Guidelines for Effective Research Training

These guidelines are intended to support and extend the impact of the scholarly commitment to effective research training, by ensuring that, across all SSHRC funding opportunities, everything possible is done to maximize the impact of training, and of investments in training, in the social sciences and humanities.

The social sciences and humanities community places a very strong emphasis on ensuring high-quality training for students and postdoctoral researchers. This is, in part, to maintain high academic standards and levels of accomplishment, and, in part, to ensure that students and postdoctoral researchers in the humanities and social sciences are able to make strong contributions in Canada and globally.

The Guidelines for Effective Research Training will be of particular use to applicants, assessors and adjudicators involved in SSHRC funding competitions, as well as to postsecondary institutions and partnering organizations supporting research training.

SSHRC relies on its community of researchers and merit reviewers to judge the extent to which a particular research training proposal or opportunity should be expected to meet the specific dimensions of effective research training listed below.


Dimensions of Effective Research Training

SSHRC considers that, in order to be effective, research training should, when applicable, do the following:

Build both academic (research and teaching) competencies and general professional skills, including knowledge mobilization, that would be transferable to a variety of settings.

Increasingly, academic skills are skills that are valuable for both academic and non-academic careers. This is due to both the dynamic and evolving nature of research practices, and the reliance that business, not-for-profit and government organizations place on skills students and postdoctoral researchers are able to develop through the social sciences and humanities.

Effective research training enables students and/or postdoctoral researchers to acquire valuable skills in areas such as:

  • research methods and theories;
  • publication and research communication;
  • knowledge mobilization and dissemination;
  • teaching in diverse settings and with various technologies;
  • digital literacy;
  • data management and analysis;
  • research ethics;
  • interdisciplinary research;
  • consultation and community engagement;
  • project and human resources management;
  • leadership and teamwork; and/or
  • workshops and conferences.

Include international and/or intersectoral opportunities whenever possible and applicable.

Students and postdoctoral researchers can gain significant personal benefits, such as new perspectives and knowledge, as well as for their career prospects as a result of research undertaken across international and/or intersectoral boundaries.

International experience benefits students and postdoctoral researchers by giving them the opportunity to form networks that cross national, cultural and linguistic borders. These networks can be useful in both academic and non-academic careers.

Intersectoral experience fosters collaboration between students and postdoctoral researchers and business, not-for-profit and government organizations. On one hand, it supports the development of robust academic careers (through, for example, expanded access to research resources and collaborators), while, on the other hand, it can enable effective transitions to non-academic careers.

Include specific, effective mentoring and institutional support.

It is important to clearly plan out and articulate what training or mentoring a supervisor or SSHRC applicant can provide for the students and the postdoctoral researchers involved in their project. It is likely not possible for the supervisor/applicant to provide training in all of the skills listed above. Often, the host institution will be able to bring additional resources to ensure the best possible training is provided, and that optimal research results are achieved.

Alternative means by which research training might be provided to students and postdoctoral researchers may include:

  • research or teaching assistantships;
  • career development workshops;
  • online training modules; and/or
  • internships with external partners.


Related Reporting

SSHRC will be developing tools to support scholarship, fellowship and grant holders in any reporting required related to research training activities.

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Lignes directrices liées à une formation en recherche efficace




Les présentes lignes directrices visent à appuyer l’engagement du monde de la recherche en ce qui a trait à la prestation d’une formation en recherche efficace et à accroître son influence en s’assurant que, pour toutes les occasions de financement du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), on fait le nécessaire pour maximiser l’impact de la formation et des investissements en sciences humaines.

La communauté des sciences humaines s’efforce d’offrir une formation de grande qualité aux étudiants et aux chercheurs postdoctoraux. Cela permet, d’une part, de maintenir de rigoureuses normes universitaires et de hauts niveaux de réalisation et, d’autre part, de veiller à ce que les étudiants et les chercheurs postdoctoraux du domaine des sciences humaines soient en mesure d’apporter une solide contribution au Canada et au reste du monde.

Ces lignes directrices sont particulièrement utiles aux candidats, aux répondants et aux évaluateurs des concours de financement du CRSH ainsi qu’aux établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et aux organismes partenaires qui appuient la formation en recherche.

Le CRSH fait appel à la communauté des chercheurs qu’il finance et aux évaluateurs du mérite afin de déterminer à quel point les projets liés à la formation en recherche devraient comporter les éléments d’une formation en recherche efficace présentés ci-dessous.




Top

Éléments d’une formation en recherche efficace

Selon le CRSH, une formation en recherche efficace devrait répondre aux critères ci-dessous le cas échéant.

Permettre d’acquérir des compétences universitaires (recherche et enseignement) et professionnelles générales (dont la mobilisation des connaissances) pouvant être mises en application dans divers contextes

Les compétences universitaires sont de plus en plus précieuses pour les carrières universitaires et non universitaires. Cela s’explique par la nature dynamique et changeante des pratiques de recherche ainsi que par le fait que les entreprises, les organismes sans but lucratif et le gouvernement font appel aux compétences que peuvent acquérir les étudiants et les chercheurs postdoctoraux grâce aux sciences humaines.

Une formation en recherche efficace permet aux étudiants et aux chercheurs postdoctoraux d’acquérir de précieuses compétences sur divers plans, notamment :


  • les théories et les méthodes de recherche;
  • la publication et la communication des résultats de recherche;
  • la mobilisation et la diffusion des connaissances;
  • l’enseignement offert dans divers contextes et à l’aide de différentes technologies;
  • la culture numérique;
  • l’analyse et la gestion de données;
  • l’éthique de la recherche;
  • la recherche interdisciplinaire;
  • la consultation et l’engagement communautaire;
  • la gestion de projet et de ressources humaines;
  • le leadership et le travail d’équipe;
  • les ateliers et les conférences.

Offrir des possibilités internationales ou intersectorielles lorsque cela est possible et pertinent

Les étudiants et les chercheurs postdoctoraux peuvent tirer de grands avantages personnels – comme de nouvelles perspectives et connaissances – et professionnels grâce aux travaux de recherche internationaux ou intersectoriels.

En effet, l’expérience internationale profite aux étudiants et aux chercheurs postdoctoraux en leur offrant la possibilité d’établir des réseaux entre divers pays, cultures et langues. Ces réseaux peuvent être utiles à la fois au sein du milieu universitaire et à l’extérieur de celui-ci.

Quant à l’expérience intersectorielle, elle favorise la collaboration entre les étudiants et les chercheurs postdoctoraux d’une part et les entreprises, les organismes sans but lucratif et le gouvernement d’autre part. Ainsi, elle appuie la progression de brillantes carrières universitaires (notamment grâce à un plus grand accès à des collaborateurs et à des ressources de recherche) tout en permettant, le cas échéant, un passage harmonieux à une carrière non universitaire.

Comprendre un mentorat précis efficace et l’appui des établissements

Il est important de clairement déterminer le type de formation ou de mentorat qu’un superviseur ou un candidat à un financement du CRSH peut offrir aux étudiants et aux chercheurs postdoctoraux participant à son projet. Ce superviseur ou ce candidat n’est probablement pas en mesure d’offrir de la formation pour toutes les compétences mentionnées ci-dessus. Par contre, l’établissement d’accueil peut souvent fournir des ressources supplémentaires afin d’assurer la formation la plus efficace possible et l’obtention des meilleurs résultats.

Voici d’autres moyens d’offrir de la formation en recherche aux étudiants et aux chercheurs postdoctoraux :


  • des postes d’assistant à l’enseignement ou à la recherche;
  • des ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel;
  • des modules de formation en ligne;
  • des stages effectués auprès de partenaires externes.



Top

Rapports connexes

Le CRSH élaborera des outils afin d’aider les détenteurs de bourse et de subvention à rédiger les rapports qu’ils doivent présenter dans le cadre de leurs activités liées à la formation en recherche.