President’s Desk

Ted Hewitt

Ted Hewitt
President, SSHRC

Interview with SSHRC President on “la rentrée”


In French, it’s known as “la rentrée:” when students, workers, and college and university professors return from summer holidays and the unofficial new year begins. To mark the occasion, and as part of the September issue of Dialogue, we asked SSHRC President Ted Hewitt for some thoughts on the social sciences and humanities for those heading back to Canadian postsecondary institutions this fall.


 Parents and students often wonder which degrees or diplomas will yield the most successful career. Is now a good time to be a scholar in the social sciences and humanities?

 There is no better time to be a student pursuing a degree in the social sciences and humanities. The students in these disciplines stand to make the biggest impact on some of the key challenges in front of us today, and ahead of us tomorrow. Their research will help enhance how we adapt to, manage and understand issues that are affecting Canada’s social fabric.

There is also a common concern that pursuing studies in the social sciences and humanities will lead to low earnings and limited career progression. A recent study led by Ross Finnie, director of the Education Policy Research Initiative at the University of Ottawa, shows us something different. The study looked at the earnings of postsecondary graduates from 2005 to 2013, and found that social sciences and humanities graduates experience more than a 70 per cent earnings growth over an eight-year period. This is similar to the rate of increases for engineering and science graduates.

Are you optimistic about funding for researchers in the social sciences and humanities?

 Yes, very much so. The contribution made by our disciplines to the well-being and prosperity of Canadians has been increasingly well recognized. Budget 2016 provided an additional $95 million in new annual resources for the granting councils. This includes $16 million for SSHRC, which is the largest increase in the past 10 years. The increased funding reflects a growing recognition of the importance of the social sciences and humanities.

We expect that we will continue to receive funding to support, in significant measure, the kind of open investigative-driven research for which SSHRC is known. This allows researchers to pursue research that is important to them and to Canada, across all disciplines in the social sciences and humanities.

Support for students is an important part of this picture. In 2016, we funded 8,200 students—directly through scholarships and indirectly through other types of grants. We also supported 13,500 researchers, many of whom employ students to work with them on projects.

What are your priorities for the upcoming year?

░ Earlier this year, we released SSHRC’s 2016-20 strategic plan, so our focus will be on its implementation. As outlined in this plan, our current priorities are to enable excellence in a changing research landscape, create opportunities for research and training through collaborative initiatives, and connect social sciences and humanities research with Canadians. We will speak with stakeholders and work closely with staff to ensure our organization is moving forward as effectively and efficiently as possible.

We will also be preparing to celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary. To start things off, SSHRC has launched a series of Connection Grants focused on supporting activities and events honouring this historic event. We will be supporting and actively participating in Congress 2017, where we will celebrate Canada’s history, legacy and achievements over the last 150 years, and look to the next 150.

What does the research landscape look like into the future? How will SSHRC help students adapt to change?

The research environment is changing as a result of a number of factors, including the growth of multidisciplinary perspectives, the use of big data, increased international collaboration and the engagement of non-academic sectors. As a result, the roles and expectations for Canada’s postsecondary education and graduate training are also changing.

Helping researchers and students work within this shifting research landscape is one of our priorities, as laid out in our new strategic plan. In accordance with the plan, SSHRC will work with Canadian postsecondary institutions, as well as other organizations, to build and sustain a strong and innovative research and training environment. Some ways in which SSHRC will do this are by promoting open access of research data, streamlining the granting process and supporting and advancing research conducted by and with Canada’s Aboriginal communities.

What are you most proud of, now that you have been president for over a year?

░ First off, I’m very proud of the way SSHRC staff, management and other stakeholders have worked to create our latest strategic plan. This was a real milestone for us in the way that it has focused our attention on both our mandate and selective areas of focus important to our community.

I’m also very pleased with the way we have developed unique tools to communicate and connect with Canadians. Our Storytellers contest is a great example of this. The postsecondary students who compete stand as shining examples of Canada’s next generation of research communicators.

I also take a great deal of pride in the quality of our programs for researchers and graduate students, and our success in delivering programs like the Canada Research Chairs on behalf of the government’s other research funding agencies.

Lastly, an example of SSHRC’s excellent programming is the Imagining Canada’s Future initiative, which captures how we’re connecting with researchers and Canadians to demonstrate the value of social sciences and humanities in the years ahead. In the coming months, we’ll be looking at renewing this initiative to better meet some of the challenges and ambitions laid out in our strategic plan.


Other SSHRC president editorials:

Canada’s researchers eager to support truth and reconciliation efforts (University Affairs, January 2016)

Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action

Good research key to helping refugees, youth flourish (Chronicle Herald, January 2016)

"It’s time to ‘think different’ about innovation" (The Hill Times, November 2015—subscription required)

Libre accès pour le bien public (Découvrir, May 2015)

"Canada’s newest resource is flexible, sustainable, potentially unlimited" (The Hill Times, October 2014—subscription required)

"Canadian Research on Social Licensing Can Bridge the Gap in Technological Innovation" (The Hill Times, July 2014—subscription required)

Bureau du président

Ted Hewitt

Ted Hewitt
Président, CRSH

Entretien avec le président du CRSH au sujet de la rentrée


La rentrée, c'est cette période de l'année où les étudiants, les employés et les professeurs des collèges et universités reviennent de leurs vacances estivales. Pour plusieurs, elle marque le début non officiel d'une nouvelle année. Pour souligner l'événement, et dans le cadre du numéro de septembre du bulletin Dialogue, nous avons demandé à Ted Hewitt, président du CRSH, de faire part de ses réflexions sur les sciences humaines à ceux qui retournent sur les bancs des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire du Canada cet automne.


 Les parents et les étudiants se demandent souvent quels diplômes ou grades mèneront aux plus brillantes carrières. Le moment est-il opportun pour entreprendre des études en sciences humaines?

 Le moment est mieux choisi que jamais pour faire des études en sciences humaines. Les étudiants dans ces disciplines sont en passe d’avoir un très grand impact sur certains des principaux défis d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Leurs travaux de recherche nous aideront à comprendre et à gérer les enjeux qui menacent la structure sociale du Canada et à nous adapter en conséquence.   

Une préoccupation commune est que les études en sciences humaines ne peuvent que mener à un faible revenu et à un avancement professionnel limité. Or, une étude récente menée par Ross Finnie, directeur de l’Initiative de recherche sur les politiques de l’éducation à l’Université d’Ottawa, nous révèle autre chose. Cette étude a examiné le revenu des diplômés postsecondaires de 2005 à 2013, et montré que le salaire des diplômés en sciences humaines a augmenté de plus de 70 p. 100 durant cette période de huit ans – un taux d’augmentation semblable à celui des diplômés en génie et en sciences.  

Êtes-vous optimiste quant au financement accordé aux chercheurs en sciences humaines?

 Oui, je suis très optimiste. L’apport de nos disciplines au bien-être et à la prospérité des Canadiens est de plus en plus reconnu. Le Budget 2016 prévoit 95 millions de dollars supplémentaires en nouvelles ressources annuelles au profit des organismes subventionnaires. Cela comprend 16 millions de dollars pour le CRSH, soit la plus importante augmentation des dix dernières années. Cette augmentation financière démontre la reconnaissance croissante de l’importance des sciences humaines.  

Nous prévoyons continuer à recevoir du financement pour soutenir, dans une large mesure, le type de recherche ouverte impulsée par les chercheurs pour laquelle le CRSH est reconnu. Cela permet aux chercheurs de mener la recherche qui leur tient à cœur et qui est importante pour le Canada, dans toutes les disciplines des sciences humaines.

En outre, le soutien des étudiants occupe une place importante. En 2016, nous avons financé 8 200 étudiants – soit directement, au moyen de bourses, ou indirectement, au moyen d’autres types de subvention. Nous avons également appuyé 13 500 chercheurs, dont bon nombre font appel à des étudiants pour les aider dans leurs projets de recherche.  

Quelles sont vos priorités pour l’année à venir?

░ Plus tôt cette année, nous avons publié le plan stratégique 2016-2020 du CRSH, et nous nous emploierons à le mettre en œuvre. Comme ce plan l’indique, nos priorités actuelles consistent à susciter l’excellence en recherche dans un contexte qui évolue, à créer des occasions de recherche et de formation dans le cadre d’initiatives concertées et à établir des liens entre la recherche en sciences humaines et les Canadiens. Nous discuterons avec les intervenants et travaillerons en étroite collaboration avec les employés pour nous assurer que le CRSH va de l’avant de la façon la plus efficace possible.

