Institutional Eligibility - Guidelines and Requirements

An institution need only apply for institutional eligibility if a researcher from their institution is applying for a funding opportunity as an applicant. Institutions that may become eligible to administer SSHRC grants and awards include Canadian universities, colleges and some not-for-profit organizations.

How to apply for institutional eligibility as a:

In order to obtain institutional eligibility, organizations must meet the requirements to administer grants and awards, as outlined in the Institutional Eligibility Requirements for the Administration of Grants and Awards. Institutional eligibility is distinct from funding opportunity eligibility. It is important to note that while an applicant may satisfy the eligibility requirements for a given funding opportunity, their institution may not necessarily meet institutional eligibility requirements (or vice versa).

Is your institution eligible?

Please consult our complete list of eligible institutions to see if your institution already holds institutional eligibility.


When is institutional eligibility required?

All organizations receiving funding from SSHRC must first be deemed eligible to administer grants and awards. An organization becomes eligible to administer grants and awards once a copy of the Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions (the Agreement), or, in some cases, Terms and Conditions signed by SSHRC’s president and the president / principal / executive director of the organization, is received by SSHRC.

An institution that wishes to administer SSHRC grants and awards must submit a written request for institutional eligibility to SSHRC, signed by the institution’s president / principal / executive director or delegate. The institution must demonstrate that it meets all the eligibility requirements set out by SSHRC.


Which organizations are not eligible for institutional eligibility?

Federal, provincial, territorial and municipal government departments, for-profit organizations and foreign institutions are not eligible to administer SSHRC grants and awards. Organizations that are unable to satisfy all the criteria for institutional eligibility can continue to participate on SSHRC-funded projects by making arrangements with an eligible institution.

An institution that is federated with, affiliated to, or a constituent portion of another institution will not normally be accorded its own independent eligibility to administer grants and awards.

Please note that, SSHRC-eligible organizations are not automatically eligible for funding from the Indirect Costs Program.


SSHRC Funding Opportunities

Only Canadian citizens or permanent residents can submit an application for funding for SSHRC funding opportunities (with the exception of international applicants for Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships Program or Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships Program).

For most funding opportunities, applicants must be affiliated with a Canadian postsecondary institution. Researchers not affiliated with a Canadian postsecondary institution are eligible to apply as co-applicants to selected SSHRC funding opportunities and as research collaborators on any SSHRC-supported project. Eligibility criteria specific to each funding opportunity are detailed in the individual funding opportunity descriptions.


SSHRC Awards Three Different Institutional Eligibility Statuses:

  1. Full institutional eligibility provides the authority to administer funds awarded from all SSHRC funding opportunities. Please note SSHRC only considers postsecondary organizations (universities and colleges) for full institutional eligibility.
  2. Provisional institutional eligibility provides the authority to administer funds awarded for a specific Partnership Grants Letter of Intent grant, Partnership Grant or Partnership Development Grant. Please note SSHRC only considers not-for-profit organizations for provisional institutional eligibility. While organizations are reassessed each time an applicant for whom they would administer funds applies for a funding opportunity, the institutional eligibility review is expedited.
  3. Restricted institutional eligibility provides the authority to administer funds awarded for a specific Connection Grant or Aid to Scholarly Journals grant. Please note SSHRC only considers not-for-profit organizations or Canadian scholarly journals for restricted institutional eligibility. While organizations are reassessed each time an applicant for whom they would administer funds applies for a funding opportunity, the institutional eligibility review is expedited.

More Information

Please address questions regarding SSHRC institutional eligibility to:

SSHRC
350 Albert Street
P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, ON  K1A 1H5
Email: institutional.eligibility@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans

Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research


Other Contacts:

Secretariat on Responsible Conduct of Research
Tel.: 613-996-0072   
Email: secretariat@rcr.ethics.gc.ca

Rita Carrière
Manager, awards administration
Tel.: 613-992-5596    
E-mail: rita.carriere@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Lignes directrices et exigences en matière d'admissibilité des établissements

Un établissement ne présente une demande d’admissibilité que si l’un de ses chercheurs demande des fonds en tant que candidat. Les universités, les collèges et certains organismes sans but lucratif du Canada peuvent être admissibles à administrer les subventions et les bourses attribuées par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH).

Comment présenter une demande d’admissibilité

Afin d’être considéré comme étant admissible, un établissement doit satisfaire aux exigences relatives à l’administration des subventions et des bourses, comme cela est précisé dans les exigences en matière d’admissibilité des établissements relativement à l’administration des subventions et des bourses. L’admissibilité des établissements en ce qui concerne l’administration est distincte de l’admissibilité à participer à une occasion de financement. Il est important de noter que, même si un candidat satisfait aux exigences d’admissibilité imposées pour une occasion de financement, son établissement pourrait ne pas satisfaire aux exigences visant les établissements (ou vice versa).

Comment savoir si un établissement est admissible?

Prière de consulter la liste des établissements admissibles.


Dans quelles circonstances l’admissibilité d’un établissement est-elle requise?

Tout établissement qui reçoit des fonds du CRSH doit d’abord être reconnu comme étant admissible à administrer des subventions et des bourses. Un établissement devient admissible quand le CRSH reçoit un exemplaire de l’entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche (l’entente) ou, dans certains cas, des conditions d’admissibilité signé par le président du CRSH et par le recteur, le principal ou le directeur général de l’établissement.

Les établissements qui souhaitent administrer des subventions et des bourses attribuées par le CRSH doivent présenter une demande d’admissibilité écrite signée par leur recteur, leur principal, leur directeur général ou un autre représentant autorisé et doivent démontrer qu’ils satisfont à toutes les exigences établies par le CRSH.


Quels sont les organismes non admissibles?

Les ministères fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux, les administrations municipales, les organismes à but lucratif et les établissements étrangers ne peuvent pas administrer les subventions et les bourses attribuées par le CRSH. Un organisme qui n’est pas en mesure de satisfaire à tous les critères d’admissibilité des établissements peut continuer de participer à des projets financés par le CRSH en prenant des dispositions avec un établissement admissible.

Un établissement fédéré ou affilié à un autre établissement ou qui en fait partie ne peut habituellement pas obtenir une admissibilité indépendante pour administrer des subventions et des bourses.

Remarque : un établissement admissible selon les critères du CRSH n’est pas automatiquement admissible à un financement dans le cadre du Fonds de soutien à la recherche.


Occasions de financement du CRSH

Ce sont les critères établis pour l’attribution d’une subvention ou d’une bourse donnée qui permettent de déterminer si un candidat est admissible. Pour la plupart des occasions de financement, le candidat doit être affilié à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien. Il se peut qu’un chercheur non affilié à un tel établissement soit admissible en tant que cocandidat ou collaborateur dans le cadre de certaines occasions de financement du CRSH. Les critères d’admissibilité propres à chacune des occasions de financement offertes par les programmes Talent, Savoir et Connexion sont mentionnés dans les descriptions de ces occasions de financement.


Le CRSH accorde trois statuts d’admissibilité aux établissements

  1. L’admissibilité complète, qui permet d’administrer les fonds attribués dans le cadre de toutes les occasions de financement du CRSH. À noter que seuls les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire (les universités et les collèges) peuvent obtenir ce statut.
  2. L’admissibilité conditionnelle, qui permet d’administrer les fonds attribués dans le cadre des occasions de financement ayant trait aux subventions de partenariat – lettre d’intention, aux subventions de partenariat – demande détaillée et aux subventions de développement de partenariat. À noter que seuls les organismes sans but lucratif peuvent obtenir ce statut. Les organismes sont réévalués chaque fois qu’un candidat pour lequel ils seraient appelés à administrer des fonds présente une demande dans le cadre d’une occasion de financement, et cette réévaluation de leur admissibilité se fait rapidement.
  3. L’admissibilité restreinte, qui permet d’administrer les fonds attribués dans le cadre des occasions de financement ayant trait aux subventions Connexion et aux subventions d’aide aux revues savantes. À noter que seuls les organismes sans but lucratif et les revues savantes canadiennes peuvent obtenir ce statut. Les organismes sont réévalués chaque fois qu’un candidat pour lequel ils seraient appelés à administrer des fonds présente une demande dans le cadre d’une occasion de financement, et cette réévaluation de leur admissibilité se fait rapidement.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Prière de faire parvenir toute question concernant les exigences du CRSH en matière d’admissibilité à

Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines
350, rue Albert
CP 1610
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 1H5
Courriel : admissibilite.etablissements@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Énoncé de politique des trois conseils : éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains

Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche


Autres sources de renseignements

Secrétariat sur la conduite responsable de la recherche
Tél. : 613-996-0072
Courriel : secretariat@crr.ethique.gc.ca

Rita Carrière
Gestionnaire, administration des subventions et des bourses
Tél. : 613-992-5596
Courriel : rita.carriere@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca