Spotlight on Research

Knowledge Synthesis Grants on Skills Development for Future Needs of the Canadian Labour Market

The social sciences and humanities offer a wealth of knowledge and expertise on labour market dynamics and skills development. As a result, in partnership with Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) and other key stakeholders, SSHRC developed a call for proposals to evaluate the current state of knowledge about the skills needs of the Canadian labour market and to identify the most promising policies and practices for better meeting future skills needs.

The objectives of this funding opportunity were to:

  • assess the quality, accuracy and rigour of current work in the field;
  • identify gaps in the knowledge and the quantitative and qualitative data available; and
  • mobilize skills and labour market knowledge within industry, the academic and public policy sectors.

Sixteen reports by researchers across Canada from a range of disciplines were funded through this initiative. The complete recipients list can be found here

Please note that reports are only available in the language in which they were submitted.

Video still of Chris Andersen and Yvonne Poitras-Pratt explaining their research on the subject of Crowdsourcing Métis Research

Crowdsourcing Métis Research

Chris Andersen and Yvonne Poitras‑Pratt present their knowledge synthesis on Métis research in education, employment and training. Working with a variety of Métis organizations, the research team found that most Métis research is provincially‑based and, as a result, exists in a “jurisdictional vacuum”. The team hopes to create a crowdsourcing database to help centralize knowledge and to make best practices and other resources more readily available for policy actors across Canada.

Video still of Chedly Belkhodja explaining his research on the subject of Integrating International Students

Integrating International Students

Chedly Belkhodja discusses his research project that measures the factors involved in the successful integration of international students in Canadian society. International students form a growing population in Canadian universities. His research identifies challenges in attracting international students, and in their professional integration after graduation into Canadian workplaces. His research synthesis will help provide a better understanding of how international students contribute to Canada’s prosperity and society.

Video still of Benoit Dostie explaining his research on the subject of Investing in Human Capital

Investing in Human Capital

Benoit Dostie discusses his knowledge synthesis about the impacts of employer‑sponsored training. His research looks at business strategies in human investment, at links between training and an organization’s productivity, and the complementary elements between investments in human, organizational and physical capital. His research synthesis has shown that employee training yields positive outcomes for businesses, and that the benefits outweigh the loss of wages of employees undergoing training.

Video still of Catherine Elliott explaining her research on the subject of Leveraging Mentoring

Leveraging Mentoring

Catherine Elliott, on behalf of Joanne D. Leck, discusses the state of mentoring in Canada and some of the challenges faced by women, visible minorities and immigrants, disabled persons and Aboriginal people in advancing to senior positions in the workplace. Elliott, Leck and their research team document how mentoring is associated with numerous benefits, including improved work performance, promotions, and enhanced skills development. They examine various approaches to mentoring and aim to discover how best to leverage mentoring as a tool to promote employee learning and advancement in order for Canada to access the leadership potential of all employees.

Video still of Sally Lindsay explaining her research on the subject of Workplace Inclusion

Workplace Inclusion

Sally Lindsay talks about her knowledge synthesis project, which focused on identifying ways to improve the participation of persons with disabilities whose talents are underutilized in the Canadian labour market. Her research identified policies, programs and employment practices that can improve the inclusion of persons with disabilities in the workforce. The report calls for more research in the area, and for different agencies to communicate and work together on the issue.

Video still of Howard Lin explaining his research on the subject of Sustaining the Family Business

Sustaining the Family Business

Howard Lin introduces his research synthesis on family owned, controlled, influenced, or involved businesses in Canada. In exploring skills and skills development, Lin discovered that there is a lack of incentive for smaller family businesses to upgrade professional skills. His research suggests that a culturally sensitive approach, interaction and collaboration between sectors can help to improve skills.

Video still of Dragana Martinovic and Viktor Freiman explaining their research on the subject of Digital Literacy at Work

Digital Literacy at Work

Dragana Martinovic and Viktor Freiman discuss their knowledge synthesis on digital literacy skills in the Canadian labour market. They investigated existing research into the development and type of digital literacy skills that are needed to be successful in today’s labour market. They also looked at how technology is changing educational and workplace practices, and how to best attract a qualified, diverse workforce. Their research has led to proposed curriculum changes that emphasize transdisciplinary and transferable skills, communication, collaboration and digital literacies.

