Shared Services Canada System Maintenance Notice

Please note that the network will not be available for 15 min on December 3, 2022, anytime between 19:00 and 23:00 (EST).


COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


2019 Partnership Award Winner

Marianne Ignace

Department of First Nations Studies
and Department of Linguistics
Simon Fraser University


“In 2019—the International Year of Indigenous Languages—it is really fitting that we can celebrate Indigenous languages through our SSHRC partnership. I really want to emphasize that every one of my colleagues, collaborators, researchers and communities, all who have worked with us, are as deserving as I am of this recognition.”


Marianne Ignace’s more than 30 years of work to preserve British Columbia’s Indigenous languages have been an effort to preserve the past and revitalize it for the 21st century. Her current partnership work applies research and evidence-based tools, including but not limited to digital technology, to stem the loss of Indigenous languages.

The Simon Fraser University linguistics researcher and director of the First Nations Language Centre is working with 23 community partners across the province, Yukon and Alaska to use digital technology to document, conserve and teach more than a dozen languages. All of these Indigenous languages speak to thousands of years of peoples’ connection to land. One, Haida, is a linguistic isolate, unrelated to any other language.  

When Ignace and her research partners applied for their SSHRC grant in 2012, the outlook for these languages was bleak; only 5.1 per cent of BC First Nations populations were fluent speakers of their own language. And those were mainly Elders. Predictions were that by 2019 several of these languages would have no one left who had learned them as a first language.

Time for cautious optimism

Supported by a seven-year SSHRC Partnership Grant, Ignace and her partners have produced impressive archives across language domains, including for place-naming, Indigenous law, and ethnobotany, among others. The archives bring together grammar, dictionary and innovative story work, as well as conversations between speakers.

“[We] document registers of speech that had not been documented, like how to make conversation, how to talk about land, environment, plants and animals,” says Ignace. The project has also trained Indigenous researchers whose own work will help revitalize endangered languages.

To foster second-language learning, the partnership has co-created community projects such as immersion language nests for preschoolers, language houses and boot camps for adults, and undergraduate and graduate curricula. In the Heiltsuk community of the central coast of BC, researchers have also created an online orthography converter and a digital dictionary.

In collaboration with Simon Fraser University’s New Media Lab, partnership researchers have also adapted the Odysseas intelligent language tutor, originally developed for Greek, to work for Indigenous languages. They already have apps with a series of lessons available for learning the Sm’algyax, Secwepemctsin and Haida languages, with another 15 under development.

“We are also relying on digital resources to produce new language for a new generation,” says Ignace. For example, she and two graduate students have been developing and testing a 45-minute physical exercise routine in Haida.

A model of collaboration

Ignace’s partnership project has led to the award-winning ethnography Secwépemc People, Land, and Laws, co-authored with fellow Simon Fraser adjunct professor Chief Ronald Ignace.

Their model of collaborative approaches to research involving Indigenous peoples and communities was also recognized this year with a Governor General’s Innovation Award.

“I’m proud of what I see happening,” says Marianne Ignace. “In the last three years or so I’ve seen this amazing energy and achievement among younger people becoming really proficient in their Indigenous languages. They’re going to be the torch bearers, the language warriors. It feels like light at the end of the tunnel.”

About the award

The annual Impact Awards recognize the highest achievements in SSHRC-funded research, knowledge mobilization and scholarship, as well as the highest achievements resulting from a SSHRC fellowship awarded.

The Partnership Award recognizes a SSHRC-funded formal partnership for its outstanding achievement in advancing research, research training or knowledge mobilization, or developing a new partnership approach to research and/or related activities.

Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Lauréate du prix Partenariat 2019

Marianne Ignace

Département des études sur les Premières Nations
et Département de linguistique
Simon Fraser University


En cette Année internationale des langues autochtones, il est tout à fait approprié de célébrer les langues autochtones dans le cadre de notre partenariat avec le CRSH. Je tiens à préciser que tous ceux et celles qui ont travaillé avec nous – collègues, collaborateurs, chercheurs et personnes des communautés – méritent autant que moi cette reconnaissance.


Depuis plus de 30 ans, Marianne Ignace se consacre à la préservation des langues autochtones en Colombie-Britannique, afin de protéger le passé et de lui redonner vie pour le 21e siècle. Dans ses travaux, elle utilise des instruments de recherche et des outils fondés sur des données probantes, entre autres, la technologie numérique, pour empêcher la disparition des langues autochtones.

Chercheure en linguistique à la Simon Fraser University et directrice du First Nations Language Centre du même établissement, Mme Ignace travaille avec 23 partenaires communautaires de la Colombie-Britannique, du Yukon et de l’Alaska afin d’utiliser la technologie numérique pour documenter, conserver et enseigner plus d’une dizaine de langues autochtones. Toutes ces langues témoignent des liens qui unissent les peuples autochtones à la terre depuis des millénaires. L’une de ces langues, la langue haïda, n’a aucun lien avec d’autres langues.

En 2012, lorsque Mme Ignace et ses partenaires de recherche ont demandé une subvention au CRSH, l’avenir des langues autochtones semblait peu reluisant. Seulement 5,1 p. 100 des personnes des Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique parlaient couramment leur langue, principalement des aînés. On estimait alors qu’en 2019, pour plusieurs de ces langues, il ne resterait plus personne les ayant apprises en tant que première langue.

Un optimisme prudent

Grâce à une subvention de partenariat du CRSH visant une période de sept ans, Mme Ignace et ses partenaires ont créé d’impressionnantes archives pour certains domaines, comme la toponymie, le droit autochtone et l’ethnobotanique. Ces archives rassemblent des ouvrages de grammaire, des dictionnaires et des récits novateurs, ainsi que des conversations entre locuteurs de ces langues.

Marianne Ignace précise qu’elle et son équipe documentent des registres de langue qui ne l’ont jamais été auparavant, comme la façon d’engager une conversation ou de parler de la terre, de l’environnement, des plantes et des animaux. Le projet a également permis de former des chercheurs autochtones dont les travaux aideront à revitaliser des langues menacées de disparition.

Afin de favoriser l’apprentissage d’une langue seconde, les responsables du partenariat ont conçu des projets de concert avec les communautés, dont des programmes d’immersion linguistique pour les enfants d’âge préscolaire, des centres et des camps de formation linguistique pour les adultes, ainsi que des programmes d’études de premier cycle et de cycles supérieurs. Chez les Heiltsuks, qui vivent sur le littoral central de la Colombie-Britannique, des chercheurs ont également mis au point un convertisseur orthographique en ligne et un dictionnaire numérique.

En collaboration avec le New Media Lab de la Simon Fraser University, les chercheurs ont également adapté aux langues autochtones le tutoriel linguistique intelligent Odysseas, conçu à l’origine pour la langue grecque. Ils disposent déjà d’applications permettant d’apprendre les langues sm'algyax, secwepemctsin et haïda, et 15 autres sont en cours de préparation.

Marianne Ignace et son équipe comptent également sur les ressources numériques afin de renouveler la langue pour la nouvelle génération. Ainsi, en collaboration avec deux étudiants des cycles supérieurs, elle a mis au point et à l’essai un programme d’exercice physique de 45 minutes en haïda.

Un modèle de collaboration

Dans le cadre du projet de partenariat, Mme Ignace a rédigé, en collaboration avec le chef Ronald Ignace, professeur associé à la Simon Fraser University, l’ouvrage ethnographique primé Secwépemc People, Land, and Laws.

Leur modèle d’approches collaboratives de la recherche avec les peuples et les communautés autochtones leur a également valu le Prix du gouverneur général pour l’innovation.

Marianne Ignace se dit fière de ce qui se passe. Depuis environ trois ans, elle constate l’incroyable énergie et les réalisations extraordinaires des jeunes qui maîtrisent de mieux en mieux leur langue autochtone. Ils seront les porteurs du flambeau, les guerriers de la langue, dit-elle. La lumière se dessine au bout du tunnel.

Au sujet des prix Impacts

Décernés chaque année, les prix Impacts visent à souligner les meilleures réalisations ayant émané d’activités de recherche et de mobilisation des connaissances que le CRSH a financées, ainsi que les meilleures réalisations ayant découlé de l’attribution d’une bourse du CRSH.

Le prix Partenariat souligne la contribution exceptionnelle d’un partenariat financé par le CRSH à la recherche, à la formation en recherche, à la mobilisation des connaissances ou à l’élaboration d’une nouvelle approche de partenariat en matière de recherche ou d’activités connexes.

Date de modification :