Future Challenge Areas

Goal
Context
Objectives
Funding Opportunities



Goal

Through its Imagining Canada’s Future initiative, and with a focus on six future challenge areas, SSHRC seeks to advance the contributions of the social sciences and humanities towards meeting Canada’s future, long-term societal challenges and opportunities.



Top

Context

Research on people, both past and present, provides a strong foundation for Canada to be able to adapt and succeed in the future. In keeping with its mandate and tradition, SSHRC promotes and supports the very best talent and ideas in the social sciences and humanities, to help build a better future for Canada and the world.

Canada’s success in the 21st century will depend on research preparedness. We need to think ahead, and collectively imagine all possible futures, so that we can anticipate and be prepared to address emerging economic, societal and knowledge needs, and to guide the best choices going forward.

This is the inspiration for SSHRC’s Imagining Canada’s Future initiative, launched in June 2011.

Six future challenge areas

An extensive foresight exercise led by SSHRC, involving a two-year national and international consultation, resulted in the identification of six key future challenge areas that are likely to emerge for Canada in the next few decades. Each challenge area includes a range of possible—yet, not exclusive—issues and subquestions that explore the complexity of the respective issue.

  1. What new ways of learning, particularly in higher education, will Canadians need to thrive in an evolving society and labour market?
  2. What effects will the quest for energy and natural resources have on our society and our position on the world stage?
  3. How are the experiences and aspirations of Aboriginal Peoples in Canada essential to building a successful shared future?
  4. What might the implications of global peak population be for Canada?
  5. How can emerging technologies be leveraged to benefit Canadians?
  6. What knowledge will Canada need to thrive in an interconnected, evolving global landscape?

Challenge areas could also be addressed through the lens of the following cross-cutting components, which emerged through the foresight exercise as being essential for Canada and Canadians in an evolving global context: sustainable, resilient communities; creativity, innovation and prosperity; values, cultures, inclusion and diversity; and governance and institutions.



Top

Objectives

The six challenge areas have been integrated within SSHRC’s Talent, Insight and Connection programs, to encourage and promote research, talent development, and the mobilization of knowledge in focused challenge areas, complementing SSHRC’s support of these activities across all research areas.



Top

Funding Opportunities

In keeping with its tradition and mandate, SSHRC will continue to invest in humanities and social sciences research addressing a broad range of topics, while also promoting and investing in the future challenge areas.

SSHRC funds research carried out by individual scholars, teams of researchers and, in some cases, institutions, through its Insight and Connection programs. SSHRC’s Talent program supports students and postdoctoral fellows in acquiring research and professional skills.

SSHRC invites all applicants to its funding opportunities to review the six future challenge areas and subquestions, and to consider addressing one or more of these areas in their research proposal. While this is not an evaluation criterion for merit review, research that addresses one or more of the future challenge areas further positions the value of the social sciences and humanities to meet Canada’s future, long-term societal challenges and opportunities.

SSHRC monitors research capacity in these areas, and organizes knowledge mobilization activities, including Knowledge Synthesis Grants funding opportunities, to enhance the contribution of the social sciences and humanities across the six challenge areas.

Researchers are invited to apply to the next Knowledge Synthesis Grants funding opportunity to contribute social sciences and humanities insights in the future challenge areas.

Domaines des défis de demain

But
Contexte
Objectifs
Occasions de financement



But

Grâce à son initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada et aux six domaines des défis de demain, le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) tente d’accroître la contribution des sciences humaines de façon à permettre au Canada de saisir les occasions qui se présenteront et de relever les défis sociétaux à long terme auxquels il devra faire face.



Top

Contexte

La recherche portant sur l’être humain d’hier et d’aujourd’hui fournit une solide base qui permettra au Canada de s’adapter et de réussir. Conformément à son mandat et à sa tradition, le CRSH encourage et appuie les plus brillants chercheurs et les meilleures idées en sciences humaines afin de contribuer à bâtir un meilleur avenir pour le Canada et le reste du monde.

La recherche peut aider le Canada à se préparer à relever les défis du 21e siècle. Il nous faut prendre les devants et amorcer une réflexion quant aux possibilités d’avenir pour être en mesure d’anticiper les besoins émergents sur le plan économique et sociétal ainsi que sur celui des connaissances et pour répondre à ces besoins et prendre des décisions éclairées.

C’est cette réflexion qui est à l’origine de l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada, lancée par le CRSH en juin 2011.

Six domaines des défis de demain

Une vaste démarche de prospective menée par le CRSH, qui a comporté des consultations nationales et internationales d’une durée de deux ans, a permis de cerner six domaines qui sont susceptibles de poser des défis au Canada au cours des décennies à venir. Chaque domaine permet de soulever un éventail de sous-questions et d’enjeux possibles, sans se limiter à ceux qui sont mentionnés, et d’ainsi approfondir la complexité de chacun des sujets abordés.

  1. Quelles sont les nouvelles méthodes d’apprentissage dont les Canadiens auront besoin, en particulier dans l’enseignement supérieur, pour réussir dans la société et sur le marché du travail de demain?
  2. Quels effets la quête de ressources naturelles et d’énergie aura-t-elle sur la société canadienne et la place qu’occupe le Canada à l’échelle mondiale?
  3. En quoi les expériences de vie et les aspirations des peuples autochtones du Canada sont-elles essentielles pour bâtir un avenir commun prospère?
  4. Quelles diverses incidences la population mondiale maximale aura-t-elle sur le Canada?
  5. Comment mettre à contribution les nouvelles technologies au profit des Canadiens?
  6. De quelles connaissances le Canada aura-t-il besoin pour bien réussir dans un monde interconnecté en rapide évolution?

Les défis de demain pourraient également être abordés sous l’angle des éléments transversaux qui se sont dégagés dans le cadre de la démarche de prospective et se sont avérés essentiels pour le Canada et les Canadiens dans un monde de plus en plus interconnecté et en rapide évolution : communautés durables et résilientes; créativité, innovation et prospérité; valeurs, cultures, inclusion et diversité; gouvernance et institutions.



Top

Objectifs

On a intégré les six domaines des défis de demain dans les programmes Talent, Savoir et Connexion du CRSH afin d’encourager et de promouvoir la recherche, le développement du talent et la mobilisation des connaissances dans ces domaines ciblés, ce qui renforce du même coup l’appui offert par le CRSH pour ces activités dans tous les domaines de recherche.



Top

Occasions de financement

Conformément à sa tradition et à son mandat, le CRSH continuera d’investir dans la recherche en sciences humaines portant sur divers sujets tout en faisant la promotion des domaines des défis de demain et en investissant dans ceux-ci.

Le CRSH fournit du financement pour la recherche menée par des chercheurs travaillant seuls ou en équipe ou parfois des établissements grâce à ses programmes Savoir et Connexion. Le programme Talent du CRSH vise à appuyer les étudiants et les stagiaires postdoctoraux en vue de l’acquisition de compétences de recherche et professionnelles.

Le CRSH invite tous les candidats à examiner les six domaines des défis de demain et sous-questions connexes ainsi qu’à considérer la possibilité d’en aborder un ou plusieurs dans leur proposition de recherche. Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’un critère d’évaluation du mérite, les propositions de recherche qui abordent un ou plusieurs des défis de demain font ressortir le rôle crucial qu’auront à jouer les sciences humaines pour permettre au Canada de saisir les occasions qui se présenteront et de relever les défis sociétaux à long terme auxquels il devra faire face.

Le CRSH effectue un suivi de la capacité de recherche dans ces domaines et organise des activités de mobilisation des connaissances, dont des occasions de financement liées aux subventions de synthèse des connaissances, visant à accroître la contribution qu’apportent les sciences humaines aux six domaines des défis de demain.