Royal Society of Canada recognizes SSHRC-funded researchers

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) has recognized the outstanding scholarly and scientific achievements of Canada’s most accomplished and promising minds, and many are SSHRC-funded researchers. Founded in 1883, The Royal Society of Canada comprises the academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences.

Election to the academies is one of the highest honours a scholar can receive within Canada. The following were among those elected this year by their peers as new fellows of the Academy of the Arts and Humanities, in recognition of their outstanding scholarly achievements:

  • Martine Hébert, Canada Research Chair in Interpersonal Traumas and Resilience, Université du Québec à Montréal
  • Claude La Charité, Canada Research Chair in Literary History and Printed Heritage, Université du Québec à Rimouski
  • Dominic McIver Lopes, Department of Philosophy, The University of British Columbia
  • Julia M. Wright, Department of English, Dalhousie University

The RSC also named the following SSHRC-funded researchers to the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists:

  • Anila Asghar, Department of Integrated Studies in Education, McGill University
  • Sarah Burch, Canada Research Chair in Sustainability, Governance and Innovation, University of Waterloo
  • Anatoliy Gruzd, Canada Research Chair in Social Media Data Stewardship, Ryerson University
  • Fannie Lafontaine, Canada Research Chair in International Criminal Justice and Human Rights, Université Laval
  • Katherine McKittrick, Department of Gender Studies, Queen’s University
  • Carla Rice, Canada Research Chair in Care, Gender and Relationships, University of Guelph
  • Sylvain Sénécal, Department of Marketing, HEC Montréal

The Society is also recognizing 12 eminent Canadian scholars and researchers with medals and awards in 2017. Among those honoured for their outstanding achievements in research are the following:

  • Anver Emon, Canada Research Chair in Religion, Pluralism and the Rule of Law, who is the winner of the Kitty Newman Memorial Award, for significant contributions to understanding the relation between Islamic law and other legal traditions; and
  • Katherine Bruce-Lockhart, a former SSHRC Doctoral Award recipient and current postdoctoral researcher at the University of Toronto, studying the lived experiences of Uganda’s postcolonial security professionals, who won the Alice Wilson Award (SSHRC).

SSHRC congratulates all the researchers elected into or named by the RSC this year.