SSHRC president congratulates winners of national contest to communicate research in a compelling way

Ted Hewitt, president of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), today applauded five talented students who have been named this year’s top research storytellers. The five were selected from among 25 finalists in a national challenge to find innovative ways to communicate the impact of social sciences and humanities research.

SSHRC’s annual Storytellers contest challenges postsecondary students to demonstrate—in three minutes or 300 words—how SSHRC-funded research is making a difference in the lives of Canadians. The 25 finalists this year presented research on a range of important issues, including big data, climate change, Indigenous knowledge, youth, food security and immigration. All highlighted how knowledge from the social sciences and humanities helps Canadians understand and improve the world around us.

“The Storytellers contest allows SSHRC to recognize and reward new and emerging research communicators, and to showcase the positive impact that social sciences and humanities research is having on Canada and the world,” said Hewitt. “Through their creative, compelling stories, these students stand out as exceptional examples of Canada’s next generation of research communicators. Congratulations!”

Left to Right: Allison Gray, Nadia Naffi, Ted Hewitt, Tammara Soma, Ayesha Mian Akram, Mimi Masson, and Dominique Bérubé

This year’s five winning students are:

The final round of competition took place in front of a live audience at the 2017 Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences, hosted by Ryerson University in Toronto.

Judging the competitors were Sylvie Dostaler, manager of outreach and public affairs at SSHRC; Shari Graydon, author, journalist and founder of Informed Opinions; Paul Kennedy, host of CBC Radio’s Ideas; Guy Laforest, president of the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences; and Pierre Normand, vice-president of External Relations and Communications at the Canada Foundation for Innovation.

Below is a list of the 25 finalists in this year’s contest, with links to their bios. Video entries by the 2017 Storytellers finalists can be viewed on SSHRC’s YouTube channel.

For media enquiries, contact:

Julia Gualtieri
Media Relations
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter (#SSHRCStorytellers).

2017 Top 25 Storytellers Finalists

Natalie Baird

University of Manitoba

Elise Boulanger

Vancouver Island University

John Bryans

Concordia University

Amanda Chalupa

McGill University

Cheryl Chan

University of Waterloo

AnneMarie Dorland

University of Calgary

Denise DuBois

University of Toronto

Audrey Dutilly

Université Laval

Laura Fallon

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Joseph Gagné

Université Laval

Andrea Gauthier

University of Toronto

Jenna Gilchrist

University of Toronto

Allison Gray

University of Windsor

Abhilash Kantamneni

University of Guelph

Myriam Lapointe-Gagnon

Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

Mimi Masson

University of Toronto

Kathrina Mazurik

University of Saskatchewan

Meagan McCardle

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Ayesha Mian Akram

University of Windsor

Nadia Naffi

Concordia University

Amy Peirone

University of Windsor

Ali Sharifkhani

University of Toronto

Tammara Soma

University of Toronto

Courtney Szto

Simon Fraser University

Megan Wilson

University of Guelph