COVID-19 Update

Due to COVID-19, many deadlines are being revised. Learn more about the impacts of COVID-19 on SSHRC's programs.


Date published: March 20, 2020

Re/innovating innovation

By Ted Hewitt


This article was originally published in the University of Manitoba’s ResearchLIFE summer 2018 edition.


Canada’s science and innovation agenda is vital among current national priorities.

The Government of Canada recognizes that fundamental science is essential to economic growth, but that it must also work together with innovators in all fields for research results to reach their full potential.

The University of Manitoba knows this first-hand as a partner of the recently announced Protein Industries Supercluster, which will look at new ways to grow, process and market plant proteins. Activities at the core of the supercluster focus on genetic research, but expertise from social sciences and humanities, such as law, economics, sociology, business and ethics, will be integral to helping Canada be a leader in agricultural production and, ultimately, help feed the world.

Social sciences and humanities fill a key role in all innovation. Collaboration is fundamental to the health, functioning and sustainability of the innovation ecosystem. This is what we need in order to avoid the stuff of Jennifer Doudna’s nightmares.

The world is facing serious international issues—of climate change, increased migration, inequality, faltering economies, health, food and water insecurity, and cyber insecurity. Militant groups are defying traditional boundaries. Populist and radical movements have surged around the world. And changes to society and to economies are challenging global trade patterns and international relations.

I recently participated in a mission to Mexico City with colleagues from postsecondary institutions in Canada and Mexico. Greater talent exchange, research collaboration and Indigenous high education dominated discussions.

It is clear to everyone that collaboration across borders and across disciplines is paramount for meeting the needs of the 21st-century world.

Much of the fundamental research today is based on problem-solving and is carried out by interdisciplinary teams, and as research funding agencies must continue to find greater ways of working together. Reinvigorating the research ecosystem is now more important than ever.

Ministers Kirsty Duncan and Ginette Petitpas Taylor announced the creation of the Canada Research Coordinating Committee (CRCC) in October as part of the federal government’s response to the Fundamental Science Review’s recommendations. CRCC’s mandate is to improve coordination efforts between Canada's research funding agencies—the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research—as well as the Canada Foundation for Innovation.

CRCC members are working together to strengthen Canada's ability to grow in a rapidly evolving global research landscape, while focusing on key priority areas such as strengthening equity and diversity in research; increasing the capacity of Indigenous communities to conduct research and partner with the broader research community; and improving support for the next generation of scientists and scholars.

The funding announced in Budget 2018 will be instrumental in carrying out the CRCC’s priorities; in particular, the $3.8 million in support of engaging with Indigenous communities and stakeholders to identify new ways of doing research together and creating partnerships that are led by Indigenous researchers with the broader research community; and the $275 million over five years for programming focused on innovative and rapid response research that is international, interdisciplinary and high risk.

Budget 2018 also included additional funding for the Canada Research Chairs Program to support emerging scholars as they turn their dreams into reality. Ultimately, they will be ones responsible for researching and finding solutions for tomorrow’s biggest issues.

The CRCC is working to find more effective ways of linking government science with academic research to increase research capacity, outreach and impact. By supporting and promoting collaboration across the academic, public, private and not-for-profit sectors—nationally and internationally—we can examine the cultural and technical tensions affecting health, food, the environment and everything in between. We can then ensure that the knowledge gained meets the needs of Canada’s own research community and of those who will put this knowledge into action.

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Réinventer l’innovation

par Ted Hewitt


Cet article a d’abord été publié en anglais dans le numéro de l’été 2018 du magazine ResearchLIFE de l’Université du Manitoba.


Au Canada, les sciences et l’innovation font aujourd’hui partie des priorités nationales.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que la science fondamentale est essentielle à la croissance économique et qu’il doit collaborer avec les innovateurs dans tous les domaines pour maximiser le potentiel des résultats de la recherche.

L’Université du Manitoba le sait fort bien, en tant que partenaire de la Supergrappe des industries des protéines, créée récemment pour cultiver, transformer et commercialiser les protéines végétales de façon novatrice. La supergrappe concentre ses activités sur la recherche génétique. Cependant, une expertise provenant de sciences humaines et sociales telles que le droit, l’économie, la sociologie, les affaires et l’éthique sera indispensable pour aider le Canada à devenir un chef de file de la production agricole et à nourrir le monde.

Les sciences humaines et sociales jouent un rôle important dans l’innovation. La collaboration est essentielle à la santé, au fonctionnement et à la durabilité de l’écosystème de l’innovation. C’est ce dont on a besoin pour éviter le pire des cauchemars de Jennifer Doudna.

La planète fait face à des problèmes graves qui sont d’envergure internationale : changements climatiques, migrations accrues, inégalités, économies en déclin, insécurité en matière de santé, de nourriture et d’eau et absence de cybersécurité. Les groupes militants défient les limites traditionnelles. Les mouvements populistes et radicaux surgissent partout dans le monde, et les changements qui se produisent dans la société et les économies remettent en cause la structure du commerce mondial et les relations internationales.

Dernièrement, j’ai participé à une mission à Mexico avec des collègues d’établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire du Canada et du Mexique. Nous avons surtout discuté de l’échange accru des talents, de la collaboration en recherche et des études supérieures des Autochtones.

Tout le monde reconnaît la nécessité de la collaboration internationale et interdisciplinaire pour répondre aux besoins de la société du 21e siècle.

De nos jours, une grande partie de la recherche fondamentale se fonde sur la résolution de problèmes et est effectuée par des équipes interdisciplinaires. Ainsi, les organismes subventionnaires de la recherche doivent continuer à trouver des moyens de collaborer. Il importe aujourd’hui plus que jamais de redynamiser l’écosystème de la recherche.

Les ministres Kirsty Duncan et Ginette Petitpas Taylor ont annoncé la création du Comité de coordination de la recherche au Canada (CCRC) en octobre dernier, dans le cadre de la suite donnée par le gouvernement fédéral aux recommandations de l’examen du soutien fédéral à la science fondamentale. Le CCRC a pour mandat d’améliorer la coordination entre les organismes subventionnaires de la recherche du Canada (le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada) et la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation.

Les membres du CCRC travaillent de concert pour conférer au Canada la capacité accrue de progresser dans un contexte de recherche mondiale en évolution rapide, tout en se concentrant sur les priorités : consolider l’équité et la diversité en recherche, accroître la capacité des communautés autochtones de mener des recherches et de collaborer avec le milieu de la recherche et améliorer le soutien fourni à la prochaine génération de scientifiques et de chercheurs.

Le financement annoncé dans le budget de 2018 sera essentiel pour donner suite aux priorités du CCRC, en particulier les 3,8 millions de dollars qui ont pour but d’appuyer la collaboration avec les communautés autochtones et les parties prenantes, en vue de trouver de nouvelles façons d’effectuer des recherches concertées et d’établir avec le milieu de la recherche des partenariats dirigés par des chercheurs autochtones, ainsi que les 275 millions de dollars accordés sur cinq ans au fonds de recherche interorganismes pour des programmes axés sur la recherche internationale et interdisciplinaire qui présente des risques élevés, qui demande des résultats rapides et qui débouche sur de nouvelles connaissances.

Le budget de 2018 comprend également des fonds supplémentaires destinés au Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada, afin de mieux aider les chercheurs en début de carrière à réaliser leurs rêves. Ce sont eux qui, après tout, devront chercher et trouver des solutions susceptibles de régler les grands problèmes de demain.

Le CCRC s’emploie à relier de façon plus efficace les activités scientifiques gouvernementales et la recherche universitaire en vue d’améliorer les capacités de recherche et d’accroître le rayonnement et l’impact de la recherche. En appuyant et en favorisant la collaboration entre les secteurs universitaire, public, privé et sans but lucratif, à l’échelle nationale et internationale, il est possible d’examiner les tensions d’ordre culturel et technique qui se répercutent sur la santé, l’alimentation, l’environnement et tout le reste. Il devient ensuite possible de s’assurer que les connaissances acquises répondent aux besoins du milieu de la recherche au Canada ‒ et aux besoins de ceux qui mettront les connaissances en pratique.