigueur de la subvention et conservera cette affiliation durant toute la période de subvention.

Établissements

Seuls les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens admissibles peuvent administrer les subventions. Ceux qui prévoient en administrer dans le cadre de la présente occasion de financement doivent être admissibles à le faire ou le devenir. Veuillez consulter la liste des établissements admissibles au financement du CRSH.

Les établissements qui ont des questions concernant l’admissibilité ou qui désirent entamer le processus pour la demander doivent communiquer avec la Division de la stratégie et du rendement organisationnels.

Cocandidats

Les personnes inscrites comme cocandidats doivent satisfaire aux mêmes critères d’admissibilité que ceux décrits dans la section Candidats.

Collaborateurs

Toute personne qui apporte une contribution importante au projet peut avoir le statut de collaborateur. Les collaborateurs n’ont pas à être affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible.

Présentation de demandes multiples ou titulaires de plus d’une subvention ou bourse

À titre de candidat, il n’est possible de présenter qu’une demande de subvention Savoir à la fois.

En règle générale, un chercheur ne peut pas présenter, à titre de candidat, une demande de subvention Savoir et une demande de subvention de développement Savoir au cours d’une même année civile. Le CRSH a toutefois admis une exception à cette règle en 2017 de manière à permettre aux chercheurs dont le projet n’a pas été subventionné à l’issue du concours de subventions de développement Savoir de février d'une année donnée de présenter une demande de subvention Savoir au cours de la même année. Cette exception demeura en vigueur dans un avenir prévisible. Par conséquent, les chercheurs dont le projet n’a pas été subventionné à l’issue du concours de subventions de développement Savoir de février 2020 pourront présenter une demande de subvention Savoir en octobre 2020.

Les chercheurs qui présenteront une demande de subvention Savoir en octobre 2020 pourront soumettre une demande de subvention de développement Savoir en février 2021 à condition que les objectifs de leur recherche soient considérablement différents.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter les règlements du CRSH régissant la présentation de demandes multiples ou le fait de détenir plusieurs subventions ou bourses.

Suivi

Le CRSH s’attend à ce que les titulaires de subvention fassent rapport sur l’utilisation des fonds attribués, les activités menées au cours de la période visée par la subvention et les résultats obtenus. Les candidats retenus seront informés des exigences relatives à la production de rapports au moment où ils recevront leur avis d’attribution.

Présentation des demandes

Les candidats doivent remplir le formulaire de demande en suivant les instructions qui l’accompagnent. Les demandes doivent être soumises électroniquement par l’un des responsables des subventions de recherche autorisés de l’établissement du candidat (ou une personne occupant un poste équivalent).

Les étudiants de doctorat et les chercheurs postdoctoraux admissibles peuvent présenter leur demande directement au CRSH.

Les candidats qui ont besoin d’aide pour préparer leur demande doivent communiquer avec le CRSH bien avant la date limite fixée pour la présentation des demandes.

Évaluation et sélection

La sélection des demandes et l’attribution des fonds se font au moyen d’un processus d’évaluation du mérite concurrentiel. Le CRSH prend ses décisions de financement en tenant compte des recommandations du comité de sélection et des fonds disponibles. Le principe du financement minimum indispensable guide le comité dans ses délibérations.

Processus d’évaluation

Deux groupes participent à l’évaluation des demandes de subvention Savoir :

  • les évaluateurs externes;
  • les membres des comités de sélection des subventions Savoir.

Ces groupes sont composés de spécialistes canadiens et étrangers du milieu de la recherche ainsi que d’experts d’autres secteurs s’il y a lieu. Les membres de ces groupes, s’ils ne sont pas en conflit d’intérêts avec un candidat ou un membre d’une équipe de chercheurs, évaluent les demandes en fonction des critères énoncés ci-dessous.

Le CRSH s’efforce, sans pouvoir le garantir, d’obtenir au moins deux évaluations externes pour chaque demande. Les évaluateurs externes lisent habituellement une seule demande et transmettent leurs commentaires au comité de sélection.

