Community Engagement

Engagement is a key priority for SSHRC.

As societies steadily increase their expectations about how the social sciences and humanities can contribute to economic, cultural, social, technological, environmental and intellectual well-being, SSHRC remains committed to engaging its stakeholder communities and demonstrating that the research it supports leads to benefits for Canadians

Through engagement, SSHRC fosters interchange with and among key audiences on university and college campuses, in communities, and across public, private and non-governmental organizations, to enhance informed decision-making on SSHRC programs, policies and directions.


Imagining Canada’s Future

The world is changing quickly. Where could Canada be in the next five, 10 and 20 years, and how can the Canadian social sciences and humanities research community contribute its knowledge, talent and expertise to both understand and shape that future? To answer these questions, SSHRC has undertaken a forward-looking future challenges project, which will aim to identify key future challenges for Canada in an evolving global context. As part of this important project, SSHRC is looking for fruitful engagement with its partners in the academic, public, private and not-for-profit sectors.

Learn more


Knowledge Mobilization

Knowledge mobilization is about ensuring that all citizens benefit from publicly funded research.
See SSHRC’s definition of knowledge mobilization.

Examples include:

  • publications such as journal articles, books and reports;
  • events such as workshops and conferences;
  • teaching curricula development or improvement; and
  • knowledge transfer, synthesis, exchange and co-creation.

SSHRC’s Guidelines for Effective Knowledge Mobilization, help grant applicants and holders incorporate knowledge mobilization activities into their SSHRC-funded research, to maximize the impact of social sciences and humanities research.

Whenever possible, research results should be made available to the public through websites, databases, or institutional repositories in accordance with SSHRC’s Open Access policy.

SSHRC’s Research Data Archiving Policy states that all research data collected with the use of SSHRC funds must be preserved for use by others for two years after the completion of the project.


Links with Canadian universities

SSHRC Leaders are senior university administrators appointed by their university presidents to provide stable, ongoing channels of communication between their institutions and SSHRC.

More about SSHRC Leaders

Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences

SSHRC participates in the annual Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences hosted by the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Big Thinking

Held up to six times a year on Parliament Hill, the Big Thinking lecture series brings the best Canadian research and scholarly work in the social sciences and humanities directly to the attention of elected officials, policy-makers, government officials, non-governmental organizations and the media. The series is organized by the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences, with support from SSHRC.

Engagement communautaire

Il est primordial pour le CRSH de s’engager au sein de la communauté.

Alors que les sociétés ont des attentes de plus en plus grandes concernant la contribution des sciences humaines à leur bien-être économique, culturel, social, technologique, environnementale et intellectuel, le CRSH s’engage à travailler avec les intervenants pour démontrer en quoi la recherche qu’il finance profite aux Canadiens.

Le CRSH favorise les échanges au sein des universités, des collèges, des communautés et des organismes privés et non gouvernementaux dans le but d’éclairer la prise de décisions concernant ses programmes, ses politiques et ses orientations.






Top

Imaginer l’avenir du Canada

Le monde change rapidement. Où en sera le Canada dans les 5, 10 et 20 prochaines années? Comment la communauté de recherche en sciences humaines du Canada peut-elle contribuer, par ses connaissances, son talent et son expertise, à comprendre l’avenir et à le façonner? Pour répondre à ces questions, le CRSH a entrepris un projet axé sur l’avenir visant à déterminer les défis majeurs que le Canada sera appelé à relever dans un contexte mondialisé en évolution. Dans le cadre de cet important projet, il souhaite établir une collaboration fructueuse avec ses partenaires des secteurs universitaire, public, privé et sans but lucratif.

Pour en savoir plus



Top

Mobilisation des connaissances

La mobilisation des connaissances vise à garantir que tout le monde bénéficie des résultats de la recherche financée par des fonds publics. Elle peut se présenter sous plusieurs formes, mais son objectif est toujours de permettre de faire circuler les connaissances issues de la recherche entre les chercheurs mêmes ainsi qu’entre les chercheurs et la communauté. La mobilisation des connaissances a un grand impact intellectuel, économique, social et culturel, car elle permet de diffuser ces connaissances au sein de la société.

Voici certains exemples de mobilisation des connaissances :

  • les publications (articles de revue, livres, rapports, etc.);
  • les événements (ateliers, colloques, etc.);
  • la création de programmes d’enseignement ou leur amélioration;
  • diverses formes de transfert de connaissances, notamment l’utilisation, la synthèse et le réseautage.

Lorsque cela est possible et conformément à la Politique de libre accès du CRSH, on devrait pouvoir avoir un libre accès aux résultats de recherche, notamment grâce à des sites Web, à des bases de données et à des dépôts institutionnels.

De même, conformément à la Politique sur l’archivage des données de recherche du CRSH, toutes les données de recherche recueillies à l’aide de fonds du CRSH doivent être conservées pendant deux ans après l’achèvement du projet afin de pouvoir être utilisées par d’autres.

Au moyen de sa Stratégie de mobilisation des connaissances, le CRSH :

Liens avec les universités canadiennes

Nommés par le recteur de leur université respective, les leaders pour le CRSH occupent des postes d’administrateurs et sont tenus d’établir un canal de communication stable et continu entre leur établissement et le CRSH.

Renseignements sur les leaders pour le CRSH

Congrès des sciences humaines

Chaque année, le CRSH participe au Congrès des sciences humaines organisé par la Fédération canadienne des sciences humaines.

Voir grand

Organisée par la Fédération canadienne des sciences humaines et appuyée par le CRSH, la série de causeries « Voir grand » met en évidence les meilleurs travaux de recherche et d'érudition du Canada dans le domaine des sciences humaines. Ces causeries, qui ont lieu sur la Colline du Parlement jusqu'à six fois par année, portent la recherche directement à l'attention des représentants élus, des responsables des politiques, des représentants du gouvernement, des organisations non gouvernementales et des médias.