COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


SSHRC Advisory Committee to Address Barriers to Accessibility

  Call for expressions of interest for committee membership

The call for expressions of interest for committee membership is now closed.

Call for expressions of interest for committee membership

(Microsoft Word, 19 KB)

Call for expressions of interest for committee membership: SSHRC Advisory Committee to Address Barriers to Accessibility

The Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) is committed to making its programs fully accessible to Canada’s research community. To realize this goal, and to meet the requirements of the Accessible Canada Act, we are seeking expressions of interest to join an advisory committee to help identify barriers to accessibility within SSHRC programs, and to develop an action plan to address them.

The committee’s role will be to advise SSHRC of barriers to full accessibility within its programs and its related processes and policies. Committee members will serve an initial one-year term, and their work will also represent one aspect of a larger stakeholder engagement strategy with multiple organizations and institutions that interact with SSHRC.

SSHRC aims to create a committee that includes representation across a wide range of lived experience and personal identification, including regional and linguistic diversity. SSHRC may directly recruit members to the committee, should self-nominations not include representation from key stakeholder groups. The creation of this committee is part of SSHRC’s commitment to strengthen equity, diversity and inclusion practices under its mandate to promote and support research and training in the social sciences and humanities.


Who should apply?

Scholars (including graduate students and postdoctoral fellows) from eligible institutions across Canada who have lived experience of a disability and/or accessibility needs, and/or expertise in disability studies, are encouraged to apply. Individuals who are Indigenous, from a racialized or other minority group, or who identify as LGBTQ2+, are encouraged to apply.

Note: If you are not an academic, but wish to be part of this process, contact us regarding opportunities to participate in a focus group.

What is the time commitment?

Members will serve a one-year term (approximately June 2022 to June 2023) and participate in about four to five meetings.

Where will meetings be held?

Meetings will be held virtually by videoconference. Accessible format selection will occur in consultation with the successful candidates once the committee has been established.

Compensation

Compensation will be offered to faculty and students from eligible postsecondary institutions.

How to apply

Submissions must address the following questions:

  1. Do you self-identify as a person with a disability?
  2. Why do you want to be a member of the advisory committee? (Include any knowledge, including personal or professional experience, that may be relevant, such as research expertise in disability studies or other related research areas.)
  3. Would you be willing to serve as a co-chair of the committee?
Ways to submit

Choose one of the following ways to submit your application:

  • in writing (approximately two pages)
  • by phone or video conference (e.g., Zoom) with the help of a scribe

The submission period has ended

Questions?

If you are concerned about barriers in this application process, or if you would like to ask questions to better understand options for submitting your application, you can contact us in the following ways:

  1. Click the Book an Appointment button above to schedule an appointment to discuss your concerns or questions with a member of our team.
  2. Send an email to accommodations-adaptation@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.
  3. Call 1-855-275-2861 and follow the prompts to speak with a member of our team.
Deadline to apply

The call for members will remain open until .

SSHRC greatly appreciates all applicants who seek to contribute to this effort. Those who are not selected to serve on the committee may be considered for other consultation opportunities, such as focus groups and surveys.

Confidentiality

The contents of submitted applications are protected and will only be shared on a need-to-know basis for committee membership selection.


Date modified:

Comité consultatif du CRSH sur les obstacles à l’accessibilité

  Appel de déclaration d’intérêt pour la composition du comité

Appel de déclaration d’intérêt pour la composition du comité

(Microsoft Word, 19 Ko)

Appel de déclaration d’intérêt pour la composition du comité : Comité consultatif du CRSH sur les obstacles à l’accessibilité

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) s’engage à rendre ses programmes entièrement accessibles à la communauté de recherche du Canada. Pour atteindre cet objectif et satisfaire les exigences de la Loi sur l’accessibilité, nous sollicitons des appels de déclaration d’intérêt pour siéger à un comité consultatif qui cernera les obstacles à l’accessibilité de ses programmes et élaborera un plan d’action pour les aborder.

Le comité conseillera le CRSH sur les obstacles à la pleine accessibilité de ses programmes ainsi que sur les processus et les politiques connexes. Les membres du comité rempliront un mandat initial d’un an et leur travail associé au comité s’inscrit dans une stratégie plus vaste d’engagement des parties prenantes auprès de multiples organismes et établissements qui interagissent avec le CRSH.

Le CRSH veut former un comité composé de membres possédant un large éventail d’expériences vécues et d’identifications personnelles, et tenant compte de la diversité régionale et linguistique. Le CRSH peut recruter directement des membres du comité si ces auto-nominations ne proviennent des principaux groupes de parties prenantes. La création de ce comité s’inscrit dans l’engagement du CRSH de renforcer les pratiques en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion dans le cadre de son mandat visant à promouvoir et à soutenir la recherche et la formation en sciences humaines.


Qui devrait présenter une candidature?

Les chercheures et chercheurs (y compris les étudiantes et étudiants des cycles supérieurs et les stagiaires de niveau postdoctoral) des établissements admissibles de partout au Canada qui ont une expérience vécue d’un handicap et (ou) des besoins en matière d’accessibilité, et (ou) qui possèdent une expertise dans le domaine des études sur les handicaps, sont invités à présenter une demande. Les Autochtones, les personnes provenant d’un groupe racialisé ou d’une autre minorité, ou qui s’identifient comme faisant partie de la communauté LGBTQ2+, sont encouragés à postuler.

Remarque : Si vous n’êtes pas une ou un universitaire mais que vous voulez participer à ce processus, communiquez avec nous pour connaître les possibilités de prendre part à un groupe de discussion.

Quel est la durée de l’engagement?

Les membres serviront un mandat d’un an (environ de juin 2022 à juin 2023) au cours duquel elles et ils assisteront à environ quatre à cinq réunions.

Où se tiendront les réunions?

Les réunions se dérouleront par vidéoconférence. Le choix du format accessible se fera en consultation avec les candidates et candidats retenus une fois le comité établi.

Compensation

Une compensation sera offerte aux professeures et professeurs et aux étudiantes et étudiants des établissements postsecondaires admissibles.

Soumettre une candidature

Les candidatures doivent répondre aux questions suivantes :

  1. Vous identifiez-vous comme une personne en situation de handicap?
  2. Pourquoi voulez-vous être membre du comité consultatif? (Indiquez toute connaissance, y compris l’expérience personnelle ou professionnelle, qui pourrait être pertinente, comme une expertise de recherche dans les études sur le handicap ou d’autres domaines de recherche connexes.)
  3. Seriez-vous prêt à servir en tant que coprésidente ou coprésident du comité?
Processus de soumission d’une candidature

Choisissez l’une des méthodes suivantes pour soumettre votre candidature :

  • Par écrit (environ deux pages)
  • Par téléphone ou vidéoconférence (par exemple, Zoom) avec l’aide d’un scribe

Les candidatures écrites doivent être envoyées à : accommodations-adaptation@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.

Pour poser votre candidature par téléphone, composez 1-855-275-2861 et suivez les instructions pour parler avec un membre de notre équipe.

Pour poser votre candidature par vidéoconférence, cliquez sur le bouton ci-dessous pour prendre rendez-vous :

Prendre un rendez-vous

Questions?

Si vous êtes préoccupé par des obstacles dans ce processus de soumission d’une candidature ou si vous voulez poser des questions pour mieux comprendre les options de soumission de votre candidature, vous pouvez prendre contact avec nous de l’une des façons suivantes :

  1. Cliquez sur le bouton « Prendre un rendez-vous » ci-dessus pour fixer un rendez-vous afin de discuter de vos préoccupations ou de vos questions avec un membre de notre équipe.
  2. Écrivez à accommodations-adaptation@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.
  3. Composez 1-855-275-2861 et suivez les instructions pour parler avec un membre de notre équipe.
Date limite de soumission d’une candidature

L’appel de candidatures est ouvert jusqu’au .

Le CRSH apprécie grandement toutes les candidates et tous les candidats qui veulent contribuer à cet effort. Les personnes qui ne seront pas sélectionnées pour faire partie du comité pourront être considérées pour d’autres occasions de consultation, comme des groupes de discussion et des enquêtes.

Confidentialité

Le contenu des demandes soumises est protégé et ne sera communiqué qu’en cas de nécessité pour la sélection des membres du comité.


Date de modification :