Nous nous préparons également à célébrer le 150e anniversaire du Canada. Pour ce faire, nous avons lancé une série de subventions Connexion visant à appuyer les activités qui souligneront ce moment historique. En outre, nous appuierons le Congrès 2017 et y participerons activement en soulignant l’histoire, l’héritage et les réalisations du Canada des 150 dernières années et en examinant ce que nous réservent les 150 prochaines.

À quoi ressemble l’avenir de la recherche? De quelle façon le CRSH aidera-t-il les étudiants à s’adapter au changement?  

Le monde de la recherche évolue en raison de nombreux facteurs, notamment la croissance des perspectives multidisciplinaires, le recours aux données massives, l’augmentation de la collaboration internationale et la participation des secteurs non universitaires. Par conséquent, le rôle de l’enseignement postsecondaire et des études supérieures au Canada, ainsi que les attentes à cet égard, sont aussi en voie de changer.   

Comme il est indiqué dans le nouveau plan stratégique, l’une des priorités du CRSH consiste à aider les chercheurs et les étudiants à travailler dans ce contexte de recherche en évolution. Conformément au plan, le CRSH travaillera de concert avec les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens, ainsi que d’autres organismes, pour créer et maintenir un environnement de recherche et de formation solide et novateur. Pour ce faire, il compte promouvoir le libre accès aux données de recherche, simplifier le processus d’attribution du financement ainsi que soutenir et faire progresser la recherche menée « par et avec » les communautés autochtones du Canada. 

De quoi êtes-vous le plus fier, maintenant que vous êtes président depuis plus d’un an?

░ Tout d’abord, je suis très fier du travail que le personnel et la direction du CRSH et les autres intervenants ont accompli pour créer le dernier plan stratégique. Il s’agissait d’une étape très importante pour nous, car elle a permis de concentrer notre attention sur notre mandat ainsi que sur certains secteurs d’intérêt pour notre communauté.     

Je suis également très satisfait de la façon dont nous avons mis au point des outils uniques nous permettant de communiquer et d’établir des liens avec les Canadiens. Notre concours J’ai une histoire à raconter en est un exemple éloquent. Les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire qui participent à ce concours illustrent parfaitement la prochaine génération de communicateurs scientifiques du Canada.

Je suis aussi très fier de la qualité des programmes que nous offrons aux chercheurs et aux étudiants diplômés, ainsi que de la prestation efficace de programmes comme le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada au nom des autres organismes subventionnaires fédéraux.

Pour terminer, un exemple d’excellent programme offert par le CRSH est l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada, qui dépeint la façon dont nous établissons des liens avec les chercheurs et les Canadiens afin de faire valoir l’importance des sciences humaines pour les années à venir. Au cours des prochains mois, nous examinerons la possibilité de renouveler cette initiative pour mieux relever les défis et atteindre les objectifs énoncés dans notre plan stratégique.  


Autre commentaire du président du CRSH

Arrival, le film : comment la linguistique a sauvé le monde (Affaires universitaires, janvier 2017)

Ubérisation : occasion ou menace? (The Hill Times, octobre 2016 – abonnement requis)

On peut viser la lune dans le domaine de l’innovation, mais cela ne suffit pas (iPolitics, août 2016)

Les chercheurs canadiens sont prêts à jouer un rôle dans le processus de réconciliation (Affaires universitaires, janvier 2016)

Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada : appels à l’action

« Good research key to helping refugees, youth flourish » (Chronicle Herald, janvier 2016 – en anglais)

« It’s time to ‘think different’ about innovation » (The Hill Times, novembre 2015 – abonnement requis)

Libre accès pour le bien public (Découvrir, mai 2015)

« Canada’s newest resource is flexible, sustainable, potentially unlimited » (The Hill Times, octobre 2014 – abonnement requis)

« Canadian Research on Social Licensing Can Bridge the Gap in Technological Innovation » (The Hill Times, juillet 2014 – abonnement requis)