Open Research Area 6

SSHRC National Addendum

Overview
Value Up to $400,000; Maximum $135,000 per year
Duration 2 to 3 years
Application deadline September 11, 2019, 4:00 p.m. Greenwich Mean Time (11:00 a.m. eastern)
Results announced September 2020
Apply ESRC’s Joint Electronic Submissions (Je-S) System
Start of the projects Earliest October 1, 2020
ORA 6

Overview
Value and duration
Eligibility and requirements
Application process
Regulations, policies and related information
Contact information



Top

Overview

Open Research Area (ORA) 6 call is an international competition sponsored by SSHRC; Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR), France; Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), Germany; and Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), United Kingdom. In addition, the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) will collaborate with ORA 6 as an associate partner.

Proposals are required to involve researchers from any combination of three or more participating countries out of Canada, France, Germany and the UK. (Japan is not counted toward the minimum three countries.)

For this sixth ORA call, the ESRC will be the coordinating agency.


Top

Value and duration

When an ORA 6 proposal submitted by an international team is selected for funding, its national sub-teams will receive a grant from their respective national funding agencies. Funding agencies will fund successful proposals according to their respective policies and regulations, via the identified eligible principal investigator.

For Canadian teams, proposals will be funded based on the funding request outlined in the SSHRC National Financial Form, which must be submitted as an attachment to the ORA 6 Full proposal (see Application process below). The SSHRC National Financial Form contains an itemized budget in Canadian dollars.

Canadian applicants can request up to $135,000 per year for a maximum of $400,000 over two to three years.

Salary research allowance

Co-applicants from eligible not-for-profit organizations may request a salary research allowance to partially release them from duties to their organization.


Top

Eligibility and requirements

Subject matter

Proposals may involve any discipline, thematic area, approach or subject area eligible for SSHRC funding. Please see Subject Matter Eligibility for more information. It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that the proposed project complies with SSHRC’s subject matter eligibility. SSHRC reserves the right to declare the SSHRC portion of the project ineligible, which will effectively make the whole international project ineligible.

Roles

Here is the equivalency between ORA 6 and SSHRC roles of various project participants:

ORA 6 role Footnote 1 SSHRC role
Principal investigator Footnote 2 Applicant
Co-investigator Co-applicant
Team member Collaborator
Cooperation partner Footnote 3 Co-applicant or collaborator

Footnotes

Footnote 1

For ORA 6 Role definitions and eligibility requirements, see the competition call specification.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

There must be one principal investigator (PI) for each country involved in the proposal. The role of main applicant in ORA 6 (not listed here) is taken by one PI for administrative purposes only.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Cooperation partners are researchers from countries not participating in ORA 6 (including from Japan). Cooperation partners in Canadian teams can be either co-applicants or collaborators.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Applicants

Applications may be submitted by a team of researchers consisting of one applicant and one or more co-applicants and/or collaborators.

To apply for the SSHRC funding component of the larger ORA 6 call, the applicant must be affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution at the time of application. Applicants are required to ensure that they comply with all SSHRC policies and regulations and complete the necessary SSHRC-specific documents for submission.

In addition to the required documents for the larger ORA 6 call, the applicant must also submit the SSHRC National Financial Form and the SSHRC Terms and Conditions for Applying documents (submission details under Application process below).

Applicants who have received a SSHRC grant of any type but have failed to submit an end of grant report by the deadline specified in their Notice of Award are not eligible to apply for another SSHRC grant until they have submitted the report.

Institutions

SSHRC invites applications for grants from researchers affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution. Please see SSHRC’s list of eligible postsecondary institutions. Researchers who are not affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution should contact SSHRC well in advance of the deadline.

Any Canadian postsecondary institution that does not have institutional eligibility and wishes to administer SSHRC grants must apply for and meet SSHRC’s institutional eligibility requirements. Once eligibility is granted, the institution is invited to become a signatory to the Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions. This entails a commitment by the institution to adhere to the high legal, ethical and financial standards set out in the agreement and ensures the institution has the necessary structures and processes in place to achieve this objective. Please note that SSHRC will not release funding to an institution before it becomes a signatory of the agreement. For questions related to institutional eligibility or to receive an institutional eligibility application package, please contact us .

Co-applicants

Individuals are eligible to be co-applicants if they are formally affiliated with any of the following:

  • Canadian: Postsecondary institutions; not-for-profit organizations; philanthropic foundations; think tanks; or municipal, territorial or provincial governments.
  • International: Postsecondary institutions.

Collaborators

Any individual who makes a significant contribution to the project is eligible to be a collaborator. Collaborators do not need to be affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution.

Individuals from the private sector or federal government can only participate as collaborators.

Monitoring

Grant holders will be expected to report on the use of grant funds, on funded activities undertaken during the grant period and on outcomes. Successful applicants will be informed of reporting requirements upon receiving their Notice of Award.


Top

Application process

The ORA 6 call follows a two-stage procedure consisting of an Outline proposal and a Full proposal. Applicants who are successful at the Outline stage will automatically progress to the Full stage. Applicants will be required to submit the Outline proposal and the Full proposal at the same time. Both proposals will have the same deadline.

The Outline and the Full proposals for ORA 6 should be submitted through the ESRC’s Joint Electronic Submissions (Je-S) system. Detailed guidance on how to submit the two proposals through Je-S is available on the ESRC website.

Je-S system is in English only. However, competition materials are available in French upon request. SSHRC-eligible applicants can submit their proposals through the Je-S system in English or French. Applicants who wish to apply in French must contact SSHRC in advance for more details (see Contact information below).

In addition to the required documents for the larger ORA 6 Call, the applicant must:

  • complete the SSHRC National Financial Form and ensure that ORA 6 main applicant submits it as an attachment to the ORA 6 Full proposal on Je-S;
  • complete and sign the SSHRC Terms and Conditions for Applying (including the list of participants); and
  • ensure that the research grants office at their institution completes and signs the SSHRC Terms and Conditions for Applying and emails it to SSHRC before the deadline.

Note: The SSHRC Terms and Conditions for Applying must be submitted by the research grants office at applicant’s institution and will not be accepted if submitted by the applicant or anyone else.



Top

Regulations, policies and related information

All applicants and grant holders must comply with the Regulations Governing Grant Applications and with the regulations set out in the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.

SSHRC reserves the right to determine the eligibility of applications based on the information therein. SSHRC also reserves the right to interpret the regulations and policies governing its funding opportunities.

Privacy notice

All applications must be submitted to the ESRC Je-S online application system and are subject to the privacy policies governing the ESRC. The ESRC will share application information with other funding agencies involved in this call, including SSHRC. The personal information contained in the application will be disclosed to, and may be viewed by, any or all of the participating granting agencies.

The collection, use, disclosure, retention and disposal of your personal information are in accordance with the Canadian Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. Your information will be managed in accordance with Treasury Board Secretariat policies, directives and guidelines on information management and protection of personal information, and with the agencies’ retention and disposition schedules.

Any personal information that you provide to SSHRC for the purpose of applying to this funding competition is collected under the authority of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Act. Personal information provided to SSHRC is stored in the personal information bank PPU 055, as described in SSHRC’s Info Source chapter. Only the information needed to deliver, administer and promote the ORA 6 competition and awards is collected by SSHRC indirectly via the ESRC. Failure to provide the personal information required in the application will result in the application being declared ineligible.

SSHRC is committed to the protection of the personal information under its control and does not take responsibility for the privacy practices of any other ORA 6 partner organizations. SSHRC will only share personal information with the agencies named in this addendum as required with respect to the ORA 6 call. Your information may also be used for program operations and planning, performance measurement and monitoring, evaluation and audits and in aggregate to report to government or to the public.

If you believe your personal information has been mishandled or have concerns about agency privacy practices, you have the right to file a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner. For more information about your rights under the Privacy Act, about our privacy practices or to access or correct your personal information, please contact SSHRC’s ATIP Coordinator.

By submitting your application, you confirm that you have read and understood this Privacy Notice and agree to provide your personal information in accordance with it.

SSHRC Research Data Archiving Policy and Open Access Policy

SSHRC is committed to the principle that the various forms of research data collected with public funds belong in the public domain. Accordingly, SSHRC has a policy to facilitate making data that has been collected with the help of SSHRC funds available to other researchers. Please refer to SSHRC’s Research Data Archiving Policy for further information.

