COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


2019 Impact Award Finalists

Wendy L. Cukier
Ted Rogers School of Management
Ryerson University

Wendy Cukier is a business professor and an expert on disruptive technologies, innovation processes and diversity. Co-author of the bestselling Innovation Nation: Canadian Leadership from Java to Jurassic Park, she has authored over 200 papers, helped launch several start-ups, and helped various organizations become more inclusive.

Formerly Ryerson University’s vice-president of research and innovation, Cukier is academic director of the university’s Diversity Institute, which she founded in 1999. She has introduced programs at the university to bridge disciplines, particularly across science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM, and the social sciences and humanities.

Cukier’s work has focused on promoting entrepreneurship and strengthening innovation ecosystems, and building and supporting diversity in the workplace and in leadership.

Cukier serves on numerous boards and is an active volunteer. She has previously received a Governor General's Meritorious Cross, and, in 2010, was named one of 25 Transformational Canadians by The Globe and Mail, La Presse and CTV.

Cukier holds an MA and MBA from the University of Toronto, a PhD in business from York University, an honorary doctorate in medicine, dentistry and nursing from Laval University, and an honorary Doctor of Laws from Concordia University.

André Gaudreault
Department of Art History and Film Studies
Université de Montréal

André Gaudreault is the Canada Research Chair in Film and Media Studies. His mission is to examine the role of technological innovation in the development of cinematic forms and practices. The Chair wants to propose a new way to think about media history, one that considers technology, a pervasive feature of our time.

As part of his current research, Gaudreault is particularly interested in the emergence of editing, the trend of broadcasting operas in movie theaters, technological innovations viewed from an “archaeological” perspective, and digital technology’s impact on media.

Gaudreault is recognized by his peers as a world leader in his field, particularly for his pioneering discoveries in early cinematography, which have influenced both cinema theory and history.

He has also contributed to establishing institutional structures and international collaborative networks that have truly transformed the world of film studies.

Gaudreault was elected as a member of the Academy of Arts and Humanities of the Royal Society of Canada in 2014 and has received numerous awards, including the Prix Acfas André-Laurendeau in 2014 and the Killam Prize in humanities in 2018. He holds a PhD in cinema (visual and media arts) from the University of Paris III.

Myriam S. Denov
Centre for Research on Children and Families and School of Social Work
McGill University

Canada Research Chair in Youth, Gender and Armed Conflict at McGill University, Myriam Denov studies the effects war and armed conflict have on the children involved.

An expert on participatory research, Denov has worked directly with children in Asia, North and South America, and Africa affected by war. Her research has included studying how best to reintegrate former child soldiers in Sierra Leone and Colombia, and war-affected youth now living in Canada.

An internationally renowned human rights expert, Denov has been called on to give expert testimony about child soldiers. She also provides advice about children in armed conflict to both governments and non-governmental organizations.

Denov has authored five books, including Child Soldiers: Sierra Leone’s Revolutionary United Front . She received a 2014 Trudeau Fellowship to research how children who were born as a result of sexual violence during war in northern Uganda live, and what support they need.

Her SSHRC-funded research has further explored the lives of children born from war-time rape, as well as how grassroots, girl-led efforts lead to policy changes that decrease sexual violence. Denov was a Commonwealth Scholar at the University of Cambridge, where she earned a PhD in criminology.

Alain-G. Gagnon
Department of Political Science
Université du Québec à Montréal

Alain-G. Gagnon is the Canada Research Chair in Quebec and Canadian Studies, researching how complex democratic societies manage multiculturalism, and what they can do to maintain diversity.

Coming from a range of disciplines and institutions, Gagnon’s research team is analyzing how different phenomena around multiculturalism affect the dynamics and cohesion between communities, as well as relationships between citizens and institutions.

Gagnon’s work has had an impact on policy, planning and his research field, both in Canada and around the world. His comparative research approach draws on ideas from political science, law, sociology and history to build theories and policies that support multicultural democracies.

Gagnon has created new ways to think about traditional state models and how to govern in ways that make the most of diversity. Although rooted in Canada and its own diversity, Gagnon’s research results have appeared widely, including in translation, in journals and magazines throughout the world. Gagnon has mentored many Canadian and international students, and his team has collaborated with researchers in countries from Germany to Mexico.

Gagnon is a past president of the Royal Society of Canada’s Academy of Social Sciences and has received, among other honours, a Governor General’s International Award in Canadian Studies.

Alison D. Blay-Palmer
Department of Geography and Environmental Studies
Wilfrid Laurier University

Alison D. Blay-Palmer is an associate professor of geography and environmental studies at Wilfrid Laurier University, director of the Centre for Sustainable Food Systems, and CIGI chair in sustainable food systems at the Balsillie School of International Affairs. Her research focuses on how to establish sustainable food systems and viable communities through civil society engagement and innovative governance.

She is principal investigator for Food: Locally Embedded, Globally Engaged (FLEdGE), a collaborative research partnership funded by SSHRC. Launched in 2015, the partnership spans 20 different disciplines and has trained 194 students so far.

The partnership has been improving the sustainability of food systems across Canada and internationally, including providing planning tools to farmers, helping communities safeguard and adapt traditional food systems and knowledge in the face of climate change, and developing mapping methods for sustainable urban food system innovations.

Blay-Palmer’s research partnerships have brought together academics and practitioners from across Canada, Brazil, France, Germany, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, South Africa, and the United States.

She holds a PhD in economic geography from the University of Waterloo, and a master’s in rural geography from the University of Guelph, and has authored or co-authored more than 50 plain-language reports.

Barbara Neis
Department of Sociology
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Barbara Neis is the John Lewis Paton Distinguished University Professor at Memorial University of Newfoundland, and co-director of the SafetyNet Centre for Occupational Health and Safety Research.

She is project director for the SSHRC-funded partnership On the Move: Employment-Related Geographical Mobility in the Canadian Context. The research, networking and public engagement project is filling large gaps in what is known about how, why and which people move or travel for employment reasons within Canada.

The research partnership brings together 35 partner organizations and researchers from 27 Canadian and international universities, and has supervised 148 trainees since its launch in 2011.

On the Move researchers map the field, improve statistical data to track mobility and its impacts, engage with affected stakeholders from policy-makers to employers, and unions to community organizations. The research considers the intersection of factors from retail policies to employment standards, focusing on the needs and rights of workers and families in both rural and urban Canada.

Neis holds a PhD in sociology from the University of Toronto, and a master’s in sociology from the Memorial University of Newfoundland. She is a member of the Order of Canada and a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

Eric Guiry
Department of Anthropology
Trent University

A SSHRC Banting postdoctoral fellow at Trent University, Eric Guiry has been researching the environmental history of the Lake Ontario watershed by studying the chemical compounds in fish bones found at archeological sites. Using new techniques in geoarchaeology, he and his research team are using the same type of analysis to look at sediments drawn from lake cores.

The results, combined with historical specimens from museums, are opening up a thousand years of evidence of climate variations and human activities, and their impacts on freshwater environments. The research, supported through a SSHRC Insight Grant, is leading to new understandings of how humans and animals interact with and affect their environments. As well, in a revolutionary turn for archaeology, the research techniques Guiry and his team are applying enable them to not use up the chemical evidence as they analyze it. Guiry’s research and approach are creating a template for how to do similar studies in other regions.

Already widely published, Guiry also previously received a SSHRC Doctoral Scholarship, and a SSHRC Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarship for his master’s degree.

Nadia C.S. Lambek
Faculty of Law
University of Toronto

Nadia Lambek is a juridical science doctoral student whose research is poised to help guide major changes to food policy, both in Canada and internationally.

Her doctoral research on food law and human rights focuses on civil society groups and how they use human rights and other legal tools to secure access to, and control over, food—particularly for the poor—as well as how they resist developments that threaten food security. Lambek’s work draws on both her academic background and professional legal experience, combining insights from fields such as human rights, climate change and environmental sustainability, labour and precarious work, land and resource use, and poverty and hunger.

Lambek has acted as an international legal expert and researcher on food security and the right to food access, and regularly presents at international conferences. She was lead author of a 2018 civil society report for the United Nations’ Committee on World Food Security, and contributed to consultations for Canada’s first national food policy, announced in 2019.

Lambek received a doctoral SSHRC Canada Graduate Scholarship to Honour Nelson Mandela. Her other awards include the John Peters Humphrey Fellowship and a Dean’s Graduate Student Leadership Award.

Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Finalistes des prix Impacts 2019

Wendy L. Cukier
Ted Rogers School of Management
Ryerson University

Spécialiste des technologies perturbatrices, des mécanismes d’innovation et de la diversité, Wendy enseigne l’entrepreneuriat et la stratégie. Elle a plus de 200 articles à son actif et est coauteure de l’ouvrage à succès Innovation Nation: Canadian Leadership from Java to Jurassic Park. Elle a contribué au démarrage de plusieurs entreprises et a aidé bon nombre d’organisations à devenir plus inclusives.

Elle a occupé le poste de vice-rectrice à la recherche et à l’innovation de la Ryerson University et est aujourd’hui directrice des études du Diversity Institute de cette université, qu’elle a fondé en 1999. Elle a fait adopter des programmes interdisciplinaires, en particulier des programmes qui recoupent les sciences, la technologie, le génie et les mathématiques (les STGM) et les sciences sociales et sciences humaines.

Elle s’est avant tout employée à promouvoir l’entrepreneuriat, à consolider les écosystèmes d’innovation et à instaurer et soutenir la diversité en milieu de travail et dans les postes de leadership.

Madame Cukier siège à plusieurs conseils d’administration et mène de nombreuses activités bénévoles. Elle a reçu la Crois du service méritoire du gouverneur général en 2000 et faisait partie, en 2010, des 25 Canadiens porteurs de changement nommés par The Globe and Mail, La Presse et CTV.

Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès arts et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’University of Toronto et d’un doctorat en sciences de la gestion de l’Université York. L’Université Laval lui a décerné un doctorat honoris causa, et l’Université Concordia, un doctorat honorifique en droit.

André Gaudreault
Département d’histoire de l’art et d’études cinématographiques
Université de Montréal

André Gaudreault est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en études cinématographiques et médiatiques, qui se donne pour mission d’interroger le rôle de l’innovation technologique dans le développement des formes et des pratiques cinématographiques. Cette chaire souhaite proposer une nouvelle façon de penser l’histoire des médias en y réintégrant la problématique technique, cruciale à notre époque.

Dans le cadre de ses recherches actuelles, André Gaudreault s’intéresse tout particulièrement à l’avènement du montage, au phénomène de la retransmission d’opéras en salles de cinéma, aux innovations technologiques envisagées dans une perspective « archéologique » et à l’impact du numérique sur l’univers médiatique.

Il est reconnu par ses pairs comme un chef de file mondial dans son domaine, notamment pour ses découvertes pionnières sur la cinématographie des premiers temps qui ont eu une influence tant sur la théorie que sur l’histoire du cinéma.

Il a par ailleurs contribué à la mise en place de structures institutionnelles et de réseaux de collaboration internationaux qui ont réellement transformé le monde des études cinématographiques.

Élu membre de l’Académie des arts, des lettres et des sciences humaines de la Société royale du Canada en 2014, il a reçu de nombreux prix, dont le prix André-Laurendeau de l’Acfas en 2014 et le prix Killam en sciences humaines en 2018. Il est titulaire d’un doctorat en cinéma – Arts visuels et médiatiques – de l’Université Paris 3.

Myriam S. Denov
Centre de recherche sur l’enfance et la famille et École de travail social
McGill University

Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la jeunesse, le genre et les conflits armés de l’Université McGill, Myriam Denov étudie les répercussions de la guerre et des conflits armés sur les enfants qui sont touchés.

Spécialiste de la recherche participative, Mme Denov a travaillé auprès d’enfants touchés par des conflits en Asie, en Amérique du Sud et du Nord et en Afrique. Elle s’est penchée, entre autres, sur les meilleures manières de réintégrer les ex-enfants soldats en Sierra Leone et en Colombie, ainsi que sur les séquelles que la guerre a laissées sur des enfants vivant maintenant au Canada.

Cette spécialiste des droits de la personne dont la renommée est internationale a été témoin expert en ce qui a trait aux enfants soldats. Elle a également été appelée à conseiller des gouvernements et des organisations non gouvernementales au sujet du sort des enfants dans les conflits armés.

Elle a publié cinq livres, dont Child Soldiers: Sierra Leone’s Revolutionary United Front. Elle a reçu une bourse de la Fondation Trudeau en 2014 pour examiner comment vivent les enfants nés par suite de viols commis au cours de la guerre dans le nord de l’Ouganda et de quelle aide ils ont besoin.

Dans le cadre de travaux que le CRSH a financés, elle s’est intéressée de plus près aux conditions de vie des enfants conçus lors de viols perpétrés en temps de guerre. Elle a en outre analysé comment, par suite d’efforts déployés par des jeunes filles sur le terrain, des modifications ont été apportées aux politiques et ont entraîné une diminution des violences sexuelles. Elle a été titulaire d’une bourse du Commonwealth à l’University of Cambridge, qui lui a décerné un doctorat en criminologie.

Alain-G. Gagnon
Département de science politique
Université du Québec à Montréal

Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en études québécoises et canadiennes, Alain-G. Gagnon se penche sur la gestion du multiculturalisme dans des sociétés démocratiques complexes et sur ce que font ces dernières pour préserver la diversité.

Les membres de l’équipe de recherche de M. Gagnon proviennent de diverses disciplines et de différents établissements. Ils analysent les effets de phénomènes ayant trait au multiculturalisme sur le vivre-ensemble et les rapports intercommunautaires, ainsi que sur les relations entre les citoyens et leurs institutions.

Les travaux de M. Gagnon ont eu des répercussions sur les politiques et la planification de même que sur son champ de recherche, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger. Dans ses recherches comparatives, il se fonde sur des idées émanant des sciences politiques, du droit, de la sociologie et de l’histoire pour élaborer des théories et des politiques à l’appui de démocraties multiculturelles.

Monsieur Gagnon a renouvelé la façon de concevoir les modèles étatiques et a proposé des modes de gouvernance qui tirent le meilleur parti de la diversité. Bien qu’ancrés dans la diversité canadienne, les résultats de ses travaux font néanmoins l’objet d’une large diffusion, notamment en traduction, dans des revues spécialisées et des magazines partout dans le monde. M. Gagnon a été mentor auprès de bon nombre d’étudiants canadiens et étrangers, et son équipe a collaboré avec des chercheurs de différents pays, parmi lesquels l’Allemagne et le Mexique.

Alain-G. Gagnon a été président de l’Académie des sciences sociales de la Société royale du Canada et a reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions, dont le Prix international du gouverneur général en études canadiennes.

Alison D. Blay-Palmer
Département de géographie et d’études de l’environnement
Wilfrid Laurier University

Alison D. Blay-Palmer est professeure agrégée de géographie et d’études de l’environnement à la Wilfrid Laurier University, directrice du Centre for Sustainable Food Systems et titulaire de la chaire du Centre pour l’innovation dans la gouvernance internationale (CIGI) en systèmes de production alimentaire durable à la Balsillie School of International Affairs. Ses recherches sont axées sur l’établissement de collectivités viables et de systèmes de production alimentaire durable par une gouvernance novatrice et la participation de la société civile.

Elle est chercheure principale au sein du partenariat de recherche Food: Locally Embedded, Globally Engaged (FLEdGE). Lancé en 2015, ce partenariat financé par le CRSH regroupe 20 disciplines distinctes et a formé 194 étudiants jusqu’à maintenant.

Le partenariat a permis d’accroître la durabilité des systèmes de production alimentaire au Canada et ailleurs. Il a fourni des outils de planification aux agriculteurs, a aidé les collectivités à préserver et à adapter les systèmes de production alimentaire classiques et les connaissances connexes pour faire face aux changements climatiques et a mis au point des méthodes de cartographie convenant aux innovations apportées aux systèmes de production alimentaire durable en milieu urbain.

Les partenariats de recherche auxquels elle a collaboré ont réuni des théoriciens et des praticiens du Canada, de l’Afrique du Sud, de l’Allemagne, du Brésil, des États-Unis, de la France, de l’Italie, du Kenya et du Mexique.

Madame Blay-Palmer a obtenu un doctorat en géographie économique de l’University of Waterloo  et une maîtrise en géographie rurale de l’University of Guelph. Elle a signé ou cosigné plus de 50 rapports en langage clair.

Barbara Neis
Département de sociologie
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Barbara Neis est professeure éminente John Lewis Paton à la Memorial University of Newfoundland et codirectrice du SafetyNet Centre for Occupational Health and Safety Research.

Elle dirige le projet On The Move: Employment-Related Geographical Mobility In The Canadian Context, auquel le CRSH a attribué une subvention de partenariat. Ce projet de recherche, de réseautage et de mobilisation du public comble d’importantes lacunes dans les connaissances sur les personnes qui déménagent ou voyagent pour des raisons professionnelles au Canada, leurs motivations pour ce faire et la façon dont elles le font.

Le partenariat réunit 35 organismes et chercheurs de 27 universités du Canada et de l’étranger. Depuis son lancement en 2011, 148 stagiaires ont été supervisés.

Les chercheurs mènent des recherches sur le terrain, améliorent les données statistiques nécessaires au suivi de la mobilité et de ses répercussions et engagent le dialogue avec les parties prenantes concernées (responsables des politiques, employeurs, syndicats et organismes communautaires). Ils examinent le recoupement de plusieurs facteurs, des politiques régissant le commerce de détail aux normes d’emploi, en mettant l’accent sur les besoins et les droits des travailleurs et des familles en milieu aussi bien rural qu’urbain au Canada.

Madame Neis est titulaire d’un doctorat en sociologie de l’University of Toronto et d’une maîtrise en sociologie de la Memorial University of Newfoundland. Elle a été nommée membre de l’Ordre du Canada et élue membre de la Société royale du Canada.

Eric Guiry
Département d’anthropologie
Trent University

Boursier postdoctoral Banting du CRSH à la Trent University, Eric Guiry a effectué des recherches sur l’historique environnemental du bassin hydrographique du lac Ontario en étudiant les composés chimiques présents dans les arêtes de poissons trouvées dans des sites archéologiques. Au moyen de nouvelles techniques en géoarchéologie, M. Guiry et son équipe de recherche utilisent le même type d’analyse pour examiner les sédiments prélevés dans des carottes provenant du lac.

Les résultats, associés à des spécimens provenant de musées, donnent accès à un millénaire de données sur les variations climatiques et les activités humaines, et leurs impacts sur les milieux d’eau douce. Financés par une subvention Savoir du CRSH, ces travaux produisent de nouvelles connaissances sur les interactions des humains et des animaux avec leur environnement et les répercussions qui en découlent. De plus, l’équipe applique des techniques de recherche qui marquent un tournant révolutionnaire pour l’archéologie en permettant de ne pas épuiser les substances chimiques prélevées pendant qu’elle procède à leur analyse. Par ses travaux et sa démarche, ce chercheur propose un modèle pour l’exécution d’études similaires dans d’autres régions.

Eric Guiry, dont les travaux ont déjà fait l’objet de nombreuses publications, a également reçu une bourse de doctorat du CRSH et une bourse d’études supérieures du Canada Joseph-Armand-Bombardier du CRSH au niveau de la maîtrise.

Nadia C.S. Lambek
Faculté de droit
University of Toronto

Les travaux de recherche de Nadia Lambek, doctorante en sciences juridiques, sont sur le point d’orienter des modifications importantes aux politiques alimentaires, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger.

Dans ses recherches sur la législation alimentaire et les droits de la personne, elle s’intéresse au recours aux droits de la personne et à d’autres outils juridiques par les groupes de la société civile pour garantir l’accès aux aliments et la gouvernance alimentaire – en particulier pour les pauvres – ainsi qu’à la façon dont ces groupes s’opposent à tout ce qui menace la sécurité alimentaire. Ses travaux s’appuient à la fois sur sa formation universitaire et son expérience professionnelle et associent des connaissances provenant de domaines comme les droits de la personne, les changements climatiques et la durabilité de l’environnement, le travail et le travail précaire, l’utilisation des terres et des ressources, la pauvreté et la faim.

Madame Lambek a été chercheure et experte juridique à l’international sur la sécurité alimentaire et le droit à l’accès à l’alimentation. Elle participe régulièrement à des conférences et congrès internationaux. Elle a été l’auteure principale d’un rapport présenté en 2018 par la société civile au Comité de la sécurité alimentaire mondiale des Nations Unies et a participé aux consultations sur la première Politique alimentaire pour le Canada dévoilée en 2019.

Nadia Lambek a obtenu une bourse d’études supérieures du Canada en l’honneur de Nelson Mandela du CRSH. Elle a également reçu la bourse John Peters Humphrey et le prix du leadership pour les étudiants des cycles supérieurs décerné par le doyen.

Date de modification :