SSHRC’s governing council has the mandate to advise the president of SSHRC on strategy, risk management, performance management and stakeholder relations, with the goal of ensuring SSHRC’s priorities and programs support high-quality research, training and knowledge mobilization, and enable a strong, vibrant research community in the social sciences and humanities.

The vice-president and chair of SSHRC’s governing council chairs its meetings and plays a key role in strengthening the council’s ability to provide SSHRC’s president with independent guidance.

Council members elect the vice-president and chair, subject to approval by the governor-in-council.

Acting Vice-President and Interim Chair of Council

Normand Labrie

Normand Labrie
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
University of Toronto
Toronto, Ontario


Adel Badri

Adel Badri
Department of Industrial Engineering
Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
Trois-Rivières, Quebec

Neil Cooke

Neil Cooke
Vice-President Academic
Manitoba Institute of Trades and Technology
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Cinthia Duclos

Cinthia Duclos
Associate Professor
Faculty of Law
Université Laval
Laval, Quebec

Ted Hewitt

Ted Hewitt
SSHRC President
Ottawa, Ontario

Åsa Kachan

Åsa Kachan
CEO and Chief Librarian
Halifax Public Libraries
Halifax, Nova Scotia

E. Dianne Looker

E. Dianne Looker
Professor Emerita
Acadia University and
Mount Saint Vincent University
Wolfville and Halifax, Nova Scotia

Carmen Robertson

Carmen Robertson
Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in North American Indigenous Visual and Material Culture
Joint-appointed to the School of Indigenous and Canadian Studies, the School for Studies in Art and Culture, and the Institute for Comparative Studies in Literature, Art, and Culture
Carleton University
Ottawa, Ontario

Malinda Smith

Malinda Smith
Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
University of Calgary
Calgary, Alberta

Marie-Eve Sylvestre

Marie-Eve Sylvestre
Dean and Full Professor
Faculty of Law
University of Ottawa
Ottawa, Ontario

Yves Bourgeois

Yves Bourgeois
Professor of Economics and Dean of Studies
Université de Moncton, campus de Shippagan
Shippagan, New Brunswick

Date modified: