SSHRC-funded researchers appointed to Order of Canada

On December 27, 2018, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, announced the latest appointments to the Order of Canada.

SSHRC would like to congratulate and acknowledge the following SSHRC-funded researchers appointed as officers (O.C.) and members (C.M.) of the Order of Canada:

  • Jo-ann Archibald Q'um Q'um Xiiem, O.C., for her leadership in advancing Indigenous educational programs in Canadian elementary and university curricula;
  • Alexandra F. Johnston, C.M., for her scholarly contributions to the humanities, notably in early drama studies;
  • Mary R. L'Abbé, C.M., for her contributions to the health of Canadians as a champion of nutrition;
  • John Rea, C.M., for his musical creations and technical experimentations as a composer and musicologist;
  • Heather Stuart, C.M., for her commitment to advancing the mental health conversation in Canada; and
  • Richard Ernest Tremblay, O.C., for his scientific contributions to psychology and psychiatry as a child development specialist.

Established in 1967 by Queen Elizabeth II, the Order of Canada is the cornerstone of the Canadian Honours System. The order recognizes people in all sectors of Canadian society for their outstanding achievements, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Their contributions are varied, yet they have all enriched the lives of others and made a difference to this country.