SSHRC-funded researchers appointed to the Order of Canada

On December 28, 2019, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, announced the latest appointments to the Order of Canada.

Five SSHRC-funded researchers were among the 120 new appointments. We would like to congratulate and recognize the following researchers named as officers (O.C.) and members (C.M.) of the Order of Canada:

  • Alain-G. Gagnon, O.C., Canada Research Chair in Quebec and Canadian Studies, for his contributions to social sciences, notably for his research in federalism, Francophone-Anglophone relations, and national identities;
  • Karen Messing, O.C, from the Université du Québec à Montréal, for her pioneering research into ergonomic work conditions, particularly as they affect women’s health;
  • Lorna Wanósts'a7 Williams, O.C., a member of SSHRC’s Indigenous Advisory Circle, for her contributions to Indigenous education and for her advocacy of Indigenous language revitalization programs;
  • Omer Chouinard, C.M., from the Université de Moncton, for his efforts to protect ecosystems in the Maritimes, as a professor of environmental studies; and
  • Julie Macfarlane, C.M., from the University of Windsor, for her contributions as a lawyer and mediator, and for her advocacy of self-represented litigants.

Established in 1967 by Queen Elizabeth II, the Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest civilian honours. It recognizes people in all sectors of Canadian society for their outstanding achievements, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Their contributions are varied, yet they have all enriched the lives of others and made a difference to this country.

Date modified: