COVID-19 Update

Due to COVID-19, many deadlines are being revised. Learn more about the impacts of COVID-19 on SSHRC's programs.


Date published: March 20, 2020

Canada-UK Artificial Intelligence Initiative

Overview
Value

Canadian funding agencies: up to C$173,333 per year for Canadian teams for up to three years, for a total of C$520,000 per project.

UKRI: up to £625,000 per project for UK teams at 100% full economic cost.

Duration 3 years
Application deadline

Intention to submit: August 19, 2019 (11:00 p.m. BST / 6:00 p.m. eastern)

Full application: September 12, 2019 (4:00 p.m. BST / 11:00 a.m. eastern)

Results announced January 2020
Apply ESRC’s Joint Electronic Submissions (Je-S) SystemFootnote *

Table of contents

The Canada-UK Artificial Intelligence Initiative funding opportunity is offered by the three Canadian federal research funding agencies in collaboration with four research councils part of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI). The Canadian agencies include the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR); the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council; and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC). The four UK research councils involved in this UKRI initiative are the Arts and Humanities Research Council; the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC); the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council; and the Medical Research Council. ESRC is coordinating this initiative.

The rapid development and ever-growing global investment in artificial intelligence (AI) illustrate the undeniable impact that these technologies are having, and will have, on our economies, health and societies. Given the expertise of researchers in Canada and the United Kingdom, the Canadian funding agencies and UKRI are jointly supporting the development of a collaboration in AI between stakeholders in Canada and the UK. The aim is to build competitive and resilient economies and maximize the social and health benefits.

This is a unique collaboration, which will require each project to include a principal investigator (PI) based in Canada and a PI based in the UK. The PIs will share equally leadership and project management responsibilities. The Canadian and UK applicants will develop a common research plan and jointly prepare the full proposal. Proposals will be required to demonstrate a significant degree of, or novel approach to, interdisciplinarity, with research that cuts across at least two of the following research domains:

  • social sciences and humanities;
  • health and biomedical sciences; and
  • natural sciences and engineering (including computational and/or mathematical sciences).

In addition to promoting interdisciplinary AI, this call will support the development of responsible AI while establishing new partnerships and enhancing infrastructure and training between researchers in Canada and the UK. The outputs and outcomes of the research should allow for uptake by relevant stakeholders where possible.

ESRC is the coordinating agency. Documents for this funding opportunity are available on ESRC’s website. All proposals for this call will be submitted through the Joint Electronic Submissions (Je-S) system. The Je-S system is in English only. However, competition materials (see call documents below) are available in French upon request, and applications can be submitted through the Je-S system in English or French. Applicants who wish to write their proposal in French must contact SSHRC in advance for more details.

The full call specifications and other important guidance documents can be found in English only on the ESRC website.

The following call documents are available in French upon request (see contact information below):

  • ESRC webpage announcement
  • Call specification
  • Je-S Guidance for Applicants
  • Compulsory short Intention to Submit (ItS) form
  • Project participant form
  • Post-webinar question and answer document

Potential applicants are encouraged to use CIHR’s partner linkage tool to help in establishing international, interdisciplinary and collaborative teams. The tool offers researchers the opportunity to search for partners and to present their expertise to the community.

The ESRC hosted webinars in English and French for potential applicants to this call on July 17. The webinars were open to participants from Canada and the UK and provided information on the call’s requirements and application process. They also provided an opportunity for questions and answers.  A post-webinars question and answer document can be found on the ESRC website..

Watch the recorded English webinar

For more information, contact:

Lauren Mathieson
Email: lauren.mathieson@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tel.: 613-947-9656

Date modified:

Mises à jour relativement à la COVID-19

COVID-19 : impact sur les programmes du CRSH, base de données d'experts et perspectives de la communauté.


Initiative Canada – Royaume-Uni sur l'intelligence artificielle

Aperçu
Valeur

Les trois organismes subventionnaires canadiens : les équipes canadiennes peuvent recevoir jusqu’à 173 333 CAD par année pour une période maximale de trois ans, soit jusqu’à 520 000 CAD par projet

UKRI : jusqu’à 625 000 £ par projet pour les équipes du Royaume-Uni, ce qui représente la totalité du coût économique

Durée 3 ans
Dates et heures limites de présentation de la demande

Document d’intention de présenter une demande : le 19 août 2019 (23 h, heure d’été du Royaume-Uni, ou 18 h, heure de l’Est)

Demande détaillée : le 12 septembre 2019 (16 h, heure d’été du Royaume-Uni, ou 11 h, heure de l’Est)

Annonce des résultats Janvier 2020
Presentation de la demande Par l’entremise du Joint Electronic Submission System (Je-S) de l’Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)Note de bas de page *

Table des matières

L’occasion de financement de l’Initiative Canada – Royaume-Uni sur l’intelligence artificielle est offerte par les trois organismes fédéraux qui subventionnent la recherche au Canada en collaboration avec quatre conseils de recherche qui font partie de UK Research and Innovation (UKRI). Les organismes subventionnaires canadiens sont le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Les quatre conseils de recherche du Royaume-Uni qui participent à cette initiative sont l’Arts and Humanities Research Council, l’Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), l’Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council et le Medical Research Council. La coordination de l’initiative relève de l’ESRC.

L’essor rapide de l’intelligence artificielle (IA) et les investissements sans cesse croissants qui sont faits à cet égard à l’échelle mondiale illustrent l’impact indéniable que ces technologies ont, et auront, sur l’économie, la santé et la société. Voulant mettre à profit l’expertise des chercheurs du Canada et du Royaume-Uni, les organismes subventionnaires canadiens et UKRI appuient ensemble l’établissement de collaborations en IA de parties prenantes du Canada et du Royaume-Uni dans le but d’accroître la compétitivité et la vigueur des économies et de maximiser les avantages sur le plan social et sur celui de la santé.

Pour ce type de collaboration unique en son genre, un chercheur principal établi au Canada et un chercheur principal établi au Royaume-Uni se partagent de façon égale le leadership et la gestion du projet. Les candidats du Canada et du Royaume-Uni doivent établir un plan de recherche commun et préparer ensemble la proposition détaillée. En outre, la proposition devra démontrer un degré important d’interdisciplinarité en recherche – ou une approche novatrice en matière d’interdisciplinarité en recherche – et aborder au moins deux des domaines de recherche suivants :

  • les sciences humaines et les sciences sociales;
  • les sciences de la santé et les sciences biomédicales;
  • les sciences naturelles et le génie (y compris les sciences informatiques et les sciences mathématiques).

En plus de promouvoir l’interdisciplinarité dans le domaine de l’IA, cet appel vise à soutenir l’essor d’une IA responsable tout en établissant de nouveaux partenariats et en améliorant l’infrastructure et la formation des chercheurs du Canada et du Royaume-Uni. Les parties prenantes pertinentes devraient, dans la mesure du possible, pouvoir utiliser les résultats et les extrants de la recherche.

Les documents relatifs à cette occasion de financement sont consultables en anglais dans le site Web de l'ESRC, l’organisme coordonnateur. Il y a lieu de noter que les documents généraux du concours (voir la rubrique Documents de l’appel, ci-dessous) sont fournis en français sur demande. Toutes les propositions doivent être soumises par l’entremise du système de soumission électronique de l’ESRC (Joint Electronic Submission System ou Je-S), qui n’existe qu’en anglais. Les demandes peuvent toutefois être soumises en français ou en anglais par l’entremise de ce système. Les candidats qui désirent rédiger leur proposition en français doivent communiquer à l’avance avec le CRSH pour obtenir plus de précisions à ce sujet.

La description complète de l’appel et d’autres documents importants sont consultables en anglais sur le site Web de l’ESRC.

Les documents généraux de l’appel peuvent être fournis en français sur demande (prière de communiquer avec la personne-ressource mentionnée ci-dessous) :

  • ESRC webpage announcement (annonce dans la page Web de l’ESRC)
  • Call specification (description de l’appel)
  • Je-S Guidance for Applicants (guide du système Je-S pour les candidats)
  • Compulsory short Intention to Submit (ItS) form (court formulaire obligatoire Intention de présenter une proposition)
  • Project participant form (formulaire Participants du projet)
  • Post-webinar question and answer document (document Questions et réponses du webinaire de l’Initiative Canada – Royaume-Uni sur l’intelligence artificielle)

Les candidats sont invités à utiliser l’outil d’établissement de liens des IRSC, qui peut les aider à constituer des équipes internationales et interdisciplinaires de collaborateurs. Cet outil a pour but de faciliter la recherche de partenaires en présentant les domaines d’expertise des chercheurs intéressés.

Le 17 juillet 2019, l’ESRC a organisé des webinaires en français et en anglais à l’intention des candidats potentiels du Canada et du Royaume-Uni, afin de leur fournir davantage d’information sur les exigences de l’appel et sur le processus de présentation de la demande. Un document de questions et réponses a été préparé à la suite de ces webinaires. Il est consultable en anglais dans le site Web de l’ESRC et peut être fourni en français sur demande.

Visionner le webinaire en français

Pour plus de précisions, communiquer avec

Lauren Mathieson
Courriel : lauren.mathieson@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tél. : 613-947-9656

Date de modification :