COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


2020 Talent Award Winner

Robyn Maynard

Vanier Canada Graduate Scholar
FAST Doctoral Fellow
University of Toronto


Delving into the roots of anti-Black racism is not simply an academic pursuit for Robyn Maynard. The 33-year-old Toronto-based Black feminist author and Vanier Canada Graduate Scholar, who also holds a Faculty of Arts and Science Top Doctoral Fellowship at the University of Toronto, has dedicated roughly half her life to examining and exposing Canada’s history of racism and the resulting injustices that have damaged the lives of generations of Black, Indigenous and racialized Canadians.

Maynard’s passion for the subject dates to her late teens when her life as an activist and advocate developed out of frustration over Canadians’ misplaced pride in the country’s “cultural mosaic” and widely applauded racial tolerance. Far from the image of harmony and social justice the country projects on the world stage, Maynard’s observations of the lived experiences of members of the Black community underscored the disconnect between the professed national commitment to diversity and daily discriminatory practices against Black people.

Black women and children experience disproportionate levels of child welfare, sexual abuse and violence, while Black men have higher rates of incarceration, all of which can exacerbate physical and mental health issues as well as increase peoples’ vulnerability to HIV. Black migrants, such as Haitians, who sought asylum at our borders in recent years, also are unduly harmed and impacted by global displacement. Motivated to act, Maynard became involved in grassroots movements against racial profiling, police violence, detention and deportation.

Interest in these disparities was further fuelled when she was an undergraduate student at McGill University. While living in Montréal, she gained a non-academic perspective on anti-Black discrimination when she became involved in harm reduction, working as a street-based outreach worker for community organizations. “As I looked at the realities of Black people, especially women, it became obvious that what we are facing as a community, whether related to poverty, schooling or policing, is not happening just at the individual or family level, but is structurally embedded in this country’s institutions. And this reality was being made invisible, over and over again, because of bureaucratic inertia and systemic racism.”

After spending her days talking with Black teens being harassed by police on the way to school or fighting immigration and criminal justice challenges confronting adults, it became increasingly apparent that there was a lack of awareness and understanding about our country's history with race and racism and the injustices that persist today.

Maynard turned to writing as a tool to bring these issues to the forefront. In 2017, she published Policing Black Lives: State Violence in Canada from Slavery to the Present. The award-winning national bestseller won several prizes and was named one of the “best 100 books of 2017” by the Hill Times and listed in The Walrus’ “best books of 2018.” A year later, the book was translated into French by award-winning translator Catherine Ego,and published as NoirEs sous surveillance : esclavage, repression, violence d’État au Canada. It won the 2019 Prix de libraires in the category  “essai.”

Maynard is currently co-writing Rehearsals for Living with Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, which is forthcoming from Knopf Canada in 2022.

Maynard’s prolific academic papers on race, gender and discrimination are taught widely in universities across Canada and the United States, in large part due to the cross-cutting nature of her work. Her research crosses boundaries and has applications at multiple levels, locally and internationally, within academic scholarship, direct community and political action, as well as public policy. She has spoken before parliamentary committees, the Senate Standing Committee on Human Rights, and the United Nations Human Rights Working Group of Experts on People of African Descent. Her expertise and outstanding communications skills are regularly sought by local, national and international media outlets.

Despite the time constraints of being a doctoral student and the mother of a young child, Maynard is on the leading edge of research into the unique realities faced by Black migrants living in Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom. Her Vanier-funded dissertation project sheds light on the overlapping forms of social, political, gendered and economic marginalization by highlighting the recent political contributions of Black social movements in support of the human rights of Black migrants. Her research examines the systematic and intimate conditions of those most affected, and will make a significant contribution to migrant studies, feminist studies and Black and African diasporic studies.

While Maynard welcomes the recognition and support, what she finds most encouraging is the courage of Black communities across Canada, and around the world, who are at the vanguard of the creation of a more just society globally.

“Through Black Lives Matters, we are witnessing a movement that is, in no uncertain terms, demanding an end to the systemic anti-Black racism that is so embedded in society, and is shifting and re-imagining safety around the experiences of those who are most marginalized. In this way, we are starting to witness a beautiful and important shift toward abolitionist futures.”


About the award

The annual Impact Awards recognize the highest achievements in SSHRC-funded research, knowledge mobilization and scholarship, as well as the highest achievements resulting from a SSHRC fellowship awarded.

The Talent Award recognizes outstanding research achievement and career potential from a SSHRC doctoral or postdoctoral fellowship or scholarship holder.

Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Lauréate du prix Talent 2020

Robyn Maynard

Boursière du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier
Titulaire d’une bourse de doctorat du Programme de bourses d’excellence de la Faculté des arts et des sciences
University of Toronto


Pour Robyn Maynard, l’exploration des origines du racisme envers les Noirs va bien au-delà du cadre universitaire. L’auteure féministe noire de 33 ans qui réside à Toronto est boursière du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier et titulaire d’une bourse de doctorat du Programme de bourses d’excellence de la Faculté des arts et des sciences de l’University of Toronto. Elle a consacré près de la moitié de sa vie à examiner et mettre en lumière l’histoire du racisme au Canada et les injustices qui en ont découlé pour plusieurs générations de citoyens noirs, autochtones et racisés.

Sa passion pour ce sujet naît au début de sa vie adulte. Son parcours de jeune militante est alors nourri par la frustration qu’elle ressent face à la fierté mal placée que suscite la « mosaïque culturelle » chez les Canadiens et à la réputation de tolérance raciale du pays. Loin de l’image d’harmonie et de justice sociale projetée par le Canada sur la scène internationale, ses observations du vécu des personnes de la communauté noire mettent en évidence le fossé entre la diversité prônée à l’échelle nationale et les pratiques discriminatoires subies au quotidien par les Noirs.

De fait, les femmes et les enfants noirs sont surreprésentés dans les services de protection de l’enfance et subissent davantage d’agressions sexuelles et de violence. Les hommes noirs, quant à eux, connaissent des taux d’incarcération plus élevés. Tous ces facteurs augmentent les risques pour les personnes noires de souffrir de troubles de santé physique et mentale et de contracter le VIH. Les immigrants noirs, notamment les Haïtiens qui ont récemment cherché à se réfugier de notre côté de la frontière, sont aussi davantage touchés par les mouvements de population mondiaux. Portée par sa volonté d’agir, Robyn Maynard s’est jointe aux mouvements citoyens qui s’opposent au profilage racial, à la violence policière, à la détention et à la déportation.

Son intérêt pour ces disparités a été nourri encore davantage lorsqu’elle était étudiante au premier cycle à l’Université McGill. Travaillant comme intervenante de rue pour des organismes communautaires de Montréal, elle a œuvré en réduction des méfaits et s’est sensibilisée hors des murs de l’université à la discrimination envers les Noirs. En tant que témoin de la réalité des personnes noires, en particulier de celle des femmes, il lui a semblé évident que les problèmes vécus par cette communauté, qu’ils soient liés à la pauvreté, à l’éducation ou à la répression policière, ne se limitent pas strictement à la sphère individuelle ou familiale; il s’agit de problèmes qui sont ancrés dans la structure même des institutions du pays. Et cette réalité a été masquée, encore et encore, en raison de l’inertie bureaucratique et du racisme systémique.

Après toutes ces journées passées à discuter avec des adolescents noirs harcelés par la police sur le chemin de l’école et à s’attaquer aux difficultés vécues par les adultes en matière d’immigration et de justice pénale, le peu de connaissance et de compréhension de l’histoire du pays en ce qui concerne la race, le racisme et les injustices qui perdurent aujourd’hui lui est apparu de plus en plus évident.

Robyn Maynard s’est alors tournée vers l’écriture, l’outil dont elle se sert pour mettre ces questions à l’avant-scène. En 2017, elle a publié Policing Black Lives: State Violence in Canada from Slavery to the Present. Succès national, cet ouvrage maintes fois récompensé a été retenu parmi les 100 meilleurs titres de 2017 par The Hill Times et a fait partie du palmarès des meilleurs livres de 2018 de The Walrus. Sa traduction, NoirEs sous surveillance – Esclavage, répression, violence d’État au Canada, parue un an plus tard sous la plume de la traductrice primée Catherine Ego, a remporté le Prix des libraires 2019 dans la catégorie Essai.

En collaboration avec Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, Robyn Maynard coécrit actuellement Rehearsals for Living, à paraître chez Knopf Canada en 2022.

Chercheure prolifique, ses nombreux articles scientifiques sur la race, le genre et la discrimination sont étudiés dans de nombreuses universités du Canada et des États-Unis, ce qui s’explique principalement par la nature transversale de ses travaux. Ses recherches traversent les frontières et ont des applications sur divers plans, au pays et à l’étranger; elles contribuent à la fois à l’érudition, à l’action communautaire et politique directe et aux politiques publiques. Robyn Maynard a pris la parole devant des comités parlementaires, le Comité sénatorial permanent des droits de la personne et le Groupe de travail d’experts sur les personnes d’ascendance africaine du Conseil des droits de l’homme de l’Organisation des Nations Unies. Son expertise et ses talents de communicatrice hors pair font d’elle une personnalité régulièrement sollicitée par les médias locaux, nationaux et internationaux.

La nécessaire conciliation entre son statut d’étudiante au doctorat et celui de mère d’un enfant en bas âge ne l’empêche pas d’être à la fine pointe de la recherche sur les réalités uniques vécues par les immigrants noirs au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni. Son projet de thèse financé par la bourse Vanier braque les projecteurs sur des formes de discrimination sociale, politique, économique et de genre qui se recoupent en mettant de l’avant les récentes contributions politiques des mouvements sociaux noirs à l’appui des droits des immigrants noirs. Ses recherches, qui explorent les aspects intimes et systématiques de ce que vivent les personnes les plus touchées, contribueront grandement aux études sur les immigrants, aux études féministes et aux études sur les Noirs et sur la diaspora africaine.

Avec Black Lives Matters, croit Robyn Maynard, nous assistons à un mouvement qui réclame de façon non équivoque la fin du racisme systémique à l’égard des Noirs, si fortement ancré dans notre société, et qui repense et transforme la sécurité des expériences vécues par les personnes les plus marginalisées. Voilà, estime-t-elle, le début d’une belle et importante transition à un avenir abolitionniste.


Au sujet des prix Impacts

Décernés chaque année, les prix Impacts visent à souligner les meilleures réalisations ayant émané d’activités de recherche et de mobilisation des connaissances que le CRSH a financées, ainsi que les meilleures réalisations ayant découlé de l’attribution d’une bourse du CRSH.

Le prix Talent souligne les réalisations exceptionnelles en recherche et les perspectives de carrière d’un étudiant ayant reçu une bourse de doctorat ou une bourse postdoctorale du CRSH.

Date de modification :