COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.

Advisory Committee to Address Anti-Black Racism in Research and Research Training

Over the years, SSHRC has stayed alert to systemic barriers that limit access to funding and diverse perspectives. In pledging to adopt best practices and measurable approaches for promoting equity, diversity and inclusion, SSHRC reaffirms its commitment to dismantling barriers faced by Black scholars in the Canadian research training and funding ecosystems.

In 2021, the Advisory Committee to Address Anti-Black Racism in Research and Research Training was created to respond to equity, diversity and inclusion concerns. The committee was mandated to advise the vice-president, Research, on ways to break down existing barriers, to ensure equitable access for Black scholars, and to amplify their voices and enhance their visibility in SSHRC research and research training programs.

The advisory committee is composed of 11 members from the Canadian community of Black researchers, representing the diversity of the community as closely as possible, including:

  • one graduate student;
  • a balanced representation of career stages, genders, francophones and anglophones, regions, social sciences and humanities fields, and those from small and large institutions;
  • a mix of representatives from long-established Black communities in Canada and those representing different immigrant backgrounds (particularly, Caribbean and African); and
  • international expertise.

The committee had five meetings between May 2021 and May 2022. The meetings were co-chaired by Wendell Nii Laryea Adjetey, assistant professor, Department of History and Classical Studies, McGill University and Karine Coen-Sanchez, doctoral candidate, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Ottawa.

Wendell Nii Laryea Adjetey (co-chair)
Assistant Professor, Department of History and Classical Studies, McGill University

Karine Coen-Sanchez (co-chair)
Doctoral Candidate, School of Sociological and Anthropological Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Ottawa

Adeniyi P. Asiyanbi
Assistant Professor, Human Geography, The University of British Columbia Okanagan Campus

Michael F. Charles
Associate Vice-President, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, Centennial College

Denise Ferreira da Silva
Professor and Director, The Social Justice Institute, and Senior Faculty Fellow, St John’s College, The University of British Columbia; and Adjunct Professor, Department of Fine Art, Monash University

Mamoudou Gazibo
Professor, Department of Political Science, Université de Montréal

Sulaimon Giwa
Assistant Professor and Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs, School of Social Work and Department of Sociology, Police Studies, Memorial University of Newfoundland; and Endowed Chair in Criminology and Criminal Justice, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice, St. Thomas University

Barbara-Ann Hamilton-Hinch
Associate Professor, Recreation and Leisure Studies, School of Health and Human Performance, and Assistant Vice-Provost, Equity and Inclusion, Dalhousie University

Rhonda McEwen
Canada Research Chair in Tactile Interfaces, Communication and Cognition; Vice-Principal, Academic, and Dean, University of Toronto Mississauga; and Professor, Emerging Media, Institute of Communication, Culture, Information and Technology, University of Toronto Mississauga

Barbara McNeil
Associate Professor, Language and Literacy, Faculty of Education, University of Regina

Félix Zogning Nguimeya
Associate Professor, Department of Accounting Sciences, Université de Sherbrooke

Dominique Bérubé (ex officio)
Vice-President, Research, SSHRC

Date modified: