Ottawa law professor Katherine Lippel wins Gold Medal for research on workers’ rights

Four other professors win SSHRC Impact Awards for outstanding work

September 15, 2017, Ottawa, Ontario—Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council

Katherine Lippel, professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of Ottawa, and Canada Research Chair in Occupational Health and Safety Law, has won this year’s Gold Medal at the annual Impact Awards, presented by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). The Gold Medal is SSHRC’s highest research honour and comes with $100,000 in research money.

SSHRC Impact Awards highlight the highest achievements in Canada in research, research training, knowledge mobilization and outreach activities in the humanities and social sciences.

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General, will present the recipients of the 2017 SSHRC Impact Awards with their prizes at a prestigious ceremony at Rideau Hall later today.

Lippel’s work has shed light on, and continues to provide solutions for, how to protect workers. Throughout her career, her research has improved the lives of everyday workers and helped create a better, more just society.

Winners in the other award categories are:

Impact Award winners were selected by a multidisciplinary jury of renowned experts, from among a shortlist of finalists announced in August. By supporting the work of talented students, emerging researchers and academic leaders, the Government of Canada is helping to build stronger and more resilient communities.


“I commend the tremendous achievements of the scholars we have the honour of celebrating today. Their hard work leads to new knowledge that helps us better understand each other and the world around us. Our government is committed to supporting their efforts because we know research provides the evidence we need to make decisions about our communities and economy, our health and future prosperity.”

The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science

“This year’s Impact Awards exemplify how collaborations—multisector, multidisciplinary, and multi-institutional—in the social sciences and humanities bring intellectual, cultural, social and economic benefits to Canada, and to the world. Katherine Lippel is a perfect example of a leading scholar whose work has a profound impact. Her research has helped break down the barriers between law, medicine and science, while also transcending language and culture.”

Ted Hewitt, President, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council

Quick facts

  • Lippel joins an impressive list of scholars and leaders who have won SSHRC’s highest honour in the past, including philosopher Charles Taylor, who received the Gold Medal in 2003; early language acquisition professor Janet Werker, 2015’s recipient; and sexual assault legislation expert Constance Backhouse, the 2011 recipient.
  • SSHRC is a federal research funding agency that promotes and supports postsecondary-based research and talent development in the humanities and social sciences.

Related links

Follow SSHRC on Twitter: @SSHRC_CRSH


Yoan St-Onge
Communications Advisor
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Tel.: 613-947-6560