Transformation


COVID-19 update

The Letter of Intent (LOI) deadline for the 2020 Transformation Competition has been extended to July 15, 2020, at 8 p.m. (eastern). This is the deadline for submission to the agency by the research administrators; institutions may have earlier internal deadlines. The full application deadline (by invitation only) has been extended to April 13, 2021. Dates for future milestones will also be changed. 

The Transformation stream is designed to support large-scale, Canadian-led interdisciplinary research projects that address a major challenge with the potential to realize real and lasting change (high-reward). The challenge may be fundamental, leading to a scientific breakthrough, or applied, with a social, economic, environmental or health impact. Projects are expected to be world-leading, drawing on global research expertise where relevant.

Competitions

2020

2020 Competition

This year’s competition is open to interdisciplinary research teams composed of five members or more and includes mandatory notice of intent (NOI) to apply and letter of intent (LOI) to apply stages.

  • NOI deadline:
  • LOI deadline:
  • Application deadline (by invitation only):

Competition information

Merit review

A multidisciplinary and multi-sectoral review panel composed of national and international members with broad expertise evaluate the applications according to the selection criteria. At the final stage, a jury will select the applications to recommend for funding.

Results

The LOI-stage review has been completed and applicants have been informed of the outcomes. Of the 347 LOIs submitted, 31 were invited to the Full Application stage. The number invited to the Full Application stage was limited given the amount of work required to prepare a complete application and the burden on reviewers, and recognizing that only six to eight proposals will be funded through the competition.


Latest

All news

Contacts

General inquiries:
NFRF-FNFR@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Communications:
communications@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Help – Convergence Portal:
websupport@convergence.gc.ca
Tel.: 613-995-4273


Date modified:

Transformation


Mises à jour relativement à la COVID-19

La date limite de présentation de la lettre d’intention du concours 2020 du volet Transformation a été repoussée au 15 juillet 2020, à 20 heures (heure de l’Est). Il s’agit de la date limite de soumission par les administrateurs de la recherche; les établissements peuvent avoir un délai interne plus court. La date limite de présentation de la demande (sur invitation seulement) a été repoussée au 13 avril 2021. Les dates des prochaines étapes changeront aussi.

Le volet Transformation est conçu pour soutenir des projets de recherche interdisciplinaires de grande envergure qui sont dirigés par des Canadiens et qui abordent une question importante en ayant la possibilité de mener à des changements concrets et durables (haut rendement). Il peut s’agir de recherche fondamentale, pouvant déboucher sur une percée scientifique, ou de recherche appliquée, susceptible d’avoir des répercussions sociales, économiques, environnementales ou en matière de santé. Les projets sont censés être de calibre international et doivent, le cas échéant, tirer parti des meilleures compétences mondiales en recherche.

Concours

2020

Concours de 2020

Le concours de cette année est ouvert aux équipes de recherche interdisciplinaires composées d’au moins cinq membres. Tous les candidats doivent soumettre un avis d'intention de présenter une demande et une lettre d'intention de présenter une demande.

  • Date limite pour soumettre l’avis d’intention de présenter une demande :
  • Date limite pour soumettre la lettre d’intention :
  • Date limite pour la présentation de la demande (sur invitation seulement) :

Information relative au concours

Évaluation du mérite

Un comité d’évaluation multidisciplinaire et multisectoriel composé de membres canadiens et étrangers très compétents évalue les demandes en fonction des critères de sélection établis. À la dernière étape, un jury sélectionnera les demandes à recommander en vue d’un financement.

Résultats

L’étape de l’évaluation de la lettre d’intention est terminée. Les candidats ont été informés des résultats. Sur les 347 lettres d’intention soumises, 31 ont été invitées à présenter une demande complète. Le nombre de personnes invitées a été limité compte tenu de la quantité de travail nécessaire pour préparer une demande complète et de la charge de travail des évaluateurs, et compte tenu du fait que seules six à huit propositions seront financées dans le cadre du concours.


Nouvelles récentes et mises à jour
Coordonnées

Demandes générales :
NFRF-FNFR@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Communications :
communications@chairs-chaires.gc.ca

Aide – Portail Convergence :
soutienweb@convergence.gc.ca
Tél. : 613-995-4273


Date de modification :