Guidelines for Effective Knowledge Mobilization



These guidelines are intended to help applicants and grant holders incorporate knowledge mobilization activities, including data management, into their SSHRC-funded research, to maximize the impact of social sciences and humanities research.

These guidelines will help grant applicants determine the following:

  • To whom should research results be communicated?
  • How is the process of communicating research results best mapped?
  • How will the proposed knowledge mobilization activities advance the stated research goals?
  • Will interactions with knowledge users be fed into research design?
  • How will interactions be sustained beyond the life of the project?

Applicants’ use of these guidelines will also enable SSHRC’s merit reviewers to more effectively evaluate the knowledge mobilization activities described in funding applications. The guidelines also serve as a resource, when advising prospective applicants, for postsecondary institutions and partnering organizations involved in research and related activities.



Top

What is knowledge mobilization?

Knowledge mobilization is an umbrella term encompassing a wide range of activities relating to the production and use of research results, including knowledge synthesis, dissemination, transfer, exchange, and co-creation or co-production by researchers and knowledge users.

Effective knowledge mobilization includes plans to store data in the public domain, where appropriate.

Please see SSHRC’s definition of knowledge mobilization.



Top

Knowledge mobilization and merit review at SSHRC

All SSHRC research grants and scholarships are awarded through an independent merit review process designed to ensure the highest standards of excellence and impartiality. When evaluating grant proposals as a whole—and Knowledge Mobilization and Expected Outcomes modules, in particular—merit reviewers apply criteria that specifically refer to knowledge mobilization activities.

Most SSHRC grant applications contain a mandatory Knowledge Mobilization module that allows applicants to describe the appropriate target audiences, and to demonstrate that its overall reach is both sufficient and appropriate. In particular, knowledge mobilization plans are evaluated when assessing the project’s feasibility and its potential for impact within and beyond the social sciences.

Defining “appropriate research users”

Applicants should determine the most appropriate users of their research outputs, both at the outset and throughout the life of their project. This includes considerations of managing, storing and preserving data, where appropriate, in light of the Tri-Agency Statement of Principles on Digital Data Management.

When identifying appropriate research users, applicants should do so in light of the project’s theme, research questions, overall goals and expected results. Researchers should address the following questions—even in cases where the audience is strictly academic:

  • Who stands to benefit from this research?
  • Which audiences will be involved, when and how?
  • How will the audiences benefit from being involved and how will the research benefit from their involvement?
  • What is the best way to communicate with these audiences?

SSHRC encourages its funding recipients to disseminate research knowledge in both official languages, whenever feasible and/or appropriate. SSHRC further encourages researchers to publish their results in the language of the community where the research takes place, especially in the case of Aboriginal languages.



Top

Outcomes and impacts

Applicants should consider the following when describing how they will maximize the results of their research, and how they will ensure their results’ sustainability:

All recipients of SSHRC funding must submit an end of grant report to document how they have used grant funds, and on the outcomes and impact of their research.

Outputs are the first set of short-term results most researchers typically see (e.g., number of publications, presentations, event attendees, new data sets, new partners added to a team, or new stakeholders and/or research users contacted or added to networks).

Outcomes (also called “results”) include all activities undertaken as a result of new insights. Outcomes may include: the number of people in various target audiences that use the research findings (including data sets), the number of students trained, new capacities created, policies developed, business strategies formulated, advancements in understanding reconciliation, etc. Outcomes may be either foreseen or unforeseen, direct or indirect, intended or unintended.

Impacts are long-term outcomes or effects that take the form of changed thinking and behaviours. Impacts are reflected through such indicators as global economic performance, competitiveness, public service effectiveness, new products and services, employment, policy relevance, learning skills enhancement, quality of life, community cohesion, and movement toward reconciliation and social inclusion.

Most SSHRC grant applications include a mandatory Expected Outcomes module. This module provides applicants an opportunity to outline the project’s expected outputs, outcomes and impacts. The applicant should present plans and/or indicators of success. For example, applicants might indicate that, by the end of the first year, the researcher will have had a specific number of meetings with key stakeholders and/or presented at a specific number of conferences. Expected outcomes are evaluated in relation to the other parts of the proposal.



Top

Turning research into outcomes and impacts

Once an applicant (in concert with team members and partners, where appropriate) has determined potential research users and outlined the project’s potential outputs, outcomes and impacts, he or she must determine the most effective ways to connect with users. In cases of co-production of knowledge in particular, the partners and research users are in the best position to guide the course of research to ensure that users’ needs are met.

Researchers must ensure that their proposed ways of reaching potential users are both appropriate and sufficient. While it is not possible to provide an exhaustive list of methods, media may include: books, refereed journal articles, data sharing through online repositories, social media, dance, performances, oral histories, websites, films, plays, videos, exhibits, festivals, funding mechanisms, media coverage, op-eds, public service announcements, pamphlets, policy papers, reports, knowledge syntheses and workshops, or conferences and other events. As a general rule, the broader the means used, the broader the impact. Using open access publication platforms is another effective way of increasing the visibility of research results.

SSHRC has identified the following best practices:

  • Meetings with knowledge users, especially at the outset of the project, are an effective vehicle for forging strong and lasting connections.
  • When building relationships with organizations, build links across multiple levels, from front-line, program and policy staff to executives.
  • To produce knowledge mobilization products that meet users’ needs, researchers can use or repackage existing materials, or develop new ones, in concert with the users and their identified needs.
  • Larger projects typically employ a project co-ordinator. The use of knowledge brokers, who have specific skill sets, can be effective.
  • Ultimately, the more proactive and multifaceted the approach researchers take with users, the more successful and durable the relationship.
  • Successful projects often adopt more than one outreach medium in their knowledge mobilization plan.
  • All research teams, but especially those engaging in co-production of knowledge, should outline at the outset of projects the roles and responsibilities of all participants to ensure the voices of all team members, including partners, are represented at all stages of the project.

At the outset of their project, applicants should develop indicators to gauge the success of their knowledge mobilization plan. Examples include: citation indicators, the number of newsletter/blog subscribers, and the number of recommendations to policy-makers that have been adopted.

Applying for a SSHRC grant

Applicants should address the Feasibility and Capability criteria in the Knowledge Transfer section of the online Canadian Common CV form, as well as the Research Contributions section of the SSHRC CV, by capturing the full range of their past experience in knowledge mobilization activities within and beyond academia.

SSHRC’s merit reviewers are encouraged to weigh the full range of contributions when deliberating on relative merit.



Top

Related policies and web links

For knowledge mobilization-related eligible expenses, see the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.

Other relevant policies include:

For other useful resources on knowledge mobilization activities and research, please see:



Top

Examples

The following examples showcase SSHRC-funded best practices in knowledge mobilization.


Example #1: Marine transformations and adaptive governance



Keywords: co-production of knowledge; community; science-policy; power; government

Applicant: Derek Armitage, University of Waterloo

SSHRC funding opportunity: Insight Grants (2010)



Armitage et al. (2011, 2015) present examples of how the co-production of knowledge involving Indigenous communities, scientists and policy-makers has strengthened governance practices in several Arctic communities. Knowledge co-production is a collaborative process of bringing diverse knowledge sources and types together to address a defined problem, and to build an integrated understanding of that problem:

  • In the Mackenzie River Basin, scientists, policy-makers and local community organizations combined their different knowledge types to frame the research and real-world problems around the allocation of water resources among the various jurisdictions and users. Scientists and traditional knowledge holders all provided input as they worked together on solutions and carried out monitoring and information sharing regarding the local ecosystem.
  • In Husky Lakes, NWT, multiple beluga entrapments in sea ice spurred a knowledge co-production process to overcome past conflicts. The Department of Fisheries and Oceans, the regional co-management board and the local Hunters and Trappers committee developed a process to jointly determine how to manage the entrapment with a series of meetings as the entrapments occurred, as well as jointly producing an action plan for the future. The result was a collaborative plan to manage the entrapments humanely and to ensure that the harvested resources were shared among many communities. This process of knowledge sharing and collaboration has evolved over time to address a specific problem, and to strengthen the governance networks needed to better deal with difficult issues in the future.


Example #2: The social psychology of musical engagement and public outreach for research in the psychology of music



Keywords: knowledge mobilization; uptake; audience; engagement

Applicant: Daniel Levitin, McGill University

SSHRC funding opportunity: Insight Grants (2011) and Public Outreach (2009)



Musician, cognitive psychologist, record producer and comedian Daniel Levitin provides myriad examples of how researchers can mobilize their results to target non-academic audiences. Whether he is connecting via his website, best-selling books, radio and television appearances, his work as a consultant in the private and not-for-profit sectors, or his academic publications, Levitin adapts his communication vehicles to both his audience and his content. For example:

  • Music industry: Levitin has contributed to the music industry via the production of liner notes, publications in trade magazines (e.g., Billboard, Grammy) and three patents, as well as by being a consultant for Apple and a member of the Board of Directors for SOPREF (Quebec record labels). Several recording artists, such as Joni Mitchell and Stephen Stills, have consulted with Levitin because of his research on musical engagement.
  • General public: Capturing uptake and engagement is most difficult when the targeted audience is the general public. However, Levitin discusses the social psychology and engagement aspects of music in his two best-selling books about music, The World in Six Songs and This Is Your Brain on Music, as well as in over 1,000 interviews, 100 YouTube videos and two feature documentaries about his SSHRC research. Levitin connects music, emotion and wider society by explaining, for example, how music can be used to communicate important information to the next generation and to defuse conflict.


Example #3: Improving understanding about the use and impacts of technologies in education



Keywords: knowledge mobilization; uptake; professional practice

Applicant: Thierry Karsenti, Université de Montréal

SSHRC funding opportunity: Canada Research Chair in Technologies in Education (2013)



Through his work as a Canada Research Chair and in collaboration with 56 schools in three provinces (British Columbia, Ontario and Quebec), Karsenti (2013) examined how tablets have affected the Canadian educational system and those involved, from students and teachers to parents and administrators. The research demonstrated that using tablets in education can significantly improve learning, motivation and collaboration. It is also an important source of information for students. Notably, the goals of the project included increasing uptake, or use, of research results within the practitioner (i.e., school and school board) communities and ensuring that tablets were a useful educational tool in classrooms that benefit both teachers and students. After three years of studying the integration of tablets in the 56 schools, Karsenti identified 40 positive impacts on elements such as students’ self-esteem, creativity, problem-solving skills, autonomy, teamwork, structured thinking, planning and organizing, first-language learning, and mutual assistance. Students found that using a tablet made learning fun, improved collaboration and ultimately sparked interest in technology as a learning tool. Drawing on the research, Karsenti recommended that teachers be provided with valuable professional development to support technology in the classroom, and school administrators should similarly support teachers in using mobile devices such as tablets.

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Lignes directrices pour une mobilisation des connaissances efficace



Les présentes lignes directrices ont pour but d’aider les candidats et les détenteurs de subvention à intégrer des activités de mobilisation des connaissances – dont la gestion de données – à leurs travaux de recherche financés par le CRSH, afin d’optimiser l’impact de la recherche en sciences humaines.

Ces lignes directrices aideront les chercheurs à établir ce qui suit :

  • À qui les résultats de recherche devraient-ils être communiqués?
  • Comment établir de la meilleure façon qui soit le processus de communication des résultats de la recherche?
  • Comment les activités de mobilisation des connaissances proposées feront-elles avancer les objectifs de la recherche?
  • Les interactions avec les utilisateurs des connaissances seront-elles prises en compte au moment de la conception de la recherche?
  • Comment les interactions seront-elles maintenues une fois le projet mené à bien?

Si les candidats utilisent les présentes lignes directrices, les personnes chargées d’évaluer le mérite des propositions au CRSH pourront évaluer de façon plus efficace les activités de mobilisation des connaissances décrites dans les demandes de financement. Les lignes directrices peuvent également constituer une ressource lorsqu’il s’agit de donner des conseils à des candidats éventuels, et elles peuvent être utiles aux établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et aux organismes partenaires qui prennent part à des travaux de recherche et à des activités connexes.



Top

Qu’est-ce que la mobilisation des connaissances?

La « mobilisation des connaissances » est une expression générique qui englobe un large éventail d’activités liées à la production et à l’utilisation des résultats de la recherche, notamment :

  • la synthèse
  • la diffusion
  • le transfert
  • les échanges de connaissances
  • la création et la production conjointes par les chercheurs et les utilisateurs des connaissances.

Pour être efficace, la mobilisation des connaissances doit inclure des plans pour le stockage des données dans le domaine public, le cas échéant.

Se reporter à la définition de la mobilisation des connaissances adoptée par le CRSH



Top

Mobilisation des connaissances et évaluation du mérite au CRSH

Les subventions de recherche et les bourses du CRSH sont attribuées par l'intermédiaire d'un processus d’évaluation du mérite indépendant, qui vise à assurer le respect des normes d’excellence et d’impartialité les plus élevées. Lorsqu’il s’agit d’évaluer dans leur ensemble les demandes de subvention – et d’évaluer plus particulièrement les modules portant sur la mobilisation des connaissances et sur les résultats escomptés –, les personnes qui évaluent le mérite appliquent des critères qui renvoient expressément aux activités de mobilisation des connaissances.

La plupart des demandes de subvention du CRSH comportent un module de mobilisation des connaissances obligatoire. Ce module permet aux candidats de montrer que leur projet vise les bons publics cibles et que sa portée globale est suffisante et appropriée. Plus particulièrement, les plans de mobilisation des connaissances sont évalués compte tenu de la faisabilité du projet et de la possibilité qu’il ait un impact dans le domaine des sciences humaines et dans d’autres domaines.

Qu’entend-on par « utilisateurs appropriés des résultats de la recherche »?

Tant au début de leur projet que tout au long de son exécution, les chercheurs doivent déterminer quels sont les utilisateurs les plus appropriés de leurs résultats de recherche. Pour ce faire, ils doivent, le cas échéant, tenir compte de la gestion, du stockage et de la conservation des données de recherche en fonction de la Déclaration de principes des trois organismes sur la gestion des données numériques.

Lorsqu’il s’agit d’identifier les utilisateurs appropriés des résultats de la recherche, les chercheurs doivent tenir compte du sujet abordé par le projet, des questions de recherche, des objectifs généraux et des résultats escomptés. Les chercheurs doivent répondre aux questions suivantes – même dans les cas où seul le milieu universitaire est visé :

  • Qui tirera parti de cette recherche?
  • Quels publics seront mis à contribution, quand et comment?
  • Comment les publics cibles tireront-ils parti de leur participation et comment la recherche bénéficiera-t-elle de cette participation?
  • Quelle est la meilleure façon de communiquer avec ces publics?

Le CRSH invite les détenteurs de subvention à diffuser les connaissances issues de la recherche dans les deux langues officielles si c’est possible ou s’il est approprié de le faire. En outre, il encourage les chercheurs à publier leurs résultats dans la langue de la communauté où ils ont mené leur recherche, et ce, spécialement s’il s’agit de langues autochtones.



Top

Résultats et impact

Les candidats doivent tenir compte de ce qui suit lorsqu’ils décrivent la façon dont ils comptent maximiser les résultats de leur recherche et la manière dont ils en assureront la pérennité.

Tous les bénéficiaires du financement du CRSH doivent soumettre un rapport de fin de subvention afin de rendre compte de la manière dont ils ont utilisé leurs fonds ainsi que des résultats et de l’impact de leur recherche.

Les extrants constituent le premier ensemble de résultats à court terme que voient habituellement la plupart des chercheurs (p. ex. le nombre de publications, de présentations, de participants aux activités, de nouveaux ensembles de données, de nouveaux partenaires s’ajoutant à une équipe ou de nouveaux intervenants ou utilisateurs de la recherche avec lesquels on a communiqué ou qui se sont ajoutés aux réseaux).

Les résultats sont l’ensemble des activités entreprises par suite des nouvelles connaissances acquises. En voici des exemples : le nombre de personnes qui, dans divers publics cibles, utilisent les résultats de la recherche (y compris les ensembles de données), le nombre d’étudiants formés, les nouvelles capacités créées, les politiques mises au point, les stratégies d’entreprise formulées, les avancées réalisées pour mieux comprendre la réconciliation, etc. Les résultats peuvent être prévus ou non prévus, directs ou indirects, intentionnels ou non intentionnels.

L’impact consiste en des résultats ou des effets à long terme qui se présentent sous la forme de manières de penser et de comportements modifiés. On constate l’impact à des indicateurs comme la bonne tenue de l’économie, la compétitivité, l’efficacité de la fonction publique, les nouveaux produits et services, l’emploi, la pertinence des politiques, l’amélioration des capacités d’apprentissage, la qualité de vie, la cohésion communautaire, le mouvement vers la réconciliation et l’inclusion sociale.

La plupart des demandes de subvention du CRSH comportent un module de résultats escomptés obligatoire. Ce module permet aux candidats de décrire les extrants, les résultats et l’impact attendus du projet. Les candidats doivent présenter des plans ou des indicateurs de réussite. Par exemple, il pourrait être indiqué dans la demande qu’à la fin de la première année, les chercheurs auront participé à un nombre donné de réunions avec des intervenants clés ou auront présenté des communications au cours d’un nombre donné de conférences. Les résultats escomptés sont évalués par rapport aux autres parties de la proposition.



Top

De la recherche aux résultats et à l’impact

Une fois que les candidats (de concert avec les membres de leur équipe de recherche et leurs partenaires, s’il y a lieu) ont déterminé les utilisateurs potentiels de la recherche et ont décrit les extrants, les résultats et l’impact possibles du projet, ils doivent trouver les moyens les plus efficaces leur permettant d’être en relation avec les utilisateurs. Dans le cas de la coproduction de connaissances, en particulier, les partenaires et les utilisateurs de la recherche sont les mieux placés pour guider le cours des travaux et s’assurer que les besoins des utilisateurs soient comblés.

Les chercheurs doivent s’assurer que les moyens qu’ils proposent pour être en relation avec les utilisateurs potentiels sont appropriés et suffisants. S’il n’est pas possible de fournir une liste complète des méthodes pouvant être employées, en voici tout de même quelques exemples : livres, articles dans des revues à comité de lecture,  partage de données par l’entremise de répertoires en ligne, médias sociaux, danse, spectacles, histoires orales, sites Web, films, pièces de théâtre, vidéos, expositions, festivals, mécanismes de financement, couverture médiatique, commentaires, messages d’intérêt public, dépliants/brochures, documents de politiques, rapports, synthèses de connaissances et ateliers ou conférences et autres activités. Habituellement, plus les moyens utilisés ont une portée générale, plus l’impact sera généralisé. L’utilisation de plateformes de publication en libre accès est un autre moyen efficace d’accroître la visibilité des résultats de recherche.

Le CRSH a établi les pratiques exemplaires suivantes :

  • des rencontres avec les utilisateurs des connaissances, spécialement au début du projet, sont un moyen efficace de nouer des liens solides et durables;
  • dans l’établissement de relations avec des organismes, il faut tisser des liens à différents niveaux : personnel de première ligne, personnel chargé des programmes ou des politiques, dirigeants;
  • pour créer des produits de mobilisation des connaissances qui répondent aux besoins des utilisateurs, les chercheurs peuvent utiliser le matériel existant, l’actualiser ou encore en créer du nouveau, de concert avec les utilisateurs et selon les besoins cernés;
  • on fait habituellement appel à un coordonnateur de projet pour les projets de plus grande envergure. Le recours à des courtiers en connaissances possédant des compétences particulières peut s’avérer utile;
  • au bout du compte, plus l’approche choisie par les chercheurs pour nouer des relations avec les utilisateurs est proactive et plus elle compte de facettes, plus les relations seront fructueuses et durables;
  • le plan de mobilisation des connaissances des projets réussis prévoit bien souvent plusieurs moyens pour assurer la circulation des connaissances et faire en sorte qu’elles seront utilisées;
  • toutes les équipes de recherche – spécialement celles qui prennent part à la coproduction de connaissances – doivent déterminer, dès le début du projet, le rôle et les responsabilités de tous les participants afin de s’assurer qu’ils soient tous entendus à chacune des étapes du projet, y compris les partenaires.

Dès le début de leur projet, les chercheurs doivent établir des indicateurs qui permettront d’évaluer la réussite de leur plan de mobilisation des connaissances, lesquels peuvent comprendre les indicateurs du nombre de citations, le nombre d’abonnés à des bulletins de nouvelles ou des blogues et le nombre de recommandations faites à des responsables de l’élaboration de politiques qui ont été adoptées.

Présentation d’une demande de subvention au CRSH

Les candidats doivent traiter des critères de faisabilité et de capacité dans la section Transfert de connaissances du formulaire du CV commun canadien en ligne, ainsi que dans la section Contributions à la recherche du CV du CRSH, en décrivant toute l’expérience qu’ils possèdent des activités de mobilisation des connaissances, acquise en milieu universitaire et ailleurs.

On incite les personnes chargées d’évaluer le mérite à tenir compte de l’éventail complet des contributions lorsqu’elles débattent du mérite relatif d’une proposition.



Top

Politiques connexes et liens Web

Pour connaître les dépenses liées à la mobilisation des connaissances qui sont admissibles, consulter le Guide d'administration financière des trois organismes.

Autres politiques pertinentes :

Pour avoir accès à d’autres ressources utiles sur les activités de mobilisation des connaissances et la recherche, veuillez consulter :



Top

Exemples

Les exemples suivants mettent en vedette des pratiques exemplaires appuyées par le CRSH dans le domaine de la mobilisation des connaissances.


Premier exemple : transformations marines et gouvernance adaptée



Mots clés : coproduction de connaissances; communauté; politique scientifique; pouvoir; gouvernement

Candidat : Derek Armitage, University of Waterloo

Occasion de financement du CRSH : subventions Savoir (2010)



Les travaux de M. Armitage et de ses collaborateurs (2011 et 2015) illustrent la manière dont la coproduction de connaissances par des communautés autochtones, des scientifiques et des responsables de l’élaboration des politiques ont permis de renforcer les pratiques de gouvernance dans plusieurs communautés arctiques. La coproduction de connaissances est un travail de collaboration qui vise à combiner divers types et sources de connaissances pour régler un problème précis ainsi qu’à parvenir à une compréhension intégrée du problème.

  • Dans le bassin du fleuve Mackenzie, des scientifiques, des responsables de l’élaboration des politiques et des organismes communautaires locaux ont réuni leurs différents types de connaissances pour définir les problèmes concrets et les sujets de recherche liés à la répartition des ressources hydriques entre les différentes autorités et les divers utilisateurs. Scientifiques et dépositaires de connaissances traditionnelles ont collaboré pour trouver des solutions ainsi que pour suivre de près l’évolution de l’écosystème local et échanger de l’information le concernant.
  • Quand de nombreux bélugas se sont retrouvés emprisonnés par les glaces de mer dans les lacs Husky, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, un processus de coproduction de connaissances a été lancé pour surmonter des conflits antérieurs. Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans, le conseil de cogestion régional et le comité local des chasseurs et des trappeurs ont élaboré le processus pour déterminer ensemble comment gérer la situation. Pour ce faire, ils ont tenu des réunions et élaboré un plan d’action. Résultat : un plan de collaboration a été mis en place pour libérer les bélugas de manière humaine et garantir le partage des ressources recueillies entre plusieurs communautés. Ce processus d’échange de connaissances et de collaboration a évolué au fil du temps. Il sert maintenant à régler des problèmes précis et à consolider les réseaux de gouvernance nécessaires pour mieux composer avec des situations difficiles à l’avenir.


Deuxième exemple : la psychologie sociale de l’engagement musical et la sensibilisation du public à l’égard de la recherche en psychologie de la musique



Mots clés : mobilisation des connaissances; adoption; public; engagement

Candidat : Daniel Levitin, Université McGill

Occasion de financement du CRSH : subventions Savoir (2011) et subventions de sensibilisation du public (2009)



Musicien, psychologue de la cognition, producteur de disques et comédien, Daniel Levitin donne de nombreux exemples de la façon dont les chercheurs peuvent mobiliser les résultats de leurs travaux pour cibler des publics non universitaires. Que ce soit au moyen de son site Web, de livres à succès, de publications universitaires, d’apparitions à la radio et à la télévision ou de conseils offerts au secteur privé et sans but lucratif, M. Levitin adapte ses communications en fonction du public et du contenu. Voici des exemples de ses contributions.

  • Industrie de la musique : M. Levitin a pris part à l’industrie de la musique en produisant des notes d’accompagnement, en publiant des articles dans des revues professionnelles (p. ex. Billboard et Grammy), en obtenant trois brevets, en travaillant comme expert-conseil pour Apple et en étant membre du conseil d’administration de la Société pour la promotion de la relève musicale de l’espace francophone (SOPREF), une maison de disques québécoise. En outre, plusieurs musiciens tels que Joni Mitchell et Stephen Stills ont consulté M. Levitin en raison de ses travaux sur l’engagement musical.
  • Grand public : il est très difficile de susciter l’adoption et la mobilisation de la musique chez le grand public. Cependant, M. Levitin traite de la psychologie sociale et des aspects de l’engagement musical dans ses deux livres à succès sur la musique, The World in Six Songs et This Is Your Brain on Music, ainsi que dans plus de 1 000 entrevues, 100 vidéos diffusées dans YouTube et deux  documentaires concernant ses travaux financés par le CRSH. Il établit notamment un lien entre la musique, les émotions et la société dans son ensemble en expliquant comment la musique peut être utilisée pour communiquer des renseignements importants à la prochaine génération et désamorcer les conflits.


Troisième exemple : mieux comprendre les usages et les impacts des technologies en éducation



Mots clés : mobilisation des connaissances; adoption; pratique professionnelle

Candidat : Thierry Karsenti, Université de Montréal

Occasion de financement du CRSH : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les technologies en éducation (2013)



Dans le cadre des travaux qu’il a menés avec 56 écoles de la Colombie‑Britannique, de l’Ontario et du Québec à titre de titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les technologies en éducation en 2013, M. Karsenti a étudié l’impact de l’utilisation des tablettes sur le système d’éducation canadien ainsi que sur les personnes concernées – les étudiants, les enseignants, les parents et les administrateurs. Ses travaux ont démontré que l’utilisation des tablettes en éducation peut améliorer considérablement l’apprentissage, la motivation et la collaboration. En outre, les tablettes constituent une importante source d’information pour les élèves. L’un des objectifs du projet était d’accroître l’adoption ou l’utilisation des résultats de recherche dans les communautés de praticiens (c.‑à‑d. les écoles et les commissions scolaires) ainsi que de s’assurer que les tablettes servent d’outil pédagogique en salle de classe pour les enseignants et les élèves. Après avoir étudié pendant trois ans l’utilisation des tablettes dans les 56 écoles, M. Karsenti a cerné 40 retombées favorables sur des aspects du développement des élèves, notamment l’estime de soi, la créativité, la capacité de résoudre des problèmes, l’autonomie, le travail d’équipe, la pensée structurée, la planification et l’organisation, l’apprentissage de la langue maternelle et l’entraide. De plus, les élèves ont trouvé que l’utilisation de tablettes rendait l’apprentissage amusant, augmentait la collaboration et, au bout du compte, éveillait leur intérêt pour la technologie en tant qu’outil d’apprentissage. En se basant sur les résultats de ses travaux, M. Karsenti a recommandé que les enseignants reçoivent une formation professionnelle de qualité pour favoriser l’utilisation de la technologie en classe et que les administrateurs d’école les aident à utiliser les appareils mobiles tels que les tablettes.