Video still of Susan McDaniel explaining her research on the subject of Demographics of Canada’s Future Workforce

Demographics of Canada’s Future Workforce

Susan McDaniel reports on her research process to discover whether there will be labour or skills shortages in Canada, and what role immigration might play in Canada’s future. Her findings indicate that there is no evidence of widespread labour shortages on a national scale, but that there are pockets of skill shortages and mismatches in specific industry sectors and in specific geographic areas. McDaniel’s research also identifies large groups of underutilized populations, including youth, highly‑skilled immigrants, Aboriginal Peoples, disabled and older workers.

Video still of Miana Plesca and Fraser Summerfield

Supply and Demand of Skills

Miana Plesca and Fraser Summerfield discuss their research synthesis on the supply and demand for skills in Canada. They found that workers’ skills and required job skills requirements do not match up. Plesca and Summerfield are calling for a policy that fosters job creation, requiring individuals to be critical thinkers with general, transferable skills.

Video still of Diane Pruneau

Developing Skills in Science Class

Diane Pruneau presents her knowledge synthesis on the recommended skills that employers and researchers say will help workers to be successful. She and her research team analyzed elementary school curriculum in Canada to see whether these skills were being taught to students in science and technology classrooms. Pruneau’s results have helped her to recommend changes to the Canadian science curriculum, including an increased focus on skills like entrepreneurship and risk assessment.

Video still of Hannah Scott and Igor Kotlyar

Identifying Gaps With Skillshed Analysis

Hannah Scott and Igor Kotlyar discuss their knowledge synthesis on skillshed analysis. This unique approach requires researchers to focus on both employers and the workforce. It focuses on geographic locations that are meaningful to employers, rather than on traditional geographic boundaries. It also focuses on skills rather than on types of jobs. Skillshed studies have not yet been done in Canada, and Scott and Kotlyar hope this work will help Canadian researchers and policymakers examine skill gaps on a local, community level.

Video still of Monica Shore

Training for the Traditional Craft Trades

Monica Shore discusses the Traditional Craft Trades (TCT) sector, representing Nicole Vaugeois. This knowledge synthesis report explores the labour market needs for the TCT sector and identifies challenges and enhancements for training and skill development for artisans. Her research called for a greater connection between entrepreneurship and craftsmanship, the attraction of young people to work in TCT, and training in digital technology and business development for craftspeople.

Video still of Margaret Walton-Roberts

Integrating International Nurses

Margaret Walton-Roberts discusses her research on the incorporation of internationally-educated nurses into the Canadian health-care system. Walton-Roberts explains that because Canada faces a potential shortage of 60,000 nurses by the year 2022, this study has significant implications that could impact decisions about federal immigration policy reform and how those policies intersect with the professional regulators.

Video still of Paul Yachnin and Leigh Yetter

Transforming Humanities PhD Programs

Paul Yachnin and Leigh Yetter report on their knowledge synthesis on underemployment of those who hold humanities PhDs. The researchers argue that high-level humanities research and teaching has a high social value as it leads to clearer, more historically informed and ethical understanding of problems in Canada. Yachnin and Yetter recommend transforming humanities PhD programs so that they lead to multiple career paths outside academia.

image de Subventions de synthèses des connaissances

Employment Skills in Northern Canada

Frances Abele and Senada Delic’s research synthesis addressed northern aboriginal youth employment in Canada. The researchers investigated possible sources of a skills mismatch between employment opportunities in northern communities and in the academic preparation, employment success and career aspirations of the aboriginal youth labour force. They called for better cooperation among elementary, secondary, postsecondary and vocational education systems in the north so that academic and non-academic vocational paths are visible and available to northern young people.

image de Subventions de synthèses des connaissances

Recruiting International Workers

Julie Drolet and her research team examined the growing skills and labour shortage and mismatch that exist in Canada amidst a global competition for talent. The goal of Drolet’s project was to describe the state of knowledge on the role of employers and employer organizations in bridging newcomers’ absorption and integration. The findings indicate that federal and provincial governments, the employer community itself and service providers all have roles to play in increasing employers’ capacity to hire and recruit skilled immigrant workers in order to meet the demands of the future labour market.

For more information, contact:

Cindy McIntyre
Policy analyst, Corporate Strategy and Performance
Tel.: 613-947-2081

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Pleins feux sur la recherche

Subventions de synthèse des connaissances sur le développement de compétences pour répondre aux besoins futurs du marché du travail canadien

Les sciences humaines offrent une multitude de connaissances et une très grande expertise en ce qui concerne la dynamique du marché du travail et le développement des compétences. C’est pourquoi, en partenariat avec Emploi et Développement social Canada et d’autres acteurs clés, le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines a préparé un appel de propositions afin d’obtenir une évaluation de l’état actuel des connaissances sur les besoins du marché du travail canadien en matière de compétences ainsi que sur les politiques et les pratiques les plus susceptibles de répondre aux besoins de demain.

Les objectifs de l’occasion de financement liée aux subventions de synthèse des connaissances étaient les suivants :

  • évaluer la qualité, l’exactitude et la rigueur des travaux menés dans lesdits domaines;
  • cibler les lacunes en matière de connaissances et de données quantitatives et qualitatives disponibles;
  • mobiliser les connaissances sur les compétences et le marché du travail au sein du milieu universitaire, de l’industrie et du secteur des politiques publiques.

Dans le cadre de cette occasion de financement, 16 rapports ont été rédigés par des chercheurs de diverses disciplines provenant de partout au Canada. Consulter la liste des détenteurs de subvention.

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les rapports sont disponibles uniquement dans la langue dans laquelle ils ont été réalisés.




Video still of Chris Andersen and Yvonne Poitras-Pratt explaining their research on the subject of Crowdsourcing Métis Research

Enrichir la recherche concernant les Métis

Chris Andersen et Yvonne Poitras Pratt dressent une synthèse des connaissances axées sur la recherche concernant les Métis et l’éducation, l’emploi et la formation. En collaboration avec diverses organisations métisses, l’équipe de chercheurs a découvert qu’une grande partie de la recherche concernant les Métis est effectuée à l’échelle provinciale et que cette situation crée un « vide juridictionnel ». Ils espèrent mettre en place une base de données fondée sur l’externalisation ouverte afin de centraliser les connaissances et de faciliter l’accès des acteurs politiques de partout au Canada aux pratiques exemplaires et à d’autres ressources.


Video still of Chedly Belkhodja explaining his research on the subject of Integrating International Students

Intégrer les étudiants internationaux

Chedly Belkhodja présente une synthèse des connaissances ayant pour objectif d’évaluer les facteurs de réussite de l’intégration des étudiants internationaux à la société canadienne – une population qui est en croissance dans les universités de tout le pays. Sa synthèse a mis en lumière les défis que présentent le recrutement d’étudiants internationaux et leur intégration dans des milieux de travail canadiens après l’obtention de leur diplôme. Elle permet de mieux comprendre la façon dont les étudiants internationaux contribuent à la prospérité du Canada.


Video still of Benoit Dostie explaining his research on the subject of Investing in Human Capital

Investir dans le capital humain

Benoit Dostie explique en quoi consiste sa synthèse des connaissances sur l’impact de la formation parrainée par l’employeur. Dans le cadre de ses travaux, il s’est intéressé aux stratégies d’affaires liées aux investissements en capital humain, à l’interaction entre la formation parrainée par l’employeur et la productivité des employés ainsi qu’à la complémentarité qui existe entre les investissements en formation, en capital physique et en capital organisationnel. Sa synthèse a permis de démontrer que les investissements en formation ont un impact positif sur les entreprises et que les avantages dépassent la perte salariale relative à la formation.


Video still of Catherine Elliott explaining her research on the subject of Leveraging Mentoring

Tirer profit du mentorat

Catherine Elliott – en son nom et au nom de Joanne D. Leck – parle de l’état actuel du mentorat au Canada et de certains défis auxquels doivent faire face les femmes, les minorités visibles, les immigrants, les personnes handicapées et les Autochtones pour accéder à des postes de niveau supérieur en milieu de travail. Mmes Elliott et Leck ainsi que leur équipe de recherche ont examiné les nombreux avantages associés au mentorat, notamment l’amélioration du rendement, du développement des compétences et de l’accessibilité aux promotions. Elles ont aussi étudié diverses approches de mentorat et tenté de voir comment utiliser le mentorat comme un levier favorisant l’apprentissage et l’avancement des employés, de façon à ce que le Canada puisse profiter du potentiel de leadership de tous les employés.


Video still of Sally Lindsay explaining her research on the subject of Workplace Inclusion

Accroître la participation des personnes handicapées au marché du travail

Sally Lindsay présente une synthèse des connaissances qui vise à trouver des façons d’accroître la participation des personnes handicapées, un groupe sous-utilisé, au marché du travail canadien. Dans le cadre de ses travaux, elle a cerné des politiques, des programmes et des pratiques susceptibles d’améliorer l’intégration des personnes handicapées au sein du marché du travail. Parmi ses recommandations : faire davantage de recherche sur le sujet et inciter les différents intervenants à travailler ensemble.


Video still of Howard Lin explaining his research on the subject of Sustaining the Family Business

Assurer la viabilité des entreprises familiales

Howard Lin s’intéresse à ce qui se passe au sein des entreprises familiales au Canada, entreprises dirigées ou influencées par la famille ou dans lesquelles la famille est impliquée. En examinant le volet « compétences », M. Lin a constaté qu’il n’existe aucun incitatif pour les motiver à augmenter leur rendement sur le plan des compétences professionnelles. En s’appuyant sur sa synthèse des connaissances, le chercheur croit qu’une approche adaptée à la dynamique des entreprises familiales aiderait ces dernières à combler cette lacune.


Video still of Dragana Martinovic and Viktor Freiman explaining their research on the subject of Digital Literacy at Work

Insister sur la littératie numérique dans les programmes d’études

Dragana Martinovic et Viktor Freiman abordent la question des compétences en littératie numérique dans le marché du travail canadien. Ils ont passé en revue la recherche qui existe sur le développement et le type de compétences en littératie numérique jugées nécessaires pour réussir dans le marché du travail d’aujourd’hui. Ils se sont également intéressés à la manière dont la technologie transforme les pratiques en enseignement et dans les milieux de travail ainsi qu’aux meilleures façons de s’y prendre pour recruter une main-d’œuvre diverse et qualifiée. Leur synthèse des connaissances a permis de recommander des changements à apporter aux programmes d’études, des changements mettant l’accent sur les compétences transdisciplinaires et transférables, la communication, la collaboration et la littératie numérique.


Video still of Susan McDaniel explaining her research on the subject of Demographics of Canada’s Future Workforce

Anticiper l’évolution démographique de la main-d’œuvre au Canada

Susan McDaniel se demande si, dans les années à venir, il y aura pénurie de main-d’œuvre ou de compétences au pays et quel sera le rôle de l’immigration dans l’avenir du Canada. Selon ce qu’elle a observé, rien ne laisse entrevoir une pénurie généralisée de main-d’œuvre à l’échelle nationale. Il y aurait toutefois une certaine pénurie ou plutôt une certaine disparité en matière de compétences dans des régions ou des secteurs donnés. Sa synthèse des connaissances a permis de circonscrire de grands groupes sous-utilisés, tels que les jeunes, les immigrants hautement qualifiés, les Autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les travailleurs âgés.


Video still of Miana Plesca and Fraser Summerfield

Équilibrer l’offre et la demande de compétences

Miana Plesca et Fraser Summerfield discutent de l’offre et de la demande de compétences au Canada. Au cours de leur synthèse des connaissances, ils ont constaté que les compétences des travailleurs ne correspondent pas aux compétences qui sont recherchées sur le marché du travail. Afin de pallier cette disparité, ils souhaitent que soit mise en œuvre une politique favorisant la création d’emplois axés sur les travailleurs dotés d’une pensée critique et de compétences générales transférables.


Video still of Diane Pruneau

Développer des compétences dans les cours de sciences au primaire

Diane Pruneau présente une synthèse des connaissances faisant état des compétences que les employeurs et les chercheurs recommandent pour les travailleurs de la société d’aujourd’hui. Avec son équipe de recherche, elle a analysé les programmes scolaires du primaire au Canada afin de voir si les compétences recommandées sont enseignées dans les cours de sciences et de technologies. En s’appuyant sur les résultats obtenus, la chercheure a proposé d’apporter des modifications aux programmes de sciences canadiens afin qu’une attention accrue soit portée, entre autres, aux compétences en entrepreneuriat et en évaluation du risque.


Video still of Hannah Scott and Igor Kotlyar

Réduire les disparités en matière de compétences

Hannah Scott et Igor Kotlyar proposent une synthèse des connaissances sur l’analyse des bassins de compétences. Afin de mener à bien ce type d’analyse peu commune, les chercheurs doivent tenir compte des employeurs ainsi que de la main-d’œuvre et mettre l’accent sur les compétences et les secteurs géographiques importants pour les employeurs plutôt que sur les catégories d’emplois et les frontières géographiques habituelles. Aucune analyse des bassins de compétences n’a encore été réalisée au Canada; Mme Scott et M. Kotlyar espèrent que leurs travaux aideront les chercheurs et les décideurs canadiens à examiner, dans une perspective locale, les disparités en matière de compétences.


Video still of Monica Shore

Développer le commerce de l’artisanat traditionnel

Monica Shore – à titre de représentante de Nicole Vaugeois – parle du secteur du commerce de l’artisanat traditionnel. Elle mentionne que les besoins du marché du travail dans ce secteur ainsi que les défis et les améliorations possibles en matière de formation et de développement des compétences des artisans figurent parmi les points abordés dans la synthèse des connaissances. Au nombre des recommandations formulées : établir de meilleurs liens entre entrepreneuriat et artisanat, inciter les jeunes à travailler dans ce secteur et offrir aux artisans une formation en technologie numérique et en développement d’entreprise.


Video still of Margaret Walton-Roberts

Favoriser l’intégration du personnel infirmier formé à l’étranger

Margaret Walton-Roberts aborde, dans le cadre de sa synthèse des connaissances, la question de l’intégration des infirmiers formés à l’étranger au sein du système de santé canadien. En raison de la pénurie de 60 000 infirmiers que le Canada pourrait connaître d’ici 2022, la chercheure croit que ses travaux pourraient avoir un certain impact sur les décisions prises dans le cadre de la réforme des politiques d’immigration et sur la façon dont ces décisions peuvent s’arrimer aux règlements des associations professionnelles.


Video still of Paul Yachnin and Leigh Yetter

Réformer les programmes de doctorat en sciences humaines

Paul Yachnin et Leigh Yetter mettent à l’avant-scène la sous-employabilité des titulaires de doctorat en sciences humaines. Ils soutiennent que l’enseignement et la recherche de haut niveau dans ce domaine ont une grande valeur sociale parce qu’ils permettent de mieux comprendre les problèmes du Canada d’un point de vue éthique et historique. Dans le cadre de leur synthèse des connaissances, les chercheurs recommandent de réformer les programmes de doctorat en sciences humaines afin qu’ils conduisent à un éventail plus large de débouchés, et pas seulement à une carrière universitaire en enseignement.


image de Subventions de synthèses des connaissances

Proposer de nouvelles perspectives d’emploi aux jeunes des régions nordiques

Frances Abele et Senada Delic s’intéressent à la question de l’emploi chez les jeunes Autochtones du Nord du Canada. Elles ont exploré des sources possibles de disparité en matière de compétences entre les emplois disponibles dans les communautés nordiques et la formation, la réussite professionnelle et les perspectives de carrière de la jeune main-d’œuvre autochtone. Afin de faire connaître et de rendre accessibles aux jeunes des régions nordiques les parcours scolaires et les orientations professionnelles qui existent, elles recommandent l’établissement d’une meilleure collaboration entre les systèmes d’éducation primaire, secondaire, postsecondaire et de formation professionnelle.


image de Subventions de synthèses des connaissances

Accueillir les travailleurs étrangers et contribuer à leur intégration

Julie Drolet voit dans l’immigration une avenue prometteuse pour combler les lacunes du marché du travail. La chercheure et son équipe ont examiné la pénurie en matière de compétences et de main-d’œuvre qui se fait de plus en plus sentir au Canada, et ce, alors que la concurrence mondiale pour le talent est féroce. La synthèse des connaissances visait à mettre en lumière ce que l’on sait actuellement du rôle des employeurs et des organisations d’employeurs relativement à l’accueil et à l’intégration des nouveaux arrivants. Les conclusions tendent à confirmer que les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, les employeurs et les fournisseurs de services ont tous un rôle à jouer pour accroître la capacité des employeurs à recruter et à embaucher des travailleurs immigrants afin de répondre aux besoins d’un marché du travail en évolution.



Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Cindy McIntyre
Analyste des politiques, Stratégie et rendement organisationnels
Tél. : 613-947-2081
Courriel : Cindy.mcintyre@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca