Partnership Grants: An Overview

Partnership Grants support formal partnerships between academic researchers, businesses and other partners that will advance knowledge and understanding on critical issues of intellectual, social, economic and cultural significance. By fostering mutual co-operation and sharing of intellectual leadership, the grants allow partners to innovate, build institutional capacity and mobilize research knowledge in accessible ways. The grants may also be used to help establish partnered chairs and research centres.

Who leads the project? While the project director is responsible for the overall leadership of the partnership, intellectual leadership and governance may come from within the research community and/or from partners in other sectors (i.e., private, public and not-for-profit).
Who manages the funds? Grants are administered by an eligible institution (represented by a project director) on behalf of the partnership.
Who owns the intellectual property resulting from the research partnership? Intellectual property is negotiated among partners and the lead institution, based on the institutions’ policies.
Can both existing and new partnerships be supported? Yes. But in the case of existing partnerships, the supported research and related activities must be distinct from a partnership’s previous or ongoing activities.
Duration of award Four to seven years.
Value of award Stage 1: Letter of Intent Up—to $20,000
Stage 2: Formal Application (by invitation)—Maximum $500,000 per year, up to$2.5 million in total
Type of partners required Canadian or international institutions or organizations (private, public, not-for-profit) of any type.
Partner contributions Cash and/or in-kind contributions are required.
Subject matter Please see Eligibility of Subject Matter for details.
Application process In two stages:
Stage 1—Letter of Intent
Stage 2—Formal Application, by invitation
Application deadline See the complete Partnership Grants description for details.
Evaluation method Grants are awarded through a competitive process involving multidisciplinary review committees that include relevant expertise from the academic community, and public, private and not-for-profit sectors.
Infrastructure funding Available to eligible institutions from the Canada Foundation for Innovation’s Leaders Opportunity Fund.

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

COVID-19 : impact sur les programmes du CRSH, base de données d'experts et perspectives de la communauté.


Subventions de partenariat

Les subventions de partenariat permettent l’établissement de partenariats entre les chercheurs universitaires, les entreprises et d’autres partenaires afin d’approfondir les connaissances sur d’importantes questions d’ordre intellectuel, social, économique et culturel. Grâce à la coopération et au partage du leadership intellectuel, ces subventions permettent aux partenaires d’innover, de renforcer la capacité des établissements et de rendre les connaissances en recherche accessibles. Les subventions de partenariat peuvent également servir à établir des chaires de partenariat et des centres de recherche.


Qui est responsable du projet? Le directeur de projet est chargé de la direction générale du partenariat. Par contre, la gouvernance et le leadership intellectuel peuvent être exercés par les chercheurs ou les partenaires des secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif.
Qui administre la subvention? La subvention est administrée par un établissement admissible au nom de tous les partenaires, qui sont représentés par un directeur de projet.
À qui appartiennent les actifs intellectuels issus d’un partenariat de recherche? Le partage de la propriété intellectuelle doit faire l’objet d’une négociation entre les partenaires et l’établissement responsable en fonction des politiques de l’établissement.
Un partenariat déjà établi et un nouveau partenariat peuvent-ils être subventionnés? Oui. Toutefois, dans le cas d’un partenariat déjà établi, les travaux de recherche et les activités connexes doivent différer des activités passées ou en cours.
Durée de la subvention De quatre à sept ans.
Valeur de la subvention Première étape – lettre d’intention : jusqu’à 20 000 $
Deuxième étape – (demande détaillée, sur invitation)
Maximum de 500 000 $ par année jusqu'à 2,5 millions de dollars en tout
Type de partenaires Les établissements ou les organismes publics, privés et sans but lucratif canadiens ou étrangers.
Type de contributions des partenaires Contributions essentielles en espèces ou en nature.
Sujet de recherche Consultez les critères d’admissibilité des sujets de recherche.
Processus de présentation d’une demande Processus en deux étapes.
Étape 1 : Lettre d’intention
Étape 2 : Demande détaillée (sur invitation seulement)
Date limite Consultez la description complète des subventions de partenariats.
Processus d’évaluation Les subventions sont attribuées à l’issue d’un processus concurrentiel mené par des comités d’évaluation multidisciplinaires composés d’experts de la communauté des chercheurs et des secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif.
Financement de l’infrastructure Les établissements admissibles peuvent obtenir ce financement par l’intermédiaire du Fond des leaders de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation.