Major Collaborative Research Initiatives

Warning This funding opportunity is no longer offered. For information on currently offered SSHRC funding opportunities, see Funding

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

February 2010 Competition

Value and Duration
Evaluation and Adjudication
Administrative Regulations
More Information



The Major Collaborative Research Initiatives (MCRI) program supports leading-edge research with true potential for intellectual breakthrough that addresses broad and critical issues of intellectual, social, economic and cultural significance through the effective coordination and integration of diverse research activities and research results.

The conceptual framework and research questions of MCRI projects should be of such breadth and scope as to require the participation of many scholars of different perspectives and with different types of expertise working together in an enriching and effective fashion.

The size and composition of the research team should be determined by the complexity of the issues under study. In addition, there should be a mechanism in place to facilitate dialogue among the various disciplines that is necessary to explore fully the multifaceted and complex issues under investigation.

The MCRI program seeks to support research with a strong analytical component, research of such significance and quality that it brings international recognition to the team, involves appropriate partners and stakeholders and produces results that will have a major impact on Canadian scholarship and society.

This issue-driven program seeks to strengthen Canadian research capacity in the humanities and social sciences by promoting broadly based research and unique student training opportunities in a collaborative, inter-disciplinary, inter-postsecondary institution research environment.

The program is intended for leading scholars with solid track records and past experience in collaborative research, student training and grant management, and who demonstrate the leadership and other skills necessary for managing a complex, inter-disciplinary, multi-institutional project.

The MCRI program also seeks to foster unique opportunities to collaborate on important international research in which the Canadian team plays the lead role in the direction of the research. International scholars can be invited to join an MCRI team as co-applicants (co-investigators) or visiting scholars. However, the number of international scholars appointed as co-investigators cannot exceed the number of Canadian co-investigators on the research team. Funding allocations should also reflect this balance.

The specific objectives of the MCRI program are to:

  • support leading edge, collaborative research that meets high standards of excellence, promises a significant contribution to the advancement and transfer of knowledge in the humanities and social sciences, and encourages discussion and debate from a broad perspective on critical issues of intellectual, social, economic and cultural significance for Canadian scholarship and society;

  • promote broadly based collaborative research as the central mode of research activity—both within and among disciplines, departments and faculties, as well as with other sciences, at universities across the country and abroad;

  • promote the development of active partnerships with private or public sector groups to ensure their participation in the design and conduct of the research project and in the dissemination of research results;

  • promote the development of links with appropriate stakeholders;

  • provide unique opportunities for training students and postdoctoral fellows in a collaborative, interdisciplinary research environment;

  • support research that achieves integrated and comprehensive syntheses of the issues under study;

  • encourage dynamic and innovative approaches to disseminating research findings that will have a major impact on Canadian scholarship and society by reaching both traditional and new audiences, including Canadian and international scholars, policy makers, stakeholders and the general public; and

  • involve postsecondary institutions in long-term commitments to the development of unique, large-scale, inter-postsecondary institution research initiatives.



For this program, collaboration is defined as an ongoing, active and integrated working relationship among the members of a broadly based team of researchers, each of whom brings different perspectives to complex research questions requiring long-term funding.

The research should be of such scope as to require broadly based collaboration among researchers from various disciplines, sectors and institutions.

The application should clearly identify, from the outset, the critical issues the proposed research will address.

The main thrust of the proposed research must be in areas falling within the humanities and social sciences disciplines and within SSHRC's mandate.

The MCRI program does not provide ongoing support to research centres, major editorial projects, reference works, research tools, data banks or basic networking. However, the latter three may receive support as a funded component of a proposal. SSHRC encourages applicants to discuss their proposals with a program officer before submitting their application.

Value and Duration

Grants are awarded for seven years. This is subject to a satisfactory site visit by a SSHRC-appointed committee that reviews the project's progress at its mid-point. If the review committee deems progress to be unsatisfactory, SSHRC may suspend or cancel funding.

Eligible proposals must be of such a scope that they require a minimum budget of $100,000 for each of the seven years. The maximum budget is $2.5 million over seven years.

Grant holders normally receive a "start-up" visit in January, the month after SSHRC announces competition results. Funds are released shortly thereafter—once team membership and non-SSHRC funding sources are confirmed.


Extensions beyond the seven-year period of the grant are possible, but they are not automatic: at least three months before the end of the grant period, the project director must request an extension in writing, outlining the reasons for, and financial implications of, the request.



Project Director

Applications must be submitted by the project director on behalf of the research team. The project director must satisfy all the regular eligibility requirements for an applicant (principal investigator) as set out in the definitions.

Institutions that propose to administer any grant awarded under this program must meet the requirements for managing SSHRC funds and must hold or obtain institutional eligibility.

SSHRC regulations no longer prevent a researcher who holds an MCRI grant as project director from holding a Standard Research Grant as principal investigator at the same time (or vice versa). Nevertheless, evaluation committees may well raise questions about the feasibility of undertaking other research projects at the same time as fulfilling the heavy demands of leading an MCRI team. In any case, no researcher can hold the position of project director on two MCRI grants at the same time.

Research Team

The research team must represent a minimum of two Canadian postsecondary institutions (including the Canadian host institution), and must include sufficient members to cover the diverse perspectives and expertise required by the breadth of the research questions outlined in the proposal. The team may include co-applicants (co-investigators) and collaborators in accordance with SSHRC definitions.

Foreign Researchers

In accordance with SSHRC’s policy of encouraging international collaboration, provided that their benefit to the project is demonstrated, researchers affiliated with a foreign institution may be invited to join MCRI teams as co-applicants and have access to research funds for work carried out as part of Canadian-led teams. During the seven-year period of the grant, researchers affiliated with a foreign institution may also be brought to the research site as visiting scholars for up to three months. Applicants and project directors should nevertheless bear in mind that the majority of co-applicants (co-investigators) must be affiliated with a Canadian institution, and that the project’s funding allocations should reflect this fact.


Evaluation and Adjudication

All applications are adjudicated, and available funds awarded, through a competitive process. All applications are evaluated by the MCRI adjudication committee, a broadly based, multi-disciplinary, peer-review committee of leading Canadian and international scholars. The committee provides detailed comments on its recommendations, but does not invite resubmissions, nor does it provide scores and ranking.

The MCRI program involves a two-stage application process:

Stage 1: Letter of Intent

For the letter of intent (LOI) stage, the applicant completes a Web-based application. This includes an outline of the proposal that clearly identifies the critical issue or issues to be addressed and that takes into account all the program's evaluation criteria. The project director and all co-investigators and collaborators must complete Web CVs. Detailed application instructions are provided with the application form.

Unsuccessful Applicants: Reapplying for an MCRI Grant

Applicants who were unsuccessful at either stage of the competition, and who decide to reapply, should devote adequate time to revising the project proposal. In particular, it is essential to take full account of the adjudication committee's comments, as these are made available to any subsequent adjudication committee. Applicants who were unsuccessful at the formal application stage of the most recent competition will receive a three-week extension (i.e., February 21 deadline, rather than January 31) if they decide to submit a letter of intent in the very next competition.

Successful Applicants: Applying for a Second MCRI Grant

SSHRC’s adjudication committees consider applications for a second MCRI grant on an equal basis with new applications. Adding knowledge or disseminating research results as a follow-up activity to a previously funded MCRI project do not constitute grounds for receiving a second MCRI grant. To compete with new applicants, second-time applicants must present persuasive arguments for the leading-edge nature of their proposed research and its major impacts. They must also demonstrate their capacity to deliver promised outputs from their first MCRI grant.

In addition to the other requirements, applicants who have received and completed an MCRI grant, and who wish to apply for a second grant, must include with their letter of intent a supplementary three-page document that describes: the nature and impact to date of the research results from their first grant, the partnerships developed, and the links made with stakeholders. This supplement should specifically report on progress made in the period after the mid-term site visit and respond to any recommendations made by the site visit committee. Committee members receive copies of the mid-term report and any follow-up correspondence. The letter of intent should explain the links between the completed and proposed research. The applicant should also append to the supplement a list of publications that have resulted directly from the first MCRI grant.

Stage 2: Formal Application

Only those applicants successful at the letter of intent stage are invited to submit a formal application. These applicants and their research teams will also receive a $20,000 development fund to help defray the cost of planning and preparing the formal application and bringing team members to the interview.

Please note that the project director cannot be changed between the letter of intent stage and the formal application stage.

For the MCRI program, SSHRC consults external assessors only at the formal application stage. The adjudication committee considers, but is not bound by, the judgements of the external assessors. Applicants may indicate in a covering letter potential assessors who, in their opinion, might not provide an impartial review. The committee decides which proposals to recommend to proceed to the formal application stage, and which formal applications to recommend for funding.

Applications allow 20 pages for a detailed description of the proposed program. The description should first and foremost identify the critical issue or issues to be addressed. This description should take into account all adjudication committee comments and should address all of the evaluation criteria set out below.

The project director and up to three members of the research team attend a one-hour interview with the adjudication committee to respond to questions.

The final level of funding, and any conditions of funding, are negotiated through consultation with SSHRC, the project director and the host institution.

All applicants receive a copy of the adjudication committee's comments on the letter of intent and formal application, including, in the latter case, the external assessments.

Evaluation Criteria

In its deliberations concerning both the Letters of Intent and the Formal Applications, the MCRI adjudication committee uses the following main criteria:

Quality, significance, breadth and scope of the proposed research:

  • overall quality and significance of the proposed research;
  • promise of leading-edge research with potential for intellectual breakthrough;
  • necessary breadth and scope to address broad and critical issues of intellectual, social, economic and/or cultural significance; and
  • potential for major impact on Canadian and international scholarship.

Strength and skills of the Project Director:

  • capacity to provide the necessary intellectual leadership for a large, diverse multi-institutional team of researchers;
  • ability to establish and maintain a solid management structure that will ensure the effective integration of team members, students and research results; and
  • proven record of solid research as well as previous experience in collaborative research and grant management.

Strength and expertise of the team:

  • degree to which the team has the different perspectives and necessary expertise to shed new light on, and cover the multiple facets of, the research issues;
  • individual strengths of each team member and his/her potential for successful collaboration and effective student training and mentoring; and
  • involvement of appropriate partners and stakeholders in the design and conduct of the research.

Student training:

  • potential to attract the best students and provide unique training opportunities for them in a well-structured, cross-disciplinary research environment;
  • number of students and the overall quality of the proposed training activities; and
  • career development opportunities for postdoctoral fellows and other research assistants.

Dissemination strategies:

  • degree to which the scholarly results will offer an integrated and comprehensive analysis of the issues under study;
  • impact on the scholarly community and on the Canadian public;
  • breadth of outreach to new audiences, including policy-makers, partners, stakeholders and the general public;
  • number, significance and effectiveness of concrete deliverables by the end of the grant period; and
  • plans for knowledge transfer.

Budget justification:

  • overall financial planning;
  • justification of the expenditures proposed; and
  • level of institutional and partner funding secured.


Administrative Regulations

All applicants and grant holders must comply with the Regulations Governing Grant Applications and with the regulations set out in the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.

All direct costs related to the conduct and communication of research as identified in the Guide are eligible expenses. Given the vital importance, for large-scale research projects, of effectively managing and integrating research activities and team members, applicants may request funds for both the financial and research administration of the project.

More Information

If you have any questions about the MCRI program, please contact:

Brenda Werrell
MCRI Program Coordinator

Tel.: 613-947-9659
Fax: 613-992-7635

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

COVID-19 : impact sur les programmes du CRSH, base de données d'experts et perspectives de la communauté.


Grands travaux de recherche concertée

Avertissement Cette occasion de financement n’est plus disponible. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les occasions de financement actuellement offertes par le CRSH, consultez la section Financement.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Concours de février 2010

Cette occasion de financement n’est plus disponible. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les occasions de financement actuellement offertes par le CRSH, consultez la section Financement.

Objectifs
Description
Valeur et durée
Admissibilité
Évaluation et sélection
Règlements administratifs
Renseignements supplémentaires


Top

Objectifs

Le programme des Grands travaux de recherche concertée (GTRC) appuie des recherches de pointe ayant réellement le potentiel de mener à une percée intellectuelle portant sur de grands enjeux intellectuels, sociaux, économiques et culturels cruciaux, grâce à la coordination et à l'intégration efficaces de diverses activités de recherche et des résultats de ces recherches.

L'ampleur et la portée du cadre conceptuel et des sujets de recherche des projets de GTRC devraient nécessiter la participation de nombreux chercheurs qui possèdent des perspectives et des compétences différentes et qui souhaitent collaborer d'une façon enrichissante et efficace.

La taille et la composition de l'équipe de recherche devraient être déterminées par la complexité des questions à l'étude. L'équipe devrait en outre mettre en place un mécanisme afin de faciliter le dialogue entre les diverses disciplines nécessaires à une exploration entière des questions multiples et complexes à l'étude.

Le programme des GTRC vise à appuyer des recherches fortement analytiques, des recherches tellement importantes et de si bonne qualité qu'elles apportent une reconnaissance internationale à l'équipe, font participer les parties intéressées et les partenaires pertinents et produisent des résultats qui auront des répercussions importantes sur les chercheurs canadiens et sur la société canadienne.

Ce programme vise à résoudre les problèmes et à consolider la capacité de recherche canadienne en sciences humaines, en encourageant la recherche multidisciplinaire et la formation d'étudiants dans un contexte unique de recherche concertée entre disciplines et établissements postsecondaires.

Le programme est destiné aux chercheurs chevronnés qui possèdent un excellent dossier de réalisations en recherche et qui ont déjà effectué des recherches concertées, formé des étudiants et géré des subventions, et qui possèdent le leadership et les autres compétences nécessaires pour gérer un projet complexe et interdisciplinaire auquel participent plusieurs établissements.

Le programme des GTRC a également pour but de favoriser des occasions uniques de collaborer à d'importantes activités de recherche internationale au cours desquelles les équipes canadiennes jouent un rôle de premier plan dans l'orientation de la recherche. Les chercheurs étrangers peuvent se joindre à une équipe de GTRC en tant que cocandidats (cochercheurs) ou chercheurs invités. Toutefois, le nombre de chercheurs étrangers jouant le rôle de cochercheurs ne peut être supérieur au nombre de chercheurs canadiens composant l'équipe de recherche. L'affectation des fonds doit refléter cet équilibre.

Les objectifs spécifiques du programme des GTRC sont :

  • d'appuyer des recherches concertées de pointe qui répondent aux normes d'excellence internationales et qui devraient contribuer substantiellement au progrès et au transfert des connaissances en sciences humaines et sociales, et d'encourager les discussions et les débats avec diverses perspectives sur des enjeux intellectuels, sociaux, économiques et culturels décisifs pour la société et l'érudition au Canada;

  • de promouvoir la recherche concertée multidisciplinaire en tant que moyen de premier plan d'effectuer de la recherche – à l'intérieur d'une même discipline et entre les disciplines, les départements, les facultés et les autres domaines scientifiques dans les universités canadiennes et étrangères;

  • de promouvoir la création de partenariats actifs entre les secteurs public et privé afin de garantir leur participation à la conception et à la réalisation du projet de recherche et à la diffusion des résultats de recherche;

  • de promouvoir la création de liens avec les intervenants appropriés;

  • d'offrir aux étudiants et aux chercheurs postdoctoraux des possibilités uniques de formation dans un contexte de recherche interdisciplinaire concertée;

  • d'appuyer des recherches qui aboutissent à des synthèses intégrées et exhaustives des questions à l'étude;

  • d'encourager des activités de diffusion à la fois dynamiques et innovatrices permettant d'avoir des répercussions importantes sur les chercheurs canadiens et la société canadienne, en rejoignant les publics existants et de nouveaux publics, y compris les chercheurs canadiens et étrangers, les responsables de l'élaboration des politiques, les parties intéressées et le grand public;

  • d'inciter les établissements postsecondaires à s'engager à long terme dans le développement de grands travaux de recherche à caractère unique menés par plusieurs établissements.


Top

Description

Aux fins de ce programme, la collaboration s'entend d'une relation de travail continue, active et intégrée entre les membres d'une vaste équipe de chercheurs qui apportent tous des perspectives différentes à de grandes questions de recherche complexes exigeant un financement à long terme.

Le projet de recherche devrait avoir une portée telle qu'il exigera la vaste collaboration de chercheurs de diverses disciplines, secteurs et établissements.

Dès le début, vous devez clairement préciser dans votre demande les questions cruciales que vous aborderez dans la recherche proposée.

Le sujet central du projet de recherche doit relever de disciplines des sciences humaines et du mandat du CRSH.

Le programme des GTRC ne sert pas à financer les centres de recherche, les grands projets d'édition, les ouvrages de référence, les outils de recherche, les banques de données et les activités de réseautage de base. Cependant, les trois derniers éléments de l'énumération peuvent être financés s'ils font partie d'une proposition. Le CRSH encourage les candidats à parler de leur proposition avec un agent de programme avant de soumettre une demande.


Valeur et durée

Les subventions sont octroyées pour sept ans, pourvu qu'une évaluation de mi-parcours par un comité nommé par le CRSH indique des progrès satisfaisants. Si le comité d'évaluation juge les progrès insatisfaisants, le CRSH peut mettre fin au financement.

Pour être admissibles, les projets de recherche doivent être d'envergure telle qu'ils exigent un budget minimal de 100 000 $ par année, pendant les sept années de la subvention. Le budget maximal s'élève à 2,5 millions de dollars sur sept ans.

Les titulaires de subvention reçoivent normalement une visite de « démarrage » en janvier, un mois après que le CRSH a annoncé les résultats du concours. Les fonds sont versés peu de temps après, une fois que les membres de l'équipe et les sources de financement ne provenant pas du CRSH ont été confirmés.

Prolongations

Des prolongations au-delà des sept ans de la subvention sont possibles mais pas automatiques : au moins trois mois avant la fin de la période de subvention, le directeur du projet doit demander une prolongation par écrit et indiquer les raisons ainsi que les implications financières de sa demande.


Top

Admissibilité

Directeur du projet

Les demandes doivent être présentées au nom de l'équipe par le directeur du projet, lequel doit remplir toutes les conditions d'admissibilité d'un candidat (chercheur principal) décrites dans la section Définitions.

Les établissements qui proposent d’administrer les subventions attribuées dans le cadre de ce programme doivent répondre aux exigences en matière de gestion des fonds du CRSH ainsi qu’être ou devenir admissibles à le faire.

Les règlements du CRSH permettent maintenant à un chercheur qui est directeur du projet dans le cadre d'une subvention de GTRC d'être également chercheur principal dans le cadre d'une subvention ordinaire de recherche (et vice versa). Les comités d'évaluation peuvent néanmoins poser des questions sur la capacité de mener d'autres projets de recherche en plus d'assumer les responsabilités exigeantes que suppose la direction d'une équipe de GTRC. Quoi qu'il en soit, aucun chercheur ne peut être directeur du projet pour deux subventions de GTRC en même temps.

Équipe de recherche

L'équipe de recherche doit être composée d'au moins deux chercheurs provenant d'établissements postsecondaires canadiens (dont l'établissement canadien d'accueil) et doit comprendre suffisamment de membres pour couvrir l'éventail des perspectives et des compétences exigé par les recherches décrites dans la proposition. L'équipe peut inclure des cocandidats (cochercheurs) et des collaborateurs, conformément aux définitions du CRSH.

Chercheurs étrangers

Conformément à la politique du CRSH qui vise à encourager la collaboration internationale, à condition que leur apport au projet soit démontré, les chercheurs affiliés à un établissement étranger peuvent se joindre à une équipe de GTRC à titre de cocandidats, et avoir ainsi accès à des fonds de recherche pour effectuer leurs travaux comme membre d'une équipe menée par des chercheurs canadiens. Au cours des sept années de la subvention, les chercheurs affiliés à un établissement étranger peuvent aussi venir sur le site de recherche en tant que chercheurs invités pendant trois mois au maximum. Les candidats et les directeurs de projet doivent toutefois se souvenir que la majorité des cocandidats (cochercheurs) doivent être affiliés à un établissement canadien et que les fonds attribués pour la réalisation du projet doivent en rendre compte.


Top

Évaluation et sélection

La sélection de toutes les demandes présentées dans le cadre du programme et l'octroi de tous les fonds disponibles se font par voie de concours. Les demandes sont évaluées par le comité de sélection du programme des GTRC, un comité multidisciplinaire d'éminents chercheurs canadiens et étrangers représentant un important éventail de disciplines. Le comité fournit des commentaires détaillés sur ses recommandations, mais n'invitent pas les candidats à soumettre une nouvelle demande. Le comité ne fournit pas non plus les notes ou le classement des demandes.

Le programme des GTRC comporte une demande en deux étapes :

1re étape : Lettre d'intention

À l'étape de la lettre d'intention, les candidats doivent remplir une demande affichée sur Internet, dans laquelle ils décrivent leur proposition et définissent clairement les questions cruciales qu'ils aborderont, tout en tenant compte des critères d'évaluation du programme. Le directeur du projet et tous les cochercheurs et les collaborateurs doivent remplir un c.v. électronique. Les instructions détaillées seront fournies sur le formulaire de demande.

Candidatures non retenues : Nouvelle demande de subvention des GTRC

Les candidats qui n'ont pas été retenus à l'une des deux étapes du concours et qui décident de présenter de nouveau leur demande, devraient consacrer assez de temps à la révision de leur proposition. En particulier, il est essentiel de tenir compte de toutes les observations du comité de sélection, puisque ces dernières seront communiquées aux comités de sélection ultérieurs. Les candidats qui n'ont pas été retenus à l'étape de la demande détaillée du plus récent concours auront droit à une prolongation de trois semaines (c.-à-d., jusqu'au 21 février, au lieu du 31 janvier) s'ils décident de présenter une lettre d'intention au concours suivant.

Candidatures retenues : Demande d'une deuxième subvention des GTRC

Les comités de sélection du CRSH évaluent les demandes pour une deuxième subvention de GTRC sur un pied d'égalité avec les nouvelles demandes. Veuillez noter cependant qu'ajouter aux connaissances dans le cadre d'une activité de suivi à un projet déjà financé ne constitue pas un motif suffisant pour obtenir une deuxième subvention des GTRC. Afin de participer au concours avec les nouveaux candidats, les candidats qui font une deuxième demande doivent présenter des arguments convaincants concernant l'avant-gardisme des travaux de recherche proposés et de leurs retombées. Ils doivent également démontrer pouvoir arriver aux résultats escomptés dans le cadre de leur première subvention de GTRC.

En plus des autres exigences, les candidats qui ont obtenu et mené à terme une subvention de GTRC, et qui souhaitent demander une deuxième subvention, doivent ajouter à leur lettre d'intention un document supplémentaire de trois pages décrivant : la nature et les retombées des résultats des recherches liées à leur première subvention jusqu'à présent, les partenariats qu'ils ont formés et les liens qu'ils ont créés avec des intervenants. Ce document supplémentaire devrait décrire expressément les progrès réalisés après la visite de mi-parcours, et tenir compte de toute recommandation faite par le comité qui aura effectué la visite sur place. Les membres du comité recevront copie du rapport de mi-parcours et de la correspondance de suivi. La lettre d'intention devrait établir les liens entre les travaux de recherche achevés et les travaux proposés. Le candidat doit annexer au document supplémentaire une liste des publications qui ont découlé directement de la première subvention.

2e étape : Demande détaillée

Seuls les candidats dont la lettre d'intention aura été retenue seront invités à présenter une demande détaillée. Ces candidats et leur équipe de recherche recevront une subvention de développement de 20 000 $ pour les aider à planifier l'équipe de recherche, à préparer leur demande détaillée et à envoyer les membres de l'équipe à l'entrevue.

Veuillez noter que le directeur du projet ne peut pas être changé entre l'étape de la lettre d'intention et celle de la demande détaillée.

Dans le cas du programme des GTRC, le CRSH consulte des appréciateurs externes uniquement à l'étape de la demande détaillée. Le comité de sélection tient compte des évaluations externes, sans pour autant y être lié. Les candidats peuvent indiquer, dans une lettre d'accompagnement, le nom des appréciateurs qui, selon eux, risqueraient de ne pas être impartiaux dans l'examen de leur demande. Le comité choisit les propositions qui méritent de passer à l'étape de la demande détaillée et celles qui méritent d'être subventionnées.

Les formulaires de demande prévoient 20 pages pour une description détaillée des travaux proposés. Cette description devrait d'abord et avant tout préciser les questions cruciales qui seront abordées. Elle devrait aussi tenir compte de toutes les observations du comité de sélection et de tous les critères d'évaluation décrits ci-dessous.

Le directeur du projet et jusqu'à trois membres de l'équipe de recherche participeront à une entrevue d'une heure avec le comité de sélection afin de répondre à ses questions.

Le niveau d'appui effectif et les conditions s'y rattachant font l'objet de négociations entre le CRSH, le directeur du projet et l'établissement d'accueil.

Les candidats reçoivent une copie des observations du comité de sélection sur la lettre d'intention et la demande détaillée, y compris, dans le cas de la demande, les évaluations externes.

Critères d'évaluation

Au cours de ses délibérations sur les lettres d'intention et les demandes détaillées, le comité de sélection du programme des GTRC s'appuie sur les grands critères suivants :

Qualité, importance et envergure de la recherche proposée :

  • qualité et importance générale de la recherche proposée;
  • possibilité de recherche avant-gardiste susceptible de mener à une percée intellectuelle;
  • envergure et portée nécessaires pour analyser de grands enjeux intellectuels, sociaux, économiques et culturels cruciaux;
  • possibilité de retombées importantes sur les chercheurs canadiens et étrangers.

Forces et compétences du directeur du projet :

  • capacité de fournir le leadership intellectuel nécessaire à une grande équipe diversifiée de chercheurs provenant de divers établissements;
  • capacité d'établir et de maintenir une solide structure de gestion qui assurera l'intégration efficace des membres de l'équipe, des étudiants et des résultats de la recherche;
  • capacité démontrée de réaliser de solides travaux de recherche, et expérience antérieure en recherche concertée et en gestion de subventions.

Forces et compétences de l'équipe :

  • mesure dans laquelle l'équipe offre des perspectives différentes et possède les compétences nécessaires pour jeter un nouvel éclairage sur les questions à l'étude et couvrir toutes leurs facettes;
  • points forts de chaque membre de l'équipe et capacité de collaboration réussie, de formation et de mentorat efficaces des étudiants;
  • participation de partenaires pertinents et de parties intéressées à la conception et à la réalisation de la recherche.

Formation des étudiants :

  • capacité d'attirer les meilleurs étudiants et de leur offrir une possibilité de formation unique dans un cadre de recherche structuré et interdisciplinaire;
  • nombre d'étudiants et qualité générale des activités de formation proposées;
  • possibilités de perfectionnement professionnel des boursiers postdoctoraux et des autres adjoints de recherche.

Stratégies de diffusion :

  • mesure dans laquelle les résultats de la recherche présenteront une analyse intégrée et exhaustive des questions à l'étude;
  • incidence sur la communauté des chercheurs et sur le grand public au Canada;
  • étendue de la diffusion vers de nouveaux publics, y compris les responsables de l'élaboration des politiques, les partenaires, les intervenants et le grand public;
  • nombre, importance et efficacité des résultats concrets à la fin de la période de subvention;
  • plans visant le transfert des connaissances.

Bien-fondé du budget :

  • planification financière générale;
  • justification des dépenses proposées;
  • niveau de financement obtenu auprès des établissements et des partenaires.

Top

Règlements administratifs

Tous les candidats et les détenteurs de subvention doivent répondre aux exigences des Règlements régissant les demandes de subvention et des règlements du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Tous les coûts directs liés à la réalisation des travaux de recherche et à la diffusion de leurs résultats tel qu'indiqués dans le Guide constituent des dépenses admissibles. Étant donné l'importance vitale, pour les projets de recherche de grande envergure, de gérer et d'intégrer efficacement les activités de recherche et les membres de l'équipe, les candidats peuvent demander des fonds pour l'administration financière et pour l'administration des activités de recherche du projet.


Renseignements supplémentaires

Si vous avez des questions concernant le programme des Grands travaux de recherche concertée, veuillez communiquer avec :

Brenda Werrell
Coordonnatrice du programme des GTRC

Tél. : 613-947-9659
Téléc. : 613-992-7635
Courriel : brenda.werrell@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca