SSHRC-funded researchers appointed to the Order of Canada

On December 30, 2016, as Canada prepared to launch its year-long 150th birthday celebration, Governor General David Johnston announced the latest appointments to the Order of Canada.

Of the 100 new appointments, SSHRC would like to specifically congratulate and acknowledge the six SSHRC-funded researchers who were named members of the Order of Canada:

  • Howard Adelman, from Toronto, Ontario (York University), for his pioneering work on refugee sponsorship and for his contributions to the establishment of refugee studies as an academic discipline;
  • Paul Michael Boothe, from London, Ontario (Western University), for his contributions, as an academic and a senior public servant, to shaping federal and provincial economic and fiscal policy;
  • Linda Cardinal, from Ottawa, Ontario (University of Ottawa), for her research and contributions to public policy development and to advancing language rights;
  • Gloria Margaret Gutman, from Vancouver, British Columbia (Simon Fraser University), for her research and leadership in the field of gerontology and for her advocacy against elder abuse;
  • George Norman Hillmer, from Ottawa, Ontario (Carleton University), for his contributions to the study of Canada’s foreign policy and international relations in the 20th century; and
  • Liz Ingram, from Edmonton, Alberta (University of Alberta), for her contributions to the visual arts community through a variety of media, including printmaking and digital media, and for cultivating emerging talent as an educator and mentor.

Established by Queen Elizabeth II in 1967 as part of Canada’s centennial celebrations, the Order of Canada is the country’s highest civilian honours. It recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.