SSHRC-funded researchers appointed to Order of Canada

On December 29, 2017, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, announced the latest appointments to the Order of Canada. SSHRC would like to particularly congratulate and acknowledge SSHRC-funded researchers and past council members among the 125 new appointments.

The following were appointed as officers of the Order of Canada:

  • François Crépeau, for his research and contributions to international law and for his efforts to promote civil rights, particularly with respect to refugees.
  • Kenneth Lum, for his contributions as a contemporary artist whose work has been exhibited around the world, and for his mentorship of emerging artists.
  • Anne Martin-Matthews, for her extensive research contributions to gerontology, notably in implementing the Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging.
  • Vianne Timmons, for her influential research and field work in literacy, and for her leadership in postsecondary education.
  • Janet F. Werker, for her internationally renowned contributions to our understanding of speech perception and language acquisition in infants.

The following were appointed as members of the Order of Canada:

  • Janine Brodie, for her contributions as a scholar of Canadian politics and public policy, notably in social governance and gender politics.
  • Martha Crago, for her contributions to research and innovation in Canada, notably in ocean science.
  • Jocelyn Downie, for her contributions to Canadian health law and policy, notably through her efforts to promote high-quality end-of-life care.
  • Gérard Duhaime, for his contributions as a researcher and advocate dedicated to improving socio-economic conditions in northern communities.
  • Martin Gleave, for his research on the mechanisms involved in the propagation of cancer cells, and for his leadership in the development of new treatments for prostate cancer. 
  • Robert Hogg, for his advancements in HIV/AIDS research, notably for his contributions toward understanding the impact of sociodemographic factors on marginalized populations living with HIV/AIDS.
  • Barbara Neis, for her innovative research on the interactions between work, environment and health in the coastal communities of Newfoundland and Labrador and beyond.
  • Christl Verduyn, for her contributions to Canadian studies, notably as a professor and author, and for her commitment to making Canadian literature accessible to a broader audience.

Established by Queen Elizabeth II in 1967 as part of Canada’s centennial celebrations, appointment to the Order of Canada is the country’s highest civilian honour. It recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.