SSHRC-funded researchers named to Order of Canada

Congratulations to the 16 SSHRC-funded researchers who were recently named to, or promoted within, the Order of Canada. One of Canada's highest civilian honours, it recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Governor General David Johnston announced 2016’s honourees on June 30.

SSHRC would especially like to recognize Stephen Gaetz and James Walker among the individuals who were named as members of the Order of Canada.

Stephen Gaetz is the winner of SSHRC’s 2015 Connection Award. A noted scholar on homelessness in Canada, his findings have caught the attention of policy-makers, community members and affordable housing advocates alike.

James Walker is a leading expert on the history of race relations in Canada. His research has inspired novelists, fellow academics and civil rights historians. He is one of SSHRC’s longest-funded researchers, having been awarded grants under various funding programs.

Of the 113 new appointments to this prestigious distinction, here are the other SSHRC-funded researchers who have been appointed.

These individuals were appointed as officers of the Order of Canada:

  • Ellen Bialystok, for contributing to our understanding of the cognitive benefits of bilingualism, and for opening up new avenues of research in her field;

  • John Richard English (promoted within the Order), for his contributions as a historian, author and administrator who has expanded our knowledge and understanding of Canada’s rich political heritage;

  • Eduardo L. Franco, for his groundbreaking contributions to preventing cervical cancer in Canada and around the world;

  • Jacques Godbout, for his significant contributions for over half a century to the literary arts and critical thinking;

  • John McGarry, Canada Research Chair in Nationalism and Democracy, for being a leading expert in the study of ethnic conflict, and for designing governance frameworks that promote peace; and

  • Noralou Roos (promoted within the Order), for contributing to Canadian health-care by developing evidence-based policy, and for promoting and disseminating medical research with a particular focus on children’s well-being.

These individuals were appointed as members of the Order of Canada:

  • Françoise Baylis, Canada Research Chair in Bioethics and Philosophy, for being a champion of health-care ethics in Canada, and for creating forums to discuss current medical ethics issues;

  • Timothy Borlase, for his contributions to arts, music and drama initiatives, particularly for youth, in communities across Labrador and New Brunswick;

  • Patricia Demers, for her insightful contributions to the study of early works of English literature, and for her service to the academic community;

  • Michael Eskin, for his pioneering research, which has contributed to the success of Canada’s canola oil industry;

  • Carole Anne Estabrooks, Canada Research Chair in Knowledge Translation, for her work on translating research into health-care improvements for older Canadians;

  • Elaine Keillor, for her contributions as a musicologist and historian of Canada’s musical heritage;

  • Laurier Lacroix, for his contributions as an art historian, and for his efforts to promote the artistic heritage of Quebec and Canada; and

  • Shane O’Dea, for his contributions to the Memorial University of Newfoundland as an educator and orator, and for his impact as an advocate for the preservation of built heritage in Newfoundland and Labrador.