COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Open Research Area 7th Call for Proposals

Overview
ORA 7 Call literature on Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR) website
Value Up to $400,000; maximum $135,000 per year
Duration 2 to 3 years
Application deadline November 17, 2021, 4:00 p.m. Central European Time (10:00 a.m. eastern)
Results announced October 2022
Apply ANR’s electronic submission system, SIM

On this page

Note: The Agence nationale de la rechereche (ANR) is the co-ordinating agency for Open Research Area (ORA) 7. All relevant documents for this funding opportunity are available on the ANR website. The information on this SSHRC webpage serves as an addendum for Canadian researchers wishing to apply to the ORA 7 funding opportunity.

The seventh round of Open Research Area (ORA) for the Social Sciences is based on an agreement among the ANR, France; the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), Germany; the Economic and Social Research Council of UK Research and Innovation (ESRC), UK; and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), Canada.

With the goals of funding high-quality research within their own countries and strengthening international co-operation by working with some of the best researchers internationally, ANR, DFG, ESRC and SSHRC are launching a seventh ORA call for proposals in order to fund the best joint research projects. The scheme will provide funding for integrated projects by researchers coming from at least three of the four subscribing countries.

Proposals may involve any of the disciplines, thematic areas or approaches eligible for SSHRC funding. However, the disciplinary coverage varies according to the involvement of the national agencies. Applicants who are uncertain of whether their proposal would be eligible should contact the relevant national agencies for clarification.

There is also a special opportunity for co-operation with projects in Japan. With the aim of strengthening co-operation between researchers in Japan and ORA partners, the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS), as the national funding organization of Japan, offers a funding scheme to support projects associated with ORA. For details on the Japanese call, please visit the JPSP’s website.

ORA 7 will have a new format as compared to earlier ORA funding opportunities. This competition will follow a one-stage, one-application process consisting of a full proposal with a deadline date of November 17, 2021.

National funding agencies will fund proposals according to their respective policies and regulations and the affiliation of the researchers. Canadian teams participating in successful ORA 7 international projects will be funded by SSHRC based on the funding request outlined in the SSHRC National Financial Form.

When an ORA 7 proposal submitted by an international team is selected for funding, its national sub-teams will receive a grant from their respective national funding agencies. Funding agencies will fund successful proposals according to their respective policies and regulations, via the identified eligible applicant.

For Canadian teams, projects will be funded based on the funding request outlined in the SSHRC National Financial Form, which must be submitted as an attachment to the ORA 7 proposal (see Application process below). The SSHRC National Financial Form contains an itemized budget in Canadian dollars.

Canadian applicants can request up to $135,000 per year for a maximum of $400,000 over two to three years.

Salary research allowance

Co-applicants from eligible not-for-profit organizations may request a salary research allowance to partially release them from duties to their organization.

Subject matter

Proposals may involve any disciplines, thematic areas, approaches or subject areas eligible for SSHRC funding. Please see Subject Matter Eligibility for more information. It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that the proposed project complies with SSHRC’s subject matter eligibility. SSHRC reserves the right to declare the project ineligible, which will effectively make the whole international project ineligible.

Roles

Here is the equivalency between ORA 7 and SSHRC roles of various project participants:

ORA 7 role Footnote 1 SSHRC role

Applicant Footnote 2

Applicant

Co-applicant

Co-applicant

Team member

Collaborator

Co-operation partner

Co-applicant or collaborator

Applicants

Applications may be submitted by a team of researchers consisting of one applicant and one or more co-applicants and/or collaborators.

To apply for the SSHRC funding component of the larger ORA 7 funding opportunity, the applicant must be affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution at the time of application. Applicants are required to ensure that they comply with all SSHRC policies and regulations and complete the necessary SSHRC-specific documents for submission (see Application process below).

In addition to the required documents for the larger ORA 7 call, the applicant must also submit the SSHRC National Financial Form and the SSHRC Terms and Conditions for Applying documents (submission details under Application process below).

Applicants who have received a SSHRC grant of any type but have failed to submit an achievement report by the deadline specified in their Notice of Award are not eligible to apply for another SSHRC grant until they have submitted the report.

Federal scientists who are affiliated with a Canadian postsecondary institution must demonstrate that their proposed research or research-related activity is not related to the mandate of their employer nor to the normal duties for which they receive payment from that employer.

If the proposal falls within the mandate of the federal government and the research or research-related activity is performed in government facilities, funding can be allocated for student salaries or stipends and travel costs only.

Institutions

SSHRC invites applications for grants from researchers affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution. Please see SSHRC’s list of eligible postsecondary institutions. Researchers who are not affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution should contact SSHRC well in advance of the deadline.

Postsecondary institutions must contact Corporate Strategy and Performance  to inquire about institutional eligibility with SSHRC or to begin the institutional eligibility application process.

Co-applicants

Individuals are eligible to be co-applicants if they are formally affiliated with any of the following:

  • Canadian: Eligible postsecondary institutions; not-for-profit organizations; philanthropic foundations; think tanks; or municipal, territorial or provincial governments
  • International: Postsecondary institutions

Collaborators

Any individual who makes a significant contribution to the project is eligible to be a collaborator. Collaborators do not need to be affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution.

Individuals from the private sector or employees of the federal government who are not affiliated with a postsecondary institution can only participate as collaborators.

Monitoring

Grant holders will be expected to report on the use of grant funds, on funded activities undertaken during the grant period, and on outcomes. Successful applicants will be informed of reporting requirements upon receiving their Notice of Award.

The ORA 7 call follows a one-stage, one-application procedure consisting of a full proposal. Full proposals for ORA 7 should be submitted through the ANR’s electronic submission system, SIM. Detailed guidance on how to submit a proposal through ANR’s SIM is available on the ANR website.

The ANR is running the ORA 7 competition in English. However, competition materials are available in French upon request, and SSHRC-eligible applicants can submit their proposals through the ANR’s SIM in English or French. Applicants who wish to write their proposal in French must contact SSHRC in advance (see Contact information below).

In addition to completing the required documents for the larger ORA 7 call, the SSHRC applicant must:

  • complete the SSHRC National Financial Form and ensure that the ORA 7 main applicant submits it as an attachment to the ORA 7 proposal on SIM;
  • complete and sign the SSHRC Terms and Conditions for Applying (including the list of participants in the Canadian sub-team); and
  • ensure that the research grants office at their institution completes and signs the SSHRC Terms and Conditions for Applying and emails it to SSHRC before the deadline.

The deadline for the submission of proposals is November 17, 2021, 4:00 p.m. Central European Time (10:00 a.m. eastern). Proposals submitted after the deadline will not be accepted.

Note: The SSHRC Terms and Conditions for Applying must be submitted by the research grants office at the applicant’s institution and will not be accepted if submitted by the applicant or anyone else.

SSHRC reserves the right to determine the eligibility of applications based on the information provided. SSHRC also reserves the right to interpret the regulations and policies governing its funding opportunities.

All applicants and grant holders must comply with the Regulations Governing Grant Applications and with the regulations set out in the Tri-Agency Guide on Financial Administration.

Note: Grant holders must also comply with the Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications. See the Open Access overview for more information. SSHRC also encourages researchers to manage, in accordance with both community standards and best practices (including SSHRC’s Research Data Archiving Policy), data arising from their research.

Privacy notice

All applications must be submitted to the ANR’s SIM application system and are subject to the privacy policies governing the ANR. The ANR will share application information with other funding agencies involved in this funding opportunity, including SSHRC. The personal information contained in the application will be disclosed to, and may be viewed by, any or all of the participating granting agencies, external peer reviewers, and adjudication committee members.

The collection, use, disclosure, retention and disposal of your personal information are in accordance with the Canadian Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. Your information will be managed in accordance with Treasury Board Secretariat policies, directives and guidelines on information management and protection of personal information, and with the agencies’ retention and disposition schedules.

Any personal information that you provide to SSHRC for the purpose of applying to this funding competition is collected under the authority of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council ActPersonal information provided to SSHRC is stored in the personal information bank PPU 055, as described in SSHRC’s Info Source chapter. Only the information needed to deliver, administer and promote the ORA 7 competition and awards is collected by SSHRC indirectly via the ANR. Failure to provide the personal information required in the application will result in the application being declared ineligible.

SSHRC is committed to the protection of the personal information under its control and does not take responsibility for the privacy practices of any other ORA 7 partner organizations. SSHRC will only share personal information with the agencies named in this webpage as required with respect to the ORA 7 funding opportunity. Your information may also be used for program operations and planning, performance measurement and monitoring, evaluation and audits and in aggregate to report to government or to the public.

If you believe your personal information has been mishandled or have concerns about agency privacy practices, you have the right to file a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner. For more information about your rights under the Privacy Act, about our privacy practices or to access or correct your personal information, contact SSHRC’s ATIP Co-ordinator.

By submitting your application, you confirm that you have read and understood this Privacy Notice and agree to provide your personal information in accordance with it.

Exemption

For the ORA 7 funding opportunity, SSHRC’s appeals policy will not be applicable because of the international nature of the initiative.

SSHRC will hold two webinars in English and one in French for potential applicants to this funding opportunity. We strongly encourage you to participate in one of them. The webinars will provide information and guidance from the funders on the requirements of the call, as well as an opportunity for questions and answers. The two English webinars will be open to participants from around the world and the French webinar will be open to participants from Canada. To allow for different time zones, the English webinars (identical in nature) will be held on September 22, 2021, at 7:00 a.m. (eastern) and 2:00 p.m. (eastern). The French webinar will be held on September 23, 2021, at 1:00 p.m. (eastern). Each webinar will last about one hour.

Links to the webinars will be posted on SSHRC’s Upcoming webinars page.

For more information, contact:
Email: partnerships@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

7e appel à propositions de l’Open Research Area

Aperçu
ORA 7 Documentation dans le site Web de l’Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR)
Valeur Jusqu’à 400 000 $; maximum de 135 000 $ par année
Durée De 2 à 3 ans
Date limite de présentation des demandes Le 17 novembre 2021 à 16 h heure, de l’Europe centrale (10 h, heure de l’Est)
Annonce des résultats Octobre 2022
Soumettre une proposition système de soumission électronique de l’ANR (SIM)

Sur cette page

Remarque : L’Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR) coordonne l’Open Research Area (ORA) 7. Tous les documents ayant trait à cette occasion de financement sont consultables dans le site Web de l’ANR. Les renseignements contenus dans cette page Web du CRSH servent d’addendum aux chercheurs canadiens qui veulent présenter une demande.

Ce septième appel (ORA 7) repose sur un accord conclu par l’Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR) de France, la Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) d’Allemagne, l’Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) du Royaume-Uni et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) du Canada.

C’est dans le but de financer des recherches d’excellente qualité dans leur pays et de consolider la coopération internationale en travaillant avec certains des meilleurs chercheurs au monde que l’ANR, la DFG, l’ANR et le CRSH lancent le septième appel à propositions de l’ORA, qui vise à financer les meilleurs projets de recherche collaboratifs. Le mécanisme mis au point permettra de financer des projets intégrés mettant à contribution des chercheurs d’au moins trois des quatre pays partenaires.

Les propositions peuvent porter sur les disciplines, champs thématiques ou approches admissibles au financement du CRSH. Cependant, la portée disciplinaire peut varier selon la participation des organismes nationaux. Les candidats doivent communiquer avec leur organisme national pertinent pour obtenir plus de précisions sur l’admissibilité de leur demande.

Il y a aussi une occasion spéciale de collaboration avec des projets au Japon. Dans une perspective de renforcement de la collaboration des chercheurs japonais avec les partenaires de l’ORA, la Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) a établi un mécanisme de financement pour soutenir les projets ayant trait à l’ORA. Les candidats doivent consulter l’appel à propositions japonais dans le site Web de la JSPS (en anglais) pour en savoir plus.

Contrairement aux précédentes occasions de financement de l’ORA, celle-ci suit un processus en une seule étape et une seule proposition détaillée devant être soumise au plus tard le 17 novembre 2021.

Les organismes de financement nationaux financeront les demandes propositions selon leurs propres politiques et règlements et de l’affiliation des chercheurs. Les équipes canadiennes participant à des projets internationaux ORA 7 retenus seront financées par le CRSH en fonction de la proposition de financement décrite dans le Formulaire de financement national du CRSH.

Quand une proposition soumise par une équipe internationale est retenue, chacune des sous-équipes nationales composant cette équipe reçoit une subvention de son organisme subventionnaire national. L’organisme finance les demandes acceptées conformément à ses politiques et à ses règlements, en versant le financement au chercheur principal admissible désigné.

Pour les équipes canadiennes, les demandes sont financées en fonction de la proposition de financement décrite dans le Formulaire de financement national – CRSH, qui doit être envoyé en pièce jointe avec la proposition détaillée (consulter la rubrique Présentation des demandes ci-dessous pour en savoir plus). Le Formulaire de financement national – CRSH contient un budget ventilé en dollars canadiens.

Les candidats canadiens peuvent demander jusqu’à 135 000 $ par année, et au plus 400 000 $ sur deux à trois ans.

Allocation de détachement

Les cocandidats des organismes sans but lucratif admissibles peuvent demander une allocation de détachement pour se libérer en partie de leurs obligations envers leur organisme.

Sujet de recherche

Les demandes peuvent porter sur tous les domaines, thèmes, approches et disciplines admissibles au financement du CRSH. Les candidats doivent consulter la page Admissibilité des sujets de recherche pour en savoir plus. Il incombe au candidat de s’assurer que le projet proposé respecte les critères d’admissibilité des sujets de recherche du CRSH. Le CRSH se réserve le droit de déclarer sa partie du projet non admissible, ce qui entraînerait la non-admissibilité de l’ensemble du projet international.

Rôles

Voici à quoi correspondent, au CRSH, les termes utilisés pour désigner les différents rôles dans le cadre de l’ORA 7.

Rôle aux fins de l’ORA 7 Note de bas de page 1 Rôle aux fins du CRSH

Candidat Note de bas de page 2

Candidat

Cocandidat

Cocandidat

Membre de l’équipe

Collaborateur

Partenaire

Cocandidat ou collaborateur

Candidats

La proposition peut être présentée par une équipe de chercheurs composée d’un candidat et d’un ou de plusieurs cocandidats ou collaborateurs.

Pour demander des fonds au CRSH dans le cadre élargi de l’ORA 7, le candidat doit être affilié à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible au moment de présenter la demande. Le candidat est tenu de s’assurer qu’il respecte tous les règlements et politiques du CRSH et qu’il a rempli tous les documents propres au CRSH nécessaires en vue de les lui soumettre (consulter la rubrique Présentation des demandes ci-dessous pour en savoir plus).

Outre les documents requis dans le cadre plus étendu de l’ORA 7, le candidat doit soumettre le Formulaire de financement national – CRSH et le document Conditions à remplir pour obtenir des fonds du CRSH (consulter la rubrique Présentation des demandes ci-dessous pour en savoir plus).

Les candidats ayant reçu une subvention du CRSH qui n’ont pas remis leur rapport sur les réalisations à la date limite indiquée dans l’avis d’attribution ne peuvent pas soumettre une nouvelle proposition de subvention au CRSH avant de l’avoir remis.

Les scientifiques du gouvernement fédéral qui ont une affiliation avec un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien doivent démontrer que leur projet de recherche ou activité connexe n’est pas lié au mandat de leur employeur ou aux fonctions normales pour lesquelles elles ou ils reçoivent un paiement de cet employeur.

Si la proposition de recherche relève du mandat du gouvernement fédéral et que la recherche est effectuée dans des installations gouvernementales, le financement ne peut être accordé que pour le soutien direct des étudiantes et étudiants (salaires ou allocations et frais de déplacement).

Établissements

Le CRSH invite les chercheurs affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible à présenter une proposition (consulter la liste des établissements admissibles au financement du CRSH pour en savoir plus). Les chercheurs qui ne sont pas affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible doivent communiquer avec le CRSH bien avant la date limite.

Les établissements postsecondaires doivent communiquer avec la Division de la stratégie et du rendement organisationnels pour s’informer de leur admissibilité au CRSH ou pour amorcer le processus de proposition d’admissibilité.

Cocandidats

Toute personne peut agir à titre de cocandidat à condition d’être officiellement affiliée à l’un des types d’organismes suivants :

  • au Canada : établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire, organismes sans but lucratif, fondations philanthropiques, groupes de réflexion, administrations municipales et gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux;
  • à l’étranger : établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire.

Collaborateurs

Toute personne qui apporte une contribution importante au projet peut avoir le statut de collaborateur. Les collaborateurs n’ont pas à être affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible.

Les personnes du secteur privé ou du gouvernement fédéral ne peuvent participer au projet qu’à titre de collaborateurs.

Suivi

Le CRSH s’attend à ce que les titulaires de subvention fassent rapport de l’utilisation des subventions, des activités connexes menées au cours de la période visée par la subvention et des résultats obtenus. Les candidats retenus seront informés des exigences relatives à la production de rapports au moment où ils recevront l’avis d’attribution.

Contrairement aux précédentes occasions de financement de l’ORA, celle-ci suit un processus en une seule étape et une seule proposition détaillée. La proposition détaillée doit être soumise par l’entremise du système de soumission électronique de l’ANR. Les candidats trouveront dans le site Web de l'ANR des instructions détaillées pour la présentation de la demande.

L’ANR organise le concours ORA 7 en anglais. Toutefois, les documents relatifs au concours sont disponibles en français sur demande, et les candidats admissibles au CRSH peuvent soumettre leur proposition en anglais ou en français dans le (Je-S) de l’ANR. Les candidats qui veulent rédiger leur proposition en français doivent communiquer à l’avance avec le CRSH (coordonnées ci-dessous).

En plus de fournir les documents exigés dans le cadre élargi de l’ORA 7, le candidat doit :

  • remplir le Formulaire de financement national – CRSH et s’assurer que le candidat principal le soumette en pièce jointe avec la proposition détaillée présentée à l’ORA 7 dans le système Je-S;
  • remplir et signer le document Conditions à remplir pour obtenir des fonds du CRSH (comprenant la liste des participants dans la sous-équipe canadienne);
  • s’assurer que le bureau de la recherche de son établissement remplisse et signe le document Conditions à remplir pour obtenir des fonds du CRSH et l’envoie par courriel au CRSH avant la date limite.

La date limite de soumission des demandes est le 17 novembre 2021, à 16 h, heure de l’Europe centrale (10 h, heure de l’Est). Les propositions soumises après la date limite ne seront pas acceptées.

Remarque : Le document Conditions à remplir pour obtenir des fonds du CRSH doit être soumis par le bureau de la recherche de l’établissement du candidat; il ne sera pas accepté s’il est soumis par le candidat ou toute autre personne.

Le CRSH se réserve le droit de décider si une proposition est admissible ou non en fonction de l’information qu’elle contient. Il se réserve également le droit d’interpréter les règlements et les politiques régissant ses occasions de financement.

Tous les candidats et les titulaires de subvention doivent satisfaire aux exigences des règlements régissant les demandes de subvention et du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Remarque : Les titulaires de subvention doivent aussi respecter la Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la vue d’ensemble du libre accès. Le CRSH invite également les chercheures et chercheurs à gérer les données résultant de leur recherche en conformité avec les normes et les pratiques exemplaires du milieu de la recherche, incluant les Politique sur l'archivage des données de recherche du CRSH.

Avis de confidentialité

Toutes les demandes doivent être soumises par l’entremise du système Je-S en ligne de l’ANR et sont assujetties aux politiques de protection des renseignements personnels en vigueur à l’ANR. Ce dernier communiquera les renseignements contenus dans les demandes aux autres organismes subventionnaires participant à l’appel, dont le CRSH. Les renseignements personnels contenus dans la proposition seront divulgués et pourront être consultés par l’un ou l’autre des organismes subventionnaires participants, des pairs évaluateurs externes et des membres du comité de sélection.

La cueillette, l’utilisation, la communication, la conservation et l’élimination des renseignements personnels seront conformes à ce que prévoient la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels du Canada. L’information sera gérée en conformité avec les politiques, directives et lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion de l'information et sur la protection des renseignements personnels, ainsi qu’avec les calendriers de conservation et d’élimination des organismes.

Tous les renseignements personnels fournis au CRSH pour les fins de la proposition présentée dans le cadre de cette occasion de financement sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines. Le CRSH les conserve dans sa banque de renseignements personnels PPU 055, tel que cela est décrit dans le chapitre d’Info Source consacré au CRSH. Seuls les renseignements nécessaires à la prestation, à l’administration et à la promotion du concours de subventions de l’ORA 7 ainsi qu’à l’attribution de ces subventions sont recueillis indirectement par le CRSH, par le truchement de l’ANR. Le refus de fournir les renseignements personnels requis dans la proposition rendra celle-ci non admissible.

Le CRSH s’engage à protéger les renseignements personnels dont il a la gestion et n’assume aucune responsabilité en ce qui concerne les pratiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels des autres organismes partenaires dans le cadre de l’ORA 7. Le CRSH ne communiquera des renseignements personnels aux organismes mentionnés dans la présente annexe que si c’est nécessaire aux fins de l’ORA 7. Le CRSH peut également utiliser les renseignements recueillis aux fins de la planification et de l’exécution des programmes, de la mesure et du suivi du rendement, de l’évaluation et des audits. Ces renseignements peuvent aussi être utilisés sous forme regroupée pour faire rapport au gouvernement ou à la population.

Si vous estimez que vos renseignements personnels ont été traités de façon inappropriée ou si vous avez des préoccupations au sujet des pratiques du CRSH, vous avez le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada. Pour en savoir plus sur les droits que vous confère la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et sur les pratiques du CRSH en la matière, ou encore pour avoir accès à vos renseignements personnels ou pour les modifier, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du CRSH.

En soumettant votre demande, vous confirmez que vous avez lu et compris cet avis de confidentialité et que vous fournissez vos renseignements personnels conformément à cet avis.

Exemption

En raison de la nature internationale de l’ORA 7, la politique du CRSH en matière d'appels ne s'applique pas.

Le CRSH tiendra deux webinaires en anglais et un en français pour les candidats potentiels à cette occasion de financement. Nous vous encourageons fortement à participer à l’un d’eux. Ces webinaires permettront aux bailleurs de fonds de fournir des renseignements et des conseils sur les exigences de l’appel et de répondre à des questions. Les deux webinaires en anglais sont destinés aux participants du monde entier et le webinaire en français est destiné aux participants du Canada. Afin de tenir compte des différents fuseaux horaires, les webinaires en anglais (de nature identique) auront lieu le 22 septembre 2021 à 7 h (heure de l’Est) et à 14 h (heure de l’Est). Le webinaire en français aura lieu le 23 septembre 2021 à 13 h (heure de l’Est). Chaque webinaire durera environ une heure.

Les liens vers les webinaires seront affichés dans le page Web Prochains webinaires du CRSH.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez envoyer un message à :
Courriel : partenariats@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Date de modification :