COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Pan-Canadian Knowledge Access Initiative

On this page

The Pan-Canadian Knowledge Access Initiative (PCKAI) is a one-time special initiative that will provide greater access to scholarly publications to increase the discoverability and impact, in Canada and internationally, of Canadian social sciences and humanities research. The PCKAI will provide funding to move a current offering in the open access Canadian ecosystem forward to support both authors and journals from the social sciences and humanities community.

The initiative:

  • supports a partnership of stakeholders from the scholarly field nationwide with an interest in open access in their effort towards developing the outreach potential and visibility of a recognized platform that serves both official linguistic communities;
  • supports the production of incentives and research outputs encouraging journals and researchers to join the open access community;
  • supports compliance efforts of SSHRC-funded authors with the tri-agency policy on open access, by ensuring avenues for open publication and wide knowledge access for research results within Canada;
  • offers researchers access to a research repository and additional benefits offered by the open access environment; and
  • increases the diffusion and discoverability of SSHRC-funded journals that will be part of the platform.

Funding is valued at $1 million per year over three years, up to a total of $3 million. Funding may be awarded to the eligible applicant, Coalition Publica, pending the outcome of an independent merit review process. Coalition Publica is a partnership between Érudit and the Public Knowledge Project to advance research dissemination and digital scholarly publishing in Canada.

As part of the PCKAI’s development and execution, an advisory/evaluation committee, composed of leading members from the social sciences and humanities scholarly community, will be invited to express opinions on behalf of the community on the need for a pan-Canadian platform, and on its usefulness to widen support and knowledge access for social sciences and humanities authors and journals. The committee will also validate the initiative’s objectives and process. This same committee will then be invited to assess Coalition Publica’s application.

Members of merit review committees are listed on SSHRC’s website.

The evaluation criteria below apply to PCKAI applications, in conjunction with the guiding principles recommended by the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition and the Confederation of Open Access Repositories’ Good Practice Principles for Scholarly Communication Services as well as the principles outlined in the Roadmap for Open Science.

1. Challenge—The aim and importance of the endeavour (40%)

  • originality, significance and expected contribution to open access, as well as support and development of social sciences and humanities research;
  • ability to harvest existing expertise in building talent and capacity;
  • ability to increase discoverability of open access knowledge;
  • appropriateness of the approach and proposed activities; and
  • potential for the Pan-Canadian Knowledge Access Initiative to have influence and impact within and/or beyond the social sciences and humanities research community in Canada or at the international level.

2. Feasibility—The plan to achieve excellence (40%)

  • appropriateness of the proposed timeline, and probability that the objectives will be met;
  • quality and genuineness of the partnership and associated management and governance arrangements and leadership that allow community input on the direction of the service and operational governance;
  • expertise of the team and appropriateness of partner organizations in relation to the proposed objectives;
  • quality of the proposed contribution plan for leveraging cash and in-kind support from the host institution and/or from partner organizations;
  • quality and appropriateness of the proposed budget;
  • quality and appropriateness of the knowledge mobilization plans, including engagement with non-users of open access;
  • identification of progress indicators; and
  • potential sustainability of the platform supported by PCKAI.

3. Capability—The expertise to succeed (20%)

  • quality, quantity and significance of past experience and published and/or creative outputs relative to the proposed objectives;
  • capacity to demonstrate proactive marketing strategies and interest in developing new business models; and
  • past experience in formal partnerships.

Grant holders must comply with the Regulations Governing Grant Applications and with the regulations set out in the Tri-Agency Guide on Financial Administration.

Grant holders must also comply with the Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications. See the Open Access overview for more information. SSHRC also encourages researchers to manage, in line with both community standards and best practices (including SSHRC’s Research Data Archiving Policy), data arising from their research. Grant holders must manage their activities according to the following guidelines:

For more information, contact:

Email: patricia.maccaughan@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tel.: 343-571-9409


Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Initiative pancanadienne d’accès aux connaissances

Sur cette page

L’Initiative pancanadienne d’accès aux connaissances est une initiative spéciale ponctuelle qui vise à donner un meilleur accès aux revues savantes publiées pour accroître la découvrabilité et l’impact de la recherche canadienne en sciences humaines, au Canada et à l’étranger. L’Initiative offrira du financement afin de faire progresser l’offre actuelle de libre accès au Canada en appui aux auteurs et aux revues du domaine des sciences humaines.

L’Initiative :

  • soutient un partenariat d’intervenants du domaine de la recherche à l’échelle nationale qui s’intéressent au libre accès dans leurs efforts visant à développer le potentiel de diffusion d’une plateforme reconnue qui dessert les deux communautés linguistiques officielles;
  • soutient la production de mesures incitatives et des résultats de recherche encourageant les revues savantes et les chercheurs à rejoindre la communauté du libre accès;
  • soutient les efforts de conformité à la politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès des auteurs financés par le CRSH en assurant des voies de publication ouvertes et une large diffusion des résultats de recherche au Canada;
  • offre aux chercheurs l’accès à un dépôt de recherche et aux avantages supplémentaires offerts par l’environnement du libre accès;
  • accroît la diffusion et la découvrabilité des revues financées par le CRSH qui feront partie de la plateforme.

Le financement s’élève à 1 million de dollars par année sur trois ans, jusqu’à un total de 3 millions de dollars. Le financement pourrait être accordé au candidat admissible, Coalition Publica, selon les résultats d’une évaluation du mérite indépendante. Coalition Publica est un partenariat entre Érudit et le Public Knowledge Project qui a pour objectif de faire avancer la diffusion de la recherche et de l’édition savante numérique au Canada.

Dans le cadre de l’Initiative, un comité consultatif et d’évaluation, composé d’éminents membres de la communauté scientifique des sciences humaines, se prononcera, au nom de la communauté sur : la nécessité d’une plateforme pancanadienne et son utilité pour augmenter le soutien et l’accès aux connaissances des auteurs et des revues en sciences humaines. Le comité validera également les objectifs et le processus de l’Initiative et évaluera la demande de Coalition Publica.

Les noms des membres du comité de sélection sont affichés sur le site Web du CRSH.

Les critères d’évaluation suivants, de pair avec les principes directeurs recommandés par la Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, les bonnes pratiques de la Confederation of Open Access Repositories’ Good Practice Principles for Scholarly Communication Services et les principes de la Feuille de route pour la science ouverte s’appliquent aux demandes soumises à l’Initiative :

1. Le but et l’importance de l’entreprise (40 p. 100)

  • l’originalité, l’importance et la contribution attendue au libre accès ainsi qu’au soutien et au développement de la recherche en sciences humaines;
  • la capacité à exploiter l’expertise existante en matière de renforcement des talents et des capacités;
  • la capacité à accroître la découvrabilité des connaissances en libre accès;
  • la pertinence de l’approche et des activités proposées;
  • la possibilité que l’initiative pancanadienne d’accès aux connaissances ait une influence et un impact au sein ou au-delà de la communauté de recherche en sciences humaines au Canada ou à l’échelle internationale.

2. Faisabilité – Le plan pour atteindre l’excellence (40 p. 100)

  • la pertinence du calendrier proposé et la probabilité que les objectifs soient atteints;
  • la qualité et l’authenticité du partenariat et des dispositions de gestion et de gouvernance associées, et leadership qui permet à la communauté de contribuer à l’orientation du service et à la gouvernance opérationnelle;
  • l’expertise de l’équipe et l’adéquation entre les organismes partenaires et les objectifs proposés;
  • la qualité du plan de contribution proposé pour obtenir un soutien en espèces et en nature de la part de l’institution hôte et/ou des organisations partenaires;
  • la qualité et la pertinence du budget proposé;
  • la qualité et la pertinence des plans de mobilisation des connaissances, y compris l’engagement avec les non-utilisateurs du libre accès;
  • l’identification des indicateurs de progrès;
  • la durabilité potentielle de la plateforme soutenue par l’Initiative pancanadienne d’accès aux connaissances.

3. Capacité – L’expertise pour réussir (20 p. 100)

  • la qualité, quantité et importance de l’expérience passée et des résultats publiés et/ou créatifs par rapport aux objectifs proposés;
  • la capacité à démontrer des stratégies de marketing proactives et un intérêt pour le développement de nouveaux modèles commerciaux;
  • l’expérience passée en matière de partenariats formels.

Les titulaires de subvention doivent se conformer aux règlements régissant les demandes de subvention et aux règlements du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Ils doivent aussi respecter la Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter l’aperçu du libre accès. Le CRSH invite également les chercheurs à gérer les données résultant de leurs recherches en conformité avec les normes et les pratiques exemplaires du milieu de la recherche, y compris la Politique sur l’archivage des données de recherche. Les titulaires de subvention doivent gérer leurs activités conformément :

Pour en savoir plus :

Courriel : patricia.maccaughan@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Téléphone : 343-571-9409


Date de modification :