Les membres des comités de sélection, eux, lisent un ensemble de demandes, y compris les commentaires fournis par les évaluateurs externes. Par la suite, en groupe, ils évaluent et classent toutes les demandes qui leur ont été assignées. Les comités de sélection tiennent compte des commentaires des évaluateurs externes, mais n’y sont pas liés.

Habituellement, les demandes que le comité a classées à l’unanimité parmi les 35 p. 100 les moins méritoires ne font pas l’objet de discussions à l’étape finale de l’évaluation.

Structure des comités

Dans leur formulaire de demande, les candidats devront sélectionner le comité qu’ils considèrent être le plus approprié pour évaluer leur demande. Ils pourront choisir parmi quatre types de comités :

  • un comité axé sur une seule discipline;
  • un comité regroupant un ensemble de disciplines;
  • un comité interdisciplinaire ou multidisciplinaire (dont un comité axé sur les disciplines des sciences humaines et un comité axé sur les disciplines des sciences sociales);
  • un comité thématique.

En ce qui concerne les candidats qui auront choisi un comité interdisciplinaire ou multidisciplinaire, le CRSH pourra faire appel aux membres de tous les comités formés pour l’évaluation des demandes de subvention Savoir qui ont une expertise pertinente. Les candidats peuvent communiquer avec  le CRSH pour discuter du choix du comité.

Le CRSH s’efforcera de tenir compte des préférences des candidats. Toutefois, il se réserve le droit de déterminer le processus d’évaluation d’une demande et de choisir le comité qui l’évalue.

Les Lignes directrices pour l’évaluation du mérite de la recherche autochtone du CRSH s’appliquent aux chercheurs (candidats et directeurs de projet) et aux étudiants qui présentent une demande au CRSH dans le but d’effectuer de la recherche autochtone. Le CRSH fournit ces lignes directrices aux évaluateurs afin d’approfondir leur compréhension de la recherche autochtone et des activités connexes, et aux membres de comité afin de les aider à interpréter les critères d’évaluation propres au CRSH dans le contexte de la recherche autochtone. Le CRSH s’en remet à des évaluateurs qui possèdent une expérience et une expertise en recherche autochtone pour déterminer dans quelle mesure les lignes directrices peuvent s’appliquer à une proposition donnée. Les lignes directrices peuvent aussi être utilisées par les évaluateurs externes, les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et les organismes partenaires qui appuient la recherche autochtone.

Remarque : Les propositions liées à la recherche autochtone pourraient exiger une évaluation plus adaptée. S’il reçoit un nombre suffisant de demandes liées à la recherche autochtone, le CRSH pourrait mettre sur pied un comité de sélection distinct.

Critères d’évaluation et notation

Les demandes sont évaluées en fonction des critères et du tableau de notation ci-dessous.

  1. Défi – objectif et importance de la recherche (40 p. 100)
    • Originalité, importance et contribution prévue à l’avancement des connaissances
    • Pertinence de la revue de la littérature
    • Pertinence du cadre ou de l’approche théorique
    • Pertinence des méthodologies ou des approches
    • Qualité de la formation et du mentorat offerts aux étudiants, aux chercheurs émergents et à d’autres personnes hautement qualifiées et possibilités qu’ils auront de contribuer à l’activité de recherche
    • Influence et impact probables des résultats du projet au sein et à l’extérieur de la communauté des chercheurs en sciences humaines
  2. Faisabilité – plan visant l’atteinte de l’excellence (20 p. 100)
    • Pertinence du calendrier proposé et probabilité d’atteindre les objectifs de la recherche
    • Expertise du candidat ou de l’équipe par rapport à la recherche proposée
    • Pertinence du budget demandé, justification des coûts proposés et, le cas échéant, obtention de contributions en espèces ou en nature provenant d’autres sources
    • Qualité et pertinence des plans de mobilisation des connaissances, y compris la diffusion des connaissances, les échanges et la collaboration efficaces avec les parties prenantes au sein et à l’extérieur du milieu de la recherche s’il y a lieu
  3. Capacité – potentiel de réussite (40 p. 100)
    • Qualité, quantité et importance de l’expérience antérieure, des réalisations artistiques et (ou) des publications du candidat et des cocandidats, s’il y a lieu, en fonction du rôle joué au sein du projet et du stade d’évolution de leur carrière
    • Démonstration d’activités de mobilisation des connaissances antérieures (p. ex. films, prestations, rapports commandés, synthèses des connaissances, expériences de collaboration ou d’interaction avec des intervenants, contributions aux débats publics et médiatiques) et de l’impact sur les pratiques professionnelles, les politiques sociales, les services sociaux, etc.
    • Qualité et quantité des contributions antérieures à la formation et au mentorat d’étudiants, de chercheurs postdoctoraux et d’autres personnes hautement qualifiées

Remarque : Les évaluateurs ne tiendront compte que des contributions à la recherche effectuées durant les six dernières années. Toute interruption de carrière indiquée sera prise en considération.

Tableau de notation

Les membres des comités de sélection attribuent une note pour chacun des trois critères d’évaluation en fonction du tableau de notation suivant. Cette note est ensuite pondérée pour le calcul de la note finale. Afin d’être recommandées pour un financement, les demandes doivent recevoir une note de 3 ou plus pour chacun des critères.

Résultat Descripteur
De 5 à 6 De très bon à excellent
De 4 à 4,9 De bon à très bon
De 3 à 3,9 De satisfaisant à bon
Moins de 3 Insatisfaisant

Communication des résultats

Les bureaux de la recherche des établissements auxquels les candidats sont affiliés sont informés des résultats du concours par l’intermédiaire d’un site sécurisé du CRSH. Tous les candidats reçoivent, joints à l’avis de décision du CRSH, les évaluations externes reçues et un résumé des observations du comité de sélection concernant leur projet, s’il y a lieu.

Règlements, politiques et renseignements supplémentaires

Le CRSH se réserve le droit de décider si une demande est admissible ou non en fonction de l’information qu’elle contient. Il se réserve également le droit d’interpréter les règlements et les politiques régissant ses occasions de financement.

Tous les candidats et les titulaires de subvention doivent satisfaire aux exigences des règlements régissant les demandes de subvention et du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Les titulaires de subvention doivent aussi respecter la Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la vue d’ensemble du libre accès. Le CRSH invite également les chercheurs à gérer les données résultant de leurs recherches en conformité avec les normes et les pratiques exemplaires du milieu de la recherche, y compris la Politique sur l'archivage des données de recherche du CRSH en regard aux données de leur recherche.

Règles sur l’utilisation des fonds de la subvention

  • Les fonds d’une subvention Savoir ne peuvent ni servir à couvrir les honoraires et (ou) les frais de déplacement et de séjour de présentateurs ou de conférenciers, ni les coûts de recherche des collaborateurs.
  • Aucun membre de l’équipe (candidat, cocandidat ou collaborateur, ou chercheur postdoctoral exerçant l’un ou l’autre de ces rôles) ne peut être rémunéré à partir des fonds de la subvention.
  • Les frais de consultation sont admissibles pour couvrir les services d’experts ou les services professionnels ou techniques qui contribuent directement à la réalisation de la recherche proposée. Toutefois, ces services ne doivent pas être fournis par un membre de l’équipe ou toute autre personne qui, par son statut, serait admissible à présenter une demande de subvention au CRSH.

Lignes directrices et autres documents pertinents

Tous les candidats à une subvention du CRSH doivent consulter les lignes directrices et documents suivants pour préparer leur demande :

Coordonnées

Pour en savoir plus :

Courriel : subventionssavoir@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tél. : 613-996-6976

Date de modification :