Insight Program

Goal
Context
Objectives
Funding Opportunities
Future Challenge Areas
Related Initiatives
Multi-Agency Research Funding Collaboration



Goal

The goal of the Insight program is to build knowledge and understanding about people, societies and the world by supporting research excellence in all subject areas eligible for funding from SSHRC.



Context

Research and training in the social sciences and humanities provide the foundation for a vibrant, healthy and prosperous society. They advance knowledge and build understanding about individuals, groups and societies—what we think, how we live, and how we interact with each other and the world around us. Such research enhances our knowledge and understanding of the past and present, and informs our thinking about critical social, cultural, economic, technological and environmental issues, both within the research community and across the public, private and not-for-profit sectors.

The Insight program aims to support and foster excellence in social sciences and humanities research intended to deepen, widen and increase our collective understanding of individuals and societies, as well as to inform the search for solutions to societal challenges.



Objectives

The objectives of the Insight program are to:

  • build knowledge and understanding from disciplinary, interdisciplinary and/or cross-sector perspectives through support for the best researchers;
  • support new approaches to research on complex and important topics, including those that transcend the capacity of any one scholar, institution or discipline;
  • provide a high-quality research training experience for students;
  • fund research expertise that relates to societal challenges and opportunities; and
  • mobilize research knowledge, to and from academic and non-academic audiences, with the potential to lead to intellectual, cultural, social and economic influence, benefit and impact.


Funding Opportunities

For the most up-to-date information, please consult SSHRC’s complete list of funding opportunities.

Please note that SSHRC is committed to providing a range of adjudication options appropriate to its individual funding opportunities.

For Individuals or Teams

SSHRC provides funding for research carried out by individual scholars and teams of researchers.

  • Insight Development Grants support research in its initial stages. The grants enable the development of new research questions, as well as experimentation with new methods, theoretical approaches and/or ideas.

    Grants are valued at between $7,000 and $75,000 over one to two years.

    Within the Insight Development Grants funding opportunity, funding is available for two distinct categories of scholars: established and emerging. For the current competition, at least 50 per cent of funds will be reserved for applications from emerging scholars.

  • Insight Grants support research excellence in the social sciences and humanities. Funding is available to both emerging and established scholars for long-term research initiatives. Insight Grant research initiatives may be undertaken by an individual researcher or a team of researchers working in collaboration.

    The maximum value of an Insight Grant is $400,000 over three to five years. A minimum request of $7,000 is required in at least one of the years. A maximum of $100,000 is available in a single year.


For Formal Partnerships

SSHRC provides funding for research, research training and knowledge mobilization initiatives involving a formal partnered approach. Formal partnerships can be among postsecondary institutions, or between the academic and public, private and/or not-for-profit sectors. They can be disciplinary or interdisciplinary, and can include both Canadian and international partners.

Funding in this area supports a wide range of partnerships, including industry-academic partnership initiatives. For the purpose of formal partnerships, “industry” refers to private sector organizations, or groups of private sector organizations connected by a common interest.

  • Partnership Development Grants provide support to foster new research and/or related activities with new and/or existing partners; and to design and test new partnership approaches for research and/or related activities.

    These grants are valued at $75,000 to $200,000 over one to three years.

  • Community and College Social Innovation Fund (CCSIF) is a pilot initiative that connects the talent, facilities and capabilities of Canada’s colleges and polytechnics with the research needs of local community organizations.

    CCSIF are valued at up to $200,000 over one to three years. Applicants can also request funding of 20 per cent in addition to the grant amount requested, to offset overhead costs, administrative costs, reduction in course load for full-time faculty staff, and some salary support for part-time college faculty staff.
  • Partnership Grants provide support to new or existing formal partnerships for initiatives that advance research, research training and/or knowledge mobilization in the social sciences and humanities.

    These grants are typically valued at $500,000 to $2.5 million over four to seven years.

Infrastructure and Tools Funding

Insight Grant and Partnership Grant applicants requiring infrastructure funding to support their research activities may be eligible for support from the Canada Foundation for Innovation’s (CFI) John R. Evans Leaders Fund. SSHRC, and the CFI will jointly review proposals submitted through SSHRC to the John R. Evans Leaders Fund.

For more information, please visit the CFI website, or contact the CFI liaison officer at your institution.

Insight Grant and Partnership Grant applicants requiring funding to support research and research-related tools may also be eligible for SSHRC support. Please consult SSHRC’s Guidelines for Support of Tools for Research and Related Activities.

SSHRC Impact Awards

SSHRC Impact Awards recognize outstanding researchers and students by celebrating their achievements in research, research training, knowledge mobilization and outreach activities funded partially or completely by SSHRC.

Postsecondary institutions eligible to administer SSHRC funding are invited to put forward nominations for the following awards: the Gold Medal ($100,000); the Talent Award ($50,000); the Insight Award ($50,000); the Connection Award ($50,000); and the Partnership Award ($50,000).



Future Challenge Areas

SSHRC invites all applicants to review Imagining Canada’s Future’s six future challenge areas and subquestions, and to consider addressing one or more of these areas in their research proposal. While this is not an evaluation criterion for merit review, research that addresses one or more of the future challenge areas further positions the value of the social sciences and humanities to meet Canada’s future, long-term societal challenges and opportunities.

SSHRC monitors research capacity in these areas, and develops and implements strategies and knowledge mobilization activities, including a series of Knowledge Synthesis Grants funding opportunities, to enhance the contribution of the social sciences and humanities across the six challenge areas.



Related Initiatives

SSHRC partners with other organizations to offer several joint initiatives that complement SSHRC’s Talent, Insight and Connection programs:

  • The Healthy and Productive Work initiative is a joint effort between SSHRC and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. The partnership reflects the interplay between health and the social sciences and humanities in maintaining a healthy, productive and inclusive Canadian workforce. The initiative focuses on the accommodations and interventions needed to foster labour force participation among people with health issues (e.g., injuries, illnesses, chronic diseases, mental health challenges, and other conditions) and disabilities, as well as older workers and workers with caregiving responsibilities.
  • Societal Implications of Disruptive Innovation in Genomics is a joint initiative of SSHRC and Genome Canada. The initiative promotes social sciences and humanities research and related activities aimed at expanding understanding of the potential for new and emerging genomic innovations to profoundly affect society. Interested researchers should develop proposals related to this focus and submit their applications through funding opportunities offered under SSHRC’s Insight and Connection programs, or to relevant Knowledge Synthesis Grants competitions.
  • Automotive Partnership Canada (APC) will provide $145 million in research funding over five years to support significant, collaborative research and development activities that will benefit the entire Canadian automotive industry. This initiative is a partnership between the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, the National Research Council, the Canada Foundation for Innovation, SSHRC and the Canada Excellence Research Chairs Program. Interested applicants and companies should start by contacting APC's Project Office in Mississauga, Ontario.
  • The Canadian Initiative on Social Statistics Research Data Centres Program is a strategic joint initiative of SSHRC, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and Statistics Canada to promote research and training in the application of social statistics.
  • The College and Community Innovation Program is managed by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council in collaboration with the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and SSHRC. The program increases the capacity of colleges to transform the results of research and development into economic activities.
  • As part of the Kanishka Project, Public Safety Canada is investing up to $3.7 million to support, in full or in part, with SSHRC, research and related activities addressing issues related to terrorism and counter-terrorism.
  • For the past several years, SSHRC has partnered with the Department of Canadian Heritage through the Sport Participation Research Initiative: Research Grants to provide additional support for policy-relevant research about participation in sport in Canada.

Opportunities for collaboration

SSHRC collaborates directly with other organizations to foster links with social sciences and humanities students and researchers whose work is related to the organizations’ priorities. These organizations are interested in working with potential applicants toward submitting an application to a SSHRC funding opportunity competition.

For example, the Belmont Forum co-ordinates funding across a number of research agencies around the world. The Forum helps secure support for collaborative research projects related to global environmental change. While not offering additional or dedicated research funds, SSHRC can assist interested Canadian researchers in developing proposals that involve international colleagues and partners. Researchers may then submit applications to funding opportunities offered under SSHRC’s Insight and Connection programs, or use their SSHRC grant to participate in a Belmont project.



Multi-Agency Research Funding Collaboration

SSHRC is also working with the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, and the Canada Foundation for Innovation to enhance co-ordination of the agencies’ programs, activities and policies. For more information, please consult Multi-Agency Research Funding Collaboration.

Programme Savoir

But
Contexte
Objectifs
Occasions de financement
Domaines des défis de demain
Initiatives connexes
Collaboration interorganismes pour le financement de la recherche



But

Le programme Savoir a pour but d’approfondir les connaissances sur l’être humain, la société et le monde en appuyant l’excellence en recherche dans tous les domaines admissibles au financement du CRSH.



Contexte

La recherche et la formation en sciences humaines constituent le fondement d’une société dynamique, saine et prospère. Elles permettent de faire progresser les connaissances et de mieux comprendre les êtres humains, les collectivités et les sociétés – non seulement leur façon de penser et d’être, mais aussi leur façon d’interagir les uns avec les autres, et avec leur environnement. Elles permettent aussi de mieux connaître et de mieux comprendre le passé et le présent et éclairent la réflexion sur d’importants enjeux sociaux, culturels, économiques, technologiques et environnementaux, tant dans le milieu de la recherche que dans les secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif.

Le programme Savoir vise à promouvoir et à appuyer l’excellence en recherche dans le domaine des sciences humaines afin d’approfondir, d’élargir et d’accroître les connaissances collectives sur l’être humain et la société et de guider la recherche de solutions à des problèmes sociétaux.



Objectifs

Les objectifs du programme Savoir sont les suivants :

  • approfondir les connaissances à partir de perspectives à caractère disciplinaire, interdisciplinaire ou multisectoriel en appuyant les meilleurs chercheurs;
  • appuyer de nouvelles approches de recherche portant sur des sujets complexes et importants, y compris ceux qui dépassent les capacités d’un seul chercheur, d’un seul établissement ou d’une seule discipline;
  • offrir aux étudiants une formation de grande qualité en recherche;
  • financer la constitution d’une expertise en recherche axée sur les possibilités et les enjeux sociétaux;
  • mobiliser les connaissances issues de la recherche qui proviennent du milieu universitaire ou d’autres milieux, ou qui leur sont destinées, et qui sont susceptibles d’avoir une influence, un impact et des avantages sur les plans intellectuel, culturel, social et économique.


Occasions de financement

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus à jour, veuillez consulter la liste complète des occasions de financement du CRSH.

Veuillez noter que le CRSH s’engage à fournir un éventail d’options de sélection appropriées pour chacune de ses occasions de financement.

Chercheurs travaillant seuls ou en équipe

Le CRSH finance l’exécution de travaux de recherche menés par des chercheurs travaillant seuls ou en équipe.

  • Les subventions de développement Savoir appuient les étapes initiales de la recherche. Elles favorisent l’élaboration de nouvelles questions de recherche ainsi que l’expérimentation de nouvelles approches théoriques, idées et méthodes.

    Ces subventions sont d’une valeur de 7 000 $ à 75 000 $, et la somme accordée est répartie sur un à deux ans.

    Les fonds des subventions de développement Savoir sont réservés à deux catégories de chercheurs : les chercheurs établis et les chercheurs émergents. Dans le cadre du présent concours, au moins 50 p. 100 des fonds seront réservés à des demandes de chercheurs émergents.

  • Les subventions Savoir appuient l’excellence en recherche dans le domaine des sciences humaines. Elles sont destinées tant aux chercheurs établis qu’aux chercheurs émergents et visent des initiatives de recherche à long terme. Les initiatives de recherche financées par une subvention Savoir peuvent être menées par des chercheurs travaillant seuls ou en équipe.

    Les subventions Savoir sont d’une valeur maximale de 400 000 $, et la somme accordée est répartie sur trois à cinq ans. Les candidats doivent demander un montant minimal de 7 000 $ pour au moins une des années de financement et ne peuvent pas obtenir plus de 100 000 $ par année.


Partenariats

Le CRSH appuie des initiatives de recherche, de formation en recherche et de mobilisation des connaissances axées sur une approche de partenariat. Les partenariats peuvent réunir des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire ou encore des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et des organismes des secteurs public, privé ou sans but lucratif. En outre, ils peuvent être à caractère disciplinaire ou interdisciplinaire et peuvent inclure aussi bien des partenaires canadiens qu’étrangers.

Le financement offert appuie un grand nombre de partenariats, dont des initiatives de partenariat réunissant l’industrie et le milieu universitaire. Dans le contexte des partenariats, le terme « industrie » désigne des organismes du secteur privé ou des groupes de tels organismes liés par un intérêt commun.


  • Les subventions de développement de partenariat fournissent un appui visant à favoriser l’exécution de nouveaux travaux de recherche ou d’activités connexes avec de nouveaux partenaires ou des partenaires existants, ainsi qu’à concevoir et à mettre à l’essai de nouvelles approches de partenariat pour l’exécution de travaux de recherche ou d’activités connexes.

    Ces subventions sont d’une valeur de 75 000 $ à 200 000 $, et la somme accordée est répartie sur un à trois ans.

  • Le Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux communautés et aux collèges est une initiative pilote qui permet d’établir des ponts entre le talent, les installations et le potentiel dont disposent les collèges et les polytechniques du Canada, d’une part, et les besoins des organismes communautaires locaux en matière de recherche, d’autre part.

    Les subventions du Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux communautés et aux collèges sont d’une valeur maximale de 200 000 $, et la somme accordée est répartie sur un à trois ans. Les candidats peuvent solliciter des fonds supplémentaires représentant 20 p. 100 de la subvention demandée dans le but de couvrir les frais généraux, les coûts d’administration, une partie des coûts occasionnés par la réduction de la charge d’enseignement de professeurs à temps plein et l’aide salariale pour le personnel enseignant à temps partiel dans les collèges.

  • Les subventions de partenariat appuient des partenariats nouveaux ou existants axés sur des initiatives qui font progresser la recherche, la formation en recherche ou la mobilisation des connaissances en sciences humaines.

    Ces subventions sont d’une valeur de 500 000 $ à 2,5 millions de dollars, et la somme accordée est répartie sur quatre à sept ans.


Financement d’infrastructure et d’outils

Les candidats à une subvention Savoir ou à une subvention de partenariat qui ont besoin d’un financement d’infrastructure pour leurs activités de recherche peuvent être admissibles à un soutien du Fonds des leaders John-R.-Evans de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (FCI). Le CRSH et la FCI examinent conjointement les propositions qui sont présentées au Fonds par l’intermédiaire du CRSH.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web de la FCI ou communiquer avec l’agent de liaison avec la FCI de votre établissement.

Les candidats à une subvention Savoir ou à une subvention de partenariat qui ont besoin d’un financement pour des outils liés à la recherche et à des activités connexes peuvent eux aussi être admissibles à un soutien du CRSH. Veuillez consulter les lignes directrices sur le financement concernant les outils liés à la recherche et aux activités connexes.

Prix Impacts du CRSH

Les prix Impacts du CRSH visent à reconnaître le travail de chercheurs et d’étudiants exceptionnels en soulignant leurs réalisations en matière de recherche, de formation en recherche, de mobilisation des connaissances et d’activités de rayonnement financées en totalité ou en partie par le CRSH.

Le CRSH invite les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire qui sont en mesure d’administrer les fonds qu’il accorde à présenter la candidature de chercheurs dans les catégories suivantes : la Médaille d’or (100 000 $), le prix Talent (50 000 $), le prix Savoir (50 000 $), le prix Connexion (50 000 $) et le prix Partenariat (50 000 $).



Domaines des défis de demain

Le CRSH invite tous les candidats à examiner les six domaines des défis de demain et sous-questions connexes mis de l’avant dans le cadre de l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada et à envisager la possibilité d’aborder un ou plusieurs de ces domaines dans leur proposition de recherche. Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’un critère d’évaluation du mérite, les propositions de recherche qui abordent un ou plusieurs des défis de demain font ressortir le rôle crucial qu’auront à jouer les sciences humaines pour permettre au Canada de saisir les occasions qui se présenteront et de relever les défis sociétaux à long terme auxquels il aura à faire face.

Le CRSH effectue un suivi de la capacité de recherche dans ces domaines, et il conçoit et met en œuvre diverses stratégies et activités de mobilisation des connaissances, dont des occasions de financement liées aux subventions de synthèse des connaissances, visant à accroître la contribution qu’apportent les sciences humaines aux six domaines des défis de demain.



Initiatives connexes

Le CRSH collabore avec d’autres organismes afin d’offrir plusieurs initiatives conjointes qui sont complémentaires de ses programmes Talent, Savoir et Connexion.

  • L’initiative Répercussions sociétales de la recherche en génomique est une initiative conjointe du CRSH et de Génome Canada qui a pour but de favoriser la recherche en sciences humaines et les activités connexes visant à mieux faire comprendre en quoi les innovations en génomique sont susceptibles d’avoir des répercussions profondes sur la société. Les chercheurs intéressés doivent élaborer une proposition abordant ce sujet et la présenter par le truchement des occasions de financement offertes dans le cadre des programmes Savoir et Connexion ou des concours visant l’attribution de subventions de synthèse des connaissances.
  • Le Partenariat automobile du Canada offre 145 millions de dollars sur cinq ans afin d’appuyer d’importantes activités de recherche et de développement conjointes dont bénéficiera l’ensemble de l’industrie automobile canadienne. Il s’agit d’un partenariat regroupant le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, le CRSH et le Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada. Les candidats et les entreprises intéressés doivent d’abord communiquer avec le Bureau de projets du Partenariat automobile du Canada à Mississauga, en Ontario.
  • Issu de l’Initiative canadienne sur les statistiques sociales, le Réseau canadien des centres de données de recherche est une initiative conjointe du CRSH et des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada qui vise à promouvoir la recherche et la formation en matière d’application des statistiques sociales.
  • Le Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté est géré par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, en collaboration avec les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et le CRSH. Ce programme augmente la capacité des collèges de transformer les résultats issus de la recherche et du développement en activités économiques.
  • Depuis plusieurs années, le CRSH travaille en partenariat avec le ministère du Patrimoine canadien dans le cadre de l’Initiative de recherche sur la participation au sport – subventions de recherche afin d’offrir un soutien supplémentaire à la recherche axée sur les politiques concernant la participation au sport au Canada.

Occasions de collaboration

Le CRSH collabore directement avec d’autres organismes afin de favoriser l’établissement de liens avec des chercheurs et des étudiants en sciences humaines dont les travaux ont trait aux priorités de ces organismes. Ainsi, les organismes qui sont intéressés peuvent s’associer à des candidats potentiels en vue de présenter une demande dans le cadre d’un concours lié à une occasion de financement du CRSH.

À titre d’exemple, le Forum Belmont coordonne le financement offert par des organismes de recherche de différents endroits dans le monde. Il fournit une assistance en vue de l’obtention d’un financement pour l’exécution de projets de recherche axés sur les changements environnementaux planétaires. Même s’il n’offre pas un financement de recherche supplémentaire ou ciblé, le CRSH peut aider les chercheurs canadiens intéressés à élaborer des propositions qui prévoient la participation de partenaires et de collègues étrangers. Les chercheurs peuvent ensuite présenter leur demande dans le cadre d’occasions de financement liées au programme Savoir et au programme Connexion du CRSH ou utiliser la subvention du CRSH pour participer à un projet du Forum Belmont.



Collaboration interorganismes pour le financement de la recherche

Le CRSH collabore en outre avec le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et la FCI en vue d’une meilleure coordination des programmes, des activités et des politiques des organismes subventionnaires. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez consulter la page Collaboration interorganismes pour le financement de la recherche.