COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Guide to Including Diversity Considerations in Research Design for Doctoral and Postdoctoral Award Applicants

As outlined in the Tri-Agency Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, and the Tri-Agency Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan, SSHRC is committed to promoting the integration of equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) considerations in research design and practices. The agencies recognize that First Nations, Métis and Inuit are rights-holding as First Peoples of Canada, and initiatives should be developed through distinctions-based approaches, as found in the strategic plan Setting new directions to support Indigenous research and research training.

Applying EDI approaches to research design—including research questions, methods, theoretical frameworks, literature reviews, analyses, and the interpretation and dissemination of findings—reveals complexities about the lived experiences and histories of different groups and individuals. These can be relevant, and in some cases crucial, for conceptualizing research projects and developing solutions to important social challenges. Incorporating EDI approaches makes research more ethically sound, rigorous and applicable, and contributes to research excellence.

SSHRC is increasingly requiring or encouraging applicants across its funding opportunities to consider applying such approaches to their research projects’ design, when appropriate. As part of these efforts, all SSHRC doctoral and postdoctoral applicants must complete the Diversity Considerations in Research Design module, available in SSHRC’s online system, alongside the other elements of these applications.

Such initiatives complement SSHRC’s other actions in support of the Tri-Agency Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan, including those to address systemic barriers in the research ecosystem and ensure equitable and inclusive research practices.

About this guide

This guide outlines expectations and provides definitions, examples, guiding questions and resources for incorporating diversity considerations in your research design. The Diversity Considerations in Research Design module is a pilot initiative. SSHRC welcomes feedback on how this guide can be improved.

Diversity Considerations in Research Design Module—goal and expectations

The module promotes research excellence by encouraging you to reflect on how your research design can be strengthened by considering diversity and identity factors such as, but not limited to, age, disability, education, ethnicity, gender expression and gender identity, immigrant and newcomer status, Indigenous identity, language, neurodiversity, parental status/responsibility, place of origin, race, religion, sexual orientation and socio-economic status. See Appendix I for definitions.

Research design includes elements such as research questions, methods, theories and sources, analysis and interpretation, and dissemination of findings.

Recognizing diversity enables a better, fuller understanding of experiences and perspectives, and can help address the barriers and disadvantages some individuals face based on their identities and relations to power. Not integrating diversity can lead to misrepresentative or inaccurate results, misapplication of findings, and missed opportunities. Differences in diversity and identity factors can affect research findings, and the impacts of those findings. Research that integrates diversity considerations is more useful and relevant to the populations it concerns, and has greater impact.

Focusing your attention on diversity can contribute to research processes and impacts that help advance inclusion and equity. Some research projects may target such outcomes, or use an anti-oppression or social justice lens, while others may not. Incorporating diversity considerations is a starting point for EDI, one that promotes integrating EDI principles in research in a way that applies to a wide range of disciplines and research topics.   

SSHRC acknowledges that practices and norms differ across and within social sciences and humanities disciplines. When reflecting on the relevance of diversity considerations in your research project, and how to integrate them in the various elements of your research design, consult your peers and supervisors, and consider norms and principles specific to your area of research, topic and methodology.

Although diversity considerations may not, at first, seem applicable to your research, do fully consider their relevance before selecting “No.” You must provide your justification whether or not you deem diversity considerations relevant to your research.

While completing the module is mandatory for SSHRC doctoral and postdoctoral applicants, this part of your application will not be subject to merit review this year. It currently builds awareness among applicants, supervisors and institutions. Integrating it into the evaluation process, and updating this guide accordingly, is planned for next year.

How do I include diversity considerations in my research design?

Approaches

Diversity considerations such as age, disability, education, ethnicity, gender expression and gender identity, immigrant and newcomer status, Indigenous identity, language, neurodiversity, parental status/responsibility, place of origin, race, religion, sexual orientation and socio-economic status can be integrated into research design through different approaches.

Options include, but are not limited to, gender-based analysis plus (GBA+), intersectionality and antiracist approaches. These approaches are not mutually exclusive. Choose your approach based on research discipline, methodology and topic, and considering the people most impacted by the research.

Applications can also involve Indigenous research approaches and methodologies, depending on the nature of the project. Also see Methods below.

See Appendix I for definitions of terms used in this guide, and Appendix II for resources.

Examples and questions to consider

Consider the following in the various stages of research design. This list is not exhaustive and may not apply to all fields of study or research projects. If you do not at first consider these examples and questions directly applicable, reflect on how similar types of considerations may be relevant to your research.

  • Research questions

    Consider how your research questions take diversity into consideration. This could increase your study’s importance and applicability to diverse groups.

    • How will your research questions and subsequent findings apply to the needs or experiences of particular groups, from specific, intersectional or comparative perspectives?
    • Does your research involve racialized and/or underrepresented groups? Who benefits from the research findings? Have you considered which populations may experience unintended impacts (positive or negative) as a result of the planned research? Are the populations that will be most impacted by the research co-developing the research objectives?
    • Will members from the population/community of interest be invited to shape the research questions?
  • Methods

    Your sample can be strengthened by being inclusive and representative of the population across multiple diversity and identity factors, or you can focus participation on one or more groups whose experiences are underrepresented.

    If your research involves humans as participants, consider who is included. Refer to the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2, 2018).

    Familiarize yourself with literature on community engagement best practices and/or protocols specific to the communities involved in your research. Aspects to consider can include privacy, data ownership, control and possession for communities involved in the research, or the different forms of support required (e.g., financial, logistical, cultural, linguistic) to ensure the individuals or communities involved in the research can meaningfully participate in it.

    Applicants proposing Indigenous research, whether Indigenous or non-Indigenous themselves, commit to respectful relationships with all Indigenous Peoples and communities. All research involving Indigenous Peoples must be undertaken in accordance with Chapter 9 of the TCPS 2 (“Research Involving the First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples of Canada”). Applicants should also refer to SSHRC’s definition of Indigenous research, Indigenous Research Statement of Principles, and are expected to take into account the scholarships/fellowships-related considerations in the Guidelines for the Merit Review of Indigenous Research.

  • Theory and sources

    If you work with primary or secondary sources, consider including diverse perspectives among your works consulted and referenced. For example, are you including authors from underrepresented groups and/or who use critical theories of gender/race/disability, or Indigenous knowledge systems / decolonization research methods?

  • Analysis and interpretation

    Consider how your analysis can address specific and intersecting identities:

    • Do the findings from the literature review consider the integration of diversity to understand implications for different people? What are the gaps in knowledge? Have previous studies failed to adequately incorporate relevant diversity and identity factors, and/or not investigated their intersections?
    • Have you included a way to disaggregate your data by diversity-related variables, during both data collection and data analysis? Are you considering an intersectional data analysis?
    • If diverse groups are involved in the research, will they have an opportunity to participate in interpreting the data and reviewing research findings before the project ends?
  • Dissemination

    Consider what the most appropriate formats would be to communicate your research findings so they reach diverse communities and the communities can apply the findings to support their goals.

    • Have you taken language into consideration? This includes English and French, and any other appropriate languages, depending on the individuals or communities involved in the research and any wider audiences you are trying to reach.
    • Will your findings be available in accessible formats?

Appendix I—Definitions

These definitions have been adapted from Best Practices in Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Research—A guide for applicants to New Frontiers in Research Fund competitions, and the Guide to addressing equity, diversity and inclusion considerations in Partnership Grant applications.

Diversity is defined as differences based on factors such as, but not limited to, age, disability, education, ethnicity, gender expression and gender identity, immigrant and newcomer status, Indigenous identity, language, neurodiversity, parental status/responsibility, place of origin, race, religion, sexual orientation and socio-economic status. A diversity of perspectives and lived experiences is fundamental to achieving research and training excellence.

Equity means fairness—with people of all identities being treated fairly, and ensuring that the processes for allocating resources and decision-making do not discriminate on the basis of identity. It involves challenging systemic barriers and biases, and may involve providing different levels of support to individuals so they can fully access or participate in, and benefit from, a program or research project.

Gender refers to the socially constructed roles, behaviours, expressions and identities of girls, women, boys, men, and people with diverse gender identities. It influences how people perceive themselves and each other, how they act and interact, and the distribution of power and resources in society. Gender is often conceptualized as a binary (girl/woman and boy/man), but there is considerable diversity in how individuals and groups understand, experience and express it, including as genderfluid, nonbinary, transgender and Two-Spirit.

Gender-based analysis plus (GBA+) is an analytical process used to assess the potential impacts of policies, programs, services and other initiatives (such as research design) on diverse groups of women, men, and people with diverse gender identities, taking into account multiple diversity and identity factors. The “plus” in the name highlights that GBA+ goes beyond gender and includes the examination of a range of intersecting diversity and identity factors (such as age, culture, disability, education, ethnicity, immigrant and newcomer status, Indigenous identity, language, neurodiversity, parental status/responsibility, place of origin, race, religion, sexual orientation and socio-economic status). See Appendix II for resources.

Inclusion is the practice of ensuring all individuals are valued and respected for their contributions and are supported.

See SSHRC’s definition of Indigenous research. All research involving Indigenous Peoples must be undertaken in accordance with TCPS 2, and, in particular, Chapter 9: Research Involving the First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples of Canada. See Appendix II for resources.

Intersectionality is a theoretical framework that was developed by professor Kimberlé Crenshaw in 1989 in a paper for the University of Chicago Legal Forum, “Demarginalizing the Intersection of Race and Sex: A Black Feminist Critique of Antidiscrimination Doctrine, Feminist Theory and Antiracist Politics,” to explain how African-American women face overlapping disadvantages and discrimination related to sexism and racism. This approach or lens assists researchers to better understand and address the resulting multiple barriers and disadvantages that individuals with intersecting social identities—such as race, gender, sexuality and class—face. Using an intersectional approach to develop policies and research projects helps to better identify and address systemic barriers. See Appendix II for resources.

Appendix II—Relevant Resources

The following list of resources is not exhaustive. You may also want to consult your peers and supervisor, as well as your institution’s EDI resources.

Tri-agency resources

Gender-based analysis plus

Antiracist approaches

Indigenous research

Intersectionality

Disability research approaches

Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Guide pour l’intégration de considérations relatives à la diversité dans la conception de la recherche à l’intention des candidates et candidats aux bourses de doctorat et aux bourses postdoctorales

Conformément à l’Énoncé des trois organismes sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion et au Plan d’action des trois organismes pour l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion, le CRSH entend favoriser l’intégration des principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion dans la conception des projets et des pratiques de recherche. Les organismes subventionnaires reconnaissent que les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuit sont détenteurs de droits à titre de Premiers peuples du Canada, et qu’il faut donc élaborer des initiatives selon une approche fondée sur les distinctions, comme l’indique le plan stratégique Établir de nouvelles orientations à l’appui de la recherche et de la formation en recherche autochtone.

Quand on adopte des approches fondées sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans la conception de la recherche (questions de recherche, méthodologie, cadre théorique, revue de la littérature, analyse, interprétation et diffusion des résultats), on met au jour des questions complexes associées au vécu et à l’histoire de différents groupes et de différentes personnes. Ces questions peuvent se révéler pertinentes, voire parfois cruciales, pour la conceptualisation des projets de recherche et la proposition de solutions à des problèmes sociaux importants. En intégrant ces approches à la recherche, on rend celle-ci plus éthique, plus rigoureuse et plus applicable, et on contribue à l’excellence en recherche.

Dans l’ensemble de ses occasions de financement, le CRSH oblige ou encourage de plus en plus les candidates et candidats à adopter ce type d’approches dans la conception de leurs projets de recherche, lorsque le contexte s’y prête. Ainsi, les candidates et candidats aux bourses de doctorat et aux bourses postdoctorales du CRSH doivent remplir le Module sur les considérations relatives à la diversité dans la conception de la recherche, qui se trouve dans le système en ligne où figurent tous les documents nécessaires à la demande.

Ces initiatives viennent compléter les actions menées par le CRSH dans le cadre du Plan d’action des trois organismes pour l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion, notamment dans le but de supprimer les obstacles systémiques de l’écosystème de recherche et garantir le caractère équitable et inclusif des pratiques de recherche.

Au sujet du présent guide

Le guide contient des définitions, des exemples, des questions d’orientation et des ressources pour intégrer la diversité au projet de recherche, et précise les attentes à cet égard. Le Module sur les considérations relatives à la diversité dans la conception de la recherche est une initiative pilote. Le CRSH vous invite à proposer des façons d’améliorer ce guide.

Module sur les considérations relatives à la diversité dans la conception de la recherche – But et attentes

Ce module favorise l’excellence de la recherche : il invite à réfléchir à la manière dont on peut renforcer le projet de recherche en tenant compte de divers facteurs de diversité et d’identité, comme les suivants : âge, handicap, éducation, origine ethnique, expression de genre, identité de genre, statut d’immigrant ou de nouvel arrivant, identité autochtone, langue, neurodiversité, qualité ou responsabilités de parent, lieu d’origine, race, religion, orientation sexuelle et situation socioéconomique. Les définitions figurent à l’annexe I.

La conception de la recherche comprend des éléments tels que les questions de recherche, la méthodologie, les théories, les sources, l’analyse, l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats.

Reconnaître la diversité permet de mieux comprendre les différents points de vue et expériences des gens, et aide à lutter contre les obstacles et les désavantages auxquels sont confrontées certaines personnes en raison de leur identité et de leurs rapports au pouvoir. Si l’on ne tient pas compte de cette diversité, on risque d’aboutir à des résultats erronés ou non représentatifs, à une mauvaise application des résultats et à des occasions ratées. Les différences dans les facteurs de diversité et d’identité peuvent influer sur les résultats de recherche, et sur leur portée. Une recherche qui tient compte des questions de diversité est plus utile aux populations visées et a un retentissement plus grand.

En accordant une place à la diversité, vous pouvez contribuer aux processus et aux retombées de la recherche qui favorisent l’inclusion et l’équité. Il arrive que certains projets de recherche ciblent ces aspects ou abordent les questions sous le prisme de la justice sociale ou de la lutte contre l’oppression, alors que d’autres, non. L’intégration des questions de diversité est un bon point de départ vers l’incorporation des principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion à toutes sortes de disciplines et de sujets de recherche.

Le CRSH est conscient que les façons de faire et les normes varient d’une discipline des sciences humaines à l’autre, voire au sein même des disciplines. Quand vous réfléchirez à la pertinence des questions de diversité pour votre projet de recherche et à la manière de les y intégrer, consultez vos collègues et vos superviseures ou superviseurs et utilisez les normes et principes propres à votre domaine de recherche, à votre sujet et à votre méthodologie.

Même si vous estimez au premier abord que les questions de diversité ne s’appliquent pas à votre projet, réfléchissez bien avant de répondre par la négative. Vous devrez justifier votre choix quel qu’il soit.

Bien que ce module soit obligatoire pour les candidates et candidats aux bourses de doctorat et aux bourses postdoctorales du CRSH, cette partie de la demande ne fera pas l’objet d’une évaluation du mérite cette année. Pour l’instant, l’objectif est de sensibiliser les candidates et candidats, les superviseures et superviseurs et les établissements. L’intégration du module au processus d’évaluation et la mise à jour du présent guide sont prévues pour l’année prochaine.

Comment tenir compte des questions de diversité dans la conception de mon projet de recherche?

Approches

Les questions de diversité – âge, handicap, éducation, origine ethnique, expression de genre, identité de genre, statut d’immigrant ou de nouvel arrivant, identité autochtone, langue, neurodiversité, qualité ou responsabilités de parent, lieu d’origine, race, religion, orientation sexuelle et situation socioéconomique – peuvent être intégrées au projet de recherche de différentes manières.

Il est par exemple possible de recourir à une analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+), à l’intersectionnalité ou encore à une approche visant la lutte contre le racisme. Ces différentes approches ne sont d’ailleurs pas incompatibles. Choisissez celle qui convient le mieux à votre discipline, à votre méthodologie et à votre sujet, en vous demandant qui sont les personnes les plus concernées par la recherche que vous proposez.

Certaines demandes peuvent aussi faire appel à des approches et méthodes de recherche autochtone, selon la nature du projet. Voir la section Méthodes ci-après.

Vous trouverez à l’annexe I la définition des termes employés dans ce guide, et à l’annexe II, une liste de ressources.

Exemples et points à considérer

Ci-après figurent des points à considérer dans le cadre des différentes étapes de la conception de votre projet de recherche. Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive et peut ne pas concerner tous les domaines et projets. Si vous estimez qu’à première vue, elle ne s’applique pas directement à votre recherche, essayez de trouver des exemples comparables qui pourraient s’y appliquer.

  • Questions de recherche

    Demandez-vous comment la diversité est prise en compte dans vos questions de recherche. Vous pourriez ainsi accroître l’importance de votre étude et sa possibilité d’être appliquée à divers groupes.

    • En quoi vos questions de recherche et les résultats qui en découleront s’appliqueront-ils aux besoins ou aux expériences de certains groupes, dans une perspective spécifique, intersectionnelle ou comparative?
    • Votre recherche est-elle liée à des groupes racisés ou sous-représentés? Qui profitera de vos résultats de recherche? Avez-vous songé aux populations pour qui la recherche prévue pourrait avoir des conséquences inattendues (positives ou négatives)? Les populations les plus touchées par votre étude participent-elles à l’élaboration des objectifs de recherche?
    • Inviterez-vous des membres de la population ou de la communauté à l’étude à participer à la sélection des questions de recherche?
  • Méthodes

    Vous pouvez renforcer votre échantillon en le rendant plus inclusif et plus représentatif de la population selon différents facteurs de diversité et d’identité. Vous pouvez aussi axer votre étude sur un ou plusieurs groupes sous-représentés.

    Si des personnes participent à votre étude, demandez-vous à qui vous comptez faire appel. Consultez l’Énoncé de politique des trois conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains (EPTC 2, 2018).

    Familiarisez-vous avec les publications portant sur les bonnes pratiques ou les bons protocoles de consultation publique qui s’appliquent aux communautés visées par votre étude. Dans les aspects à prendre en compte figurent entre autres la vie privée, les questions de propriété, de contrôle et de possession des données et les différentes formes d’aide nécessaires (financière, logistique, culturelle, linguistique, etc.) pour que la participation des personnes ou des communautés visées soit constructive.

    Les candidates et candidats qui proposent un projet de recherche autochtone, qu’elles ou ils soient Autochtones ou non, s’engagent à entretenir une relation fondée sur le respect de toute personne ou communauté autochtone. Toute étude visant des personnes autochtones doit être menée conformément au chapitre 9 de l’EPTC 2 (« Recherche impliquant les Premières Nations, les Inuit ou les Métis du Canada »). Les candidates et candidats doivent aussi consulter la définition de recherche autochtone et l’Énoncé de principes en matière de recherche autochtone du CRSH, et sont censés tenir compte des éléments qui s’appliquent aux bourses dans les Lignes directrices pour l’évaluation du mérite de la recherche autochtone.

  • Théories et sources

    Si vous travaillez avec des sources primaires ou secondaires, songez à consulter et à citer des ouvrages de divers points de vue : travaux d’auteurs qui sont issus de groupes sous-représentés; travaux qui se fondent sur la théorie critique (genre, race, handicap); travaux qui reposent sur des méthodes de recherche portant sur les systèmes de savoirs autochtones ou la décolonisation; etc.

  • Analyse et interprétation

    Demandez-vous comment votre analyse peut tenir compte des identités spécifiques et intersectionnelles :

    • Les résultats de la revue de la littérature reflètent-ils la diversité et les retombées pour différents groupes de personnes? Quelles sont les lacunes en matière de connaissances? Y a-t-il des études pour lesquelles les facteurs pertinents de diversité et d’identité n’ont pas été bien intégrés ou leurs intersections n’ont pas été bien examinées?
    • Avez-vous utilisé une méthode pour ventiler vos données (aussi bien dans la collecte que dans l’analyse) en fonction de variables liées à la diversité? Envisagez-vous d’effectuer une analyse intersectionnelle des données?
    • Si des groupes diversifiés participent à la recherche, pourront-ils aussi participer à l’interprétation des données et à l’examen des résultats avant la fin du projet?
  • Diffusion

    Demandez-vous quels supports de diffusion seraient les plus indiqués pour que les résultats soient communiqués à diverses communautés et que celles-ci puissent s’en servir.

    • Avez-vous réfléchi à l’aspect linguistique? Il est ici question de l’anglais, du français et de toute autre langue pertinente, selon les personnes ou communautés participantes ou tout autre public visé.
    • Vos résultats seront-ils disponibles dans des supports de diffusion accessibles?

Annexe I – Définitions

Les définitions suivantes s’inspirent de celles qui figurent dans les Pratiques exemplaires en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion en recherche – Guide à l’intention des candidats aux concours du fonds Nouvelles frontières en recherche et le Guide du CRSH pour aborder les considérations liées à l’équité, à la diversité et à l’inclusion dans les demandes de subvention de partenariat.

La diversité se définit par les différences reposant sur des facteurs tels que l’âge, le handicap, l’éducation, l’origine ethnique, l’expression de genre, l’identité de genre, le statut d’immigrant ou de nouvel arrivant, l’identité autochtone, la langue, la neurodiversité, la qualité ou les responsabilités de parent, le lieu d’origine, la race, la religion, l’orientation sexuelle et la situation socioéconomique. La diversité des perspectives et du vécu est fondamentale pour atteindre l’excellence en recherche et en formation.

L’équité est synonyme de justice, c’est-à-dire que toutes les personnes, quelle que soit leur identité, sont traitées de manière juste. Pour ce faire, il faut veiller à ce que les mécanismes d’attribution des ressources et de prise de décision n’entraînent pas de discrimination fondée sur l’identité, s’attaquer aux obstacles et aux préjugés systémiques et, éventuellement, offrir aux gens différents degrés d’aide pour qu’ils puissent accéder ou participer entièrement à tel ou tel programme ou projet de recherche et en tirer pleinement parti.

Le genre se rapporte aux rôles, aux comportements, aux expressions et aux identités construits par la société pour les filles, les femmes, les garçons, les hommes et les personnes ayant diverses identités de genre. Le genre influence la perception que les gens ont d’eux-mêmes et d’autrui, leur façon d’agir et d’interagir et la répartition du pouvoir et des ressources dans la société. Le genre est souvent perçu comme un concept binaire (fille/femme et garçon/homme); on observe pourtant une grande diversité dans la façon dont les personnes et les groupes le comprennent, le vivent et l’expriment, notamment les personnes au genre fluide, non binaires, transgenres et bispirituelles.

L’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) est une méthode qui sert à évaluer les répercussions possibles des politiques, des programmes, des services et d’autres initiatives (comme la conception de projets de recherche) sur divers groupes de femmes, d’hommes et de personnes aux identités de genre diverses. Elle tient compte d’une multitude de facteurs de diversité et d’identité. Le « plus » met en évidence le fait que l’ACS+ va au-delà de la dimension de sexe pour intégrer l’examen de toutes sortes de facteurs de diversité et d’identité intersectionnels (comme l’âge, la culture, le handicap, l’éducation, l’origine ethnique, le statut d’immigrant et de nouvel arrivant, l’identité autochtone, la langue, la neurodiversité, la qualité ou les responsabilités de parent, le lieu d’origine, la race, la religion, l’orientation sexuelle et la situation socioéconomique). Des ressources figurent à l’annexe II.

L’inclusion désigne la pratique visant à s’assurer que toutes les personnes sont valorisées et respectées pour leurs contributions et qu’elles reçoivent du soutien.

Pour savoir ce qu’est la recherche autochtone, consultez la définition du CRSH. Toute étude visant des personnes autochtones doit être menée conformément à l’EPTC 2, et plus particulièrement au chapitre 9, « Recherche impliquant les Premières Nations, les Inuit ou les Métis du Canada ». Des ressources figurent à l’annexe II.

L’intersectionnalité est un cadre théorique élaboré par la professeure Kimberlé Crenshaw en 1989, dans un article intitulé Demarginalizing the Intersection of Race and Sex: A Black Feminist Critique of Antidiscrimination Doctrine, Feminist Theory and Antiracist Politics, publié dans The University of Chicago Legal Forum. Elle y explique comment les femmes afro-américaines font l’objet de discrimination et de préjudices qui se superposent en raison de leur sexe et de leur race. Cette approche ou cet angle d’analyse aide les chercheures et chercheurs à mieux comprendre et à surmonter les multiples obstacles et préjudices auxquels font face les personnes présentant des facteurs identitaires, tels que la race, le genre, la sexualité et la classe. L’adoption d’une approche intersectionnelle dans l’élaboration de politiques et de projets de recherche permet de mieux cerner et de mieux surmonter les obstacles d’ordre systémique. Des ressources figurent à l’annexe II.

Annexe II – Ressources

La liste de ressources suivante n’est pas exhaustive. Vous devriez aussi consulter vos collègues et vos superviseures ou superviseurs, ainsi que les ressources d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion de votre établissement.

Ressources des trois organismes subventionnaires

Analyse comparative entre les sexes plus

Lutte contre le racisme

Recherche autochtone

Intersectionnalité

Handicap

Date de modification :