Shared Services Canada System Maintenance Notice

Please note that the network will not be available for 15 min on December 3, 2022, anytime between 19:00 and 23:00 (EST).


COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


2019 Gold Medal Winner

Will Kymlicka

Canada Research Chair in Political Philosophy
Department of Philosophy and Department of Political Studies
Queen’s University


“I view the Gold Medal as evidence that, over the longue durée, political philosophy, at least here in Canada, does make a difference and is valued by the broader community. And that’s deeply satisfying.”


Political philosopher Will Kymlicka’s groundbreaking work on the link between democracy and diversity—and, more recently, on animal ethics—has secured him a position among Canada’s most influential thinkers.

Kymlicka is professor of philosophy and the Canada Research Chair in Political Philosophy at Queen's University. His work has led thinking on issues around multiculturalism, citizenship and justice.

At the outset of his career, Kymlicka pioneered the study of multiculturalism, ethnicity and nationalism as a central, long-lasting research agenda for political theory and philosophy. His early work marked a decisive turning point in the debate between individual rights and group membership.

A common thread throughout his work has been the need to rethink inherited ideas of social membership and political citizenship, so we can better recognize the genuine diversity of contemporary societies.

“Our idea of citizenship is very narrow. It works for some and not for others, both human and animal,” says Kymlicka. “All of my career has been about reflecting a better sense of membership.”

Focusing on practical problems

Kymlicka and his research partners apply their theoretical work directly to practical problems. He is a sought-after advisor on policies by governmental agencies and non-governmental organizations, including the Canadian Centre for Foreign Policy Development; the Department of Canadian Heritage; Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, Global Affairs Canada; and UNESCO. The more than 80 presentations he’s given to such organizations include ones to the World Bank, the World Social Forum, and the United Nations Development Programme.

In Canada, Kymlicka’s work addresses the concerns of Canadians of diverse backgrounds to steer Canada toward a more inclusive democracy. He continues to argue for the collective rights of minorities such as French Canadians and Indigenous peoples, on the grounds that a secure sense of cultural belonging is of great importance for individual well-being.

Kymlicka’s contributions have given people a new way to talk about and understand relationships between groups such as English and French, country-born and immigrant, and Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples. SSHRC has awarded 10 grants to him and his research collaborators over the past 30 years.

Recently, he has expanded his work to consider the social, legal and political status of animals. He and research partner Sue Donaldson are exploring the idea that domesticated animals should be seen as fuller members of human-animal communities.

Kymlicka’s research and Canada Research Chair have attracted students from around the world to work with him.

“I feel quite confident that there is a younger generation of scholars who are more than willing and able to take up these issues,” he says. “So, I think the field is in good hands.”

About the award

The annual Impact Awards recognize the highest achievements in SSHRC-funded research, knowledge mobilization and scholarship, as well as the highest achievements resulting from a SSHRC fellowship awarded.

SSHRC’s highest honour, the prestigious Gold Medal is given to individuals whose sustained leadership, dedication and originality of thought have inspired students and colleagues alike.

Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Récipiendaire de la Médaille d’or 2019

Will Kymlicka

Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en philosophie politique
Département de philosophie et Département d’études politiques
Queen’s University


J’estime que la Médaille d’or témoigne du fait que, dans une perspective de longue durée, la philosophie politique, du moins ici au Canada, change vraiment le cours des choses et que la collectivité au sens large la valorise. Et il s’agit là d’une grande source de satisfaction.


L’œuvre innovante du philosophe politique Will Kymlicka, qui porte sur le lien entre la démocratie et la diversité et qui aborde depuis peu l’éthique animale, lui assure une place parmi les penseurs les plus influents du Canada.

M. Kymlicka est professeur de philosophie et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en philosophie politique de la Queen’s University. Ses travaux l’ont amené à réfléchir aux questions ayant trait au multiculturalisme, à la citoyenneté et à la justice.

Dès le début de sa carrière, M. Kymlicka a fait œuvre de précurseur en étudiant le multiculturalisme, l’ethnicité et le nationalisme, qui ont été au cœur même de ses travaux de longue haleine sur la théorie et la philosophie politiques. Ses premiers travaux ont marqué un tournant décisif dans le débat opposant les droits individuels et l’appartenance au groupe.

Le besoin de repenser les idées héritées du passé en matière d’appartenance sociale et de citoyenneté politique, afin de mieux reconnaître la véritable diversité des sociétés contemporaines, a été un fil conducteur de ses travaux.

Il croit que notre conception de la citoyenneté est très étroite, qu’elle fonctionne pour certains mais pas pour d’autres, aussi bien pour l’humain que pour l’animal, et dit avoir consacré toute sa carrière à réfléchir à ce que serait un meilleur sentiment d’appartenance.

Se concentrer sur des problèmes concrets

M. Kymlicka et ses partenaires de recherche font porter directement leurs travaux théoriques sur le règlement de problèmes concrets. Le professeur Kymlicka est un conseiller en politiques recherché par des organismes publics et des organisations non gouvernementales, notamment le Centre canadien pour le développement de la politique étrangère, Patrimoine canadien, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada, Affaires mondiales Canada et l’UNESCO. Il a présenté plus de 80 exposés devant de tels organismes, dont certains à la Banque mondiale, au Forum social mondial et au Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

Au Canada, l’œuvre de M. Kymlicka aborde les préoccupations des citoyens de diverses origines pour orienter le pays vers une démocratie plus inclusive. Il continue de plaider en faveur des droits collectifs de minorités comme les Canadiens français et les peuples autochtones car, selon lui, un sentiment sûr d’appartenance culturelle revêt une grande importance pour le bien-être personnel.

Les apports de M. Kymlicka ont suscité une nouvelle façon de parler, et une autre compréhension, des relations entre des groupes comme les anglophones et les francophones, les personnes nées au pays et les immigrants, les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones. Au cours des 30 dernières années, le CRSH a accordé, à M.Kymlicka et à ses collaborateurs, dix subventions.

Récemment, il a élargi la portée de ses travaux pour se pencher sur le statut social, juridique et politique des animaux. M. Kymlicka et la chercheure Sue Donaldson examinent l’idée que les animaux domestiques devraient être considérés comme des membres à part entière des collectivités humaines-animales.

Les recherches de M. Kymlicka et de la chaire de recherche du Canada ont attiré des étudiants des quatre coins de la planète désireux de collaborer avec lui.

Il se dit convaincu qu’il y a une nouvelle génération de chercheurs plus disposés et fort aptes à aborder ces questions et croit donc que ce champ de recherche est entre bonnes mains.

Au sujet des prix Impacts

Décernés chaque année, les prix Impacts visent à souligner les meilleures réalisations ayant émané d’activités de recherche et de mobilisation des connaissances que le CRSH a financées, ainsi que les meilleures réalisations ayant découlé de l’attribution d’une bourse du CRSH.

La Médaille d’or représente la plus haute distinction que le CRSH puisse décerner. Cette médaille est remise à une personne dont le leadership, le dévouement et l’originalité de la pensée inspirent aussi bien les étudiants que ses collègues.

Date de modification :