COVID-19 Update

Due to COVID-19, many deadlines are being revised. Learn more about the impacts of COVID-19 on SSHRC's programs.


Date published: March 20, 2020

SSHRC Leaders 2017 Annual Meeting—Executive Summary

On December 7 and 8, 2017, SSHRC held its tenth annual SSHRC Leaders meeting at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) in Ottawa. This event was attended by a record 65 Leaders representing institutions across Canada. Prior to the meeting, 18 SSHRC Leaders representing new and existing members of the network participated in an orientation session.

Following welcome and introductory remarks from Ursula Gobel, associate vice-president, Future Challenges, SSHRC President Ted Hewitt delivered his opening remarks. He discussed the federal government’s response to Canada’s Fundamental Science Review and provided an overview of this past year’s activities, noting an increase in the number of collaborations with various government agencies.

An Update and Discussion on Programs and Competitions session led to a meaningful exchange among SSHRC Leaders and SSHRC’s senior management. A range of topics was discussed, including:

  • support to small universities;
  • support for undergraduate research scholarship and international students;
  • research-creation funding; and
  • classification of design as a research area.

This was followed by a session on strategic overview, which involved an open conversation with the five members of SSHRC’s senior executive team and was moderated by Robert Luke, SSHRC Leader from OCAD University. Comments and questions from the SSHRC Leaders touched on a range of issues, including levels of federal funding for social science and humanities research; institutional recognition for the value of community-engaged research and knowledge mobilization; and challenges for smaller institutions.

The first of three thematic discussions focused on the Research Portal. Feedback was sought through roundtable discussions in the following areas: funding opportunities, merit review process, achieving results, and award administration.

The second thematic discussion, in a panel format, was on the Government of Canada’s Innovation and Skills Plan. Speakers included policy-makers from three departments: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, Treasury Board of Canada, and Employment and Social Development Canada. The panelists emphasized the important role of social sciences and humanities research in policy-making and as an input to innovation.

The third and final thematic discussion also took the form of a panel, with representatives from the three federal research agencies—SSHRC, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. This was followed by roundtable discussions and a plenary session. Small group discussions centred on five areas:

  • internationalization;
  • leadership;
  • support for Indigenous research and researchers;
  • assessment of individuals with career interruptions; and
  • integration of social sciences and humanities into the Canada Excellence Research Chairs.

An evening reception followed the close of the day’s sessions. Ted Hewitt made brief introductory remarks, thanking the LAC for hosting the SSHRC Leaders meeting. Normand Charbonneau, assistant deputy minister and chief operating officer, provided welcoming remarks on behalf of the LAC.

On day two, Roseann O’Reilly Runte, president and CEO of the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), spoke about the CFI’s current activities and longer-term objectives. O’Reilly Runte remarked on the value of interdisciplinary research, the importance of training students with skills essential for their future work, as well as evaluation systems and success measures.

Ursula Gobel presented SSHRC’s 2018-21 implementation plan for the Imagining Canada’s Future initiative, which is composed of three pillars: Foresight on Societal Futures, Research on Emerging Issues, and Futures in Research and Training.  

SSHRC Leaders also participated in a series of World Café sessions, rotating among three of six topics of their choice: research data management, Indigenous research, scholarly publishing / open access, doctoral awards harmonization, social infrastructure, and harmonization of post-award administration.

It was noted that 2018 marks SSHRC’s 40th anniversary, and universities are encouraged to spotlight the contributions of SSHRC-funded research and talent at their respective institutions. Further information on SSHRC’s 40th anniversary activities will be forthcoming.

Mises à jour relativement à la COVID-19

COVID-19 : impact sur les programmes du CRSH, base de données d'experts et perspectives de la communauté.


Réunion annuelle des leaders pour le CRSH 2017 − Sommaire

Les 7 et 8 décembre 2017 a eu lieu la dixième réunion annuelle des leaders pour le CRSH à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, à Ottawa. Un nombre record de 65 leaders représentant divers établissements canadiens ont participé à la réunion. Avant la rencontre, 18 leaders pour le CRSH représentant de nouveaux membres et des membres actuels ont participé à une séance d’orientation.

Après le mot de bienvenue et les observations préliminaires d’Ursula Gobel, vice-présidente adjointe de la Direction des défis de demain, le président du CRSH, Ted Hewitt, a prononcé un mot d’ouverture. Il a parlé de la réponse du gouvernement à l’Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences et fait le point sur les activités réalisées au cours de la dernière année, soulignant l’augmentation du nombre de collaborations avec divers organismes gouvernementaux.

Une séance de mise à jour et de discussion au sujet des programmes et des concours a permis un échange fructueux entre les leaders pour le CRSH et la haute gestion du CRSH. Ensemble, ils ont analysé toute une gamme de sujets, notamment :

  • le soutien aux petites universités;
  • le soutien offert aux programmes de bourses de recherche de premier cycle et aux étudiants étrangers;
  • le financement de la recherche-création;
  • la classification du design en tant que domaine de recherche.

Puis, dans le cadre d’un aperçu stratégique, les cinq membres de la haute gestion du CRSH ont tenu une conversation ouverte animée par Robert Luke, leader pour le CRSH de l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario. Les commentaires et les questions des leaders pour le CRSH ont porté sur une variété de sujets dont : les niveaux de financement fédéral pour la recherche en sciences humaines; la reconnaissance institutionnelle de la valeur associée à la recherche axée sur la communauté et à la mobilisation des connaissances; les défis auxquels les petits établissements doivent faire face.

La première discussion thématique a été axée sur le portail de recherche. En table ronde, les leaders pour le CRSH ont fait part de leurs commentaires sur les sujets suivants : les occasions de financement; le processus d’évaluation du mérite; l’atteinte de résultats; l’administration des attributions.

Menée sous forme de discussions de groupe, la deuxième discussion thématique portait sur le Plan pour l’innovation et les compétences du gouvernement du Canada. Des responsables de l’élaboration des politiques de trois ministères (Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, le Conseil du Trésor du Canada et Emploi et Développement social Canada) ont agi à titre de  panélistes, mettant l’accent sur l’important rôle de la recherche en sciences humaines dans l’élaboration de politiques et l’innovation.

La dernière discussion thématique a également consisté en des discussions de groupe, cette fois avec des représentants de trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux – le CRSH, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada. Elle a été suivie d’une table ronde et d’une séance plénière. Les discussions de groupe ont été centrées sur cinq thèmes :

  • l’internationalisation;
  • le leadership;
  • l’appui à la recherche autochtone et aux chercheurs autochtones;
  • l’évaluation de personnes dont la carrière a été interrompue;
  • l’intégration des sciences humaines au Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada.

Une réception a conclu la première journée de réunion. Ted Hewitt a entamé la soirée en remerciant Bibliothèque et Archives Canada d’accueillir les leaders pour le CRSH. Pour sa part, Normand Charbonneau, sous-ministre adjoint et chef de l’exploitation de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, a souhaité la bienvenue aux participants au nom de son ministère.

Lors de la deuxième journée de réunion, Roseann O’Reilly Runte, qui a récemment été nommée au poste de présidente-directrice générale de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, a décrit les activités actuelles et les objectifs à long terme de son organisme. Elle a souligné la valeur de la recherche interdisciplinaire, l’importance de former les étudiants afin qu’ils acquièrent les compétences essentielles à leur emploi futur ainsi que les systèmes d’évaluation et les outils de mesure de la réussite.

Ursula Gobel a présenté le plan de mise en œuvre 2018‑2021 de l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada, lequel comprend trois piliers : la prospective des avenirs possibles pour la société; la recherche sur les questions émergentes; les avenirs possibles pour la recherche et la formation.  

Les leaders pour le CRSH ont aussi participé à une série de cafés du monde, où ils ont discuté à tour de rôle de trois sujets de leur choix parmi les sujets suivants : la gestion des données de recherche; la recherche autochtone; la publication savante et le libre accès; l’harmonisation des bourses de doctorat; l’infrastructure sociale; l’harmonisation de l’administration des fonds après l’attribution.

La réunion a pris fin par la mention du 40e anniversaire du CRSH en 2018. Les universités sont encouragées à mettre en lumière les contributions de la recherche et du talent en sciences humaines appuyés par le CRSH. De plus amples renseignements sur les activités soulignant le 40e anniversaire du CRSH seront communiqués sous peu.