COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Annual SSHRC Leaders Meeting, December 3 to 4, 2015

On December 3 and 4, SSHRC held its eighth annual SSHRC Leaders meeting at Library and Archives Canada in Ottawa. The event was attended by Leaders representing 52 institutions and aimed to:

  • identify and address issues of key interest from the research community regarding SSHRC programs and policies;
  • share best practices that promote and support excellence in research, research training and knowledge mobilization in the social sciences and humanities in Canada; and
  • engage senior university administrators in the consultation process for development of new policies and research-related initiative.

Thursday, December 3, 2015

Following the welcome and opening remarks from Ursula Gobel, associate vice-president, Future Challenges, Brent Herbert-Copley, executive vice-president, provided the context and vision that underscore SSHRC’s strategic plan for 2016-20. He was joined by Dominique Bérubé, vice-president, Research Programs and Gobel, who outlined the elements of the three strategic objectives. The presentation was open to comments from the Leaders.

The next session was an update on SSHRC’s funding opportunities and merit review processes, which was moderated by Bérubé. The following individuals presented during this session:

  • Adèle Savoie, director, Programs Planning and Operations, provided an overview of committee structures and composition, as well as the challenges of recruiting members and assessors, and an outline of a new application ranking system.
  • Valérie Laflamme, manager, Research Training, provided an update on scholarship and fellowship competition results, and highlighted new joint initiatives to fund postdoctoral scholars.
  • Tim Wilson, executive director, Research Grants and Partnerships, presented an updated analysis of success rates in SSHRC’s grant competitions and highlighted some changes to merit review processes. Wilson also provided an overview of the results of three programs: the Community and College Social Innovation Fund, Aid to Small Universities, and SSHRC Institutional Grants.

After the presentations, the Leaders participated in open discussions during which they put forward a number of suggestions related to these topics.

In the afternoon, Ursula Gobel gave an update on the Imagining Canada’s Future initiative, including the knowledge synthesis grants opportunities, partnerships and related outreach activities. She then hosted a panel session with SSHRC Leaders on the future of learning and teaching – one of the six Future Challenge Areas. The panelists were Antonia Maioni (McGill University), Sally Rutherford (Canadian Association of Graduate Studies) and John O’Meara (Lakehead University).

Tim Wilson introduced a discussion on the steps that SSHRC has taken to support emerging researchers. Presentations by Vincent Larivière (Université de Montréal), Silvia Vilches (Royal Roads University) and Andrew Nelson (Western University) examined the environment for postdoctoral researchers and junior faculty. The session concluded with a plenary discussion on options to address the barriers facing junior faculty and emerging researchers.

The final session for the day, led by Matthew Lucas, executive director, Corporate Strategy and Performance, examined the evolving technical policy and regulatory environment for research data. Lucas outlined the international context for the adoption of common data management practices, and introduced the draft Tri-Agency Statement of Principles on Digital Data Management. Three members of the tri-agency policy advisory group presented their research and administrative experiences and perspectives on data management: Chuck Humphrey (Canadian Association of University Libraries and University of Alberta), Christopher Cochrane (University of Toronto) and Martha Whitehead (Queen’s University). The presentations were followed by a plenary discussion.


Friday, December 4, 2015

SSHRC President Ted Hewitt opened the day by noting that December 6 is the anniversary of the École Polytechnique de Montréal tragedy. He called on the Leaders to take the pledge to end violence against women established by the Status of Women Canada. Hewitt then provided a short update on SSHRC priority activities, including the Trans-Atlantic Platform and meetings with representatives of the new government. He stated that SSHRC will continue to work with other Canadian funding agencies and international partners to support social sciences and humanities research.

A World Café session gave Leaders an opportunity to participate in breakout discussions on a number of developments related to SSHRC programs, policies and strategic initiatives:

  • Plans for marking Canada's 150th anniversary
  • Aboriginal Peoples, research and talent
  • Revision of the Canada Graduate Scholarships – Masters allocation formula
  • Academic-Industry partnerships
  • Merit review
  • Program evaluations

The meeting concluded with a plenary discussion session.

Mises à jour relativement à la COVID-19

COVID-19 : impact sur les programmes du CRSH, base de données d'experts et perspectives de la communauté.


Réunion annuelle des leaders pour le CRSH, les 3 et 4 décembre 2015

Les 3 et 4 décembre 2015, le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) tient sa huitième réunion annuelle des leaders pour le CRSH à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, à Ottawa. Cette réunion, à laquelle assistent des leaders représentant 52 établissements, vise les objectifs suivants :

  • déterminer les principales questions d’intérêt pour les intervenants du milieu de la recherche en ce qui concerne les programmes et les politiques du CRSH et aborder ces questions;
  • faire connaître les bonnes pratiques qui favorisent et soutiennent l’excellence en matière de recherche, de formation en recherche et de mobilisation des connaissances en sciences humaines au Canada;
  • inciter les administrateurs de haut rang des universités à participer au processus de consultation mené en vue de l’élaboration de nouvelles politiques et de nouvelles initiatives liées à la recherche.

Jeudi 3 décembre 2015

Après le mot de bienvenue d’Ursula Gobel, vice-présidente adjointe, Direction des défis de demain, Brent Herbert-Copley, vice-président directeur, explique le contexte et la vision qui sous-tendent le Plan stratégique 2016-2020 du CRSH. Dominique Bérubé, vice-présidente de la Direction des programmes de recherche, et Ursula Gobel se joignent à lui. Mme Gobel présente les différents éléments des trois objectifs stratégiques. Les leaders sont ensuite invités à formuler leurs observations. 

La séance suivante, animée par Dominique Bérubé, fournit l’occasion de faire le point sur les occasions de financement du CRSH et sur ses processus d’évaluation du mérite. Prennent la parole pendant cette séance :

  • Adèle Savoie, directrice, Planification et opérations des programmes, qui donne un aperçu de la structure et de la composition des comités ainsi que des défis que pose le recrutement des membres et des personnes chargées d’évaluer le mérite; elle décrit en outre un nouveau système de classement des demandes;
  • Valérie Laflamme, directrice, Portefeuille de la formation en recherche, qui fait le point sur les résultats des concours visant l’attribution de bourses d’études et de bourses de recherche et fait état de nouvelles initiatives concertées de financement destinées aux boursiers de niveau postdoctoral;
  • Tim Wilson, directeur exécutif, Subventions de recherche et partenariats, qui présente une analyse à jour des taux de réussite aux concours de subventions du CRSH et attire l’attention sur certaines modifications apportées aux processus d’évaluation du mérite; il donne aussi un aperçu des résultats de trois programmes de subventions : Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux communautés et aux collèges, Aide aux petites universités et Subventions institutionnelles du CRSH.

Une fois les exposés terminés, les leaders échangent sur ces sujets et mettent de l’avant un certain nombre de suggestions. 

Au cours de l’après-midi, Ursula Gobel fait le point sur l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada, notamment sur les subventions de synthèse des connaissances qui sont offertes, sur les partenariats et sur les activités de rayonnement connexes. Elle anime ensuite un débat d’experts avec les leaders pour le CRSH sur l’avenir de l’apprentissage et de l’enseignement, soit un des six domaines des défis de demain. Les experts sont Antonia Maioni de l’Université McGill, Sally Rutherford de l’Association canadienne pour les études supérieures et John O’Meara de la Lakehead University.

Tim Wilson lance une discussion sur les mesures que prend le CRSH pour soutenir les chercheurs émergents. Les exposés de Vincent Larivière de l’Université de Montréal, de Silvia Vilches de la Royal Roads University et d‘Andrew Nelson de la Western University portent sur le contexte dans lequel évoluent les chercheurs postdoctoraux et les professeurs en début de carrière. La séance se termine par une discussion en plénière au cours de laquelle les participants se demandent comment abattre les obstacles auxquels font face les chercheurs émergents et les professeurs en début de carrière.

La dernière séance de la journée, animée par Matthew Lucas, directeur exécutif, Stratégie et rendement organisationnels, porte sur l’évolution du cadre de réglementation et de politiques techniques qui régit les données de recherche. Il décrit le contexte international dans lequel s’inscrit l’adoption de pratiques communes de gestion des données et présente la version préliminaire de la Déclaration de principes des trois organismes sur la gestion des données numériques. Trois membres du groupe consultatif sur les politiques des trois organismes subventionnaires font état de leur expérience en recherche et en administration et donnent leur point de vue sur la gestion des données. Il s’agit de Chuck Humphrey de l’Association des bibliothèques de recherche du Canada et de l’University of Alberta, de Christopher Cochrane de l’University of Toronto et de Martha Whitehead de la Queen’s University. Les exposés sont suivis d’une discussion en plénière.


Vendredi 4 décembre 2015

Au début de cette journée, Ted Hewitt, président du CRSH, rappelle que le 6 décembre marquera l’anniversaire de la tragédie survenue à l’École Polytechnique de Montréal. Il invite les leaders à s’engager à éliminer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, un engagement mis de l’avant par Condition féminine Canada. Ted Hewitt fait ensuite brièvement le point sur les activités prioritaires du CRSH. Il mentionne, entre autres, les activités de la Plateforme transatlantique et les rencontres avec des représentants du nouveau gouvernement. Il affirme que le CRSH poursuivra le travail amorcé avec les autres organismes subventionnaires du Canada et avec des partenaires œuvrant sur la scène internationale pour soutenir la recherche en sciences humaines.

Dans le cadre d’une séance « café mondial », les  leaders ont la possibilité de participer à des discussions en petits groupes sur un certain nombre d’éléments nouveaux ayant trait aux programmes, aux politiques et à la stratégie du CRSH :

  • les plans qui sont esquissés pour marquer le 150e anniversaire du Canada;
  • les Autochtones, la recherche et le talent;
  • la révision de la formule d’attribution des bourses d’études supérieures du Canada destinées aux étudiants de maîtrise;
  • les partenariats université-industrie;
  • l’évaluation du mérite;
  • l’évaluation des programmes.

La réunion prend fin sur une discussion en plénière.