COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


2013-14 Annual Report on the Administration of the Privacy Act

Introduction

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) is a federal agency that promotes and supports research and training in the social sciences and humanities.

SSHRC is pleased to provide its annual report on the administration of the Privacy Act, as required by section 72 of the Act.

The purpose of the Privacy Act is to extend the present laws of Canada that protect the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves held by a government institution and to provide individuals with a right of access to that information.

Administration of the Privacy Act

At SSHRC, responsibility for processing requests under the Privacy Act and providing advice and support on matters pertaining to the legislation falls to the Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Coordinator. Both formal and informal requests are routed through the ATIP Coordinator’s office.

During the period covered by this report, the ATIP Coordinator spent, on average, one and a half days per week administering the requests (formal and informal) and the various Treasury Board requirements related to the Privacy Act

As part of its duties under the Privacy Act, SSHRC ensures that written notices are provided to SSHRC applicants, reviewers, referees and merit review committee members advising them of their rights and responsibilities under the Act as well as the manner in which the information they supply is treated in accordance with the legislation. These notices appear in program guides, in the portal to SSHRC’s online application system, and in other pertinent material sent to applicants and reviewers of applications.

In addition, merit review committee members are advised of their responsibilities in relation to the Privacy Act and are required to sign a declaration ensuring the confidentiality of the material used in adjudication deliberations.

When advice on the administration of the Act is required, it is sought from the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, Department of Justice legal counsel, the Office of the Information Commissioner, and/or other federal government ATIP offices.

The ATIP Coordinator’s office holds records of all privacy requests received within the last two years.

Privacy Act Designation Order

A copy of SSHRC’s designation order for the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act is attached. The order—with the exception of paragraphs 8(2)(e) and 8(2)(m), which are reserved for the president, executive vice-president, and executive director, Corporate Strategy and Performance—states that the persons holding the positions of executive vice-president; executive director, Corporate Strategy and Performance; and ATIP Coordinator, are designated to exercise or perform all of the powers, duties and functions of the head of a government institution under the Act insofar as they may be exercised or performed in relation to SSHRC.

Statistical Report for the Fiscal Year 2013-14

The statistical report for the period of April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014 is appended.

Zero (0) formal requests were received during the reporting period, which is somewhat of an anomaly for SSHRC. A higher than average number of formal requests (i.e., eight [8]) was received in 2012-2013.  

Figure 1 Formal requests received

Description of figure

Formal Requests Received

This graph shows the number of formal requests under the Privacy Act received by SSHRC in the five fiscal years spanning 2009 and 2014.

The X-axis presents the fiscal years, with each year represented by a bar.

The Y-axis presents the number of requests received in each fiscal year.

The data presented in the graph is as follows:

  • 2009-2010: 7 formal requests received
  • 2010-2011: 2 formal requests received
  • 2011-2012: 3 formal requests received
  • 2012-2013: 8 formal requests received
  • 2013-2014: 0 formal request received

Nine (9) informal requests for access to personal information were received and processed by the ATIP Coordinator over the course of the fiscal year. It is not uncommon for SSHRC to have a higher number of informal requests than formal requests.

Privacy Impact Assessments

In the 2013-2014 fiscal year, discussions concerning the privacy impact assessment (PIA) of SSHRC’s new Research Portal platform for the management of grants and awards were renewed between SSHRC and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC). The two agencies will jointly coordinate and lead the PIA work in the coming year. It is expected that the PIA will be completed and approved in 2014-2015. In addition, a PIA for SSHRC’s new Achievement Reporting system is currently underway, and is also expected to be completed in 2014-2015.

Education and Training

During the fiscal year 2013-2014, the ATIP Coordinator delivered three (3) training sessions to a total of ten (10) SSHRC staff members. The sessions covered the principles of privacy legislation, SSHRC’s procedures for processing related requests, and procedures for the use, security, preservation and disposition of personal information under SSHRC's custody and control.

Disclosures Under Paragraph 8(2) of the Privacy Act

During this reporting period SSHRC made no disclosures pursuant to section 8(2)(m) of the Act, which pertains to disclosures of personal information in instances where there is a public interest in the disclosure or where disclosure would benefit the individual involved.

Significant Changes to SSHRC’s Organization, Programs, Operations, or Policies

SSHRC has worked to implement the use of Access Pro software (a case management and redaction tool) over the course of 2013-2014, and will begin using the software to process all requests under the Privacy Act as of April 1, 2014. SSHRC also hired a new ATIP Coordinator in December of 2013.

In collaboration with NSERC, SSHRC finalized its Privacy/Security Breach Protocol, which came into effect October 8, 2013. The purpose of this protocol document is to contain and respond to any incidents resulting in the unauthorized disclosure of personal information by SSHRC, and to ensure that the reporting process is complete and consistent; and that, if required, corrective and preventative measures are implemented. The protocol is accompanied by a breach reporting form and both documents are available on SSHRC's Intranet (internal website). 

The decentralized publishing requirements for Info Source came into effect for SSHRC in December 2013, and SSHRC has since published its own Info Source chapter on its website. SSHRC continues to update this chapter, as needed, in order to harmonize it with SSHRC’s program alignment architecture and to ensure that the information is presented clearly.

Complaints, Investigations and Appeals to the Office of the Information Commissioner

No complaints with respect to requests under the Privacy Act were filed with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada during the fiscal year 2013-2014. 

Monitoring processing times

The Executive Director, Corporate Strategy and Performance was regularly kept apprised (normally on a weekly basis) by the ATIP Coordinator of all matters pertaining to the Privacy Act. During the reporting period, SSHRC began its transition to the use of Access
Pro software, which is the tool that the Agency will use as of April 1, 2014 to monitor the time to process privacy requests and requests for the correction of personal information.

Appeals to Courts

One appeal is before the Federal Court pertaining to a request submitted to SSHRC in a previous fiscal year. The outcome of the case is not yet known.

June 2014

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Rapport annuel sur l’application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignement personnels de 2013-2014

Introduction

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) est un organisme fédéral autonome qui appuie la recherche et la formation avancée dans le domaine des sciences humaines et qui en fait la promotion.

Le CRSH a le plaisir de soumettre son rapport annuel sur l’application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, comme le prévoit l’article 72 de la Loi.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels vise à compléter la législation canadienne en matière de protection des renseignements personnels relevant des institutions fédérales et de droit d’accès des individus aux renseignements personnels qui les concernent.

Adminstration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Au sein du CRSH, le coordonnateur de l’accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels est responsable de traiter les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et d’offrir du soutien et des conseils sur les questions relatives à la Loi. Les demandes officielles et les demandes non officielles sont acheminées au bureau du coordonnateur.

Durant la période couverte par le présent rapport, le coordonnateur a consacré en moyenne un jour et demi par semaine à l’administration des demandes (officielles et non officielles) et des diverses exigences du Conseil du Trésor relatives à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Dans le cadre de ses responsabilités régies par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le CRSH s’assure que l’on remet aux candidats, aux évaluateurs, aux répondants et aux membres des comités d’évaluation du mérite du CRSH des avis écrits les informant des droits et des responsabilités qui sont les leurs en vertu de la Loi ainsi que de la manière dont les renseignements qu’ils fournissent sont traités en fonction de la législation. Ces avis figurent dans les guides de programme, sur le portail menant au système de demande en ligne et dans d’autres documents pertinents envoyés aux candidats et aux évaluateurs des demandes.

De plus, les membres des comités d’évaluation du mérite sont avisés des obligations qui sont les leurs en vertu de la Loi et sont tenus de signer une déclaration indiquant qu’ils respectent le caractère confidentiel des documents utilisés aux fins de délibération.

En ce qui concerne l’administration de la Loi, on sollicite les conseils du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, d’un conseiller juridique du ministère de la Justice, du Commissariat à l'information du Canada ou des bureaux du gouvernement fédéral chargés de l’accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP).

Le bureau du coordonnateur conserve tous les documents sur les demandes d’accès aux renseignements personnels des deux dernières années.

Arrêté sur la délégation en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Vous trouverez ci-joint une copie de l’arrêté sur la délégation de pouvoirs du CRSH pour la Loi de l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. L’arrêté confère aux titulaires des postes de vice-président général, de directeur exécutif, Stratégie et rendement organisationnels, et de coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels — à l’exception des alinéas 8(2)(e) et 8(2)(m), lesquels sont réservés au président, au vice-président général et au directeur exécutif, Stratégie et rendement organisationnels, – les fonctions et les pouvoirs confiés au responsable d’un organisme fédéral se rapportant aux termes de la Loi, et ce, dans la mesure où ceux-ci peuvent être exercés par le CRSH.

Rapport statistique de l’exercise financier 2013-2014

Vous trouverez ci-joint le rapport statistique de la période allant du 1er avril 2013 au 31 mars 2014.

Ce rapport indique qu’aucune (0) demande officielle n’a été reçue pendant la période couverte par le présent rapport, ce qui, pour le CRSH, ne correspond pas à la norme. Durant l’exercice 2012-2013, le CRSH avait reçu plus de demandes officielles [soit huit (8)] qu’à l’habitude.

Figure 1 Formal requests received

Demande officielles reçues

Demandes officielles reçues

Cette figure présente le nombre de demandes officielles présentées dans le cadre de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels reçues par le CRSH au cours des cinq exercices allant de 2009 à 2014.

L'axe des abscisses présente les exercices, chacun étant représenté par une barre. L'axe des ordonnées présente le nombre de demandes reçues durant chaque exercice.

Les données figurant dans la figure se présentent comme suit :

  • 2009-2010 : 7 demandes officielles reçues
  • 2010-2011 : 2 demandes officielles reçues
  • 2011-2012 : 3 demandes officielles reçues
  • 2012-2013 : 8 demandes officielles reçues
  • 2013-2014 : 0 demande officielle reçue

Neuf (9) demandes de renseignements personnels non officielles ont été reçues et traitées par le coordonnateur durant l’exercice. Il n’est pas rare que le CRSH reçoive plus de demandes non officielles que de demandes officielles.

Rapports d’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014, le CRSH et le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) ont renouvelé leurs discussions concernant l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privé en lien avec le nouveau Portail de recherche. Le CRSH et le CRSNG mèneront ensemble l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privé au cours de la prochaine année. Le rapport devrait être terminé durant l’exercice 2014-2015. En outre, le CRSH travaille présentement à la rédaction d’un rapport d’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée en lien avec son nouveau système sur les rapports liés aux réalisations. Ce rapport devrait être terminé en 2014-2015.

Initiation et formation

Au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014, le coordonnateur a offert trois (3) séances de formation à dix (10) membres du personnel du CRSH. Ces séances ont permis de traiter de sujets tels que les principes de la législation sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les procédures du CRSH concernant le traitement de demandes connexes ainsi que les procédures sur l’utilisation, la protection, la conservation et la disposition des renseignements personnels sous la garde et le contrôle du CRSH.

Divulgation en vertue du paragraphe 8(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Au cours de la présente période de production de rapports, le CRSH n’a présenté aucune communication en vertu de l’alinéa 8(2)(m) de la Loi, qui concerne la communication de renseignements personnels lorsque des raisons d’intérêt public justifient la divulgation ou que l’individu concerné en tirerait un avantage. 

Changements importants apportés à la structure, aux programmes, aux opérations ou aux politiques

Le CRSH s’est efforcé de mettre en place le logiciel Access Pro (un outil de gestion de cas et de rédaction) durant l’exercice 2013-2014. Il commencera à se servir de ce logiciel pour traiter toute demande liée à la protection des renseignements personnels présentée à compter du 1er avril 2014. En décembre 2013, le CRSH a engagé un nouveau coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels.

En collaboration avec le CRSNG, le CRSH a établi un protocole relatif aux atteintes à la protection et à la sécurité des renseignements personnels, lequel est entré en vigueur le 8 octobre 2013. S’accompagnant d’un formulaire de rapport en cas d’atteinte à la vie privé, ce protocole vise à gérer tout incident issu de la divulgation non autorisée de renseignements personnels et à s’assurer que le processus d’élaboration de rapports est complet et uniforme – quitte à prendre, au besoin, des mesures correctives ou préventives. Le protocole et le formulaire connexe sont affichés dans le site Intranet du CRSH.

En décembre 2013, la décentralisation de l’obligation de publication dans Info Source est entrée en vigueur. Depuis, le CRSH publie son propre chapitre d’Info Source dans son site Web. En outre, il continue à mettre à jour ce chapitre, au besoin, afin de l’harmoniser à son architecture d’alignement des programmes et de présenter clairement ses renseignements.

Plaintes et enquêtes

Aucune plainte liée à une demande présentée au CRSH en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels n’a été déposée auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014.

Surveillance des délais de traitement

La directrice exécutive, Stratégie et rendement organisationnels, a été tenue régulièrement au courant (à toutes les semaines habituellement) par le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP des questions touchant la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport, le CRSH a entamé sa transition vers l’utilisation du logiciel Access Pro, l’outil qu’emploiera le CRSH dès le 1er avril 2014 pour surveiller le délai de traitement des demandes de protection de la vie privée et les demandes de correction des renseignements personnels.

Appels interjetés auprès de la cours fédérale

Un appel a été soumis à la Cour fédérale concernant la demande présentée au CRSH dans un exercice précédent. Le résultat de l’affaire n’est pas encore connu.

Juin 2014