Montréal philosopher wins SSHRC’s 2018 Gold Medal

SSHRC Impact Awards celebrate Canada’s most curious minds and the impact of their research

October 3, 2018, Ottawa, Ontario—Social sciences and humanities researchers bring the very best ideas and research about people, behaviour, and human thought to light. This helps us to understand the world around us and improve people’s lives. That’s why the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) celebrates Canada’s very best researchers in these fields at the annual Impact Awards.

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General, will present recipients of the 2018 SSHRC Impact Awards with their prizes at a ceremony at Rideau Hall this evening. The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, minister of Science and Sport, will join the Governor General for the event.

This year’s Gold Medal recipient is Université de Montréal philosopher and leading thinker in the humanities, Jean Grondin. He has advanced knowledge in the fields of German philosophy, metaphysics and hermeneutics ̶ the theory of interpretation ̶ with wide-ranging impact in Canada and internationally.

Four other winners will also be celebrated tonight for their work on the complexities of chronic pain, the effects of human and industry interactions with the environment, restorative justice, and the role of labour and workplaces as climate change linchpins.


"Our government is committed to science, evidence-based decision-making and a culture of curiosity. Today, we celebrate Canada’s most curious minds and the impact of their work at home and abroad. These are the research leaders that help guide our society to make evidence-based decisions that impact on our communities, children, economy, health and future prosperity."

The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport

"Jean Grondin is one of the world’s leading scholars in modern philosophy, and the translation of his work into some 15 languages has had a significant impact reaching beyond academe. The five Impact Award recipients are innovators who have demonstrated a strong commitment to making their research known and accessible by embracing multisector, multidisciplinary, and multi-institutional collaboration. Their work contributes to making Canada a leader in social sciences and humanities research and research training."

Ted Hewitt, President, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council

Quick facts

  • The Gold Medal is SSHRC’s highest research honour and comes with $100,000 for future research. The four other winners in the Impact, Talent, Insight, Connection and Partnership categories receive $50,000 each in research funding.  
  • The Talent Award goes to Shane D. Neilson, a medical doctor-poet and SSHRC Vanier Scholar at McMaster University, working on the complexities of chronic pain.
  • The Insight Award goes to Tania Li, a cultural anthropologist at the University of Toronto, specializing in the effects of human and industry interactions with the environment.
  • The Connection Award goes to Jennifer Llewellyn, of Dalhousie University, one of the world's leading experts on restorative justice.
  • The Partnership Award goes to Carla Lipsig-Mummé, of York University, a pioneer in the area of labour, workplaces and mitigating the impacts of climate change.

Associated Links

Follow SSHRC on Twitter: @SSHRC_CRSH | #SSHRCImpact | #SSHRC40


Nyree St-Denis
Communications Advisor
Office of the Minister of Science and Sport
Tel.: 343-291-4051

Media Relations
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Tel.: 343-291-1777

Yoan St-Onge
Communications Advisor
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Tel.: 613-947-6560