SSHRC reveals shortlists for 2017 Impact Awards

SSHRC is pleased to announce 12 outstanding finalists for this year’s Impact Awards.

The winners in each of the categories of Talent, Insight, Connection and Partnership—as well as the Gold Medal recipient—will receive their awards at Rideau Hall in Ottawa on Friday, September 15, 2017.

The annual SSHRC Impact Awards recognize the highest achievements from outstanding researchers and students in social sciences and humanities research, research training, knowledge mobilization and scholarship funded partially or completely by SSHRC.

Selected by a jury composed of renowned experts from academia, as well as from the private, public and not-for-profit sectors, the Impact Awards finalists embody the very best ideas and research about people, human thought and behaviour, and culture—helping us understand and improve the world around us, today and into the future.

The categories and finalists are as follows:

Talent Award

The Talent Award recognizes outstanding achievement by a current SSHRC doctoral or postdoctoral scholarship or fellowship holder.

  • Nathan Andrews, Queen’s University
  • Claire Battershill, Simon Fraser University
  • Liam Riley, Wilfrid Laurier University

Insight Award

The Insight Award recognizes outstanding achievement arising from a research project funded partially or completely by SSHRC. It is given to an individual or team whose project has resulted in significant contribution to knowledge and understanding about people, societies and the world.

  • Lori Beaman, University of Ottawa
  • Deborah Fels, Ryerson University
  • Tania Li, University of Toronto

Connection Award

The Connection Award recognizes an outstanding SSHRC-funded initiative to facilitate the flow and exchange of research knowledge within and/or beyond the academic community. It is given to an individual or team whose project has engaged the campus and/or wider community, and has generated intellectual, cultural, social and/or economic impacts.

  • Karen Bakker, The University of British Columbia
  • Erica Lehrer, Concordia University
  • Maureen Reed, University of Saskatchewan

Partnership Award

The Partnership Award recognizes a SSHRC-funded formal partnership for its outstanding achievement in advancing research, research training or knowledge mobilization, or developing a new partnership approach to research and/or related activities. It is awarded to a partnership that, through mutual co-operation and shared intellectual leadership and resources, has demonstrated impact and influence within and/or beyond the social sciences and humanities research community.

  • Carol Kauppi, Laurentian University
  • Carla Lipsig-Mummé, York University
  • Jack Quarter, University of Toronto

Gold Medal

The Gold Medal for achievement in research is SSHRC’s highest research honour. It is awarded to individuals whose sustained leadership, dedication and originality of thought have inspired students and colleagues alike.

The Gold Medal recipient will be announced September 15, 2017.