Salary Research Allowances

Under certain SSHRC programs, postsecondary institution-based researchers and non-academic researchers form partnerships for the purposes of research, advanced research training and knowledge mobilization. SSHRC recognizes that some not-for-profit organizations face financial difficulty in replacing one of their staff members so that person can participate in a SSHRC-funded research project.

To help address this situation, SSHRC has made salary research allowances an eligible expense within a grant. These stipends cover up to 50 per cent of the cost of temporarily replacing an employee from a not-for-profit organization who will be devoting his or her time as a principal investigator or co-investigator on a SSHRC-funded research project.

Salary research allowances can only be used by not-for-profit organizations that have applicants or co-applicants listed on their Notice of Award. Researchers holding an academic position at a postsecondary institution and government employees are not eligible for salary research allowances.

Eligible Programs

A salary research allowance may only be requested as part of an application for a research grant. Please refer to the program description, and the program's accompanying application instructions, on the SSHRC website to determine if the program to which you are applying provides a salary research allowance.

Value and Duration

SSHRC salary research allowances are a contribution to a not-for-profit organization to help compensate for the time an employee will spend participating in a SSHRC-funded research project.

Applicants may apply for up to 50 per cent of the annual salary of the person who is to be replaced. The salary replacement allowance can be requested for each year of the award.

Restrictions

Recipients of a salary replacement allowance are not considered employees of SSHRC. The 50 per cent amount must be based on total salary costs, including all benefits.

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Allocations de détachement

Dans le cadre de certains programmes du CRSH, des chercheurs d’établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et des chercheurs non universitaires établissent des partenariats de recherche, de formation avancée en recherche et de mobilisation des connaissances. Le CRSH reconnaît que, pour certains organismes sans but lucratif, le fait de remplacer un membre de leur effectif pour qu’il puisse participer à un projet de recherche financé par le CRSH représente un fardeau financier.

Dans le but de remédier à cette situation, le CRSH a fait en sorte que les allocations de détachement puissent être considérées comme une dépense admissible dans le cadre d’une subvention. Ces allocations permettent de couvrir jusqu’à 50 p. 100 du coût de remplacement temporaire d’un employé d’un organisme sans but lucratif qui donnera de son temps en qualité de chercheur principal/directeur de projet, de codirecteur ou de cochercheur pour un projet de recherche financé par le CRSH.

Seuls les organismes sans but lucratif pour lesquels le nom des candidats, des codirecteurs ou des cocandidats figure dans l’avis d’attribution peuvent demander une allocation de détachement. Les chercheurs qui occupent un poste au sein d’un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire et les employés du gouvernement ne sont pas admissibles à une allocation de détachement.

Programmes admissibles

Les organismes sans but lucratif peuvent demander une allocation de détachement seulement dans le cadre d’une demande de subvention de recherche. Consultez la description de l’occasion de financement et les directives connexes relatives aux demandes de financement afin de déterminer si l’occasion de financement pour laquelle vous présentez une demande offre des allocations de détachement.

Valeur et durée

Les allocations de détachement du CRSH consistent en une contribution versée à un organisme sans but lucratif pour le temps consacré par un employé à un projet de recherche financé par le CRSH.

Les candidats peuvent demander jusqu’à 50 p. 100 du salaire annuel de la personne qui doit être remplacée. Les candidats peuvent aussi demander une allocation de détachement pour chaque année de la subvention.

Limites

Les bénéficiaires d’une allocation de détachement ne sont pas considérés comme des employés du CRSH. Le montant de 50 p. 100 doit être fondé sur le coût salarial total, ce qui comprend tous les avantages sociaux.

Date de modification :