SSHRC-funded researchers are required to comply with the Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications.

Exemption

For the ORA 6 call, SSHRC’s appeals policy will not be applicable because of the international nature of the initiative.


Top

Contact information

For more information, contact:

Mika Oehling
Program Officer
Research Grants and Partnerships Division
Tel: 613-943-6001
Email: mika.oehling@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

6e appel à propositions de l’Open Research Area

Annexe nationale – CRSH

Aperçu
Valeur Jusqu’à 400 000 $; maximum de 135 000 $ par année
Durée De 2 à 3 ans
Date limite de présentation des demandes Le 11 septembre 2019 à 16 h, temps moyen de Greenwich (11 h, heure de l’Est)
Annonce des résultats Septembre 2020
Soumettre une demande Joint Electronic Submission System (Je-S) de l’ESRC
Début des projets Au plus tôt le 1er octobre 2020
6e appel de l’Open Research Area

Aperçu
Valeur et durée
Admissibilité et exigences
Présentation des demandes
Règlements, politiques et renseignements supplémentaires
Coordonnées



Top

Aperçu

Le sixième appel à propositions de l’Open Research Area (ORA 6) est un concours international parrainé par le CRSH, l’Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR) de France, la Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) d’Allemagne et l’Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) du Royaume-Uni. Par ailleurs, la Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) y collabore en tant que partenaire associé.

Les propositions doivent mettre à contribution des chercheurs d’au moins trois des pays partenaires, à savoir l’Allemagne, le Canada, la France et le Royaume-Uni (le Japon ne faisant pas partie de ces trois pays).

L’ESRC est l’organisme coordonnateur de ce sixième appel de l’Open Research Area.


Top

Valeur et durée

Quand une proposition soumise par une équipe internationale est retenue à des fins de financement, chacune des sous-équipes nationales composant cette équipe reçoit une subvention de son organisme subventionnaire national. Ce dernier finance les propositions acceptées, conformément à ses politiques et à ses règlements, par l’entremise du chercheur principal admissible désigné.

Pour les équipes canadiennes, les propositions sont financées en fonction de la demande de financement décrite dans le Formulaire de financement national – CRSH, qui doit être envoyé en pièce jointe avec la proposition détaillée (voir la rubrique Présentation des demandes, ci-dessous). Le Formulaire de financement national – CRSH contient un budget ventilé en dollars canadiens.

Les candidats canadiens peuvent demander jusqu’à 135 000 $ par année, et au plus 400 000 $ sur deux à trois ans.

Allocation de détachement

Les cocandidats des organismes sans but lucratif admissibles peuvent demander une allocation de détachement pour se libérer en partie de leurs obligations envers leur organisme.


Top

Admissibilité et exigences

Sujet de recherche

Les propositions peuvent porter sur tous les domaines, thèmes, approches et disciplines admissibles au financement du CRSH. Prière de consulter la page Admissibilité des sujets de recherche pour en savoir plus. Il incombe au candidat de s’assurer que le projet proposé respecte les critères d’admissibilité des sujets de recherche du CRSH. Le CRSH se réserve le droit de déclarer sa partie du projet non admissible, ce qui entraînerait la non-admissibilité de l’ensemble du projet international.

Rôles

Voici à quoi correspondent, au CRSH, les termes utilisés pour désigner les différents rôles dans le cadre de l’ORA 6.

Rôle aux fins de l’ORA 6Note de bas de page 1 Rôle aux fins du CRSH
Chercheur principalNote de bas de page 2 Candidat
Cochercheur Cocandidat
Membre de l’équipe Collaborateur
PartenaireNote de bas de page 3 Cocandidat ou collaborateur

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Pour la définition des rôles et les critères d’admissibilité, consulter la description de l'appel.

Retour à la première référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Chaque pays représenté dans la proposition doit avoir un chercheur principal. Le rôle du candidat principal dans le cadre de l’ORA 6 (qui ne figure pas dans la liste ci-dessus) est tenu par l’un des chercheurs principaux, et ce, uniquement à des fins administratives.

Retour à la première référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Les partenaires sont des chercheurs de pays qui ne participent pas au projet (dont le Japon). Les partenaires qui font partie des équipes canadiennes peuvent être cocandidats ou collaborateurs.

Retour à la première référence de la note de bas de page 3

Candidats

La demande peut être présentée par une équipe de chercheurs composée d’un candidat et d’un ou de plusieurs cocandidats ou collaborateurs.

Pour demander des fonds au CRSH dans le cadre plus étendu de l’ORA 6, le candidat doit être affilié à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible au moment de présenter la demande. Le candidat est tenu de s’assurer qu’il respecte tous les règlements et politiques du CRSH et qu’il a rempli tous les documents propres au CRSH nécessaires en vue de les lui soumettre.

Outre les documents requis dans le cadre plus étendu de l’ORA 6, le candidat doit soumettre le Formulaire de financement national – CRSH et le document Conditions à remplir pour obtenir des fonds du CRSH (plus de précisions à ce sujet à la rubrique Présentation des demandes).

Les candidats ayant reçu une subvention du CRSH qui n’ont pas remis leur rapport de fin de subvention à la date limite indiquée dans l’avis d’attribution ne peuvent pas soumettre une nouvelle demande de subvention au CRSH avant de l’avoir remis.

Établissements

Le CRSH invite les chercheurs affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible à présenter une demande (voir la liste des établissements admissibles au financement du CRSH). Les chercheurs qui ne sont pas affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible doivent communiquer avec le CRSH bien avant la date limite.

Tout établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien qui n’est pas admissible et qui souhaite administrer des subventions du CRSH doit présenter une demande d’admissibilité et se conformer aux Lignes directrices et exigences du CRSH en matière d’admissibilité des établissements. Une fois l’admissibilité obtenue, l’établissement est invité à devenir signataire de l’Entente sur l'administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche. Il s’engage ainsi à respecter les normes juridiques, éthiques et financières élevées qui sont énoncées dans l’entente et garantit qu’il possède les structures et les processus nécessaires pour atteindre cet objectif. Veuillez prendre note que le CRSH ne débloquera pas les fonds destinés à un établissement avant que celui-ci ait signé l’entente. Si vous avez des questions concernant l’admissibilité des établissements ou souhaitez recevoir une trousse de demande d’admissibilité, veuillez communiquer avec le CRSH.

Cocandidats

Toute personne peut agir à titre de cocandidat à condition d’être officiellement affiliée à l’un des types d’organismes suivants :

  • au Canada : établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire, organismes sans but lucratif, fondations philanthropiques, groupes de réflexion, administrations municipales et gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux;
  • à l’étranger : établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire.

Collaborateurs

Toute personne qui apporte une contribution importante au projet peut avoir le statut de collaborateur. Les collaborateurs n’ont pas à être affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible.

Les personnes du secteur privé ou du gouvernement fédéral ne peuvent participer au projet qu’à titre de collaborateurs.

Suivi

Le CRSH s’attend à ce que les titulaires de subvention fassent rapport de l’utilisation des fonds attribués, des activités connexes menées au cours de la période visée par la subvention et des résultats obtenus. Les candidats retenus seront informés des exigences relatives à la production de rapports au moment où ils recevront l’avis d’attribution.


Top

Présentation des demandes

Ce sixième appel se déroulera en deux étapes : une préproposition et une proposition détaillée. Les candidats qui réussiront à l’étape de la préproposition passeront, par le fait même, à l’étape de la proposition détaillée. Les candidats sont invités à soumettre leur préproposition et leur proposition détaillée en même temps. La même date limite s’applique aux deux propositions.

La préproposition et la proposition détaillée doivent être soumises par l’entremise du système de soumission électronique de l’ESRC (ESRC’s Joint Electronic Submission System ou Je-S). Les candidats trouveront dans le site Web de l'ESRC des instructions détaillées pour la présentation des deux propositions par l’entremise du système Je-S.

La documentation relative à l’ORA 6 qui n’est pas propre au CRSH peut être fournie en français sur demande. Le système Je-S n’existe qu’en anglais, mais les candidats admissibles à un financement du CRSH peuvent soumettre leurs propositions par l’entremise du système Je-S en français ou en anglais. Les candidats qui désirent rédiger leurs propositions en français doivent communiquer à l’avance avec le CRSH pour obtenir plus de précisions à ce sujet.

En plus de fournir les documents exigés dans le cadre plus étendu de l’ORA 6, le candidat doit :


Remarque : le document Conditions à remplir pour obtenir des fonds du CRSH doit être soumis par le bureau de la recherche de l’établissement du candidat; il ne sera pas accepté s’il est soumis par le candidat ou toute autre personne.


Top

Règlements, politiques et renseignements supplémentaires

Tous les candidats et les titulaires de subvention doivent satisfaire aux exigences des règlements régissant les demandes de subvention et du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Le CRSH se réserve le droit de décider si une demande est admissible ou non en fonction de l’information qu’elle contient. Il se réserve également le droit d’interpréter les règlements et les politiques régissant ses occasions de financement.

Avis de confidentialité

Toutes les demandes doivent être soumises par l’entremise du système Je-S en ligne de l’ESRC et sont assujetties aux politiques de protection des renseignements personnels en vigueur à l’ESRC. L’ESRC communiquera les renseignements contenus dans les demandes aux autres organismes subventionnaires participant à l’appel, dont le CRSH. Les renseignements personnels contenus dans les demandes seront communiqués à tout organisme subventionnaire participant et pourront être vus par lui.

La cueillette, l’utilisation, la communication, la conservation et l’élimination des renseignements personnels seront conformes à ce que prévoient la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels du Canada. L’information sera gérée en conformité avec les politiques, directives et lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion de l'information et sur la protection des renseignements personnels, ainsi qu’avec les calendriers de conservation et d’élimination des organismes.

Tous les renseignements personnels fournis au CRSH pour les fins de la demande présentée dans le cadre de cette occasion de financement sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines. Le CRSH les conserve dans sa banque de renseignements personnels PPU 055, tel que cela est décrit dans le chapitre d’Info Source consacré au CRSH. Seuls les renseignements nécessaires à la prestation, à l’administration et à la promotion du concours de subventions de l’ORA 6 ainsi qu’à l’attribution de ces subventions sont recueillis indirectement par le CRSH, par le truchement de l’ESRC. Le refus de fournir les renseignements personnels requis dans la demande rendra celle-ci non admissible.

Le CRSH s’engage à protéger les renseignements personnels dont il a la gestion et n’assume aucune responsabilité en ce qui concerne les pratiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels des autres organismes partenaires dans le cadre de l’ORA 6. Le CRSH ne communiquera des renseignements personnels aux organismes mentionnés dans la présente annexe que si c’est nénessaire aux fins de l’ORA 6. Le CRSH peut également utiliser les renseignements recueillis aux fins de la planification et de l’exécution des programmes, de la mesure et du suivi du rendement, de l’évaluation et des audits. Ces renseignements peuvent aussi être utilisés sous forme regroupée pour faire rapport au gouvernement ou à la population.

Si vous estimez que vos renseignements personnels ont été traités de façon inappropriée ou si vous avez des préoccupations au sujet des pratiques du CRSH, vous avez le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada. Pour en savoir plus sur les droits que vous confère la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et sur les pratiques du CRSH en la matière, ou encore pour avoir accès à vos renseignements personnels ou pour les modifier, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du CRSH.

En soumettant votre demande, vous confirmez que vous avez lu et compris cet avis de confidentialité et que vous fournissez vos renseignements personnels conformément à cet avis.

Politique sur l’archivage des données de recherche et Politique de libre accès du CRSH

Le CRSH reconnaît que les données de recherche rassemblées grâce au financement du gouvernement appartiennent au domaine public. Par conséquent, il a adopté une politique visant à faciliter la mise à disposition à d’autres chercheurs des données rassemblées grâce à son financement. Pour plus d’information à ce sujet, veuillez consulter la Politique sur l'archivage des données de recherche.

Les chercheurs subventionnés par le CRSH doivent respecter la Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications.

Exemption

En raison de la nature internationale de l’ORA 6, la politique du CRSH en matière d'appels ne s'applique pas.


Top

Coordonnées

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec

Mika Oehling
Agente de programme
Division des subventions de recherche et partenariats
Tel : 613-943-6001
Email : mika.oehling@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca