Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or record-keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Margaret Lock

SSHRC Gold Medal for Achievement in Research

Margaret Lock   "Education about genetics has to be changed gradually so that people-the public, families, the media, everybody-begin to really understand that we're working with a very new model and a new understanding about how genetics function."

Margaret Lock is internationally regarded as one of the most distinguished and productive medical anthropologists of her generation. She is a professor in the Department of Social Studies of Medicine and the Department of Anthropology at McGill University. She has spent the past 30 years of her career building bridges between medicine and the social sciences, and making seminal contributions to the theoretical foundations of medical anthropology and, more broadly, the social sciences.

She is the author of East Asian Medicine in Urban Japan: Varieties of Medical Experience (1980), Encounters with Aging: Mythologies of Menopause in Japan and North America (1993), and Twice Dead: Organ Transplants and the Reinvention of Death (2002). All three books are widely used for teaching, and have helped shape health care delivery and policy in Canada and Japan. Encounters with Aging received six prizes, including the Staley Prize of the School of American Research, the Canada-Japan Book Prize, and the Wellcome Medal of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain. Twice Dead, her best-selling book to date, won the Sociology of Health and Illness Book of the Year from the British Sociological Association and the Robert B Textor and Family Prize for Excellence in Anticipatory Anthropology from the American Anthropology Association.

Lock is a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, an officier de L’Ordre national du Québec, and, in 1997, was awarded the Prix du Québec, domaine sciences humaines. She received the Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prize in 2002, and, in 2005, was honoured with both the Canada Council for the Arts Killam Prize and a Trudeau Foundation Fellowship.

Much of Lock's research focuses on the relationship among culture, technological innovation, and the body in health and illness. She has been a key participant in a wide variety of contemporary health policy debates in North America, Europe and Japan, and her publications have changed the way medicine is taught and practiced in Canada and around the world. Her broad range of work includes studies into cultural aspects of female aging, the invention of the concept of brain death, and the social repercussions of biomedical technologies, such as genetic testing. Currently, she is investigating how emerging knowledge in molecular biology is transforming professional and popular understanding of Alzheimer’s disease.

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Margaret Lock

Médaille d’or du CRSH pour les réalisations en recherche

Margaret Lock  

« Les études sur la génétique doivent progressivement changer pour que les gens – comme le public, les familles et les médias – comprennent bien que nous travaillons avec un modèle très nouveau et une nouvelle façon de comprendre les fonctions génétiques. »

Margaret Lock est reconnue sur la scène internationale comme l’un des anthropologues médicaux les plus brillants et les plus prolifiques de sa génération. Professeure au Département d’études sociales en médecine et au Département d’anthropologie de l’Université McGill, elle a consacré les 30 dernières années de sa carrière à établir des liens entre la médecine et les sciences sociales. Par ses travaux, elle met à jour les grands fondements théoriques de l’anthropologie médicale en particulier et des sciences humaines en général.

Mme Lock est l’auteure de trois ouvrages, largement utilisés dans le domaine de l’enseignement : East Asian Medicine in Urban Japan: Varieties of Medical Experience (1980), Encounters with Aging: Mythologies of Menopause in Japan and North America (1993) et Twice Dead: Organ Transplants and the Reinvention of Death(2002). Tous les trois ont servi de fondement aux politiques de santé et à la prestation des soins au Canada et au Japon. Son ouvrage intitulé Encounters with Aging lui a valu six prix, dont le Staley Prize de la School of American Research, le Prix Japon‑Canada du Conseil des Arts du Canada et la Médaille Wellcome du Royal Anthropological Institute de Grande-Bretagne. Grâce à Twice Dead,son ouvrage le plus populaire à ce jour, elle a remporté le Sociology of Health and Illness Book of the Year de la British Sociological Association et le Robert B. Textor and Family Prize for Excellence in Anticipatory Anthropology de l’American Anthropology Association.

Mme Lock est membre de la Société royale du Canada et officière de l’Ordre national du Québec. Elle s’est vu décerner le Prix du Québec en sciences humaines en 1997 et le Prix Molson du Conseil des Arts du Canada en 2002. Elle a particulièrement été à l’honneur en 2005, décrochant à la fois le Prix Killiam du Conseil des Arts du Canada et une bourse d’études de la Fondation Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau.

Mme Lock s’intéresse principalement aux liens qui existent entre la culture, les innovations techniques et le corps, malade ou en santé. Elle a joué un rôle important dans de nombreux débats contemporains mettant en jeu les politiques de santé en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et au Japon. De plus, grâce à ses publications, elle a contribué à améliorer la façon dont la médecine est enseignée et exercée au Canada et dans le reste du monde. Mme Lock a pour principaux champs d’études les dimensions culturelles du vieillissement chez la femme, le concept de mort cérébrale et les répercussions sociales des techniques biomédicales, telles que les tests génétiques. À l’heure actuelle, elle tente de découvrir comment les nouvelles connaissances en biologie moléculaire aident les professionnels et le grand public à mieux comprendre la maladie d’Alzheimer.